We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter up to 50% off
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Here's What we Liked:

A bowl of fruit in your room greets you on arrival.
The room is supplied with two 1.5 L bottled water which is replenished daily.
Mini bar in room has soft drinks, a couple cans of beer and some nips of liquor, replenished daily. Room service is also included.
Restaurant choices are endless. Download the app ahead of time and book reservations at the a la carte restaurants as soon as you get your booking number. Best meals we had (although all were good) were at Alequin (Akumal) and Alux (Sian Kaan). Real gourmet offerings.
Appreciated the healthy choices at the buffets, especially the fruit, granola, yogurt and egg whites at breakfast.
They can amply handle all types of food allergies. Advise at check in and a note will be written up in both English & Spanish. At each restaurant this is presented and the guest advised what they can eat (or not), including a walk through the buffet by the chef or one of their staff.

Shuttles ran constantly and will bring you door to door, sometimes you need to change in the lobby to go to another property but rarely any long wait time.
Friendly and knowledgeable staff, most spoke English well. Other languages (e.g. French) also seem to be accommodated but to a lesser extent.
Things to bring: light sweater needed for evenings in February.

Here is what we didn't like: If a single beach towel is not enough for you, bring your own as there is no possibility to get extras. We brought our own and it worked out great.


The place is spotless and the staff is very dedicated.

If you want a nice worry free getaway vacation, go here.

Note: The hotel is 1 hour south of airport... make sure to get a transport reservation with the hotel when you book.....when you get off the plane its a mad house with hundreds of people trying to get a cab ride for you....hold your bags close and ignore everyone that approaches you and look for the guy with you name on a hand held sign. If you cant find them ask someone to find the guy for you.

Room Tip: The place is huge and you can ask for a room near the pool or the ocean depending on where your goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,483
    1,512
    486
    214
    125
See reviews for
1,477
2,328
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 week, arriving on the 29th December 2014 and departing 4th January 2015 after completing 1 week of the yucatan explorer tour provided by Thomson. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly reception staff with a welcome drink. The resort itself is lovely, bars, restaurants and pool area very clean and plenty. Did not feel crowded on the beach or pool, however as everywhere when you travel abroad it seems people reserve their sunloungers and return to them about dinner time. The beach itself isn't the best and definitely not what I was expecting, a little disappointing when you look at the photos. It looks like it is man made....... If you are going for a "lovely" beach holiday I wouldn't choose this resort. At times the restaurant staff were rude, sitting people at our table when we had gone to get our food....... No communication between staff it seemed at times. Also we ordered room service and after calling a number of times to find out where it was I had to call back and cancel it as I had waited over 3 hours so we decided to go out, although not feeling too good or we would have starved! We had possibly been spoilt during our time on the tour staying at an additional two hotels in Mexico before arriving here, so I suppose our expections were high. Unfortunately I would have preferred the beach resort at the beginning of the holiday as our holiday would have continued to improve if the other hotels had followed. This is possibly more customer service related though. This resort has everything but you could put it anywhere in the world, it depends what you want from your holiday. Staff work long hours and I understand mistakes can happen, only I don't expect to come back to people sat on my table when I have a plate of food in my hand. Service could have been better. Rooms were very nice and spacious, clean and minibar stocked everyday. Everything is in walking distance so it wouldn't be an issue which block you are placed in, also caddys are used as buses to take you around the resort so no need to walk far either. Tip: the hotel doesn't except travellers cheques, we were advised to take these so please don't do this.... Take cash or card. I believe I am a fair reviewer and always give an honest view. I would give 4 star for the resort and 2 star for service therefore an average 3 star.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We are going to be staying may 11 to 18th. We are in the Jr suite. What rooms would u suggest. We wanna be as close to beach ad possible and semi close to amenities. We are a young couple so don't mind a walk. But I'm somewhat a light sleeper.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at the GBP Akumal from 8 - 18th Feb. The weather was sometimes a little cloudy and breezy but we were lucky and it didn't rain at all with temperatures around 26 degrees. It did get a little cool some evenings but I was fine in short sleeves the whole time.

Our emailed request for a certain floor and twin beds ( for medical reasons ) got us a first floor with one bed but we sorted this out at check in and ended up in villa 81. Our outlook was just bushes but we didn't mind that. Although we were told it was 'quite a way from reception' it was only a 5 min stroll on easy flat pathways.

There was no mention of a butler in our room and we didn't see one.

Ladies, the hairdryer was a proper one fitted to the bathroom wall. I think the power supply must be lower than the Uk as my electric toothbrush wouldn't fully charge. There were 2 soaps supplied, plus body lotion and shower gel - I used them and they were fine. Didn't use the combined shampoo conditioner. Good adjustable mirror and lighting in the bathroom, too, but no extractor fan so it did get steamy. The bedroom was large and airy and our air con worked well.

The pool area is lovely and we got sunbeds at 9am every morning. The only smoker that bothered us was a cigar one (pretty revolting as the sunbeds soon filled up so there was no option of moving), but we were pleased that all indoor areas were no smoking. We had no problem getting drinks poolside and Ana Maria who waited on us was delightful.

The wildlife here was a real highlight for us and we loved the iguanas, coatis, agoutis ( shy cute rodents ) and ( only spotted once ) racoons.

Breakfast and lunch were pretty good in the buffet, but we ate all our evening meals at the a la cartes. We tried all the Coba restaurants and Mediteranean and Pescator were dreadful - badly cooked at Pescator ( my salmon fillet was virtually raw and we weren't asked why we left our mains virtually untouched ) and the Meds 'sea bass' was cheap tilapia (when I pointed this out to the waiter he replied ' ah, yes, just white fish '. We weren't asked if we enjoyed our meals and I suspect most people don't. Portofino was better, but all too fast as we'd had starter, soup and main within 25 mins of arriving. Sergio, our waiter there, was very good though.
The restaurants at Akumal were suberb, especially the Gourmet Arlequin - like being in a top restaurant. Frutos Del Mar was also excellent. Dolce Vita was quite good, though I wasn't happy to find that the 'vegetable lasagne' on the buffet turned out to have meat in it (veggies watch out for this in the main buffet too as the 'vegetable rice' often had bits of meat in too). On our experience I would say that, staying at Akumal, you're paying more than at Coba so I would recommend skipping their restaurants and sticking to the top class Akumal ones ( all of which also overlook the beach ). We did also eat once at Sian Ka'an - surprised it rates 1 in Akumal as it seemed tiny with nothing there - and the food at Alux restaurant there was good.

Guest services varied wildly from very helpful young ladies to a very unhelpful older male who didn't seem bothered.

We were disappointed in the evening entertainment, We came 10 years ago and the shows were like professional Vegas reviews. Now it's an hour of children playing on the stage from 8 - 9 pm, then a 45 min show full of enthusiasm but rather low budget in staging. Still, the Canadians seemed to enjoy it. maybe 70% of guests were Canadian during our stay and they were a good natured if sometimes loud bunch. We had little problem getting drinks in the main bar and Yolanda stood out as always smiling.

All in all, we enjoyed our holiday and the only thing that would stop us returning again is the fiasco that is Cancun airport - hideous queues on arrival in a hot airless room ( I passed out after an hour's waiting and ended up with a wheelchair transfer to our coach - so did a few other people ).

To sum it up, this is a good hotel with some excellent restaurants and, if you don't mind little to do in the evenings, it's a great choice.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My fiancé and I were here in October of 2013 and had the most amazing trip ever! Our room was on the ground floor facing the ocean with our small private beach and bar. I could jump over the railing on to the beach hassle free! The food, people and overall friendliness of everyone made our stay memorable! We're looking forward to visiting more of their locations!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent a week in January at the newly branded Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal. It was a fantastic trip.
The food was great as was the service. Maybe not quite as upscale and attentive as the Sian Kaan section but good nonetheless.
Lots of chairs at the pool and beach as well as many shade umbrellas and structures.
Not my favourite beach just because of the whales but still good.
We enjoyed having access to all sections but particularly the SK - which is very mellow and quiet.
Keep up the great work GBP.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here back in 2014.
Paid the extra to have the upgraded rooms. So glad we chose to stay at the Akumal section instead of the other connected resorts. In my opinion it was closest to the beach.
Our room was close to the beach, buffet and 2 pools. Very convenient.

Food is good everywhere, buffets have some variety and the best a la carte is the japanese one!
Rooms are nice, service is good and overall it was a fun experience.
I would recommend this resort for families (lots of activities for kids).

Beach was not as great.. There is a section with clear blue water, but it is shallow and the remaining part of the beach is rocky or has BIG SAND BAGS to stop the waves. These sand bags get in the way of nice pictures and are annoying to look at (they look like big beluga whales). (If you care about what the beach looks like). Cannot swim in deep water unless you go past the sand bags which might be dangerous. I have only been to Cuba and have seen some nicer beaches for sure!

We visited the connecting resorts and they had different events and entertainment going on. Def a lot to do at this resort due to the size! Lots of buffets, restaurants, events, entertainment!
Overall it is a quality resort, and worth the price we paid. I wouldn't return simply because I would like to try something different.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day per device) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.