We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Stay Again at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Edmonton,Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a Great Stay Again at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just returned from a weeks stay at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal.The staff were very friendly and at your service all the time.The food was really great.All the A-LaCartes were great.The guest service team Felix Schlokat at Coba and Veronica Pacheco at Akumal were fantastic in accomodating us.It was our fourth time there and we were treated royally.They made sure we got the rooms we wanted and also booked A-La-Cartes for us.The entertainment was great.The pool entertainment was great.It is a huge resort,but you get to play in any three of them.We are already planning to go there again in October to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and to celebrate my daughters 21st birthday.Again I would like to say Thank You to Felix and Veronica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya for your vacation

On behalf of our entire staff it was a pleasure to serve you. We are pleased that you were very satisfied with your 4th visit, because our repetitive guests are the most valuable that we have.

Please contact us again for your next visit in order to accommodate you at your convenience, Thank you once again for your time and your opinion.

Receive our warmest regards,



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,628 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,686
    1,244
    410
    189
    99
See reviews for
1128
1787
33
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were there from 25 Dec 2012 to 1 Jan 2013
• Big resort but very clean and well maintained
• The staff are more than friendly, very nice, helpful and cheerful people
• The food is very good
• Nice alcoholic drinks and good cappuccinos. They had Brazilian coffee as well
• The beach is so so , there are some rocks in the sea so while swimming you have to be careful not hit the rocks
• 1:30 h from Cancun airport (!!!!) and 30 min from “Playa del Carmen”
• I would strongly recommend it

Room Tip: I would suggest you bring couple of dollars to give as a tip to the staff, cause they are really awe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your fantastic experience during your stay at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

It is a pleasure to read that you had you enjoyed all the services from our resort and especially the great staff attention.

Thank you for recommending Grand Bahia Principe Akumal and for advice all of our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again and give you the good service that you already know.

Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from GBP AKUMAL! One word.. AMAZING!
We went for my best friends wedding. I don't even know where to start.
Upon our arrival we felt so welcomed. The food was excellent and the staff were so eager to please and made us feel so at home. The drinks were awesome to! Anything we needed or wanted if it was possible it was provided. It was clean everywhere we went. The wedding was beautiful, we had dinner at the Arlequin and it was soooo good. The reception was by the white sands pool, with our own DJ and bartender. Karla and Jasmine were so diligent at making sure the wedding went so smoothly and it did.
The whole resort was massive but the trolleys made it very accessible. The shows at night, (Lev Jackson), the Hacienda and the late night salsa dancing were also awesome and very entertaining. The pool parties and water aerobics at Tulum were fun too! If we had brought our kids we would've stayed for two weeks. There was so much to do! And the location was perfect, only 30 min to Playa Del Carmen and 20 min to Tulum and the ruins!
My husband and I are wanting to go back with our kids and soon! I know they'll have a blast to!

I definately recommend this amazing place to anyone and everyone!

(Does anyone know how I could go about booking directly with the hotel for the next visit? )

Sincerely Katrina

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Akumal and for making us participants of your experience at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time among us and that you enjoyed the location, the great room, the excellent service and the exceptional buffet. If you would like to prebook directly with hotel please contact me to pramx2@bahia-principe.com , I will let you know the process.

Sending you our kindest regards,





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just arrived back from Gran Bahia Principe Akumal. Arrived 2 am no fault of the hotel. But on arrival at our room we found that we had adjoining doors with the room next door, which we could not lock! So back to reception on insistance they found us another room, but this meant we did not get to bed untill 4 am!
This was our first trip to Mexico & this is one of the largest hotel/resorts or so our rep told us.
It is MASSIVE but easy to get around by the internal transport system.The grounds are imaculate. The room passable. Staff freindly & helpfull. Plenty of Al a carte restaurants buffets
quite repititous, but always found plenty to eat. Plenty of Parasols & Sunbeds we were a group of 6 and always found 6 together. Entertainment shows of some descripion each night Some good some not so good. Bit upset about the lobby bar closing at 11pm we were all adults in the 50/60 age range and did'nt realy want to go to bed at that time! So we had to go on the golf carts to the Hacienda to get a drink untill midnight! There is also music & dancing there,
then a disco from midnight till 2.30am. But left that one for the younger generation.

All in All a decent holiday. But we prefered the Gran Bahia at Punta Cana or Samana in the Dominican Republic. But as the old saying goes You can please all of the people some of the time & some of the people all of the time. But you can never please ALL of the people ALL of the time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest:

All Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate the time taken by you to post your review about how was your stay at our hotel and for mentioning the great food and service and also some excellent suggestions to improve and ensure the guest satisfaction

We are looking forward in welcoming you back, so please feel free of contact us before your next visit.

Receive our Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!







Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We are group of six family, two adjoining rooms at villa 50.
This is our 2nd time at this resort but a big fan of gran Bahia resorts.
Food is excellent. Ala carte service is good.
Medical service is very helpful.
Internet service is very S-l-o-w.
Villa 50 is very close to the bar which plays loud music at night so if you are light sleeper ... Stay at least villa 48 or 47.
Beach is very nice, walking along the beach is a very relaxing past time.
What I find annoying are the timeshare sales people. There is only one way to go to the buffet and that is where they try to catch you.
My kids loves the mini club and animation team,

Will definitely come back but will request a quieter villa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya and share your comments about your last stay with us

We are happy to know that we got our main goal, which is your entire satisfaction with our services and installations, and especially with the attention of our personal.

We invite you to visit us again, so please contact us before your next visit and we will try our best to accommodate all your wishes. We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Receive our warmest regards,



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've been to approximately 15 all-inclusives, and this is the only place I would return to. The place is massive, so it depends what you are looking for. There are so many buffets and a-la-carte restaurants, there is no way you should ever become bored with the food. 24 hour snack bar was great.

We ate at Coba, Tulum and Akamul and they are basically the same and all delicious. We ventured to the Si'an Kaan for a night and their food appeared to be top of the line. I've never seen a buffet like that before. They discourage Coba, Akamul and Tulum from going there as it is a luxury resort, and you arent supposed to use their facilities but Si'an Kaan can use the other three hotels, but it is no more expensive. The place was unreal and absolutely beautiful. It catered to an older crowd, but you can always shuttle to the other hotels which is five minutes away if you want something else.

All hotels are spotless and immaculate. The food was excellent, drinks excellent and staff were amazing. A trip is what you make it and this trip was perfect.

The only negative was that we found the souvenirs way too expensive at the hotel. they were three times of what they should be. People seemed to be shopping but not buying much. We went into Playa Del Carmen and found things much cheaper there.

The set up of these hotels are smart because four hotels share one discotheque and band each night, therefore it is usually busy. Security is very tight at all hotels which makes you feel safer.

There is wi-fi in all four hotels' main lobbies. We upgraded to golden club but did not find it worth the extra money. You get: one extra a la carte, separate check in, closer room to the beach and a separate lobby with wi-fi and computers. There was fresh fruit everyday but never a bartender and no alcohol. So for us it wasn't worth the extra money. We got no better alcohol for upgrading and only a small bottle of tequila in the room, but to each their own.

I would definitely go back to this place and I have never said that before. The hotel seems to reward their returning guests which is beneficial and appreciative to everyone.

The differences between the four hotels;

Akamul is on the beach but the pool bar is smaller and lacks a lot of sun.

Coba has a great swim up bar but not on the beach

Si'an Kaan is not on the beach but the whole place is amazing. It's just a little further on the shuttle.

Tulum is on the beach and has a good swim up bar.

Other than that, they are basically the same.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest:

Receive Cordial greetings from all the team working at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We are proud of receiving these kind words from a person with travelling experience, your nice words will be really inspiring for all our staff.

We look forward to your return to Grand Bahia Principe Resort so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

Our kindest regards from your house in The Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have just retuned from a one week vacation, jan15-22. This was our 4th trip to this resort and we not disappointed at all. Prior to arrival, Vanessa set up all of the reservations and we had no issues.

Check in

Upon check in, we were given the third floor of bldg 66. The ocean sunrise view is amazing. The service was great and consistent throughout the trip at the Golden club.

Room

The room was clean and everything was in order.

Staff

The staff seemed friendly, open and eager to help from every level. A special thanks to Julian who went the extra mile as team leader for the snack bar in Akumal providing us with real wine service and real glasses and a fantastic service, this man goes above and beyond. Faliciano and Anna gave us perfect table service in the Akumal buffet like the previous 4 years. The desk staff at the Royal Golden were also extremely helpful greeting us with a warm smile (sorry we don't remember everyone's names). The bar staff on the beach and inside at the various buildings were fast and friendly.

Food

The Arleguin, Don Pablo and The Gourmet were excellent, Mikado and Pescador were good but Frutos Del Mar was only so so. The snack bar was really good for lunch along with the buffet.

Resort

The maintenance crew are continually cleaning the gardens and everything looks great. It seems that some of the trams have been replaced and signs are now provided to indicate the destination. The beach is clean and there is a continual effort to improve the newer areas.

What could be improved

Post signs that say "You are not the only people here, stop being obnoxious, loud and treat the staff as you would like to be treated"

The premium Internet does not have a secure site for payment. We would have liked to get it but did not want to risk it. For $35 per week perhaps it could be added to the room.

We are looking forward to go back for Christmas 2013 with my parents, sister etc... 9 people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Lise B:

We would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

It is a real honor to know that this was your 4th time with us, we really thank you the loyalty to our hotels.

Please do not forget to contact us for your next visit in December, like you did it this last time, and we will have everything ready for your arrival. Thanks a lot for your kind words to all our efforts.

Looking forward to receive you soon at your house in the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Also Known As:
Bahia Principe Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico
Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Family Hotel in Akumal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Venere, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.