We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Mold, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Third time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was our third visit and was again a great holiday. The place is lovely, the staff are great, and you really feel looked after.
The only downside is occasionally rowdy Canadians - the place would really benefit from at least one dining area that is quiet and no children.
The food is great - we stopped going to the a la carte restaurants as it was too much food- the buffet dining areas are excellent.
It's about the furthest hotel on the Mayan Riviera from Cancun but the local collectivo buses are cheap, frequent, and drivers helpful.

Room Tip: Lots of choice - probably best away from the routes to (and from) the all night bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Sir or Madame:

We appreciate the time taken by you in writing a review of your recent stay and at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We would like to express our gratitude for these kind words you have shared and appreciate the excellent attention of our personal.

We look forward to your return to Grand Bahia Principe Resort so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival and we will give you the amenities for being repetitive guest

Our best regards,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,921 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,866
    1,323
    428
    197
    107
See reviews for
1207
1934
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moses Lake, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were there in Jan 2011, just my husband and I, then we went back with our children and my husbands parents (Their first trip to Mexico)

It was exactly as I remembered. Met every expectation the 2nd visit. We got to experience another side to the resort- the Kids club and from my inlaws perspective. Kids clud was great- on really hot days the kis could go to an airconditioned play room and it would allow the adults some free time. The kids show in the evening was always so much fun for them to be a part of and for us to watch. The evening shows were always family friendly and the kids enjoyed the entertainment just as much as us and my in-laws.

My in-laws were extemely impressed. Far beyond exceeded their expectations of a vacation to mexico. Food, rooms, beach, pools, and just the overall experience. They were very impressed with the quick and constant trollies to get around, which was a necessity (after a recent hip surgery).

Once again, I say you can not go wrong with this resort. 2nd visit proved to me it wasn't a fluke to get such a good 1st visit- this is a 5+ start resort in all aspects. The only thing some may not like is the 2 hour ride from the airport, but as I said in my 1st review you are now closer to many of the excursions, playa del carmen, and have a private beach, with no peddlars, lots of space and chairs, and calm waters provided by wave breaks.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to request at check in; they will try and get you where you want to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks a lot for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya for your family holidays

We are happy to know that you had a unforgettable Holidays with us and that you enjoyed all the Great job of our Staff, comments like yours are the best motivation for all of them

Please contact us before your next arrival, like this last time to make even more memorable your next stay.

Receive our most sincere appreciation from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My 3rd time at this hotel, as usual great service, clean site, Food just terrific and restaurant a la carte just great but really hard to get the time and day we want, tips just book all your resto a la carte the day you arrive( japonaise book and ask for the show). I can`t wait to go back again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for nice comments.

We are very happy to know that you will be back soon for your 4th visit, I am very sure that this experience will be another awesome time with us.

Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival in order to give the proper follow up to your requests and the status of repetitive guest that you deserve.

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

First time we have been to mexico and first time all inclusive. Booked with first choice and chose this hotel because of location. I can honestly say that the pictures in online brochure do not do it justice!!. The staff could not do enough for you, everywhere was immaculate/clean and tidy.The room itself was better than expected, clean sheets and room cleaned daily and i do mean cleaned! we came back from breakfast early one morning to find our room being cleaned, nipped in just to pick up something to find bed pulled out all swept under and around, room smelt of bleach where floor had been cleaned.Bathroom was always cleaned new towels etc.The flush on toilet broke, reported it on way to breakfast, fixed and whole flush replaced by time got back, no more than 45 mins, try getting that done in uk!! The location of the hotel is excellent for trips, Xel Ha is no more than 20 min away, the Coba ruins about 45 min, these are the only ruins you can still climb. There is a beach right next to hotel always clean,no litter and raked every day. Towels are provided for the beach/pools and you can exchange them whenever you like. There are beach bars and pool bars aplenty. The water isnt very deep so to swim you need to walk towads Tulum where there are breakwaters and water is a bit deeper. The food was always hot plenty of it and amount of choice is amazing.We were there for two weeks so had six A-LaCarte visits but only managed four, just to much going on! There was entertainment most nights though don't expect a broadway production, but it was entertainment lasting about an hour. After the entertainment finished we used to go to the 'Hacienda' (Tulum) where the band played and we could dance in the streets until midnight until the disco kicked in if you liked that sort of thing!
Transport to get around the resort was golf buggies, very frequent - every 10 mins. Drivers would go out of their way to drop you off if not on their route.
A wonderful holiday, Mexican people so friendly/happy and helpful. First choice trips we did were excellent. Xel Ha and Coba Ruins - the guide Enrique was interesting and very passionate about Mayan culture. First choice Rep, Tara was excellent - again nothing too much trouble.
We shall be going back!

Room Tip: we had the cheapest room available but it was excellent. Large bed, a/c, large bathroom with shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the entire Grand Bahia Principe Akumal team, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for share your review regarding your excellent experience at our hotel .

There is no better reward for our work than reading the excellent time that you had due the excellent services and attention from our staff.

Please do not forget to contact us before your next visit, It will be wonderful to welcome you again with a very especial welcome.

Our warmest Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A two week stay, at the Gran Bahia Principe, Akumal, Mexico. Gold package definately the way to go, we were treated like royalty. Our travel agent Cathy Leppard with New West Travel was in contact with Veronica Pacheco regarding our room requests, and we were fortunate to get our full requests. Resort was beautiful, grounds were clean and manicured. Beach was beautiful, clean as well, always some one working hard at keeping it picked up. The rooms were very nice, spacious, clean, well maintained. Food was amazing, normally i would come home from an all inclusive losing weight.....not this time. Wow, the food really was amazing. The transportation around the resort was excellent, a fair distance to walk from one resort to another so this made it so much easier. Especially if you have any kind of handicap.
Hubby and I are looking to go back to Mexico in the future and will definately be staying with the Gran Bahia Principe again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Please receive greetings from the grand Bahia Principe Akumal ; we would like to thank you for trusting and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

It is a real honor to receive your nice comments, because is the best way to know that we are doing a great work. Definitely, We will share this amazing review with the rest of our staff

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya, so please feel free of contact us for your next stay with us, it will be pleasure to be at your service again!

Receive our kindest regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton,Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal.The staff were very friendly and at your service all the time.The food was really great.All the A-LaCartes were great.The guest service team Felix Schlokat at Coba and Veronica Pacheco at Akumal were fantastic in accomodating us.It was our fourth time there and we were treated royally.They made sure we got the rooms we wanted and also booked A-La-Cartes for us.The entertainment was great.The pool entertainment was great.It is a huge resort,but you get to play in any three of them.We are already planning to go there again in October to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday.Again I would like to say Thank You to Felix and Veronica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya for your vacation

On behalf of our entire staff it was a pleasure to serve you. We are pleased that you were very satisfied with your 4th visit, because our repetitive guests are the most valuable that we have.

Please contact us again for your next visit in order to accommodate you at your convenience, Thank you once again for your time and your opinion.

Receive our warmest regards,



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were there from 25 Dec 2012 to 1 Jan 2013
• Big resort but very clean and well maintained
• The staff are more than friendly, very nice, helpful and cheerful people
• The food is very good
• Nice alcoholic drinks and good cappuccinos. They had Brazilian coffee as well
• The beach is so so , there are some rocks in the sea so while swimming you have to be careful not hit the rocks
• 1:30 h from Cancun airport (!!!!) and 30 min from “Playa del Carmen”
• I would strongly recommend it

Room Tip: I would suggest you bring couple of dollars to give as a tip to the staff, cause they are really awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your fantastic experience during your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

It is a pleasure to read that you had you enjoyed all the services from our resort and especially the great staff attention.

Thank you for recommending Grand Bahia Principe Akumal and for advice all of our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again and give you the good service that you already know.

Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.