We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good....unless you travel with a laptop and do work like I do...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good....unless you travel with a laptop and do work like I do...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am A Real Estate Broker, so I always have to travel with my laptop and depend on wireless connections in my room. My only complaint here is that you have to haul your laptop to the lobby in order to get free wireless connection, and the bed mattresses are hard. They offer an expensive connection,available in you room, that you have to pay for with credit card. Otherwise, the resort was great, as we were located in villa 4900. This was located in close proximity to the beach, as well as the lobby. We also requested a ground floor which was nice, as there are no elevators here. Staff was very friendly...everyone that we walked pass or came into said "ola" and smiled a forced smile....you can tell that they make them do it in order to work here, but I'm not complaining. the buffets that they have every day are awsome, with many different things to choose from. There are many different nationalities here on vacation; French, Russian, German, British, Cuban, ETC...the buffet has somthing for everyone. I think that they probably use MSG. There are many different mixed drinks to choose from, 24 hours a day, as well as a snack bar that is opened 24 hours, with nachos, pizza, etc..the Cuban cigars are very good as well, however, i understand that there are lots of counterfeits going around. I bought mine at the Duty Free store at the airport. They seem to be real....as least they taste and smoke really good. I will come back here again as soon as I can. Don't worry about the weight gain, it all melts off naturally after being home again for about 5 days or so.....

Room Tip: Request a bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire Grand Bahia Principe Akumal we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review and for mentioning the great service and facilities from our hotel

We would be delighted to assist you in your future visits, so please feel free of contact us before your next arrival, it will be a pleasure to be at your service again

Warm Regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relation
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,690
    1,576
    500
    215
    132
See reviews for
1,584
2,470
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our second trip to this resort and our third time at a Bahia Resort. We stayed at the Royal Golden - Akumal both times. This resort meets our expectations and adds a touch of luxury with the architecture. The rooms are showing a bit of age, the beds are hard, but how much time do you spend in your room!
The room was clean, the bar fridge was filled daily, the food was good, and the staff were friendly. With a resort this large, and shuttle service between the different areas, it is hard to find fault. You can always find an area to relax, to play games, to enjoy a cerveza, sit by the pool or snorkel in the ocean.

Room Tip: Royal Golden if you want to be close to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive cordial greetings from Grand Bahia Principe Akumal. We would to thank you for have taken the time to write about your last stay with us.

Guests like you, who send us many nice words after their holiday, motivate our staff every day and give them the energy to keep up their hard work. We will forward this review to every department manager so our staff gets the recognition that they deserve.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us, please let me know if there is anything that we can help you with.

Best Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were there at the end of November for a wedding, 60+ of us staying in Golden. Loved everything about it. Staff were very friendly, food was great, really enjoyed the Mikado and the Gran Tortuga. Loved the snack bar, that was our meeting point. We plan to go back Feb 2014 this time for 2 weeks....can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

It is great to know that you really had a good time with us. It is a real pleasure to read your kind words, and definitely we will pass your comments to the all staff of the hotel.

Once again and in the name of all Bahia Principe we thank a lot this feedback of your stay with us.

Regards from The Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our second trip, we stayed at the Golden this time. The difference in price and what you get is not worth it. Next time we will go back to the regular part. The staff is very friendly, curtious and helpful, especially Sylvia at Guest Services, she went out of her way to help us. I highly recommend the Brazilian Restaurant. Great food and service. I am vegetarian and they made me a vegetarian plate, I didn't ask for it. We will go back, our friends loved it as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your wonderful words about your last stay at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya. Your opinions are the best way to evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

Definitely your amazing words will be the best award for our staff to all the efforts that they make day by day, it is an honor to have met you entire satisfaction

We hope to welcome you the soon, so please do not forget to contact us before your next visit.

Regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our third visit and was again a great holiday. The place is lovely, the staff are great, and you really feel looked after.
The only downside is occasionally rowdy Canadians - the place would really benefit from at least one dining area that is quiet and no children.
The food is great - we stopped going to the a la carte restaurants as it was too much food- the buffet dining areas are excellent.
It's about the furthest hotel on the Mayan Riviera from Cancun but the local collectivo buses are cheap, frequent, and drivers helpful.

Room Tip: Lots of choice - probably best away from the routes to (and from) the all night bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madame:

We appreciate the time taken by you in writing a review of your recent stay and at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We would like to express our gratitude for these kind words you have shared and appreciate the excellent attention of our personal.

We look forward to your return to Grand Bahia Principe Resort so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival and we will give you the amenities for being repetitive guest

Our best regards,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were there in Jan 2011, just my husband and I, then we went back with our children and my husbands parents (Their first trip to Mexico)

It was exactly as I remembered. Met every expectation the 2nd visit. We got to experience another side to the resort- the Kids club and from my inlaws perspective. Kids clud was great- on really hot days the kis could go to an airconditioned play room and it would allow the adults some free time. The kids show in the evening was always so much fun for them to be a part of and for us to watch. The evening shows were always family friendly and the kids enjoyed the entertainment just as much as us and my in-laws.

My in-laws were extemely impressed. Far beyond exceeded their expectations of a vacation to mexico. Food, rooms, beach, pools, and just the overall experience. They were very impressed with the quick and constant trollies to get around, which was a necessity (after a recent hip surgery).

Once again, I say you can not go wrong with this resort. 2nd visit proved to me it wasn't a fluke to get such a good 1st visit- this is a 5+ start resort in all aspects. The only thing some may not like is the 2 hour ride from the airport, but as I said in my 1st review you are now closer to many of the excursions, playa del carmen, and have a private beach, with no peddlars, lots of space and chairs, and calm waters provided by wave breaks.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to request at check in; they will try and get you where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks a lot for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya for your family holidays

We are happy to know that you had a unforgettable Holidays with us and that you enjoyed all the Great job of our Staff, comments like yours are the best motivation for all of them

Please contact us before your next arrival, like this last time to make even more memorable your next stay.

Receive our most sincere appreciation from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 3rd time at this hotel, as usual great service, clean site, Food just terrific and restaurant a la carte just great but really hard to get the time and day we want, tips just book all your resto a la carte the day you arrive( japonaise book and ask for the show). I can`t wait to go back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for nice comments.

We are very happy to know that you will be back soon for your 4th visit, I am very sure that this experience will be another awesome time with us.

Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival in order to give the proper follow up to your requests and the status of repetitive guest that you deserve.

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.