We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot on the Riviera Maya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Akumal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Akumal Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Km. 104 Carretera Federal Cancun-Chetumal, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Spot on the Riviera Maya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent food and service. Quiet. Friendly staff and vacationers. Great atmosphere. Kudos to Carlos and Aureliano(?)! Almost guaranteed to see some tortoises and to get good bar service. Try a "dirty monkey."

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    567
    146
    37
    25
See reviews for
384
614
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort from February 24th to March 2nd and it was an absolutly perfect vacation. The size of the resort is perfect as it gives you more time to enjoy your destinations, the beautiful beach, the refreshing pool or a great meal at the buffet instead of spending time on trains or walking long distances just to get there. The swimming and snorkeling were amazing. We swam with Sea turtles, bright colored fish and sting ray. The rooms were clean and spacious and the food in the buffet was always fresh and delicous. We also enjoyed the evening shows as the Entertainment Staff were fun and they did a great job! All the staff are friendly and the bar tenders mix delicous drinks. My husband and I have been travelling South for the past 12 years staying at 3-5 Star hotels and this was our most favorite and relaxing vacation by far. If you're looking for a relaxing vacation on a beautiful beach then look no further. Another bonus is just a short walk up the beach are shops which include a large store that sells silver jewellrey. We will be returning to ABR next year!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Awesome, Beautiful Beach that is great for Snorkling. Relaxing resort. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Rooms are basic and that all you need because everything else around you is so wonderful ....especially the views of the beach from the room. Great to fall asleep listening to the ocean and waking at dawn to start another fun filled day. Close to all the area attractions which was a plus. I would return to ABR.

Room Tip: Building 6 -- 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

in feb.we revisited the akumal beach resort and its all inclusive accomadations.
this was or 6th trip back and its always like coming home.
the things that you need to know is that the rooms are basic and you really only sleep there. the wait staff and maids are incredible and for a few dollars tip every day they take the best care of you.
the coffee and espresso form our favorite barista wilbur was looked forward to every day and he never disappointed, as the others on staff were very good too, wilbur is our favorite.

the rumblings of new activity at the resort were a bit ovwer rated as the changes are slow. what we saw was that buildings 1,2 and 3 were now under new ownership and in process of a removal in preparation for a new secrets resort, i think.
the work didnt make any noise or commotion and was just fine, there is talk of a new moonrise bar near the main dining hall in the future.
the snorkeling was awesome even though the pirates are trafficing more tourists in for snorkel tours, we counted over 100 in the water in 5 groups at 9 am butafter 4 pm they are gone so its more peaceful. there are local plans to curtail this trend so it will be short lived with limits coming.
we did some diving out of akumal dive center and natalie and ivan had my wifes fears surpessed enough that she did 2 ocean dives and looks forward to many more, natalie and ivan are the most caring and enjoyable instructors i have ever met and i am proud to call them our friends now.
the trip was wonderful and included 2 trips to gynnas at gynn-ak for lionfish panko and lionfish tacos which were the best i have ever had, gynnas a marvelous woman with many talents whos company and fine cooking was not to be overlooked, go see her and she will educate you and tickle your tastebuds with her knowledge of all things lionfish , her culinary skills are not to be missed and we will be back often as we have her to call freind as well .
the whole trip was amazing, akumal is our second home and missing it already as well as our new amigos and amigas. paid in full for 2014 and counting the days mi amore akumal!!!!

Room Tip: building 5 if you dont mind noise from the pool, but we prefer building 6 for its quiet demeanor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was really excited to go to ABR. I read reviews, joined forums, watched the webcam, and assumed the people who posted negative comments were just high maintenance or hard to please. I am not super picky but can definitely understand some of the issues.

Would we go back? Maybe – IF the resort made WiFi available in the rooms (right now, it’s $35 a week and only available in the lobby and part of the main bar) and improved the beds. We’d have to consider the added cost of eating out several meals, buying liquor, and possibly buying an inexpensive set of drawers. The resort, however, was very clean, the location was amazing, and the staff were super friendly.

LOCATION: ABR is on a gorgeous stretch of beach. We snorkeled every day that wasn’t too windy. We saw turtles, stingrays, squid, and lots of beautiful fish and coral. There usually were beach chairs to be found, but we had to get up early to get one under a palapa or shade. Akumal restaurants and shops are about a 10 minute walk up the beach. We made that trip quite often, which provided some needed exercise.

ROOM (741): Our room was on the second floor at the far end of building 7. Our view was mostly of tree trunks, but we could see the ocean through the trees so it wasn’t a huge deal. The room was very clean, and the housekeeping staff did a phenomenal job. We recommend getting a room in building 6. It's close to the "action," but far enough away to be quiet.

As others have described, the room was very basic. From other TripAdvisor reviews, we knew there were no dressers but didn’t realize what a pain that would be until we tried to settle in. There were no drawers – anywhere. Our options were to live out of a suitcase for a week or pile everything onto the counter. We put everything on the counter. It wasn’t pretty but did allow us to find what we needed.

If you like a SUPER firm bed (like my boyfriend), you’ll be in heaven. I, however, struggled to sleep through the night, even with foam topper. I’m used to hard Mexican beds, but this was a bit extreme. I’m glad I brought my own pillow.

We had a couple of maintenance issues with the room. We notified the front desk staff, but the items never got fixed. Also, we never got any washcloths, even after asking for some. Maybe the resort doesn’t have any… But again, it was super clean – and all the housekeeping staff we met were super friendly.

FOOD: The food was hit or miss. Some items were very good, while others were mediocre, but we always got plenty to eat. The chicken was usually tasty. The bread was always good. The fresh juice was yummy. I eventually discovered that the omelet chef made fried eggs on request. They were quite good and a welcome break from the typical buffet fare.

We ate at the beach bar most days for lunch. They offered burgers, hot dogs, pizza, fries, and tortilla chips. The burgers were precooked but heated on the grill so tasted pretty good. The pizza and fries were delicious. The guacamole and pico de gallo were always plentiful and fresh.

LIQUOR: Although the bartenders were always friendly and happy to help, the bar selection was VERY limited and the drinks were served in tiny glasses. “National” brands included Kahlua, Cuervo Especial tequila, and Smirnoff vodka. The ONLY whiskey they had was Scotch (yuck). I normally don’t like Cuervo, but it tasted fine in their margaritas. We ended up going to Playa del Carmen to buy some Jack Daniels and better tequila. Both stores in town carry liquor, but the Jack was really expensive.

HELPFUL HINTS:
* Bring an insulated glass with a straw. The bartenders are happy to fill up whatever you bring them, plus it works great for the self-serve beer and juice.
* Stop at the airport or in Playa del Carmen and get any brand-name liquor and/or soda you might want (and maybe a cooler for ice).
* Buy and use the Maya Solar sunscreen sold in the local stores. It works great and doesn’t harm the reefs. Plus the SPF 15 Tan & Block formula provides a subtle but noticeable bronze.
* Be VERY careful to not touch the coral – with fins, feet, or fingers! Too many snorkelers were damaging the delicate coral - probably without even knowing it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just returned last night .As always had a wonderful time.I love Akumal .The staff as always we're friendly and accomadating.Smiles abound at ABR..I will return again☼♥This was my 4th stay there and I'm always remembered and greeted with a smile..This resort is great for families as it is small and they have staff to entertain your children.Please visit my favorite beach and people☼♥

Room Tip: not a 5 star,you get what you need there is variety at the buffet.Love the beach and staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My Husband & I stayed 2-28 ~ 3-6...Loved the place! we have stayed at many Hotels in and around Mexico,This one was just as nice.
Rooms, Ok, A little runned down....but they worked for us! Beds were fine for us... Pillows were alittle too hard!
Food, YUM, had NO trouble finding something to eat....Breakfast the best, Snack bar very good....THe BEST Guacamole & Picode de gallo around....ate sooo much of it everyday:=)).
Beach & Snorkeling was Awesome!!! Beach is Beautiful!
DRINKS, Good & Beers Cold!!
We stayed in Building 7 on the 2nd floor...WOW what a view to wake up to....a girl sure could get use to that:=)).
All in All we would go back. The staff was Great.....Smiling all the time!!

Room Tip: Building 6 or 7 2nd floor great views! Also would bring Mug for drinks. Bring own Snorkeling stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akumal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akumal Beach Resort

Address: Km. 104 Carretera Federal Cancun-Chetumal, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Family Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Akumal Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient language of the Mayas, long before Cancun, there was a magic place called Akumal "Place of Turtles"Between Playa del Carmen and Tulum, Akumal Beach Resort offers one of the best beaches anywhere, with over a mile of white sandy powder beach, world-class snorkeling with sea turtles and top diving with a great variety of life that thrives within the live coral reef just steps from our guest room.The relaxed atmosphere in Akumal captivates the spirit of a laid back Mayan Riviera beachside town. Akumal Beach Resort offers a truly unique experience for guests seeking the best possible beach vacation. All guest rooms are located in buildings within steps of the ocean and feature breathtaking views of Akumal Bay. With the convenience of an All-Inclusive, we provide our guests with a sophisticated simplicity and friendly service in the intimate atmosphere of a small resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Akumal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akumal Beach Hotel Akumal
Beach Resort Akumal
Akumal Beach Resort Mexico
Akumal Beach Resort Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.