We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10th time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“10th time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We returned from the Akumal last Sunday. As you can see we have been there 10 times over the years. Yes we have tried others, but still come back the the Akumal. We have always stayed in The Club Gold Section and a very special thank you to Guillermo Carrasco @ Club Golden for getting us into block 66 it was great to see you again this year hopefully you will still be in that position next year, your personality is awesome for customer service. Thank you, Vanessa in public relations for booking our restaurants before arriving again this year. Louis @ the beach hut bar and the 24 hour bar you always make us smile and to see you again this year was great, keep up the good work my friend. To our housekeeping staff many many thanks, for a great job and the towel art, we realize it is the most thankless job to a lot of people, however, if our room was not clean, we would be worried about the rest of the resort. Which we are not.
The resort is quite large, but the transportation system is easy to get to know. We tended to stay on the beach in front of our block of rooms, as it was a little quieter than further down towards Tulum section. There is lots of places to eat within the complex, if someone can not find anything they are just to picky in our opinion. Please try to remember that the buffets feed hundreds of people per day, all with different tastes, we think that the resort does a amazing job with this.
We are very happy that we decided to return to the Akumal this year, as we had a massive emergency medical issue on Mar 6, in turn from the bottom of our hearts we would like to thank Dr. Cynthia Paloma Garcia, and her paramedics Mr. Abraham Zimon Sanchez and Mr. Jose Cardenas Guevara for saving my husbands life. It sure helps when you know the resort inside out like we do and the fast thinking of the resort staff (the lady who answered my call from the room that night) it only took the Dr. and ambulance 5 min to get from the Hacienda to our room, and let me tell you it is a maze of road ways through out the complex.
Will we return next year? You bet, the value, service, and customer service within this resort keeps us coming back year after year. GREAT JOB EVERY ONE

Room Tip: Beach front blocks 66,67,65 Club Golden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of all the hotel staff we would like to thank you for your informative review and your loyalty to our hotels. For us it is important to hear that you had a fab vacation, because our repetitive guests are the most valuable that we have.

To receive positive reviews from our guests is proof of the excellent work and quality service from our staff. Your mentions will be shared to the departments involved, because definitely it will be a great motivation for our team.

We thank you for your recommendations and please do not forget to contact us for your 11th visit; it will be my pleasure to help you again.

With Kindest Regards,



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    1,433
    468
    213
    119
See reviews for
1,386
2,176
38
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I travelled with my mum and dad to this wonderful hotel last year for 16 nights with First Choice.It was amazing, all of the staff were friendly, the hotel was always clean and the pool was stunning.

Rooms:
The room we had was large and spacious. There were three of us in the room but we had two double beds. The room had everything we could want including amazing towel art, espically on my birthday, it was very cool when it needed to be too.

Beach and Bars:
The beach was stunning, in the sea there were always fish swimming around your feet and the sea was clear blue. There is a reef barrier which you can either sit on or walk along which was very nice. The amount of cocktails that were avaliable was very good but sometimes the service was slow.

Activites:
There is always something to do at this hotel, you can go around the the whole resort, there are three hotels. Tulum, Coba and Akumal. You can use every facility from each hotel and you can catch a lobbly train to each section. The Hacienda is good too, there are a large amount of shops to visit and some activities to take part in too. For example; cycling, fotball and tennis. On the beach you can do kyaking, canoeing and play volleyball.

Overall i thought this was a great hotel and you couldn't get bored and not know what to do. I would easily recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive cordial greetings from the staff of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

We feel glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally satisfied. It is a pleasure to receive comments of high regard for our Hotel. Thank you for highlighting our excellent services.

We hope to welcome you back, so Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival, it will be my pleasure to help you.

Our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed Nov 25th to Dec 9th 2012. We had purchased the Royal Golden package from Air Transat. I was under the impression it meant we would have a room with a view of the ocean, but this was not the case. We were in villa 76 for our first week and it was thanks to the GBP staff that we were able to move to the villa 65 and have an ocean view for the second week. I was disappointed with our Air Transat Reps as they did not explain what the "package" entitled us to, they were more interested in selling their excursions.
Both our rooms were exceptionally clean and the beds were very comfortable. The towel sculptures were a nice touch. It was disappointing to have to pay the $5/day fee for the safe. The mini bar was restocked everyday and we also were close to the 24 hr Snack Bar if we needed anything. We had booked our à la carte meals and only attended three before we decided we preferred the buffets. The à la carte restaurants were excellent with amazing service, but since we were on vacation, it was nice NOT to have to follow a schedule and eat when we felt like it at one of the three buffets. All buffets had really nice and polite staff and very helpful when we practiced our Spanish. What impressed me most with the staff at GPB is that most of them speak many languages and it wsa nice to be served in French as well as in English.
Lots of activities offered at the resort, there is no way you can be bored unless that is your choice. The Spanish lessons in the morning were so much fun (thanks Diego and Miguel!), dancing in the afternoons and great professional shows at night. The beaches are just amazing and though the water is not deep, it is perfect for snorkling and with the sand bags it allows you to be in the water everyday and not have to worry about turbulant waters. We saw so many fish at the resort, including a stingray. The sand is clean and without rocks so you can walk without sandals. There are different beach areas, so you can have peace and quiet or be in the area where they have activities. The golf carts were plenty to get you around the resort, but we preferred to walk and explore. The drivers of the golf cart transportation were always so nice to stop and ask us if we wanted a lift. The coaties, birds and the iguanas were so nice to watch and we even saw some racoons. It was so nice to be in a place that had wildlife all over. The grounds were impeccable, very well kept and clean. The customer service staff were very helpful giving us information of places to visit that we went to by collectivo. This place is very well situated around so many different activities (ruins, public beaches, cenotes), it was great to be able to do an outing any time we felt like it without having to sign up for excursions. The excursions we did were a lot of fun (Secreto, Xel-Ha, Ek Balam, Tulum) and there are still so many more to do. The market at the Dona Isabella was great. We got all our souvenirs here and at better prices than offsite places to shop.
This was such a wonderful vacation that we will be returning this year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive cordial greetings from the Sunny Riviera Maya and from all the staff of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

Thank you for giving us your nice feedback about the time you had here and the activities that you enjoyed. We will share you incredible mentions with our staff, especially with Diego and Mike.

We hope to welcome you back again at your second home at the Mexican Caribbean, so please contact us before your next arrival with anything you may need; it will be a pleasure to be at your service again!

Our best regards,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I went with my boyfriend, brother and his girlfriend last August and had high expectations beforehand. The hotel was lovely, but the rooms did let me down a little bit. They are massive, but need a little modernising i think. It was an expensive holiday and when compared to other hotels nearby it wasn't as expensive, yet other rooms in other hotels were amazing looking and for not much more of the price. Overall, the pools and beach were fantastic. The food was amazing too. The service was incredible and overall would go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya !!

We would like to thank you for make us participant of your important points of view that will be addressed to our General Manager to improve all the services mentioned in your resume.

We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean, so please let us know if you decide to visit us again, it will be a pleasure to have a second.

Receive our best regards,



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machesney Park, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family just got back from a stay at the Gran Bahia Principe - Akumal Resort & Spa. While we enjoyed our stay very much, it was not the greatest hotel we have ever stayed at. We would most likely not stay here again, but overall the experience was an enjoyable one!

Rooms - We stayed in 5226, on the third floor. For not being a suite, the room was still very large and comfortable. We had four people: 3 adults and 1 child, and they provided us with a king bed, a queen bed and a couch-turned-bed. All of those beds managed to fit in the room without feeling too crowded. One cute feature of the rooms is that the maids leave towel art on the bed. There's also a minibar in the room, but ours was never very cold. Also, it is hit or miss whether it's stocked every day or not. If you get a room on the third floor, be prepared to climb some stairs, as there are no elevators. Another downside is that, at least in our room, we didn't have hot water all the time, which sucked when you really wanted a nice hot shower or bath but would be disappointed instead.

Beach & Pools - The beaches here are very nice and very big! The sand isn't exactly fine white sand, but it's still nice, and the staff keeps it very clean. There are plenty of loungers and huts for everyone. There is a nice buoyed area where the water stays very calm and is great for snorkeling, even when it is very windy out. Go snorkeling! You won't regret it. As for the pools, they are very big and clean, but they are also very cold! They are not heated so be prepared for that if you stay during the colder months.

Entertainment & Shopping - Akumal has some great entertainment. Definitely check out the Ampitheater Hollywood, off of the lobby. They have great shows there every night at 9 PM, except for Thursdays. In the bar off the lobby, they have a singer there most every night. For further entertainment and shopping, go to the Hacienda Dona Isabel, which has an outdoor market area, indoor shops, a disco and a sports bar. They also have shows in the Hacienda every Thursday night.

Food & Restaurants - The food here is all right. In my opinion, the food at the buffet is nothing special. Don't go to the snack bar, as it is horrible! The food is cold, and the options are terrible. The food at the specialty/a'la'carte restaurants is much better, but you must make reservations. Three reservations were provided to us on arrival, which was very nice. We ate at the Gran Tortuga (Brazilian), Tequila (Mexican) and Mikado (Japanese/Hibachi) restaurants. My favorite was Tequila.

Location & Size - This resort (including the other hotels of Tulum, Coba and Si'an Kaan) is huge! Even just in the Akumal area, it is very big, and you will do some walking. If you want a very relaxing and peaceful stay, this hotel might not be for you with all the walking involved. Try to get a room closer to the beach and pool area, if you can. The location is good, but it is long drive from the airport (over an hour), which isn't fun, but it's worth it to get away from Cancun crowds. You are also close to the Tulum ruins here, which you should definitely check out.

Service - Service here was very good. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. When we arrived, we were served drinks right away. We booked our vacation through Apple, and on Wednesday night we were treated to a special dinner just for Apple guests, which was very yummy and entertaining. However, if you happen to wander into an exclusive area reserved for Si'an Kaan or privileged/premier guests, be prepared to be told to leave. That happened to us once, and it was embarrassing, but it didn't dampen our spirits too much.

Overall, this hotel is very good but not the best. There are a lot of great features, but there are also some negative things as well. However, we still really enjoyed our stay, and even though we would probably not come here again, we would still recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in the Riviera Maya.

Room Tip: Villa 52 has garden views. It's not too far from the ocean and pools, but it's not right nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire Gran Bahia Principe Akumal team we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

We are honored that you have selected our hotel as your holiday destination. All your comments and suggestion have been shared with every departament involved to improve the necessary services and ensure our guests satisfaction

We invite you to visit us again, so please contact us before your next visit and we will have ready a very nice room for you.

Receive our warmest regards from your house in The Mexican Caribbean!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just arrived home from a wonderful week at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Resort (Fri-Fri).

We arrived at the resort at around noon local time and - as I had worried - check in time was at 3pm. The attendant at the main desk was very pleasant and helpful. She provided us with our braclets, towel cards and let us know that while we didn't have access to the room yet we had access to all of their facilities. With fresh towels in hand we spent the afternoon on the beach with drinks in hand.

The property is huge so the resort provides shuttle services to all rooms, restaurants and sister resorts from 7am to 2:00am. While great in theory you should always give yourself an extra 10-15 minutes as the wait times for the shuttles varies - particularly with Akumal for some reason. There would be times where we watched two shuttles for Coba or Tulum roll by and we'd still be waiting for the Akumal shuttle.

After 3pm we got our room keys and hopped a ride to our villa (villa 75). Our room was extremely clean. In fact I would say it was spotless. The fridge was stocked with soda, beer and snacks and we had 2 large bottles of water for drinking. The staff restocked the fridge daily and we were never without something to drink. The cleanliness of the room was consistent all week as well.

Access to the beach was a five minute walk from our villa, as was the 24hr snack bar. The snack bar had juice, pop, hamburgers, hotdogs, french fries - that sort of thing.

Food at the resort was generally good. The only bad experience we had was after dinner at Dolce Vita, their italian restaurant. I ate a shrimp dish and was very sick that night and next morning. We only had the chance to eat at another a la carte during our stay and that was Mikado, their Japanese restaurant. The food was alright, the sushi was decent grocery store deli quality and ambiance was great.

The buffets were all big with lots of choices to suit your needs with rotating nightly themes. However the buffets at each resort (Akumal, Tulum, Coba) are all run by different chefs which give you a slightly different result. We found the food at the Coba buffet to be consistently better than Akumal and we would make the trip to Coba most mornings for breakfast.

A warm welcome for our 4 yr old daughter was the small children's waterpark located at the main pool of Coba. It was clean, close to food and drinks and felt very safe.

If you have any hope at all to have a chair on the beach or by a pool get your towels down on chairs and do it early. People are horrible and will go put towels down on chairs and then not even sit in them for 5-6 hours - if at all! We spent a half an hour combing the beach one day for chairs only to give up and move up to one of the pools. It's not unusual for people to go put towels down on their way to breakfast at 7am so I'm not kidding, do it early.

Which brings me to my final point and only REAL bone of contention. At each of the resorts next to the main lobby and on the way to buffet where it's completely unavoidable, there is a desk with at least two people working at any given time. On the first day they suckered my wife into learning about their Premier Club Membership after which we'd receive $50 to use on our vacation (I would have said no). We met a lovely french girl named Clara who ate breakfast with us and began explaining the program to us. Eventually we went to a room filled with tables - with a couple and a sales person at each - and we were joined my Clara's manager. She started talking about pricing which ranged from $20,000 to $60,000 for a 30 year plan. I quickly cut her off and explained that we weren't either interested or in a financial situation to even consider. She said she'd "brief" her manage and we'd be on our way. Sure enough her manager came over and tried for the hard sell. I basically told him to stop talking before I got angry and he followed my advice. He then let us know that a fourth person would come over and complete a survey and then we'd be on our way. The fourth person came over and after asking us the first two questions on the survey began to try and sell us on a 3 year plan. I told him to stop in his tracks and let us out.

They did let us out and gave us the $50 voucher as promised. As if the painful 2 hours wasted wasn't enough we then had to spend the rest of the week walking past the Premier Club desk where we were haggled again and again to learn more about Premier Club. The were relentless to the point when I was trying to calm down my daughter who was having a melt down we were interrupted by one of them trying to talk to me about Premier Club. ENOUGH!

Otherwise everyone from wait staff to grounds crew to customer relations to bar tenders were great.

The resort is in close proximity to Xel Ha, Tulum Ruins and towns like Akumal and Playa Del Carmen so if for some crazy reason you get bored there's lots to do.

We'll be back in 2014 for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Pat:

On behalf of all the hotel staff, thank you for your informative review. We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us.

This review will be really motivating as it reflects the amazing work and the efforts from our staff and we will share it with all of them.

We hope that you will not hesitate in returning in the near future and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again with a very especial welcome.

Regards from the Sunny Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Bahia Principe Akumal and the service was incredible. Galdino from beach bar 66 was unbelievably friendly, efficient and made the best drinks we have had. He certainly was a highlight of our trip. The maid service and 'towel sculptures' were fun and very creative and gave us a smile when we returned to the room after a day at the beach.

This was our first time at this hotel and are now planning our next trip. With much to chose from on the Riviera, the excellent service we received will certainly influence our decision. If we had to pick a negative, the $5 per day charge for the room safe we found insulting. (Super 8 motel at $59 per night has a free safe!)

Food was good - a'la'cartes were excellent. Beach was similar to others we have seen on the Riviery.

Room Tip: The Royal Golden option is well worth the $$. Closer to the beach and direct shuttle from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Akumal and share your incredible experience at our hotel with the rest of the travelers.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time among us and that you enjoyed the location, the excellent service and the exceptionals a la Carte restaurants.

We would like to have the opportunity to host you once again, so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit.

Receive our warmest regards from the Riviera Maya!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day per device) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.