We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Fall Offers
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Go, go, go...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Second time for us in GBP Akumal and that is our oppinion:

The Resort:
The resort is MASSIVE., in 2004 at our 1st visit Coba didn't exist... This time stayed in villa 47 (4711) in a Jr. Suite with ocean room, this is the best villa to stay because is on the beach and 1 minute walk to pool and lobby...
But all the grounds are immaculate and absolutely stunning.
It really is a tropical paradise.
Everywhere you look someone is maintaining the grounds or cleaning or coming around and picking up cups on the beach.
I was super impressed with how clean it was. And considering the number of smokers on the resort you rarely find a cigarette butt anywhere.
There are "bus stops" all throughout the resort, for those you're distante from the beach and want to go to Tulum or Hacienda.

The Food:
There are several "a la carte"restaurants on the resort.
There is also the main buffet on the Akumal side and the main buffet on the Tulum Side. Guests on the Akumal side of the resort can eat at the Tulum buffet, but Akumal is far best... trust me!
Now I know people had tons of bad things to say about the food but it is not bad at all. There is no shortage of food anywhere throughout the resort.
You are bound to find something you like. If you go hungry at this place then there's a problem with you.
The food itself ranged from good to quite tasty. The a la cartes were easy to book. I booked the Italian, Mexican and Sea Food... all were 5 stars!
Advise: Book your a la cartes as soon as you arrive!

The Rooms:
The rooms are not identical regardless of which section you stay in. 90% of the Akumal is Jr. suites and 10% standarts rooms.
Both are just fine, the jr. suites have most space and jacuzzi in the tub and 2 robes. safe is 50 pesos a night, i advise you to rent it... just in case... i did it...

The beach:
There are palapas set up everywhere to provide shade from the sun. There is one 24h buffet style snack bar that serve things like chicken, sandwich meats, pasta, veggies, fruits, etc. Not bad at all!
And the animation team is always conducting exercises or salsa lessons on the beach. Tons of fun!
Again, there's always someone coming by to pick up empty cups so the beach is never dirty.
Don't forget thais is white sand beach, but with a lot of rocks rock... ok? Not like Punta Cana style...


The disco was kind of lame but it all depends on what you make it. We had fun!

You can shop at the Hacienda, but prices are way to high because of the lack of guests...

This time i went to Coba ruins and i recommend it...

This is an AMAZING resort!

I loved every minute of it from start to finish. In a heartbeat I would recommend this place to anyone. If you have anything bad to say about this place, like I said, you cannot be pleased at all.

It's so totally worth it!

So, go, go, go... what're you waiting for?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal on June 14-18, 2009. We booked through Apple Vacations back in March at a very good price for Grand Bahia Principe Coba. As I had read on Tripadvisor prior to the trip, the Coba resort was closed so I was not surprised we ended up in the Akumal resort. Apparently, the Tulum resort had just reopened. (This hotel complex is made up of three sections: Coba, Akumal and Tulum; it is a very large complex.) In the end I was happy we stayed at Akumal as our rooms were close to the beach, the pools, and the main buffet. We were in buildings 48 and 49. I would guess that occupancy rate was about 30% because of the swine flu scare, the economy and the start of the rainy season. (It rained most days, but generally didn't stay long.) Some days it almost felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. Here are the positives and the negatives:
- The staff are friendly, helpful and always wanting to please.
- The rooms were large, quiet, clean, and the AC worked great.
- The in-room safe is free.
- The grounds are immaculate.
- Plenty of places to sit/lay by the pools/beach
- Beach sand was some of the softest I've encountered.
- a la carte restaurants were available every night (no limit).
- The pools were warm, maintained well, and had interesting designs.
- Even the buffet had cloth table top coverings and napkins; upscale restaurant settings.
- Drinks were good. Self-serve Mimosas and bloody Marys available for breakfast if you want to start imbibing early.
- Beds are hard (I like them that way) but a topper is available (just ask).
- Snorkeling is good right in front of the hotel. Lots of fish. Clear water. Even saw a Caribbbean reef squid. (On Google Earth, there appears to be a small lagoon just to the south of the complex. Unfortunately, I didn't hike over there but for the adventurous snorkeler, I would suggest checking it out.)
- The red flag was posted everyday at the beach although the water was not that rough. Consequently, snorkeling gear and kayaks were apparently not available. (We brought our own snorkeling gear.) If you get out past the bouys, you might encounter an slight undertow. I believe there is always a slight current heading north. The red flag may have just a been a ruse to keep costs down.
- One room had minimal hot water and one room had a slight sewer smell to it. Absolutely no issues with the third room. Occupants in the first two rooms are not fussy and dealt with it. Management was notified after the fact so I can only assume these problems are alread fixed.
- Buffet food was so-so. I would have liked more variety day to day. As always, breakfast is the best of the buffet meals. All of us said that the fruit was some of the best we've tasted.
- We ate at three a la cartes: Frutos Del Mar (seafood, Akumal) - shrimp less than tasty; Arlequin (French, Akumal) - the filet was devine!; and La Gran Tortuga (Brazilian, Tulum) - the salad bar was so good, we didn't even need the 8-9 varieties of meat that were presented.
- The 90-120 minute ride from the airport was too long, but you are close to the Tulum ruins and Xel-Ha (an ecological water park) and the highway is better than many we have in the US. We took an excursion to these two locations. It was an all day trip, pickup at hotel and cost $126 USD per person. You may find it for a better price. Xel-Ha has snorkeling, tubing, bicycles, all you can eat/drink, etc with optional dolphin interaction. You could spend an entire day here.
- The hotel complex is huge! My mind struggles with the thought of full occupancy at all three resorts.

All in all, it was good value for the money. But there are equivalent hotels along Riviera Maya. This area relies almost exclusively on tourism and it's really too bad they are getting hit so hard with the current economic/health scare issues. I hope that the situation improves for them soon.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

The staff was wonderful and very attentive, the room was always cleaned daily. The snorkeling we did at the hotel was incredible. A big part of the reef is right behind the hotel and we saw some wonderful creatures! We saw squid, a barracuda, a sea horse, a baby sea turtle, a needle fish, sting ray, balloon fish, lots of sea urchins and sea stars. VERY COOL!!! We all loved it, especially the kids. Many of the fish we saw were in 3-4ft of water. We had a great time!! The hotel and property was quite large but they had the golf cart type trams that would come through every 15 minutes or so to pick people up to take them to other places on the property.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewistown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a great vacation(06/07 to 06/14)week filled with plenty of sunshine and no rain. The transfer from the airport to the resort was 2 hours, to long for our liking but the scenery along the way was interesting. Check in was easy and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were roomy and cleaned everyday along with the mini-bar. We were on the 3rd floor so the view from our balcony was spectacular. The beds are hard so before you go E-Mail the resort and tell them you want a mattress cover on the bed. We had no problems sleeping. We only had 3 a la cart restaurants to choose from because the Coba and Tulum were closed because of the swine flu scare. The food was good but seemed to the same at the buffet everyday, they need some sort of variety. We didn' t see or hear of the flu scare so don't be scared off because of it. There was plenty of Palapas to choose from because of the flu scare. Beach chairs were also plentiful to take to the water.
We had a wonderful vacation despite the media scare of the swine flu. We wouldn't hesitate to go back tomorrow if work would permit it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

We just returned from our trip the week of 6/13 - 6/19. Good news...both Akumal and Tulum resorts were open, however, Coba was still closed. We traveled w/ two small kids and had a great time. Not many people there, which made things great. No fight for beach or pool chairs, no lines for food, drinks, etc. and the service was excellent.

In my opinion, the only real negative was the buffet food. It's not very good, but luckily all of the other restaurants were excellent. We ate buffet breakfast only, the poolside snackbar for lunch, and then the variety of restaurants at night.

The beach was awesome and we live in San Diego so we know a little about beaches. There is a nice little lagoon style section with crystal clear water and fish swimming around. We pulled the chairs into the edge of the water and enjoyed the drinks and view.

The resort is a little over 1 hour south of the airport so keep that in mind. The good news is that it is close to Xel-Ha, Playa del Carmen, Coba ruins, Tulum, etc. We booked w/ Apple Vacations and had our own private van to and from the airport. We then rented a car for our excursions to Coba and Tulum. Both spots were empty when we visited.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation I'd recommend this resort. I never heard a major complaint from anyone while we were there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We just got back from a week long visit to Gran Bahia and we stayed in the Akumal resort. Overall, we liked the resort very much. Beautiful grounds, big rooms (we stayed in a Jr. Suite), good food, beautiful beaches and lots of palapas for shade. I'll share some of the negatives just to give you some things to keep an eye out for.

We were convince to upgrade (for $400 extra) to the Akumal Golden package, but didn't see what value we got for that extra money. We never used the 'private' lobby (didn't even know about it until our last day. We did have direct shuttles both ways which was nice, but otherwise, I don't think it's worth $400 extra.

We had a very nice room, but requested to change to an ocean front. They told us it would be $10 per night per adult, but then told us that the ocean front villas were all closed. Turns out that wasn't true, as we met friends in building 65 which is ocean front. this was the second time we weren't told the truth by the resort. The first time was a week before arrival, when I called Gran Bahia USA to inquire if the Tulum and Coba resorts were open. We were told they were, but they weren't.

This caused us problems as the dive shop is located in the Tulum resort and getting the shuttles there and back was a hassle. Also, we had a bit of a crunch every morning when we had to drop off our kids at 9am in Akumal's kids club and b at the dive shop at 9am in Tulum resort.
Usually, we'd ony wait about 10 minutes for he shuttle but one day it was about 20-25 minute wait.

Kids camp was great. Our kids didn't want to leave every day! They had terrific counselors and they made great friends from Canada, California and all over. We loved visiting at this time of year, since it was quiet but not dead.

The beach was terrific and we snorkled every afternoon at the resort with our kids and loved it. White sand beaches, plenty of palapas for shade and easy entry into the water. Look just beyond the ropes and you'll see some baracuda out there. We saw lots of tutles when diving, but didn't see any snorkling.

Although there's plenty to do at the resort, we rented a car twice during our visit. Once to go to the ruins at Tulum. There, I recommend getting a private guide. You'll need pesos for admissions to the ruins. We got so much more out of the trip by learning for the well-spoken guide. My husband didn't hire the first guy he was approached by, because he found him hard to understand. The other day, we went snorkling in the Akumal Bay and had dinner on the beach at the Beach Bar. We also ate one night at La Buena Vida which was fabulous!
I could go on and on. If you have questions, feel free to contact me as I'd be happy to share more! We will definitely go back, but won't bother with the Golden upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

when we arrived only a third of the hotel was open due to the lack of guests over the swine flu problems,we stayed in the Akumal hotel as the other two was closed, our rep was very honest and kept us informed as to what was happening. Only three of the resturants were open along with the buffet resturant which was a bit disapointing but couldnt be helped, the French resturant was absolutely amazing and we visited a couple of times.
The rooms were kept very clean and the mini bar was filled every couple of days.
The beach was lovely and clean as was all the pool areas.
The entertainment wasn't very good but everything else out weighed that.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
5.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
6.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Low Cost Holidays and Jetsetter so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing