We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time just as good as the first!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Second time just as good as the first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at The Bahia Principe Akumal from Feb. 22-March 1st. 2013.
My husband and I invited my husband's sister and her husband who have never traveled to join us on a trip to the Mayan Riviera. When they said yes, we decided to take them to the Bahia Principe Akumal where our daughter was married in 2009. We were blown away then with the excellent service etc. so thought it would be a good place for my husband's sister and her husband to start...
We weren't disappointed and neither were they! The resort has grown since we were there last but that didn't alter the wonderful service we received. We stayed in the Royal Golden section which is closest to the beach in villa 69. The room was exceptionally clean and kept that way by Elena who looked after us for our stay. It was also very quiet, a little bit away from the action.
There are plenty of deck chairs to be had whether on the beach or at a pool. The beach is lovely, clean and goes on forever. Since we visited last the beach has been extended and new palapas and a beach bar added.
The food at the buffets was great, lots of choices and something different every day. The A la carte restaurants are wonderful even though we only had time to partake in one, El Tortuga which is the Brazilian restaurant. The food was great and the service as well.
The grounds are exceptional, beautiful trees, flowers and shrubs everywhere and impeccably kept by what must be hundreds of groundskeepers. Wow! The pathways were even power washed almost every day!
You can walk everywhere if you choose or hop on a tram at one of the bus stops and go anywhere you like on any of the resorts, there are 4 in total.
We have stayed at Bahia Principe's in 3 countries now and, will continue to stay at a Bahia wherever possible!
Because our family members had such a wonderful first time experience here, they are already planning their next trip!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, a beautiful ocean view and quiet villas 65-68 are perfect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

All the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience during your stay in our hotel and also for your loyalty to our hotels.

We appreciate the fact of highlight the services and the personal attention from our staff, reviews like yours, are the motivation to keep in the good job.

We are looking forward to your next visit, so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival, our repetitives are the most valuable that we can have.

Receive our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,637
    1,561
    499
    215
    132
See reviews for
1,566
2,431
44
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonnyville, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I and a bunch of our friends went to akumal for a wedding and we had a great time! It was our first time in Mexico so we weren't sure what to expect. The staff was awesome and so friendly, the food was fantastic at the buffet. We spent a lot of our time at the pool which was clean and the bar and bathrooms were close which was handy. Our room was pretty close to the lobby and pool and snack bar which was nice. The trains that went to coba and tulum were quick and fun to be on. Hacienda had lots of neat shops as well which was cool and the disco was a good time!. The only issue we really had was the smell of our room, it was on the bottom floor of the villa and it smelled very mildewy and we had a few ants in the bathroom. We did notice a few red ones our last day which was a bit freaky but they never bothered us. I would request a room on the second floor next time. Overall great resort and I would recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal as your hotel destination, we really appreciate the nice review that you wrote about your vacations with us.

It is grateful to read that you enjoyed the great attention from our personal; we will send your nice words to them. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, so please feel free of contact us for your next visit

Warm Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancs Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were there from the 2nd February to the 16th February 2013. The hotel was excellent, in well laid out grounds which were well kept and clean. We found the staff at all times to be friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient. There was a huge variety of food which was very good and a wide choice of restaurants to indulge different choices of menus. The beach and pools area were fabulous and well served with bars. My wife tried the TAO fitness centre and was very impressed.

Cannot recommend the hotel enough, we has a superb holiday, thanks Akumal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest.

Grand Bahia Principe Akumal team would like to thank you for staying with us

To know that you enjoyed the services from our hotel and the excellent attention from our personal, really makes our efforts well worth.

Make sure your post will be passed to our team, they will feel proud to know about your entire satisfaction. We hope to be your host again at the Riviera Maya!

Our Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

WOW---After going all over Mexico, BVI and USVI once or twice a year for the last 15 years, we have found the resort that is worth repeating. Good food, above average buffet, great Specialty Restaurants. Pools were very clean, never got cloudy in the afternoon and the beaches are very clean, lots of seating with and without shade. The bars were organized and efficient, did not need to wait in line very often and then no more than say 5 minutes. The rooms were very clean and the beds were ok, some new ones would not hurt however. Our personal Concierge was Perscila Nieto, she took charge and made our stay Fantastic. Priscila was very low key, but would followup on even the small things, how great is that? The only thing was negative was NOT the Bahia's problem, but that of Apple Vacations. The Apple rep never kept a schedule, never arrived on time and some days we could not even locate him, We will use Apple again and hope we do not get this rep again. Do not be hesitant to choose that Grand Bahia Akumal!!

Room Tip: Building 49---Garden view and very close to lobby, beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your preference in visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Akumal and taking the time for recomend us by this website page. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, Every day the comments like yours motivate us to continue working hard. It will be a pleasure to pass you lovely comments, especially with Priscila.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back in your second home in the Mexican Caribbean.

King regards from sunny Mexico




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wonderful week staying at the Grand Bahia Principe - Akumal. We stayed in the Royal Golden section and it was worth the extra. Rooms are very clean. Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Service was exceptional. Good variety of food. The only downside was at times, the waiters in the main buffet weren't very attentive leaving you returning to dirty plates at your table. But that is really the only criticism. The pools are very nice. The trolley to take you to other parts of the resort pass often. We had no problem getting chairs at the the Royal Golden beach or either of the pools and we aren't early risers.

I had read reviews about the beach being rocky. Yes, the beach at the Royal Golden section has some coral and is a little uncomfortable to walk on but it's not terrible. Bring water shoes of you are concerned.

We are looking forward to our next stay in this resort!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

All the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience at our hotel.

Your notes are very much appreciated, thank you for sharing them with us. It is important for all of us to know you had such a great experience at Grand Bahia Principe resorts and also all the suggestions that you may have

Please, Do not hesitate in contacting us when if you decide to come back, we will do our best to accommodate all your needs.

Our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Just returned from the Akumal (Mar 3) & really enjoyed our stay! The beach is phenomenal, the section right in front of the Premier Akumal section is a bit rocky but we never actually broke out our water shoes. no problems securing beach chairs. The main beach is absolutely perfect. outdoor disco @ Coba is a blast, complete w dance lesson. Michael J show differs at each hotel so check them all out! Hacienda disco open late ie 3 a.m. & is lots of fun. One of the restaurants serves actual bottled wine, have fun figuring out which one! We would very likely return to this resort largely due to the ability to use, and variety found amongst, the 3 hotels ie. each main buffet & entertainment differs from the next so it never gets tiresome. These 3 resorts make up an entirely amazing vacation experience. The property is expansive so if you're looking for a smaller scale resort, this is not for you.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your beautiful review about your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

It is a delight to know that you enjoyed our facilities, the amazing beach and the restaurants. As the comments of our guests are very important to motivate our staff, we have passed your observations about your visit with the departments involved

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in your New Mexican home, so please do not forget to contact us 3 weeks before your next arrival, it will be our pleasure to help you!

Best Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the GBP Akumal during 11 days in February. We were very happy for having chosen this hotel, everything seems just perfect, very beautiful and clean. We were very glad to get a room in the villa 47 as the rooms there have a nice view to the beach and are close to the pool and lobby.

We were very satisfied with the services of the hotel. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, you will always find your choice. Here our special thanks to the breakfast/lunch restaurant staff Fidel, Mario and Vanessa.

We have visited the a la Carte restaurants: Arlequin, Mikado, Dolce Vita and the Brazilian Restaurant, which is managed by a Brazilian guy, who was very kind. Our favorites were Mikado and the Brazilian Restaurant.

Actually all the requisites for the perfect holidays in the perfect place were fulfilled: good food, good cocktails, nice beach and pool, but then two incidents happened. The first, we bought a tour to Tulum and Akumal with TUI. The plan was to visit the ruins in Tulum, go for lunch at Ziggy Beach and snorkeling with turtles at Akumal Beach afterwards. When we were leaving Ziggy Beach to go to Akumal, we have been informed that plans have changed and that we would go to a cenote as the weather was not good for snorkeling (curiously that was one of the days with less wind during our complete stay and the sun was shining). The cenote we have been taken to was horrible, not to say disgusting. The water was filthy and oily. No fishes of course. This was very disappointing as I would have expected from a travel organization like TUI to inform their customers about the need of 100% perfect weather conditions before selling their tours - of course no one expects to go out for a tour in a very bad weather day, but I still do not understand the problem with the weather on that day. As it is always windy there, I wonder myself how this tour could have ever taken place. Second, if the tour has to be changed, then please offer something which is comparable - a visit to such a beautiful beach as Akumal can not be simply replaced by a visit to a filthy cenote. The day was just waste of time and money. Tulum is so close to the hotel that you can make it much better by your own taking a cab.

Last but not least, during our Welcome Session with TUI on our second day, the TUI Representative recommended us to visit Chemuyil beach, which is just 15 min walking from the hotel. Unfortunately, we took the advice and went to this beach in our last afternoon. Three minutes that we haven't paid attention and our backpack was gone. Our belongings have been stolen. The couple that lives in the beach told us that the same had happened three days before and that cases like this are very common there. So, I ask myself how is it possible that the TUI representative recommends their guests to visit a beach which is not safe at all. And if they do not know about it, then it is bad enough that TUI representatives are not informed about the conditions of the places where they work!

After talking to some locals, the taxi driver, police etc, the message was clear: don't believe you are safe just because you are in Yucatan. Don't forget you are still in Mexico!

From the other side, the whole staff at GBP Akumal was extremely kind and nice. The Gentleman from Guest Relations (unfortunately I forgot his name) was very helpful and supportive in this painful situation.

It would have been one of our better holidays, but thanks TUI we have lost one day in a failed tour and visited a beach recommended by them just to be stolen and lose expensive belongings, including the most important thing of our holidays: our camera with all our pictures.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all receive our most sincere appreciation for your reviwew about your last stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We are grateful for your wonderful words; it is a pleasure to have met your expectations with our service and the personal attention from our staff.

We have already sent your nice comments to all our departments, especially to our Guest Relations Desk, we are looking forward to welcome you, so please feel free of contact us with any request that you may have.

Best Regards from The sunny Mexican Caribbean!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.