We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best All Inclusive to date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort to your Saves list
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 104 Carretera Federal Cancun-Chetumal, Akumal 77760, Mexico (Formerly Akumal Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Hackettstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best All Inclusive to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

My husband and I stayed at this resort towards the end of April for a total of 6 nights and we could not have been happier! We have stayed at several all inclusives and in Mexico several times and this ended up being the classiest all inclusive we've ever been to with understated elegance that was not in any way pretentious or uncomfortable (still has the relaxed beach vibe). Would definitely recommend for a girls trip or even a wedding (one took place while we were there). Our criteria when selecting a place was great off beach snorkeling and varied dining options (I'm a vegetarian).

Highlights:
- Great snorkeling with turtles, stink rays,etc
-Several types of Yoga (beginner,etc) plus Pilates offered daily in beach hut buildings facing the ocean.
-Excellent, hard working, committed staff (loved the Pilates and Yoga teachers)
-Beautiful grounds - always people cleaning, including the relentless beach cleaners that remove sea weed
-Comfortable hammocks, beautiful outdoor chairs and beds to relax in
-Fantastic dining options including different restaurants that don't require reservations.
-High end buffet (you are served drinks) that varies between meals
-Fantastic bars with extensive drink menus (virgin and alcoholic)
-Close to Xel Ha and other excursions
-Pool options
-Beautiful, pristine looking dining areas - white table clothes, indoor and outdoor dining

Considerations:
-I hear that they remove the beach canopies when turtles start laying eggs (end of May - June?) Given it is an 'eco' resort, not sure what areas of the beach remain accessible at that time of year.
-I would not recommend for young kids as there doesn't seem to be a lot of kids activities going on. We did see children but not many.
- There is sea weed laden water that you have to get through when entering the ocean before getting into clear snorkel water
-Like most other resorts, you need to stake out chairs/canopy very early in the morning for prime spots

Room Tip: Garden Suite (bottom level floor) is worth the slight up charge given beach front access. We origina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    86
    28
    0
    1
See reviews for
67
143
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

No sooner we checked in and received our Welcome Drinks, a woman approached us trying to sell stuff. Very annoying. Never encountered this at other resorts. We had to tell her twice to go away. Like all places it had it's pros and cons.

Pro's

Snorkeling was fantastic, it's about 1/2km from building 4 part of hotel.

Very clean resort, room spotless daily and people were all around the resort cleaning floors etc.

If you forget something the town of Akumal is only about a 5-7 minute walk depending on what building you are in.

We were in building 4 in a penthouse. Building 4 is absolutely the most quiet.

Cons

Seaweed worst I ever saw. The staff does work hard to remove it, but it's impossible.

The beach is extremely rocky, especially near buildings 3 and 4 and not very easy to walk or swim in, even if you have water shoes.

No conditioner in the rooms, bring your own the conditioning shampoo sucks.

There is not really alot to do there in the evening other than drink and watch so so entertainment.

Be careful what you eat, I did end up with stomach issues the day before we left. We have been home 5 days now and I am just now feeling better.

Food was average. There were 4 places to eat, a snack bar and also a buffet.

Rodizio - Let's just say we have been to Brazilian style buffets before, and always left full. If you eat here plan to have a second dinner.

Buffet - Mornings extremely crowded very hard to find a seat. They have a large selection of food, just be careful what you choose. The yogurt is runny.

Mexican - No complaints very good and service was tops.

Japanese - I liked, my husband is a type 2 diabetic, in very good control. However his blood sugar did go a little higher than normal, when we ate here. Other than that we enjoyed it.

Gourmet- was a nice experience. Food good it takes about and 1 1/2 hours to eat there, not including desert. So get there early if you can.

Snack Bar - Nice location. Salads were good. Other than that, wasn't very good.

Room Tip: Building 1 if you want to be close to everything. Building 4 far from everything, but quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I traveled to this report for our 25th wedding anniversary. We were there from April 8th until April 18th. We had been here 13 years ago and had the best vacation ever. We loved the simplicity of the resort and the snorkeling was beyond compare.
We had requested builing 3 or 4 because we preferred the quiet side. Like many other travelors when we arrived we were in building 1. They did tell us to come back on Friday and that they may be able to change our room. And they did upgrade us to a penthouse room. The room was nice but I was concerned about the noise but we thought we would just see how things went and surely we wouldnt be spending much time in doors during the day.
On the third day of our trip I took a yoga class ( great instructor). There were two women in the class that had family members who had been ill for four days and not seeming to be getting any better, Fever and various stomach issues.
The next day, my day 4, I started to feel bad. On the third day into this illness I had a doctor come to my room. Hoping to save some of my vacation. At this time my temperature was 102 and there was no way I could go out on the beach or enjoy any meals. The Dr. gave me an anti biotic and several other pills. Total cost $250. I never got much better while I was there and the noise not only from the new resort construction but from the continued contruction in Building 1 was an annoyance but at this point I was not able to switch rooms.
My husband became ill on the trip home. We have both seen Doctors since we have been home. And it is some sort of bacterial infection probably ecoli. We have been home for two weeks and are still on the mend.
There have been several other reviews from people that were here at the same time with similar issues. So as nice as the staff is and as wonderful as the snorkeling is I would never return. Totally ruined our vacation. And as a side note we only drank bottled water.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have traveled to many countries over the years but we have always shied away from Mexico in light of the occasional unfavorable news of tourists falling victim to foul play and of police corruption.
This time we took the leap and chose to go to Akumal Bay beach and wellness hotel in the middle of the Maya riviera.
We were pleasently surprised.
The hotel was not huge but it had undergone recent renovations so that everything looked new. The room was very spacious with a shower large enough for two. Every room had a round jacuzzy on the balcony and all suits faced the ocean.
There was a large buffet with lots of food choices with a special section for kids.
It also seemed to be a family destination as we saw several kids on the resort as well as a destination for weddings. It offered a 24 hour snack bar with many more choices where sometimes we would have lunch right after our suim, and 4 restaurants: Mexican, French, Brazilian and Japanese which required no reservation.
Drinks were good and the bar service included all " top shelf" liquors at no extra cost. They had staff continously walking all areas of the hotel with tray in hand asking if you wanted a drink, so you never had to get up from wherever you were.
The best part for us, as we enjoy snorkeling, was that there was coral reefs right off the beach with a great variety of fish some I never seen before as well as a feeding grounds for turtles, wich many groups came to see on excursions from other resorts .
We did take one excursion to see the Coba piramid and ruins, This also included a swim in an underground river which was both mesmerizing and refreshing.
Just one warning: use suntan lotion two to three times a day as the sun is unforgiving.
P.S. the only nightly entertainment was a group by the main bar area til 11:pm after which there was the option of a disco bar.
Glad we went.

Room Tip: Hotel had 4 floors, higher suites offered a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Since our vacations consist mostly travel through Europe, this gift my husband gave me for my retirement was one of the most relaxing vacations we've experienced.

The Akumal resort is a true gem! The moment we arrived, we were impressed with the beautiful open air lobby with vast ceilings, lovely dark wood floors and lots of nice lounge seating to enjoy the beautiful ocean breeze. This is a small resort which allows for easy ocean access and incredible views no matter where you are on the property. The covered walkways allow you to walk almost completely the entire length of the resort and stay dry should it rain. Getting around was quick and easy.

The resort, located 15 minutes north of Tulum, was the perfect size for our needs, large enough to have good restaurants, but small enough to feel intimate and comfortable. It was a short 10 minute walk along the beach to a small friendly village in Akumal with neat little shops and convenience stores (ATMs were located here but one day they were out of order so don’t depend on them for cash!).

Here is the layout of the resort: Buildings 1 & 2 are just north of the main lobby and restaurant area and where the main pool is. The beach in front of this area is the most popular because it’s situated close to everything and it’s the only swimmable section of beach. Buildings 3 & 4 are just south of the main area and although it has a sandy area to sit, you cannot swim because of the rocks.

We were in building 3 on the 2nd floor and liked that it was quieter, we could leave our patio door open at night, and the walk to the main areas for food and drinks was merely a minute or two away. The room was spacious, impeccably clean, the beds very comfortable and the view amazing. The mini fridge was restocked daily and there was a coffee maker. Daily cleaning service was professional and the person who cleaned our room left cute towel figures on the bed each day. Wifi is included and the signal varied depending on location and time of day. The jacuzzi on the balcony was a nice touch. All of the views at Akumal are on the beach. At other resorts they charge a premium to have a "beachfront" view. -- this was a big plus for us.

The food at the buffet was good (always fresh and there was a good variety throughout the week) and the four specialty restaurants were excellent. There were no reservations, however, we suggest you get there early (dinner starts at 6) otherwise you could end up waiting a while to get a seat. Only the gourmet restaurant has a dress code that requires long trousers for men. There was a lobby bar where you could get specialty coffee, and they were also available at the 24-hour snack bar.

Beaches/Pools: The beach is so nice, shades of turquoise water with dark areas where the reefs are. The water is quite calm; during the week we were there, the wind was consistent and kept small waves lapping at the shore. The main pool is very nice and a favorite with families. There are small dipping pools in front of buildings 3 & 4.

As for seaweed comments, there was some sargassum (a brown seaweed with berrylike air bladders - not the long slimy kind), but it was consistently being removed throughout the day by a very hard-working crew, a daunting and never-ending task. We heard the problem was all along the coast and saw it for ourselves on the Playa del Carmen beach. Until the ocean currents change, this seaweed will be present. We suggest you don’t worry about it; the further out you get, there is hardly any.

There were bali beds around the pools and palapas on the beach, but availability was limited for anyone arriving late in the am. If you want a spot where the swimmable area is and the main pool, you will need to be up and out claiming your spot by 6:30-7:00ish. If you go down to the rockier section of beach in front of buildings 3 and 4, you might find a palapa or bali bed available throughout the day. As of around 8 a.m. there was an endless supply of nice blue beach towels free of charge.

There were several activities if one chose to participate in them. A schedule is provided in your room although it was difficult to pinpoint the location of some of the lessons; the staff was not too organized in that sense, but once they got going, they made it very enjoyable. My husband spoke to the hotel manager about this but he seemed quite indifferent about his comments. The resort also offers paddle boarding lessons/tours, they go out in front of the resort throughout the day.

As for service, we cannot say enough about the staff that keep this resort running smoothly. Whether they are waitresses, servers, housekeeping staff, front lobby staff, activity coordinators, gardeners, every single person was courteous, smiling, helpful, and hard working. They always said a friendly ‘Hola’ as we passed by them. The whole resort was always immaculate and no one ever gave us the impression they were expecting a tip.

I also have to mention the spa which is at the back of the resort (you have to know it’s there!). I had a massage with David and he was excellent and professional. I would highly recommend you ask for him.

The front desk service was very good. When we reported a small plumbing problem, and one with our safe deposit box, someone was there within minutes to assist us. Everyone made our stay so pleasant. They work very hard and get paid small wages; we strongly suggest tipping.

It would be helpful if the Activities staff had a dedicated poolside tent, providing a daily schedule of activities. This would allow guests to be informed and encourage participation in the various activities.

The nightlife at AKumal is very quiet but there is always some sort of music in the grand palapa lobby bar until about 10 p.m. There are no shows, but there was music with different groups every evening where you could sit, chat or dance under the cool ocean breeze.

The best snorkeling was right in front of the hotel. Further down where there was the public beach was much too crowded with groups of snorkelers with guides. There are countless turtles that have absolutely no fear of all the tourists that are swimming around them.

If you are looking to go to Playa del Carmen or Tulum to see the ruins, just hop on the Collectivo mini bus that passes right outside the hotel. We heard it was inexpensive. Most tours stop at several other resorts to pick up passengers so it makes it a long trek. We took one of the Nexus tours to Tulum with a guide and enjoyed how informative and animated our guide was. Without the information he provided, we would not have understood the meaning of any of the ruins. It was very hot so do bring a hat, a bottle of water and good walking shoes. Go early in the AM before the bulk of the large tour buses arrive and it gets too busy. There are some benches and a few shaded areas to rest, but not many. The views are spectacular!

NEGATIVES:

One thing we didn't like was their promotion of the “infinity preferred club”. After your check in, you are given a tour of the resort and then introduced to someone who, under the pretense that they are offering you an ‘orientation’ session, meets you for breakfast the next morning and gives you gift certificates for the spa or excursions. The meeting lasts for several hours, and they are looking to have you buy days to return to their resort in the future. We were naive and regretted getting sucked in. Just be firm and say no thank you if you are not interested.

Another downside for the future is that they are building a huge Secrets Resort next door. This will definitely affect the turtle sanctuary in the bay as snorkeling tours increase.

Although our SunWing package stated that a free snorkeling lesson/tour was included, no one seemed to be able to provide this for us. Also, the resort says snorkeling gear is available to their guests, but the snorkel shack opens at 9 a.m. and all the gear is handed out by 9:15. People line up by 8:30, and they just do not have enough sets. Guests keep them all day, whether they use them or not.

They could really use an ATM in the hotel (our SunWing package said they did), so we had to walk into Akumal village for money.

CONCLUSION:

My husband and I had the most relaxing and enjoyable vacation at this resort. We would love to come back again for the hotel itself, but once the new hotel opens next door, it will sadly change the whole dynamics of this small quaint bay. Thank you ABR for a wonderful time and your gracious hospitality.

Room Tip: Buildings 3 and 4 are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in a penthouse suite in building 3 April 6th to 18th 2015. It was awesome. Comfortable and we had 2 chairs on our main balcony and 2 loungers and a hot tub on our penthouse balcony. The beach in front of building 3 and 4 is all coral so you need to bring water shoes but up by the beach bar and main pool is a easy walk in. The main pool was primarily used by the families and the children had a lot of their water toys in there but it is a family resort so it is to be expected. The early reserve thing happened here but just by building 1 and 2. They have signs posted that if you do this and are not at your chairs within a hour your belongings will be removed and taken to the front lobby. I did see the signs but didn't see if it was being enforced or not. Previous post describe this resort to a tee so I don't need to say it again. Staff is awesome. There is a dive shop at this resort for all us divers. Free paddle boarding if your interested. I have created and posted a video of our trip on you tube if you would like to see what it looks like after the renovations. Go on you tube and type in resort name. Enjoy!! Overall this resort for the price is a great bargain. If you have any questions please feel free to message me.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The pros...great food, probably the best of any resort we have stayed at. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. Five minute walk down the beach to the small village with shopping. Snorkelling was good, but you must have water shoes to swim. The pools were great and never crowded. We travelled with Air Transat, but booked our trips with Tim at the hotel, very helpful and knowledgable about all excursions.
The Cons...lots of seaweed on beach, they do their best to remove it, but you have to walk through it to swim (not their fault). Rooms are sparse, no chairs, or dressers, but there are shelves in the closet. No door in bathroom. One very uncomfortable chair on balcony again no table. The hot tub takes up the balcony. You can ask at the desk for another chair, but we waited 3 days for one. People were ordering room service, so I am assuming they had to eat sitting on their bed. Lotions were provided in the bathroom, great quality, but no hair conditioner, take your own. They have a new type of palapa, which provides almost no shade. And the pool area has no chairs, only the large beds, which have only 1 sheet for the roof, again spotty shade, two sheets are needed. This is a very poor setup unless you enjoy lying down all day. In oder to get a bed or palapa, for,the little shade they provide, you have to get up early and play the towel game.
The night music in the lobby was good, except the staff took over the dance floor when the Spanish music was played, watching them for one song was fine. But having to watch them for,the whole set was too much, they did not try to engage the guests, but spent the time dancing and talking among themselves, it was like a party for them. After 3 nights of enduring this we skipped the music.
All in all we had a good, but would not return, mainly because of the room and shade issue.
We stayed in bldg 1which was the best. The penthouse has 19 stairs to the top with no railing and no cover on the balcony, no railings on any of,the stairs throughout the hotel And many uneven steps.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort

Address: Km. 104 Carretera Federal Cancun-Chetumal, Akumal 77760, Mexico (Formerly Akumal Beach Resort)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient language of the Mayas, long before Cancun, there was a magic place called Akumal "Place of Turtles". Between Playa del Carmen and Tulum, Akumal Bay - Beach & Wellness Resort offers one of the best beaches anywhere, with almost a mile of white sandy powder beach, world-class snorkeling with sea turtles and top diving with a great variety of life that thrives within the live coral reef just steps from our guest room. The relaxed atmosphere in Akumal captivates the spirit of a laid back Mayan Riviera beachside town. Akumal Bay - Beach & Wellness Resort offers a truly unique experience for guests seeking the best possible beach vacation. All guest rooms are located in 4 buildings within steps of the ocean and feature breathtaking views of Akumal Bay. With the convenience of an All-Inclusive, we provide our guests with a sophisticated simplicity and friendly service in the intimate atmosphere of a small resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akumal Beach Hotel Akumal
Beach Resort Akumal
Akumal Beach Resort Mexico
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.