We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great relaxing vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

wonderfull stay with the exception of a lack of local cultural entertainment. beaches are great and long enought to walk all day long if you wish.transportation around the facilities are very good if you can not walk too much.

Room Tip: corner suites are great especially building 58 for nightly visits from leamers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Jerry:

We would like to express our gratitude for visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, et give us the chance to be part of your experience.

Let us inform you that all comments and suggestions from our guests are very valuable, we take every word as a learning tool to maintain the high quality of our resort.

We invite you to visit us soon, we are sure your next visit will even more memorable, please do not forget to contact us before your next arrival.


Kind regards from Sunny Mexico!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,633
    1,561
    499
    215
    132
See reviews for
1,563
2,430
44
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Most of the other reviews on this resort are pretty accurate, & I would agree with them.

However............they have a Premier Desk situated right outside the main buffet that you have to pass every meal hour. They try to lure you in & sell you weeks at any Gran Bahia property. As with most time share (they don't call it a time share) & other high pressure sales, they don't give up easily & won't let you get back to enjoying your vacation at their wonderful pool or beach.

We were there for two weeks, & by the end of our trip we were dreading meal time. You can eat breakfast & lunch at the a la cartes, selection is limited, & you still have to go to the buffet for dinner. We started to walk on the far side of the narrow hall so that we would not be bothered. I'm friendly & like to smile & say hello to all the staff, but walking past this desk would always put us on edge. Most un-relaxing part of our vacation.

I would NOT recommend this resort based on this experience alone.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Royal Garden Suites on the top floor. Ocean view, steps to the ocean, it was a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear YWGTravelers,


Receive warm greetings from the Bahia Principe Privilege Club.
First we would like to apologize for the inconveniences generated during your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal. I can assure you your comments have been shared with the promotions team in order to evaluate measures that help improve the promotion of the Privilege Club.

I hope you truly enjoyed your vacations in Mexico.

Sincerely,

Adriana Toledo
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The resort was very clean, well kept, with lots of very friendly staff. We brought our children to Mexico for the first time and had a fantastic time. We felt very safe throughout our stay and on excursions. I cannot eat gluten so a staff member provided a letter in Spanish to show the head chef/cook whenever I went to eat and he was great about going around and indicating which dishes I could or could not eat. There was a great transportation system between the resorts and the Hacienda, and lots to do on the resort. We made sure to have lots of small pesos on us for tipping restaurant staff, tram drivers especially if they went out of their way, housekeeping and others. The only downside was the very slow internet connection, and that wasn't really a big issue since we were there to relax and enjoy a break. I love my popcorn at home, and never saw any at stores or even hotel bar - although I would guess that it would become rather soggy in short time with all the humidity! For those loving their chips, you will likely pay dearly for them...a couple of places we noticed that they converted to approximately $8 for a big bag of Lay's chips! We chose a higher cost package (Royal Golden I think it is called) and overall we were very pleased with everything, but it was fairly pricey. We used up some airmiles to lower the price a little.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Royal Golden section, I would try for villa number 65 or 66, as they are closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor user:

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, it was an honor to host you and be at your service.

One of our goal is to create a very lovely and safe atmosphere for all our clients and we are more than happy to see that you had the change to enjoy our complex and our services. Our staff is also committed to assist all our visitors, thank you for give us the opportunity to help you with your dietary needs.

We appreciate all comments and suggestions from guests, as you know they help us to be motivated to achieve high quality levels. Your kind observations will be shared with our staff and General Managers.


Sending you kind regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My first Riviera Maya experience was a huge success thanks to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal!! The room was perfect, clean, well stocked, and had a gorgeous view of the beach. Without exception, each and every member of the staff was corteous, accomodating, and full of smiles. I have already recommended this property to friends and family and cannot wait to return one day.

Room Tip: Keep in mind there are no elevators to the second and third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel Grand Bahia Principe Akumal for your holidays and also for taking the time to write your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We are thrill to know that we were able to meet all your expectations regarding our services and personal attention provided by our wonderful staff. Thank you so much for recommending us to your family and friends.

We hope you give us the pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future.


Warmest regards!


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azambuja, Portugal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Everything about our trip to Mexico was great. Good food, friendly people and very clean. It went beyond our expectations and we do recommend it. However, I do have to mention that we found the airport taxes extremely high ( 55€ or 1000 pesos per person). The excursions might seem expensive but they are worth. Visit Chichen Itza and Xel-ha or Xcaret.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Jorge:

Thank you for deciding be guest at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal and give us the opportunity to serve you, we are proud to see that we reached our main goal which is the entire satisfaction of our clients and to know that our work went beyond your expectations keeps us motivated to continue working hard to please our guests.

We hope you do not hesitate to visit us again in the near future we will do our best to make your stay even more unforgettable.


Kind regards from Mexico!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

What a beautiful resort. The grounds are immaculate .... the hotel is very clean. The beach is awesome except for the swimming part. They have barriers to keep the sand from washing away so it's not the best for swimming or snorkelling. However if you go to the right of the resort down a short trail there is the most amazing bay with a beautiful beach. It's sheltered so it's calmer and the bottom is sand. ... Great for snorkelling and you can get out deep. Worth taking a short walk for. We also went to Xel Ha which is well worth every cent. We took a cab for $20. It's about a 10 minute cab ride. Great place for snorkelling ... Fish.....turtles....sting ray....etc.

Grand Bahia is beautiful.....good food excellent drinks. You can also visit 3 other resorts as well..... Just jump on a train as I call it and it will drop you off at any one of the three....which you can use the amenities as well. You are about 1 hour and 10 minutes from the airport.... but a easy drive. I would return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Laurie:

We are thrilled to see that your last minute vacation was taken at our family Grand Bahia Principe Akumal and it was an honor to serve you during that time in our facilities.

We really appreciate the time our guests take to write their impressions of our services, yours are not the exception that is why we will share every word with our entire work team.

Thank you for thinking in come back at your home away from home Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, it will be amazing to have the chance to pamper you once more. Please do not hesitate to visit us soon.


Warmest regards!


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

An Honest Review

We stayed at Grand Bahia Akumal from Feb 28 - March 8, 2014.

Reception - we arrived in morning and check in was not until 3 pm and hotel gave us our bracelets and took care of our bags right away - went back at 2:45 pm to again no line up and our room was ready with no issues - great job and check in was a breeze

Beach - this was the downfall for me - beach is really beautiful and you can snorkel right there - bring beach shoes because there are some rocks and coral there - too many people in the water for my liking and not a huge area so a little congested

Room - room was beautiful and spotless - had room 5712 - it was quiet - little walk to reception - not far from beach - it was a good location

Food - food was great - Akumal buffet was amazing -went to Tulum buffet for dinner almost every night because it was the best - variety was incredible and food was wonderful

Bars - not big drinkers but I was not impressed with the service - every time I went for a drink they would ignore me for a while and then serve even when nobody was there - did not enjoy going to the bar - many of the bars had only 1 server so it was too slow

Pools - pools were beautiful

Grounds - you have access to all three hotels; Akumal, Coba, Tulum and also to the Hacienda for shopping and entertainment - the grounds are beautiful and the carts which take you around come all the time so there is no issue there and it is fun to go around and check out the other places and use them - lobbies are all spectacular

Hacienda - loved it - shopping was incredible - bought hand made dresses for $30 US each and they are incredible - love all the colours and variety

Local Transport - took the Collectivo - cost is $3 US to anywhere per person - go to Hacienda on the cart - go out to main Highway - Collectivo comes by every 5 minutes and it is a minivan with flashing lights - you wave them down - they pick you up and you tell them where you want to go - it is very safe and very convenient and cheap way to get around - use it

Akumal Beach - took Collective to Akumal Beach - ignored the guys who said snorkelling would cost $25/person - took our own snorkels and swam out and followed a group of people who had paid - saw turtles - it was great and beach is really beautiful - took us 10 minutes on the Collectivo to get there

Monkey Sanctuary Tulum - a really special place and highlight of trip - $45 a person and you need to make reservations on line before you go - they only take 6-8 people per group so small and personal groups - you see monkeys up close - very interesting and beautiful place - best cenote on our trip - amazing trip - took Collectivo to Tulum for $3 - enjoyed the Tulum markets and then took taxi to monkey sanitary for $20 and same cab came back to get us - really great experience and I would highly recommend - was at sanctuary from about 9 am - 12:30 pm

Xel Ha - this is a must do excursion for your trip or you could take Colletivo and just pay the entrance - it is only 10 minutes down the road - incredible park - all natural - ride your bikes to top of lazy river and you tube or snorkel down - they give you key at top of river and they send your valuables down to meet you at bottom so safe way to handle your belongings - lockers are on site and towels - cenotes and caves are there for you to see - this is a beautiful place and the natural beauty of it is staggering - go for the day and enjoy

Entertainment - best entertainment I have seen at any of the hotels we have stayed at - Circus Show was incredible - Acro dance was simply amazing

Airport - clean airport and very efficient so no complaints

Housekeeping - did incredible job every day

Customer Service - second to none and very sensitive to wanting to make sure all your needs are met

Room Safe - had to pay $5 a day for the room safe which is annoying - should be included in the price

Overall, this area of Mexico felt very safe and going on local transport was very safe, convenient and cheap. This hotel
is very massive so a lot for your to enjoy. Personally, I would recommend it but I enjoy a smaller hotel. For or a big hotel, I thought it was really impressive. The area is beautiful and lots to explore. Mexican people don't bother you much while shopping so really easy to get out and enjoy the areas. This hotel was impressive and they bend over backwards to make sure everything is perfect for you.

We hope you enjoy your vacation as much as we did.

Room Tip: 5712 - quiet area - not far from lobby or beach - second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Client:

It is wonderful to see that you took the time to share your recent experience at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, and we are more than happy to read this detailed feedback we are sure it will be helpful to our future clients.

Our main goal is to reach the entire satisfaction of our clients due to the variety and quality of our services, your observations will be shared with our entire team, every comment represent the motivation to improve our work daily.

It would be wonderful to host you once more in our hotel, we hope you do not forget to contact us before your arrival date, we are sure we can accommodate your wishes.


Kind regards from Sunny Mexico!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day per device) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.