We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Akumal
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I will start by saying that I traveled this past November and just finally having time to write this review now! We were a family of 5 celebrating a 50th Birthday. Check in was fast, welcome (alcoholic) beverage provided at check in. A non alcoholic beverage was provided to the 4 year old traveling with us. :) The lobby of Akumal was breathtaking - marple everywhere, huge vaulted ceilings, very luxurious. The only fault for the Akumal lobby is that there is no lobby bar like the Coba and the Tulum both have... no big deal though! The rooms were incredibly clean. No musty smell in our room.... VERYYYY minor musty smell in the 2nd room, but once the air conditioning was going it disappeared for the most part. Rooms are pretty standard, spotless, marble floors. Bathroom is very modern and nice. I didn't find the beds or pillows to be overly hard. Tons of selection at the buffets! I think our favourite buffet was the Coba... seemed to have slightly more options. Our favourite a la carte was the Japanese - we requested the show table in our email prior to arriving and the resort and our request was granted. Show table was a ton of fun! La Gourmet was another restaurant that was very delicious as well. Food at the pool restaurant was pretty basic - burgers, hot dogs, pizza etc. Lots of ice cream and other options for children.

The pool itself was the nicest one in the complex in my opinion and sprawled forever! Additionally the beach on the Akumal side was the most gorgeous portion as well - there were sandbags over on the Tulum side. I loved doing Zumba in the morning on top of the dock in the water - great way to dance off a hangover.

We loved the get up early every morning and walk along the beach towards the left hand side about 45min down the beach until you get to a little pier. It was a gorgeous walk. Beautiful fish etc. We always grabbed an espresso from the Akmual buffet in the morning to take on our walks. We like Americano (espresso with hot water) and the employees at the buffet were more than happy to make them for us!

The Animation team was great - water aerobics in the ocean was a favourite as well as zumba. We had a beach party one day and I loved that they played music and got everyone up and dancing, - so much fun! Also making Paella on the beach was a hit. I checked out the Hacienda one night and it was pretty fun... club didn't to get busy until get late so we just socialized at the hacienda bar and met lots of people from all over the world. At the end of the night, there were carts to take us back to the lobby (or villa if needed).

All in all this was a great resort - with the exception of the distance from the airport.
You could relax if you wanted too... but there was also things to do if you wanted to be more active! Great place for families or couples. Something for everyone!

** for the people wondering, there is free wifi in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,084 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,977
    1,356
    441
    197
    113
See reviews for
1284
1997
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A group of 35 went for my best friends wedding. I have to say the hotel it's self is fantastic and the fact you can yous the other 2 hotels too Tulem & Coba is even better.

Wedding :- my friend chose to get married in the Tulem grand stand thing as to a beech wedding . This was much more private and seemed more formal to me from the others i watched . She choose pool side party with BBQ for meal this was fantastic as made it different from celebrating In one of the al cartes. She paid for lots of extras like a band and extended party time , all very worth it .

Rooms:- not the best I've stayed In but we have been to a couple of these type of places. I can't fault anything though huge 4 poster bed and whirlpool bath. We stayed in the gold bit which gives you slightly better rooms and extra al carte reservation each week. The cleaner was fantastic everything always spotless .

Food:- buffet was good not amazing but enough ans tasty enough to satisfy everyone . As we were in gold we ate mostly out of the dolce vita off a day breakfast / lunch as we prefrered this to the huge main buffett. The Al Carte are amazing best we have had we were very lucky and visted lots.
Arqulin - French style type food all silver service & amazing beef fillet.
Gran Togo :- Brizilian , this was fantastic so much to eat even before they come round with all the different cuts of meat.
Dolce Vita:- turns to al carte Italian in the evening this too brilliant lasagne, soup and beef were lovely.
La gourment :- one of my favourites you are treated like royaltie again a silver service with amazing beef fillet for mains however I prefered their starter & deserts to the Arqulin .
Mikado:- Japanese , fantastic again this my other favourite show table amazing.
Oasis:- this was the only one we was not to fussed on nothing wrong with it apart from Luke warm food. Its no were near the standard of others so if I was you I wouldn't waste one of your reservations .
As soon as we checked in we booked all our reservations for the 2 weeks . upon trying them I then made some changes to go back to our favourites etc but at least you have a booking already as they get very full quickly .
The hotel is huge you can not now everywhere you need to go however they have tuc tucs that take you too all the different parts of the hotel up untill 2 am . We used to just show our Tickert reservation for al carte and they would drop us outside.
The grounds are very well maintained and the staff work so hard 24/7.
If you have booked don't pay any notice to bad reviews we had a brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My family and i just got back from a two week stay here and ive got to say it was fantastic. We had an upgrade to the golden club which meant on arrival we were whisked off by one of the golf carts to a smaller lobby for quick check in and drinks with canopes and then to our room.
Our room had 2 queen sized beds and a sofa bed, LG tv which showed non stop movies in english, mimi fridge which was stocked daily free of charge, whirlpool bath and shower and even bath robes and slippers.
The resort set amongst lush green jungle was spotless and although its huge there are tons of carts transporting people from place to place every couple of minutes.
Once you get your barings its quite easy to take short cuts to get around and so it didnt seem as big.
Food was splendid and always something for everyone to enjoy and the a la carte resteraunts were really amazing especially Mikado and the italian.
Beaches are beautifull and a walk in either direction from coba beach brings you to some lovely places to relax away from the sun lounger crews.
Take a walk to the right of the beach beyond the resort boundary and you will feel like you are walking in the prehistoric age with the natural landscape of rocks and jungle side by side and eventually you will end up at the best beach ever. We were lucky enough to have this beach to ourselves each time we went and i can only describe it as paradise complete with turtles.
We did a trip to chichen itza which is about 2 hrs away by coach but well worth it. We also did a trip to cancun for captain hooks pirate ship, this was brilliant for all the family and ends in a three ship battle in the sea like pirates of the caribbean, great fun and surf n turf and drinks are also included.
Its a must to visit one of the many eco theme parks as they are amazing with lots to see and do, we went to Xcarat park and swam in caves which is very adventuous for me!
I cannot find anything to moan about we had a ball and i would recommend this hotel everytime.
Mexico is rich with culture and there is plenty of historical sites if you like that kind of thing but equally if relaxing by a pool or beach is your thing you will be spoilt for choice, playa del carmen is only a short ride away and there is a large public beach with waters teaming with fish, baracuda and stingray as well as tutles, there are plenty of dive centres where you can hire scuba gear or snorkelling gear so you can get up close and personal with the sea life.
I had a great holiday.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Natalie:

What a fantastic comment you have shared with the TripAdvisor readers, we would like to thank you for giving us the chance to offer you a great experience during your visit in Mexico!

It is amazing to prove that you loved your stay in our hotel and had the opportunity to enjoy the comfort of the rooms, the great variety of dishes and the beautiful beach that makes us the best place to relax. We always do our utmost to pamper our dear clients.

We appreciate your interest in our culture and country, we truly hope to host you in the future, we believe you will enjoy it even more than the last time.


Our best regards,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of July. Everything went according to our expectations based on TA reviews. The hotel is huge and is one of the 4 hotels of the Bahia Principe complex.

We had contracted the Royal Golden upgrade and were lodged in Villa number 66, which is the one just in front of the beach (our room 6602 was on the ground floor, literally on the beach sand). This location is perfect if you plan to go the the beach very often, but if you mainly plan to go on excursions, either organized or on your own taking the local buses 'colectivos', you'd better ask for a villa closer to the hotel's reception or be lodged at Bahia Principe Coba, which is cheaper and closer to the main Riviera Maya road. Notwithstanding this, distance is not a problem because there are little trains continuously connecting the different hotel receptions and even Royal Golden rooms with reception (operative as of 7am every day).

With Royal Golden we had some additional advantadges such a separate check in-check out reception (appreciated when you arrive to the hotel very late at night tired after a long flight as it was our case), beach towels in the room, 24 hour room sevice to ask for food and 4 à la carte dinners. We tried the Mikado (japanese, which turned to be our favorite), La Gran Tortuga (Brazilian tipical rodizio, but not as good as the real Brazilian ones), Tequila (mexican, quite disappointig) and Arlequin (more intimate atmosphere).

The Bahia Principe complex is very well located for visiting main Riviera Maya attractions (Tulum, Xel-há, Cobá, etc). Don't miss a visit to Akumal beach (very near to Bahia Principe) to see the turtles!!

Room Tip: We had contracted the Royal Golden upgrade and were lodged in Villa number 66, which is the one just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest:

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us as you preferred destination during your visit in Mexico!

We feel much honored to read your kind remarks about our services, facilities and we are so happy to see you loved the great location of our complex. On behalf of our working team, we want to express our appreciation for the time you took to write and describe your spectacular holidays and for recommending us.

Please be sure that we will be very honored to host you in the future for another unforgettable stay!


We send you our best regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed at this resort two weeks ago, Saturday to Saturday. First of all i would like to say the service and friendliness of the staff is unmatched by any resort. One of my favorite staff members was Jose from the Akumal beach bar. Hes a very genuine down to earth person with a great sense of humor, no matter how old you are, he will make you laugh. Another great staff member was Leanardo Daniel, the golf cart driver. He went out of his way to drive me to my room late at night when the trolleys were done for the evening. If it wasn't for him i would of had a good 30 minute walk from Akumal to Coba. The food at the resort is incredible. The buffets never get old, new options every day. The specialty restaurants are excellent as well. My favorite was Oasis. The hotel is very clean, I could not find a thing wrong with the rooms. For entertainment, the Hacienda was my favorite. Being young, i made frequent use of the disco. And lastly, the beach is incredible. Ive been everywhere, Jamaica, Punta cana, Baja California ect, and this hotel has one of the cleanest and prettiest beaches out of all resorts. I was very impressed and cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest:

Hola from our little paradise!! We would like to thank you for trusting in our Resort and for choosing us to spend your holidays with us.

We are grateful with your comments regarding your recent stay and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the great food, the attention of our entire staff and the beautiful beach area. Be sure we will share with the person mention your kind words.

It will be wonderful to welcome you again, so please do not hesitate to visit us in the future for another fantastic time!


Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family and I have just returned from Grand Bahia Akumal, after two great weeks.
It is a beautiful hotel with very warm, friendly and hardworking staff.

Location in the jungle - some fabulous wild animals to be seen and that kept my two boys occupied!
Food - fresh, delicious and a real variety to suit all palates and fussy eaters.
Staff - very helpful and always willing to help in any way that they can.
Thomson reps at the hotel very helpful as when we arrived, our room had not been set up to sleep 4 and we were told that they had no more beds to give us - Kirsty the rep got it sorted within the hour. Pablo helped when we needed to take our eldest to hospital for an ear infection.
Wide variety of a la carte restaurants but very difficult to get a reservation and when you went they were half empty - Mikado is a must particularly the show table!
Pool and beach were so close that you could go between the two during the day.
Snorkeling is a must as they fish that you see are fabulous - but take your own.
Beds so comfortable slept like a baby.
Really loved the holiday as did my husband and two boys aged 8 and 12.
Tip:
Do not enter the prize raffle you get on the first day as it is just a ploy to get you to listen to a timeshare - remember you get nothing for free!
Take your own snorkeling gear.
Book a la carte restaurants as soon as you arrive.
Buy mosquito bands from Hacienda shops not from hotel reps they are cheaper.
If you want to utilise the free 1 hour WiFi go early in the morning as it is almost impossible to access later on!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Client:

It is wonderful to see that you took the time to share your recent experience at our hotel, and we are more than happy to read this feedback we are sure it will be helpful to our future clients.

Our main goal is to reach the entire satisfaction of our clients due to the variety and quality of our services, your observations will be shared with our entire team, every comment represents the motivation to improve our work daily.

It would be wonderful to host you once more in our hotel, we hope you do not forget to contact us before your arrival date.

Kind regards from Sunny Mexico!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The title says it all. The complex was huge but after a couple of days it was easier than I first thought. There are 'buggy trains' to carry you around everywhere if you don't fancy walking. Towels are provided so more room in the case for other stuff. The choice of food was great. You could eat at any of the three hotels but we decided that we would stay at the one we were staying at. Yet again the staff were more than helpful, always with a smile on their faces even though they don't get paid a great deal. Take plenty of dollar bills to give the staff a tip now and again to thank them for their attention to detail. Depending what you want there are pools for either just lazing around, joining in the activities or just spending your time in a jacuzzi pool area. The brochure states that men require long trousers for the a la carte restaurants. Not true. The only one you need long trousers for is the international restaurant. The others are smart shorts and not sports shorts. Book the a la carte restaurants as soon as possible as they fill up quickly. One to book is the Japanese with the chef putting on a show. Do not miss this one. The only one we were disappointed was the seafood restaurant. Not impressed with this one but the rest were fantastic. The facilities throughout are great and you can snorkel or use a catamaran for 1 hour a day for free. Wildlife is around the grounds but don't really bother you unless you try to feed them then they come looking for more!! I could go on for ever but I would just be repeating myself. Do not think twice about going here. You will not be disappointed. If you go say hello to Patricia in the piano bar and say Melonnnn, she will know where it has come from.

Room Tip: With young children ask for rooms away from the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear GBP Client:

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment regarding your stay at GBP Akumal and for giving us the honor to be part of your marvelous experience!

It is a pleasure to receive these comments, as they give us the tool of motivation to continue working hard every day and offer the best service possible to our visitors. We thank you for letting us know that you loved the transportation around our complex, the food selection and activities. Thank you also for your constructive observations.

Be sure we will share with our entire team your awesome review regarding the attention received.

We hope you decide to visit us soon, we will be so exciting to welcome you back!!


Best regards!


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, spa hotels on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;