We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand bahia principe akumal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grand bahia principe akumal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Amazing place. Great choice of food and the beach has great Snorkel spots. Great location for tours too.The restaurants here were far more than expected...great food. Staff useful and friendly. Amazing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to express our gratitude for taking the time to write your comment of your recent GBP experience!

We feel honored for giving us the pleasure to be part of your amazing holidays, one of our goals is to create such an amazing moments for our guests and knowing that we could create this for you make us be proud.

Please come back soon we are sure your next stay will be fantastic.

Our best regards,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel on the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,099
    1,388
    456
    203
    114
See reviews for
1,335
2,079
36
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a GREAT time here,myself, my husband and our 10year old grandson.This place is HUGE but not hard to get round as there is lots of golf like transport with little carriages on the back to ferry people around, also it is so well layed out you do not notice how many people are staying here because each of the three areas has its own main dinning rooms and pools(you can sample them all if you want to)that there is little over crowding.
The food was AMAZING, so much choice at every meal and the dinning rooms were a large so we never had to wait for a table,there was waiter service for your drinks and some times they were a tad long in coming to serve( but i think that this was due to under staffing,this also occured in some of bar areas).
The room we got was really spacious and had a huge 4 poster bed, a single bed, A/C and a ceiling fan,coffee maker, coffee provided ,mini bar(replenished every day at no extra cost)nad a large bath room,plenty of storage space and was cleaned every day to a very high standard.
the pool area was great,plenty of space, although the sunbed hoggers were a pest here too.
I could go on and on about this resort but all i can say is you wont be dissapointed if you go ,its FAB.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guests:

We appreciate immensely the time taken by you in writing an amazing review of your recent vacation in our resort.

We are very grateful for have shared your review with the TripAdvisor readers, it is a pleasure to know that you were fully re satisfied with all the services and the attention from received. We feel honored as well to read that you had the opportunity to enjoy the entire complex.

We will be waiting your return to this Mexican Paradise!


Our best regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Just arrived back from a fantastic 2 week holiday with my wife and children aged 14 & 8. Stayed at the Akumal which in our opinion is the best of the 3 hotels. Check in was smooth which is what is required after a long flight and getting through the chaotic Cancun airport. We were advised via a review on trip advisor to take the majority of currency in USD which was spot on. Everything is marked up in USD at the airport, hotel and shops. We did take some mexican peso which we used for taxis and at a local beach. Rooms are clean, spacious and thoroughly cleaned by the maid on a daily basis, we did leave a daily $2 tip for the maid under the pillow, like all the staff thety work tremendously hard and typically they are the lowest paid staff (understand the minimum wage in Mexico has recently been increased to the equivalent of 5 USD per day). Mini bar / fridge is small but was restocked daily with a large bottle of water, 3 bottles of soft drinks, 1 can of coke, 2 cans of beer, bag of crisp and small chocolate bar. The place is very clean and all staff are friendly and helpful. You can use all the facilties in all 3 hotels but after a few days we tended to remain at the Akumal. Our favourite pool was the activity pool but unfortunately you need to be up before 7am to reserve a lounger. Food at the Al a cartes and buffets were fantastic, we had dinner at Portofino (Coba), Oasisi (Akumal premier) and Dolce Vita (Akumal) and recieved good reports from fellow guest on the Brazilian and Japanese restaurants. We were upgraded to gold and had breakfast and dinner at the Dolce Vita which was ideally located by the activity pool and had delightful views of the caribbean sea. Went on a couple of excursions through Thompson, Chitchen Itza and the Dolphin trip which were thoroughly enjoyable. Got taxis from the main lobby to the fantastic Akumal beach, which cost 170 pesos each way (just under 10 pounds) which takes around 10 minutes. We are novices at snorkelling and decided to pay for a tour when we got there which was well worth it. We paid 300 peso / 15 pounds each which included the hiring of equipment and being taken out by a guide (my daughter is only 8 and got tired early so the guide pulled her round whilst she held a ring). We swam with turtles and saw stingrays and many tropical fish), went again a few days later we enjoyed it so much. Did the para gliding on the hotel beach at a cost of around 70 USD / 42 pounds per person which was very enjoyable. Beach is lovely but is rocky as you enter the sea in parts, would recommend rock shoes. If you tend to attract mosquitos ensure you take effective prevention, I was absolutely destroyed by them receiving over 50 bites (some reacting quite badly) despite having a mosquito bands, sprays and plug ins in the room (interesting my wife and two kids did not receive a single one!). Be aware of the privelage (timeshare) sellers wh situate themselves on the right hand side of the corridor as you enter the buffet. Fortunatley I read previous reviews and ignored their advances and "free" gift envelope delevered to our room followed by a subsequent chase up call (all insisting this was not a time share). Spoke to many guest who went to their meeting which included a "free" breakfast (in an all inclusive!!) and were extremely upset by their high pressure sales tactics. My only other criticism of this fantastic place is the lack of air conditioning in the buffets, restaurants and theatres (were the nightly shows are held). If you have booked for this hotel you will gave a briliiant time, please do not hesitate to mail me if you have any specific questions.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear David:

We are delighted to know you had a great holiday in our facilities and also for your comment posted on TripAdvisor. Gracias!!

Our main purpose is to pamper our guests as much as we can, that is why your comments and observations during your stay are very valuable, they always represent that source of motivation our staff needs to provide the best service possible every day.

Be sure we will share this feedback and we truly hope to see you soon in this Caribbean paradise!


Kind regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Just got back from the most amazing 2 weeks of our life's. We stayed in the Akumal resort of the grand Bahia, can honestly say, my wife and I have no complaints at all, everything from porters to the entertainment staff were so helpful and so much fun.
We arrived around 5pm on the 15th July 2014, met by friendly porters who took our luggage and hand delivered to our room after we had checked in, check in was very easy and smile and we found the staff to be very helpful, giving us plenty of information about all three resorts, food times, free wifi use, pool times and beach towel collections. Our room was amazing, four poster bed, lush furniture, unreal banos (toilet), the shower was so spacious and the sink was very clean and easy to store toiletries on.
I liked the fact that we had a mosquito shutter on our sliding door, very very good idea. Mini fridge was full to the brim when we arrived, beer, water and pop and was filled EVERYDAY which we didn't expect but welcomed as it was regularly in the 40's everyday (degrees c).
Food was so nice, such variety at all times of the day, breakfast, anything from pancakes to bacon, sausages and even mini hotdogs and pizza, lots of freshly cooked omelettes which are cooked right in front of your eyes, or if u just want light then there's a great selection of cereals. Dinner was beautiful, lots of pastas burgers, chicken, pork, beef, broc and cauliflower anything u can think of, they had it with specialty stuff thrown it too, like squid, batters fish, sushi to name a few, and lots of desserts like I've cream and cakes. And tea was similar to dinner in the fact that there was such a variety of choice we found ourself going up 2 or 3 times just to sample things, the staff were always on hand to fill drinks up and get anything else you required.

Beaches were out of this world, such white sands and clear blue waters, fish would actually swim around you with not a care in the world. One tip I will give, get up quite early to put your towel down either at the pool or beach because as we found on the first day if left til around 9ish you will struggle to get a good lounger.
Night time entertainment was well thought out if a little clumsy but that added to the fun of it all, shows like magic man, circus, Michael Jackson and elvis to name a few were real fun and the atmosphere in the theatre room was always light and jovial. Best thing was that the waitresses would keep bringing you drinks so you didn't have to move and miss elvis singing his classics and a Mexican accent
I could keep going on about this fabulous resort and amazing staff but I won't. One thing I will add, akumal has a full time Thomson staff member which Is really helpful and any issue you have can be sorted pretty quick but there are 3 Thomson staff members overall for the 3 resorts, they were great, so friendly and eager to help with any issues. Even the Thomson member of staff who accompanied us on our way to airport to go home ( Jose manual) he explained everything you needed to get through check in and security so the whole experience was simple and quick.
So all in all I can say without any doubt that this was a 10/10 holiday, largely down to the resort we stayed in. Hope anyone who stayed at grand Bahia enjoyed themselves as much as we did. We might see you next year because we are booking up again for June next year.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Micky:

Thank you for sharing your very happy comment about the great experience you lived in our little paradise!

We feel honor for your kind words about the services you had the opportunity to enjoy like; The variety of food, our chefs do their best to offer amazing flavors. The Entertainment and Facilities, your recognition is very important as it helps us to be one of the best hotels in the area. Thank you!! :)

We hope to host you in the near future, we believe we will surprise you even more!


Best regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 3rd July to 17th July, Amazing hotel, rooms fantastic, we had a free upgrade as booked early so our room was huge with a queen bed, check in was quick as we were taken to the golden lobby which was part of the upgrade. Rooms cleaned every day. The food at the hotel was amazing with so many restaurants to choose from but recommend you book the al a carte ones as soon as you get there as these get booked very quickly, we had no trouble booking ours and all meals were fantastic. The beaches were fantastic with plenty of sun beds and great snorkeling with lots of different fish even the odd turtle, great pool with plenty of beach and pool bars with very pleasant staff. All staff very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them. We will be recommending this resort to friends and will be going back ourselves. AMAZING

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Tracey:

On behalf of the entire team, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your decision to visit us is much appreciated.

We are thrilled to read that you had a great time with us due to the quality of our services, facilities and over all the quality and variety of our dishes, we are glad to know you enjoyed the great location of our resort and the beautiful beaches.

We deeply hope to welcome you in the near future, please do not hesitate to come back!!


Regards from Mexico,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Got back 30th July 2014 excellent hotel just a couple of things needs air con in the buffet restaurant,should not have to pay for safe in the room and could do with a supermarket for things like chocolate crisps biscuits there was shops but things like crisps was expensive a supermarket would take plenty of money and the bars shut to early could do with staying open till 12 a lot of people we spoke to while we was there said the same.Its like 3 hotels in 1 you can use them all and it's great the staff are so friendly we had a great time and would go back. We liked theAkumal the best and that's where we stayed it's on the beach, Coba is not on beach but is excellent for kids because it has a small water park and I think all 3 should have a better teens club.The buses to get you around are great and even take you down to your room,we stayed in a junior suite which was nice villa 72 a bit away from lobby but not that far about the rooms when we arrived we were put in villa 57 and villa 58 but we asked to be changed because we had asked for interconnecting rooms and they did move us after 2 nights we needed this room because I had my daughter and niece and wanted to be really near the but what I don't understand is the first room we was in didn't have bathrobes slippers pool towels but when we moved we had all of those things and more so had we of stayed in the first room was we going to miss out on things that we had payed for I don't know but as I said we had a great holiday and would go back we'll have already looked but at the moment the prices are through the roof but if we did I would like the same kind of room but nearer to the activity pool and beach but a villa number would be helpful so interconnecting room with everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Dawn:

Thanks for taking the time to write your recent experience at our hotel located in the beautiful Mayan Paradise, it was an honor for our team to be at your service.

We appreciate your kind words about our rooms and services received, all your comments are taken into consideration and will be forwarded to the departments in charge so appropriate measures will be taken to improve these points.

In the other hand we are glad to see you had a great time in our facilities and you love to come back so we will be happy to welcome you once again!

Best Regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Having traveled to various 4/5 start resorts we had high expectations for the GBP Akumal and for the most part we weren't disappointed.
We stayed in block 69 which was pretty central - 5 mins walk to the lobby and 5 mins walk to the beach with lots of wildlife to enjoy on the walk!
Ill start with the food.. the main buffet restaurant was lovely and cool although the staff were occasionally a bit inattentive - we often didn't even get offered coffee until we'd pretty much finished our breakfast - they were very busy and didn't seem to have enough staff so maybe hiring a few more people for the restaurant would solve this problem. The food itself was good by all inclusive standards, a little repetitive but it was tasty, the restaurant was clean and neither of us were ill so can't complain! The omelette station at breakfast was brilliant, we had one nearly every day. The Harlequin restaurant was beautiful, I had the duck and it was one of the nicest duck dishes I've had. We would also recommend a show table at the Mikado restaurant it was a lot of fun!
The room was big and spacious which was nice as we were there for two weeks so it would have gotten a bit claustrophobic if the room was small. The bed was huge and really comfortable and we had different towel art left by the maid every day. The bathroom was nice and clean and we had a jacuzzi bath which was a nice little addition to make our holiday even more relaxing. The maid did a brilliant job keeping the room clean and our mini fridge was always well stocked. The only issue with the room was that maybe as it was a ground floor it often felt quite musty and damp, the wardrobe made my clothes smell really awful and damp which isn't ideal when your clothes are hung in there for two weeks - we had to wash every single thing including the suitcases when we arrived home as they smelt horrendous this really needs to be sorted by the hotel.
The beach and pool areas were lovely the sea was nice and shallow for swimming but you could go around the wave breaks and swim on the corals if your preferred and the sea wasn't too rough.
The only real niggle we had was the the service on reception wasn't great and staff often seemed like they couldn't be bothered. On the first few days of our holiday it was raining and we found that there was no umbrella in our room. En route to the buffet on our first night we dropped by the reception to request an umbrella and they said they would have one sent to our room but this hadn't happened by the following day so we mentioned it again and they sent someone to check if we didn't have one - obviously he concluded that we didn't!!! We finally got an umbrella in our room on day 11 of our 14 day holiday despite asking 5-6 times, and we didn't need one by then as it only rained the first 3 days. Ridiculous that it took so long!

All that said I've given the hotel 4 starts as we had an amazing holiday and that was in large down to our experience at this hotel, we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Meg:

Thank you for the opportunity you gave us to host you and choose us as your holiday destination. Thank you very much also for taking the time to write your impressions on TripAdvisor.

All comments received by our guest are welcome, yours will certainly help us to keep focus on costumer’s satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards. We do apologize for the inconveniences you may have had with some departments, your comments have been forwarding to the departments involved and proper measure will be taken to avoid similar situations in the future.

Please be assured that we keep on working to improve our services and we hope that you will allow us another chance in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Warmest regards


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.