We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Wedding on the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Beautiful Wedding on the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I were married at the beach location and our whole trip was fantastic. We travelled with 44 people in our group from all walks of life. There is something for everyone at this resort and never a shortage of food, drinks, and things to do. The beach is unbelieveable so clean, beautiful and the umbrellas and beach chairs are in great abundance. We stayed at the Royal Golden Suites and highly recommend this location for ease to the entire resort. A huge thank you goes out to Eugenia, our wedding coordinator. Our wedding ran prefectly, on time, and without a single hitch. Our flowers were amazing, the ceremony site so romantic, the music, the champagne toast, the dinner etc. Everything was amazing and it is a trip we will never forget. Thank you for making our day extra special!

Room Tip: It's worth it to upgrade to the Royal Golden Suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member:

On behalf of our entire work team I would like to express our gratitude for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal for such a wonderful celebration!

We really appreciate your comments about the quality of our services and facilities, our main goal is to reach the entire satisfaction of every client.

All our staff is committed to provide the best service possible to create a wonderful experience during our guests' holidays that is why comments like yours are the best source of motivation to keep on the good work. Please be assured that we will share all your kind words with our team, they will be so happy to receive them specially Eugenia.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact to prepare a very special welcome for you.

Kind regards


Your honeymoon in Riviera Maya with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,053
    1,374
    449
    200
    114
See reviews for
1,323
2,043
35
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carleton Place, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We traveled to this resort as a group of 10. The entire trip was amazing. The staff was very couteous and attentive. The resort was very clean and well landscaped. The food at the buffets was very good and offered something for everyone. We also ate at 3 of the restaurants (Mexican, Mediterranean, and don Pablo). The Mediterranean and the don Pablo were amazing and I want to especially thank Darwin at the Mediterranean. Best waiter on the resort. We have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and this one rates in the top 3 and we will definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest:

All the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience at our hotel.

Your notes are very much appreciated, thank you for sharing them with us. It is important for all of us to know that you had such a great experience at Grand Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and food service.

Please, do not hesitate in contacting us when you decide to come back, we will do our best to accommodate all your needs.

Our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from a 1 week stay. We upgraded to the Royal Golden section of the Akumal resort as per other reviews. The check in is in a separate area but unfortunately was not speedy. We booked for three rooms and had requested them in the same building as we were traveling with our teenage children. They at first were not in the same building and after 45+ minutes (or one Mexican minute) and a frenzy of words exchanged by the check in staff (seemly arguing in Spanish) we finally were granted 3 rooms in building 68. Never the less, we were happy to be on vacation & were determined not to be deterred by negative staff. This was the only staff member that we had any issues with. The remaining staff was fantastic, always a smile and an Hola.
The rooms were huge. A king size bed, a double bed and a couch that also makes into a bed if needed. The cleaning staff always did a fantastic job and had our rooms cleaned promptly. We always left a tip for our cleaning staff and Carlos went out of his way to make some sort of decoration or towel animal. The fridge was also stacked in a prompted manner.
We did not make it to any of the A La Cartes as we did not book early enough. The remaining times were too late in the evening for the kids. My advice would be to book your a la cartes right when you get there. Mikados and Frutos del Mer had good reviews from some repeat customer that we had met. The kids were happy with the big buffet at the main lobby. We always found something good to eat. There was lots of selection, sometimes repetitive, however, the kids didn't mind. They enjoyed trying different things and going back for more.
We watched the different shows and they were good entertainment. We also bought the tickets to the Thursday night Spanish Fiesta at the Hacienda (170 pesos). Our family thoroughly enjoyed the evening. La Hacienda has shopping stores and flea market type tents. We didn't find out about this place until our week was almost over. It is worth the time to take the buggy to the complex. It is within the area of Grand Bahia but is situated right at the entrance of the resort. The resort should advertise this more. It's open late, so you can go after your evening meal and not miss any beach time.
Like everyone else said, the resort is very large. They have great transportation, but if you're not into large resorts, this is not the place for you. On the positive side, there are great walking paths in the jungle with something or some creature to see around each corner. Also, we tend to eat way too much, so walking to the different areas was actually a welcome activity.
The beach is rockier than what I prefer, but this is not the resorts fault. We mostly sat at the beach (in the Royal golden area - lots of loungers to be had) and cooled off with a swim in the pool. The bar service was good, Melvin always had a smile. We brought our own insulated cups, so our drinks stayed cold.
Two of our kids did the resort scuba diving with instructor Jonathan. He was a good instructor and the kids enjoyed the dive enough so that our son went for a second dive. The ocean was quite rough so visibility wasn't as good as what I've seen in the past.
One complaint I would have would be the wifi. We had to pay $45 USD per unit and the internet connections was sparce at best. If you required good internet, you had to go to the lobby which was not handy at all. The wifi was down completely for a portion of the week. They also offered one free hour a day per unit in the lobby if you didn't want to pay for the wifi. We have been to resort where the wifi is included with the room. All resorts should include wifi. It's the way of the future.
Overall, our family enjoyed the resort. We met several couples & families that were returned customers, so it's obvious that they really enjoy the resort. Your vacation is what you make of it. If you let the little things bother you, it only wrecks your vacation. Grand Bahia did a good job of making our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: The only ocean facing rooms is in building 66. 65 & 67 are quite good also if wanting ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

First of all thank you for trusting the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and choosing us to enjoy your recent holidays.

We really appreciate that you are taking the time to share us some valuable comments about your stay with us. All comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality of the services in the Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Resort. It is for guests like you who send us some amazing words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work and we hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

Kind regards from sunny Mexico!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place was fantastic! The beach was fabulous, which was important for us. Maybe bring some water shoes because it is a little rocky. The waves are fun and look beautiful crashing on the rocks...perfect for action shots!
The room was HUGE and gorgous. The best part was the view of the jungle from out balcony. The service and the workers were great... always working hard to maintain the beautiful grounds and smiling and saying hola to everyone!
We would definitely return to this resort and other bahia resorts in other countries. We liked Akumal over other areas of resort because we are a couple looking for quiet days on the beach. There is a fun, but bumpy transport system among all areas so it s very easy to get around all areas of the complex. Shopping area was fantastic with a pharmacia as well.
Overall, we had a great trip and were very satisfied...great memories! I have recommended to family and friends, so I will recommend to you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Karen:

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Gran Bahia Principe Akumal!

We feel much honored to read your kind remarks about our services and facilities. On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Resort, we want to express our appreciation for the time you took to write and describe your spectacular holidays and for recommending us to your family, friend and everybody.

Please write us a little message before your next visit and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes, I am very sure that you will feel even more pampered and satisfied.

We send you our best regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!



Family holidays with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

we have just returned from Mexico after a rainy arrival, the sun came out and it was lovely, the people working here are the friendliest nation I have ever met from cleaners, gardeners, waiters and waitress to the animation team who were absolutely fantastic, they were great with my grandson and nothing was too much trouble for them, the food did get a bit boring in the main dining room but do use the al a carte they are good, but do book before you get there (on line). And do take dollars as everything is in dollars and not pesos, all the trip and even in the town shops. Chicken Itza is well worth a visit and the Thompson guide who is a local was very informative and helpful.

Room Tip: although it was a large resort none of the rooms were overlooked and there are always buggies going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

First of all thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya!

It is great to know that you really had a good time with us, and definitely we will pass your comments to the all staff of the hotel. Your kind words represent a source of motivation for all of us to continue creating wonderful experiences for our visitors.

It will always be our pleasure to be at your service and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards from The Mexican Caribbean!




Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This property is very large. There are three hotels that you have access to and its a little intimidating when you first arrive. After a couple of days of looking at the map and walking around we figured out what was available. They also have carts that will take you all over the resort or the other resorts, so you never have to walk anywhere if you don't want to. The Akumal is a beautiful resort. The rooms are extremely beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff are very kind and attentive to your every need. The food was amazing! You really have to visit the Sirenas pool bar and see Carlos. If you sit back and watch him for a bit, you will be amazed how hard he works and how efficient he is. He was absolutely great! We didn't get off resort much, only took the trip to Playa Del Carmen, which is offered by the hotel. Be aware of the jewelry store you visit and if you really want to buy something, you can really talk them down in price. Other people I spoke to enjoyed the many tours offered and they all sounded amazing! If you booked this resort, you will not regret it! We will definitely go back to this resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in building 56 which was close enough to both pools, the beach and the lobby and was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Gran Bahía Principe Akumal. We are glad to know that we were able to make your trip a pleasurable experience.

Your comments about our facilities and staff are very valuable, it helps us to give a better service to our clients and keep striving for excellence. Thank you for recommending us and for thinking in come back, we will be honored to welcome you in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival to make of your stay even more special.

Warm regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel where we also got married! To start with the check in was fast & efficient & the welcome cocktail was great after such a long journey. We were a group of 13 in total but 2 arrived 3days earlier than us & were in the tulum the 11 of us all had our rooms upgraded free of charge the rooms were amazing with super queen sized 4 poster beds we also had a bottle of champagne a fruit basket & a beautiful flower arragement in our room! The rooms were spotless & spacious & on the beach we couldnt of asked for anymore! The hotel overall was fantastic we never had a bad meal & the choice on offer was brilliant especially travelling with children as this is usually a big concern for us. The waiters in the buffet reataurant were fantastic & always ensured we got either 1 table to seat us all together or 2 next to each other we couldn't fault their service!Our wedding was perfect from the beach location to all the staff who made it such a special day for us the wedding coordinators did a fantastic job & made sure everything was perfect the photographer was amazing & we have a beautiful album.We had our wedding meal in the dolce vita & the food was beautiful & the service was exceptional we couldnt of asked for anymore! I could keep writing more & more but I just want to say a big thank you to gran bahia for making our wedding and holiday a unforgettable experience we will definitely be returning next year

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member:

We would like to express our gratitude for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal!

We feel honored for giving us the pleasure to be part of your wonderful celebration, one of our goals is to create such an amazing experience for our guests and knowing that we could create this for your wedding make us be proud.

Your kind words will be share with our entire team; this is a motivation to continue working hard for our clients.

We hope to welcome you back again, so please contact us before your next arrival with anything you may need; it will be a pleasure to be at your service again!

Our best regards,



Your honeymoon in Riviera Maya with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Business Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.