We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hope this review will convince you to travel to this location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I hope this review will convince you to travel to this location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just returned from another trip to this hotel. Wonderful experience. My daughter,son,wife,granddaughter myself and husband travelled. All ages ranging from 16-70 yrs. All are thrilled and had a good experience. Activities for everyone. Great variety of good foods for the healthy and the overindulgent. Refreshments of every kind. Coba is one of three resorts all situated so that one can pass from one to the other and enjoy the different ambiance. The staff and organization at this hotel, is wonderful, and counteracts all the negative comments from media about Mexican people. These dedicated Mexican/Mayan people show one how appreciative they are for the least little bit of respect you show them! The facilities are spotless, kitchen and food preparation topnotch. A La Carte's another whole experience! Shopping area on the property and nightclubs. Security on the grounds. Little trams to take you all over the resorts. Occasional sighting of wildlife and beautiful coloured birds to see. To add to this the idealic turquoise shades of the Carribean ocean to greet you, it is a paradise. Thank you again to the staff that we had the pleasure of meeting once again. Andres No,1, Andres No.2, Hector, Jean Luc, Felix, Ignatio, Charlotte, Nadia, Elias (whappo), Luis Perez,Victor,Orthelia,Martha,Carlos -cook, Filigrino,Silverio, Osmar, Martin, and of course the staff who ensured our reservations and rooms were perfect. Also thank you to Patricio who arranged our meal at the Arlequin and Antonio our waiter there. Imagine arriving at your room to find champagne, and beautiful fresh flowers awaiting our tired bodies on arrival. We will be travelling again to this tropical oasis.

Room Tip: Rooms are on 3 floors so mobility should be considered, as no elevator. Air conditioning is designe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe, Riviera Maya team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to hear you had a nice holiday during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the beach, food and drinks, a la carte restaurants, and the service.

It has been our pleasure and honor to be at your service, looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,054
    1,376
    449
    200
    114
See reviews for
1,323
2,044
35
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roscoe, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Feb 6 thru 13, Third time at the resort, will return next year, staff very helpful and ready to please. Beach is great, enough chairs for everyone, so many different areas to swim, snorkel, and view fish. Recommend taking the walk to the Chemuyil Beach just south of the resort, follow the path, were shoes, great hideaway, and snorkeling area. Only negative is the resort is 1 hour away form the airport but it is well worth the ride.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the time you have taken to write a review of your past vacations at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

It is a pleasure to know that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your room, the amazing food and in general, your vacation among us. Your comments will be a great motivation to our team, Thanks a lot!

Please feel free of contact us, before your next visit and we will make all possible to meet your requests.

Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Akumal 7 or 8 times over the last number of years. We find the staff to be friendly and always helpful. It is a pleasure to see familiar faces when we return. And it is amazing to us how hard the staff work to please the guests! The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. If you want to be on the edge of the Caribbean and enjoy a silky warm breeze in January this is certainly a place to consider.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the sea and away from any bar service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent visit to Gran Bahia Principe and for taking the time to write your positive impressions about our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so much your holidays among us, Thank you for appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees.

Once again thank you for nice comments and for recommend us, we are looking forward to welcome you again at your house in the Mexican Caribbean!






Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I can't say enough good things - the food was awesome, the pools, the beach, the service, the staff, the properties - so exceeded my expectations and worth every penny - will definitely be back! The resort was at full capacity but I felt like I was important.The level of professionalism and attention from every single staff person made this trip a delight. If you're thinking about it, GO!!!

Room Tip: Sian Kaan is very modern, a more mature clientel, Akumel and Coba are more traditional Carribean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you so much for your trust and for have visited Grand Bahia Principe Akumal .

We would like to thank you for your positive comments on our service, facilities and hospitality. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments about our services and facilities are very rewarding, so please be assured that we will forward your post to our staff.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards from the Mexico



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

had a quick week here and loved it.
Service brilliant, everywhere spotless, food very good though fish/seafood not great (maybe my standards are getting too high?)
Lots of innocuous willdlife around which was a surprise.
Would stay here again
I would like to comment on the flight with thomson airways- i have flown 30+ times on schedule airlines in the last year and the thomson flight was one of the best in terms of service, the crew deserve credit.
On the return flight we had an extreme badly behaved family, culminating in an arrest, i would hope the offenders will be prevented from travel with thomson in future

Room Tip: top floor will be best bet for a sea view - hotel borders a jungle area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive Cordial greetings from all the team working at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We are proud of receiving these kind words your nice words will be really inspiring for all our staff.

We look forward to your return to Grand Bahia Principe Resort so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

Our kindest regards from your house in The Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay was from Feb 3-10. I have to say that for one of the largest resorts in the riviera maya it was amazing. The service was outstanding. We stayed in the Royal golden section of the resort in block 64 room 22. I emailed the resort two weeks prior to arrival and I have to thank Vanessa personally for the amazing service you provided to our group of five. You went over and above with my requests and I would like to thank you, we had everything we requested and the partial oceanview was amazing. I would also like to thank Alejandra in the Akumal buffet for the great service she provided to us all week. She works very hard and should be thanked. The resort was fairly large but never felt crowded. The food was amazing and the selection huge. We never waited in line for breakfast, even on the days that the lines were starting for eggs, another cook would come down and ask us to follow her and she would cook our eggs for us near the tostada station in the buffet. We rarely saw people reserving chairs at the pool or beach as this resort posts signs everywhere that it is not tolerated. The service at the spa was incredible and Isabel and Anna did a great job. We had free wifi in the lobbies but never needed it as we were close enough to the royal golden lobby that it worked from our rooms. We are avid scuba divers and recommend going to Cozumel for the wall dive. It was amazing. The beach had good snorkelling and water shoes a must. We did snorkel with the turtles in Akumal bay and also the cenote/Ek Balam tour. A definite must to see. In all we would recommend this resort to anyone as there was so much to do and see. We had a fabulous time there.

Room Tip: Block 64 is close to the Royal golden lobby! Also the beach, pool and snack bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We have already sent your nice words and thanks to the departments involved and the persons mentioned in your review. From my part, recieve my most sincere thank you for highlight the efforts from my job.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again, so please do not forget to contact us again before your next visit, it will be my pleasure to help you again.

Regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are leaving the hotel today after a fabulous week. The dining staff are amazing and they make a point of remembering what you like, your coffee, favourite drinks etc. while all the staff are extremely friendly,look for Patricia in the buffet dining in the evening and Jose in the a.m. And lunch. Exceptional servers. You also have to give credit to the management for selecting or training these people to represent them. Every person was pleasant and helpful!
The food was more than o.k., if you can't find something to eat, you have a problem.
The resort is immaculate everywhere, rooms are spacious, we love it here and will be back! The location is minutes from all sorts of parks, taxis everywhere to get you there and back safely. We can't recommend it enough! What we found dismaying was the way some tourists treat the staff, the lack of respect! Also, tipping or should i say the lack of tipping, these people work hard, and a buck or two goes along way! If you choose this resort, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We were in villa 49 , 2nd floor, close to main building pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for visit Gran Bahia Principe Akumal and taking the time to write your positive impressions.

For our entire staff, it was a pleasure to serve you, so We will pass your comments to the them because there is no better award to the their work than your nice words

Please let us know when you will be back, to have a special welcome for you and your family

Our Best Regards from The Mexican Caribbean,



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;