We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Albufeira, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It was a belated honeymoon for me and my husband and the staff could not do enough for us. The place has everything you need for a very relaxing stay. I always said I would never travel to a 'long haul' destination and not explore but it was so relaxing and just what we needed after working so hard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Lindsay:

First of all, thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal !!

It is great to read this amazing review regarding the service received during your recent visit to our hotel. Our mission is to exceed our guest´s expectations and we are glad to know that we accomplish this goal with you.

We look forward to welcome you back and give you another unforgetable lifetime experience.

Best regards,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,906
    1,328
    432
    196
    108
See reviews for
1230
1955
34
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (902)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a week at the beginning of March, after a tour round the Yucatan area. We had upgraded to the golden rooms and when we arrived we were allocated a room in the 59 block, I requested an ocean front room but was told we had a really good sea view and if not happy to return the next day. The room was very large, four poster bed and sitting area, and yes a sea view but not overlooking the beach. When we slept in the bed that night we realised it had a dip in the middle, we ended up rolling into the centre of it on numerous occasions throughout the night. We went to see Ricardo, in the golden reception area, who then arranged for us to be moved the next day, to block 66, it's right on the beach and had a fantastic view, so thank you Ricardo.
Not much more can be said after all the other excellent reviews, but one thing we did notice is that not many people walk around the complex, we think this is a big mistake (if your able to obviously), there is so much wildlife and birds to see that are missed if travelling on the carts.
The complex is huge, but we were so happy that we booked the Akumal section as it was a lot quieter than the other beach front hotel, Tulum.
If we every returned to Mexico, as there are so many places we still haven't been to, we would certainly return here and definitely recommend GBP Akumal to anyone thinking of staying there.

Room Tip: Try to stay in block 65, 66 or 67 as they all have beach/sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor user:

We are delighted to see your comment posted on TripAdvisor about your recent visit to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Our main goal is to pamper our guests as much as we can, that is why your comments and observations during your stay are very valuable, and they represent a source of motivation to provide the best service possible every day.

We thank you for your recommendation and for your kind words about our staff, be sure we will share your comment with our work team and it will be forwarded directly to Ricardo.

We hope to see you soon in your home away from home Grand Bahia Principe Akumal


Kind regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel is really part of a large group of Bahia Prinicpe hotels....all named after ruins. They are easily accessed with trains running every few minutes. Akumal is situated on the ocean and has a lovely waterfront, blue and clear. Snorkeling is good there and the beach is very walkable. They had a Saturday beach party where they cooked pialla on the beach, and had a DJ, zumba etc. This hotel has lovely rooms (ours was ocean front), great pools and superb evening shows. Better than our 3 cruise ship shows! The hotels share the shows so they rotate to each hotel on different nights. WiFi was free in the lobby for 1 hour each day only. Food was excellent, and many restaurants to choose from for 3 "special" dining nights. We used the "collectivo's" to travel to Tulum ruins ($3 US) and to Playa del Carmen (4$) that were much cheaper than the taxi's. Ask at the PR desk. The only downside was my free shuttle to the airport left at 5:35am and there was absolutely no food to eat before leaving, even though I was told there was a 24 hour snack bar....when I asked at the snack bar they said there was no food! (Prepare the night before, knowing this...is my suggestion.)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4726, on the ocean...beautiful! (But 3 floors up with no elevator.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Leslie:

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to our hotel Grand Bahia Principe Akumal!

It is a pleasure to read such an amazing comment about our property, we thank you for your kind words about our services and facilities.

This type of reviews are our source of motivation to continue creating memorable experiences to our guests and improving our services daily.

Kindest regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

stayed at this hotel 22 feb to 8 march.had a great holiday at this beautifull hotel. grounds immaculate,good pools and beach. good food at buffets and wonderfull food at the a la cartes.our favourites werw la tortuga and mikado
great that you can use the coba and tulum hotels for a cange of scenery and travelling on the hotel buses.
would like to thank pedro our room cleanerwho did a great job.
also thanks to carmen in the lobby bar who went out of her way to see to all our needs.
also thanks to jose in the riviera buffet and especially to ricardo the head waiter who looked after us at all meal times and reserved us a table as our son was blind,and always had a glass of mimosa waiting for us.
would definately return to this hotel

Room Tip: villas 47-52 are near to beach and lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor user:

Thank you for giving us the chance to welcome you at Gran Bahía Principe Akumal. We are more than happy to know that we were able to make your trip a pleasurable experience.

Your comments about our staff are very valuable, they always help us to be motivated in order to provide an excellent service to our clients and keep striving for excellence. We really appreciate your feedback about our rooms, restaurants and our facilities.

Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival to make it even more special. We will be glad to create another memorable experience for your second visit.

Warm regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

First off let me say I'm not the type that complains about "sand on the beach" like some other picky reviewers, I'm easy going!

TRANSFER - Hotel is pretty much at the end of the resort strip, its about 1-1/2hr from Cancun, a little less with a good driver...for this reason we hired CANADA TRANSFERS for $80 (CND$ at PAR) to beat the Tour operators bus, we beat them by over an hr since we'd be the last drop-off, well worth the price..on the way back we took the tour bus as it was direct to the airport with no stops. Even though the location is far its very close to XEL-HA, Tulum, Xcaret so you save money on transfers to these places for your day trips..its 10mins to XEL-HA, 15-20mins to Tulum

HOTEL - Because we beat the crowd and we were in the Royal Golden area, check-in was fast...15mins and then 3min walk to our room in Villa 67...not the best villa but 66 and 65 were filled. Grounds are spotless, they really keep itl clean scrubbing the walkways and pool areas at night so don't worry about walking around in bare feet. Its quite spread out so even though it was busy it doesn't seem busy except at the beach. Looking at the site map it will seem huge but we could walk from the main lobby to Royal Golden in about 5-7mins with kids (ages 9 and 7) in tow. If you don't like walking there are golf carts with trains attached, they come by every 15mins and take you around your resort or to the others TULUM and COBA. AKUMAL seems to be a happy medium between adult and family...COBA more geared towards children with the nice water park but it far from the beach so keep that in mind if your a beach person, Tulum seems more Adult oriented...it has the best beach area...this is where you can swim with dolphins on the grounds.

BEACH - I'm a person that considers Negril Beaches some of the best, that being said I don't find the beach overly great, they are just ok. Because this region has the second largest coral deposits in the world there are a lot of rocks. Some sections of the beach are not accessible due to a short brick storm wall, even it you step over this wall you'll be met with tons on rocks, they are probably not allowed to destroy the rock formations. The areas that are accessible are good, about 100 feet out they have "break walls", large mounds of sands enclosed in a vinyl netting, this keeps the huge waves from reaching shore and washing away the beach but also makes it swim-able for the young ones, kids seem to like playing on these break walls. Lots of shade, even with "THOSE PEOPLE" that run to the beach at 6am and through their towels and books on the lounger there is still lots of places to sit...they even have signs on the huts that say DO NOT RESERVE THE LOUNGERS IF NOT USING IMMEDIATELY but people still do..this is the same everywhere so I cannot fault the resort. Lots of fish to see especially by the underwater rocks/coral so bring snorkel equipment if you have it, but the resort has some you can signout. The TULUM resort area has the best beach.

ROOMS - very spacious,clean, few ants...nothing to worry about, our room had a King bed with a double bed and a sofa that pulled out to a single bed and still lots of room to walk and room for a small table with 2 chairs. In room safe was large enough to fit our camera, 2 ipad mini's, one android tablet, iphone, BB Q10, money, passports etc...more than enough room. Very clean lots of towels, for this I left $2-$3USD for the maid each day on the pillow. LG LED TV, could use more drawer space, fair sized closet, hair dryer, iron, good size bathroom

FOOD - Buffet not great but is good, but I'm comparing it with Jamaican food which is excellent, breakfast is best, fresh omelets and tons of fresh fruit and juices, lots of seafood at dinner. The Italian a la cart "Viva Dolce" is the best restaurant we tried...very good! Buffet has a lot of the same stuff but there is so much choice you'll find something you haven't tried each day.

POOL - Busy, hard to get a Palapa Hut in the early morning however the turn over is high, people coming and going all the time so you may not get one first thing in the morning but hang around and by lunch one will open up. Pools are clean, 4ft deep except at the kids pool were it more like 2ft deep. COBA has the best pool for kids.

ENTERTAINMENT - Good, ends about 10pm, they had a Michael Jackson impersonator with dancers that was quite good. There is a bar that goes late.

KIDS CLUB - Kids club has a mini disco at 8pm - 845pm in the main entertainment center. Kids club is located by the main pool and they have good activities for the kids, some days they would take them to the COBA water park and even take them for lunch, another day they were part of a production of LION KING that played during the 9pm show...very cool for the kids, one day we didn't see our youngest daughter(7) from 9am - 5pm..she refused to hang out with us even at lunch!

TOURS - Being at this hotel offers a break on the day trips since most are so close by, but going into Playa De Carmen for shopping is about 40min trip. THey have swimming with dolphins on site so you save on that only $89. XEL-HA is a must see ECO park with Centoes, snorkeling, Zip line all included in the price of admission adults $90 kids half price...free transfer from the Bahia Principe. Some activities cost extra. Also the Mayan Ruins don't allow you climb the structures anymore (Chichen Iza, and Tulum) however there is a fairly new site that does allow this, its 1-1/2hr away...cannot remember the name (ask tour operator) but its one of the most recent discoveries 20yrs ago.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Villa 65 is best to be closest to the snack bar, lobby with a good view of the beach, if your lucky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal for spending your recent holidays at the Mayan Riviera, we appreaciate that your took the time to share with all TripAdvisor users this detailed review of your experience with us.

We are thrilled to see that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our services during your visit, your kind words and observations will be shared with the departments involved in order to improve and maintain the high level of quality our Resort offers.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future, please we invite you to let us know about your next visit in order to prepare a special welcome for you.

Kind regards from Mexico!




Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was our second time in a Gran Bahia resort, the first being in Runaway Bay Jamaica and I'm happy to say the chain upholds its standards from one resort to another. The Gran Bahia Akumal actually surpassed our expectations for being environmentally conscious, by offering re-usable plastic cups at most bars, no straws in sight, focussed attention to protecting the coral reefs by sectioning off certain areas of the ocean and having the Eco Bahia club on-site to raise awareness on other projects undertaken to protect local flora and fauna.

Another great feature was having access to the sister hotels, Tulum and Coba which provided for interesting diversions without having to leave the comfort of the resort.

In general, service in all the restaurants and buffets was impeccable and staff was always hospitable and friendly. The food was varied, well prepared with a mix of local and international dishes and lots of vegetarian choices. The best À la Carte restaurant we ate at was the Arlequin french gourmet. We were disappointed with the Italian. We were offered a room with king size bed and two twins in close proximity to the beach, pool and main lobby which was greatly appreciated by our family of 4. The room was kept clean throughout our stay and the maid always gave us something to look forward to with her towel art creations. The property and grounds were well maintained and clean.

Although some effort is made by the resort to discourage patrons from reserving beach and pool loungers with signs and plenty of chairs for everyone, it seems that most folks still fear not being able to get their preferred spots and claim chairs and huts very early in the day.

The only drawback from this vacation was getting talked into the "non-time share" lunch offered by Gran Bahia sales reps. We fell for the free prizes and brights smiles hook line and sinker and as a result lost an afternoon of our holiday to about six high pressure sales reps, which left a very bad taste in our mouths.

I would recommend this hotel to families who appreciate natural settings and are looking for a safe and comfortable vacation getaway with all amenities at your disposal.

We look forward to our next stay with Gran Bahia!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Grace:

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal team we would like to express our most sincere thank you for post this wonderful comment of your recent stay.

In Grand Bahia Principe Resorts we look to maintain the harmony between comfort and nature care, it is our commitment with the area to protect every aspect of our surroundings; we thank you for recognizing our effort to save our planet.

In the other hand we are thrilled to read that you enjoyed a lot of our services offered, your comments and observations are taken into consideration to maintain the level of quality expected from us.

We will be so happy to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival, we are sure we can make of your stay another unforgettable experience.


Kind regards from your home away from home!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

wonderfull stay with the exception of a lack of local cultural entertainment. beaches are great and long enought to walk all day long if you wish.transportation around the facilities are very good if you can not walk too much.

Room Tip: corner suites are great especially building 58 for nightly visits from leamers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jerry:

We would like to express our gratitude for visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, et give us the chance to be part of your experience.

Let us inform you that all comments and suggestions from our guests are very valuable, we take every word as a learning tool to maintain the high quality of our resort.

We invite you to visit us soon, we are sure your next visit will even more memorable, please do not forget to contact us before your next arrival.


Kind regards from Sunny Mexico!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.