We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Akumal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Akumal Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 104 Carretera Federal Cancun-Chetumal, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Winfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

March/April 2014 was our second time here - the first time was only a week and not nearly long enough - stayed for two weeks this time. The staff and the location are by far the best of any resorts we have visited in the Mayan and we have been to more than a few. The rooms were basic but had stunning ocean views, which you pay a premium for in other resorts. I know there a lot of changes happening in this resort and I am sure we will be back at least once to see them and then many more times if they have been able to maintain the smaller resort feel that make Akumal Beach Resort so special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    592
    152
    38
    24
See reviews for
406
654
33
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nelson
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were booked last week and did not have a room. We were given rooms at another megaplex up the road. However the staff was gracious and we were allowed to visit and hang out during the day.( Which is why we come here) The bars and buffets were open and I must say the staff is outstanding. We wanted to be here after staying here last year same week. We really enjoy the small atmosphere you get here but the service is anything but small. I would like to express thanks to Oscar at reception for all his help. Mirna and Karla the entertainment girls actually convinced us to get active and play some games and dance. Christopher even got me on the paddleboard which I found very fun a little work but fun. We were given a tour of the new rooms by Juan the Operations Director and I must say they are spacious and nice. I can not comment on the beds. I would recommend this resort to anyone who likes to relax and enjoy the beach. You can be as active as you choose.
I would say building four would be the most quite. This is the building we stayed in last year and it is the furthest from everything. But keep in mind nothing is very far away. I have already booked for the same week next year.

Thanks to all the staff here

Room Tip: Building four most quite. Building one is by the pool. Nothing is very far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Could someone please post some recent pics since the Akumal reopened. We are travelling there in January and have heard that the resort is not fully opened yet. Please give some feedback as to your experience. It would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Jen

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
1 review
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently returned from a six night vacation with our 4 year old daughter from December 12-18. Our stay was a great experience. When travelling we look for a great beach and a decent room. We don't like crowds and want to enjoy the experience without a lot outside distractions.

Welcome: We were welcomed with drinks to the main lobby area when we arrived on the first day the resort opened. We were told we were the third guests to check in. It was quick and we were given a short tour of the resort and we shown to our rooms. Bags were in the room when we arrived as was a bottle of chilled champaine.

Rooms: We stayed on the ground floor with two queen beds. They were firm but not to hard. A more than comfortable bed for Mexico. In the Jr. Suite there was a sofa about five feet long that a child could easily sleep on. Rooms are spacious. Shower and sink have good running hot water. Small flat screen tv with cable. A safe is also found in the room. We would have liked a dresser to put our clothes in but the room was clean and very nice. It was cleaned twice daily once in the afternoon and once in the evening. The flat concrete slab outside the room facing the ocean had a small Jacuzzi. Was nice to sit in on the cool winter beach evenings.

Food: We were extremely impressed with the food. The buffet had a variety of fish, beef, poultry, pizza, deli meat, for lunch and dinner. Breads of all different kinds and a variety of fruit as well. The buffet is a great place to go if you are really hungry and have kids. Everyone can find something good to eat. For breakfast the buffet had a variety of eggs, breads, fruits, cereals, pancakes, French toast, made to order omelets etc... so much variety. There were also four restaurants on site including a Brazilian, French, Japanese, and Mexican. We ate at all four and they were all excellent but the Brazilian was our favorite. They brought us so many varieties of meat I thought I had died and gone to heaven the were so good for a meat eater like me. On the beach they also had a 24 hour snack buffet with hamburgers, pizza, chicken sandwiches, chips, guac etc... A great way to snack as you lay on the beach all day. There were four bars along the beach with great service to the beach to enjoy as well.

Resort Grounds: All buildings face the beach and there is a non covered walkway along the ocean and a covered walkway behind the buildings. The lobby is in the middle of the resort as well as the buffet and the Mexican, Japanese and French restaurants. The sushi bar is towards the opposite end of the resort next to the snack buffet and the Brazilian restaurant and another bar. We wish the opposite end of the resort where we stayed had a bar or another eating option instead of just a wellness center but the resort is so beautiful a stroll along the beach is not that difficult to get what you need.

Pools: There is a main pool in middle of the resort and two small pools on each side of the resort. They are nothing special. If you like great pools, these are not it but with a beach like the one that they got who would want to be in a pool anyways.

Beach: This is why you come here. Great reef to snorkel and several good swimming areas as well. There is plenty of shade with over 150 palapas along the beach. The rays and turtles are plentiful and we even were lucky enough to release baby sea turtles that hatched during our stay. We enjoyed paddle boarding which was free to all guests. 5 star beach!

This was our best vacation we have had for some time. The small resort atmosphere is still there with some extra upgrades which make this a great place to vacation with small children or for older couples alike. A shout out to all the great staff to many to mention that made our stay one to remember forever. We are blessed to be one of the few families to open this resort up for the future!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed immensely the warm hospitality especially pool waitresses Mari and Patricia, and the Guest Relations managers Oscar and Emmanuel. Once construction is completed , this hotel will be a gem.George S

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is for those who are still on the fence - to go or not to go. This place is awesome.
It's still under construction. Looks like building 4 has the most rooms available. You will hear construction noise in your rooms, but who is sitting in the room in place like this.?
Food: cooked in health in mind ( not greasy, not salty)
Activities: packed with classes ( yoga, Pilates, Zumba, kick boxing - all day long. The word "wellness" in the name - they mean it.
Service: absolutely stunning. All of them.
There are about 25-30 people currently here and we all feel we are treated like a royal family! The staff goes above and beyond to accommodate our needs.
So, if you still hesitate - come in and you will not regret. And please don't forget to give some tips- they really deserve it!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith MT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are repeat visitors to Akumal and the beach and the close proximity of the reef are the main reasons. This resort is undergoing a transformation and I have to say its been a delight. There are now 6 dining options and all the places we tried were great. The Gourmet with waiter Jesus was my favorite. Very upscale and delicious. I was apprehensive about the changes but now that I've seen it I am pleased. The hotel rooms are being worked on as I write but they are very nice and should be completed by the new year.

Room Tip: WiFi in the lobby. Most rooms have ocean view. Building 1 and 4 would be the most quiet. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akumal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akumal Beach Resort

Address: Km. 104 Carretera Federal Cancun-Chetumal, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akumal Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient language of the Mayas, long before Cancun, there was a magic place called Akumal "Place of Turtles"Between Playa del Carmen and Tulum, Akumal Beach Resort offers one of the best beaches anywhere, with over a mile of white sandy powder beach, world-class snorkeling with sea turtles and top diving with a great variety of life that thrives within the live coral reef just steps from our guest room.The relaxed atmosphere in Akumal captivates the spirit of a laid back Mayan Riviera beachside town. Akumal Beach Resort offers a truly unique experience for guests seeking the best possible beach vacation. All guest rooms are located in buildings within steps of the ocean and feature breathtaking views of Akumal Bay. With the convenience of an All-Inclusive, we provide our guests with a sophisticated simplicity and friendly service in the intimate atmosphere of a small resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Akumal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akumal Beach Hotel Akumal
Beach Resort Akumal
Akumal Beach Resort Mexico
Akumal Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.