We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Akumal
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
“cant wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are actually returning here on 3rd Jan 2013 and realised we hadn't left a review from last visit which was for a big family wedding end of October 2011. The fact that we are returning surely speaks volumes. We had a fantastic family holiday, with a wedding in the middle that was absolutely perfect in every detail, even the weather. The whole resort is so clean and well kept even down to the logo in the sand in the outside ashtrays! There was a large group of mixed ages yet we all found something we loved about the resort. The rooms were fab clean nice jacuzzi bath and balcony, safe a bit expensive mind but how do you price piece of mind, I do feel that a resort of this type should have a free safe, our family group was spaced out over the 3 sites but due to the little busses it is easy to get around to all areas and we didn't feel on top of each other. The beach is gorgeous and the beach bar with fresh coconut cocktails daily is just perfect and I can't wait to visit that again. The food was lovely the buffets were nice and the A LA cartes nice too although due to hurricane Rina we had to cancel some of them (but plan to try those out this time) the location is perfect and this time have upgraded to a golden room so can't wait to see our room overlooking the beach in fact just can't wait to get back just hope it is still as good cos sometimes things are never as good the second time but sure they will be and can't wait to see for myself. Roll on 03/01/2013 yayy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for nice comments and your loyalty to our chain.

We are very happy to know that you will be back soon, I am very sure that this experience will be another awesome time with us.

Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival in order to give the proper follow up to your requests

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,973 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,907
    1,330
    432
    196
    108
See reviews for
1231
1957
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from this resort, we stayed in the Akumal. The grounds and facilities are 1st rate as is the accommodation. The staff are very polite and hard working. The best al a Cartes are the Italian, and the international (Arlequin). The food in the buffet areas is very good with a wide choice. The drinks are branded and the cocktails all taste great! The size of the resort is huge with different beaches, pools and entertainment to explore every day. This is probably the best all inclusive we have ever stayed in, we will definitely take a 2nd trip there! A must is a night at Coco Bongos in Playa del carmen, there's no place like it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations and that you have left the hotel feeling totally satisfied.

We will pass your lovely comments to all the staff, because It is important for us to let them know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests.

Thank you very much for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back. Please do not hesitate to send us a note with your wishes before your next arrival

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,





Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This Christmas my family and I are booked to stay for two weeks at the Bahia Principe Akumal. This will be our 4th visit to this extravagant resort. This year we will be accompanied by our family friends for their first visit. My husband and I are celebrating our 20th anniversary and could not think of a better location.

The resort is immaculate and the staff have always gone out of their way to welcome us and ensure our stay has been memorable. There are activities for our teenagers to keep them occupied and entertained in addition to shows that will knock your socks off. We are thrilled to make the trip back to the resort. This is our second Christmas vacation at the Bahia and if you plan to attend Christmas Eve is the "celebration" night. Food and drink as far as the eye can see. You have more options than you can imagine.

We highly recommend this resort for your next Mexican escape!

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this valuable feedback about your visits.

It is great to know that we will welcome you for your 4th visit, I am very sure that you will have a lovely Christmas holidays.

Please let us know when you will be back and we will do our very best to make your stay more wonderful than your previous visits!

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel complex and grounds and rooms impeccably maintained, set essentially in the jungle on top of the lovely beaches.

The evening entertainment is sensational. Not your typical hotels ents. Don't miss the Mexican Night at the Hacienda on Thursday or the Michael Jackson tribute show in the hotel. Other nights brill too!

Service across the hotel excellent. Great coctails.
Say hello to Jose at B6 beach bar for me. Great guy!

Will definitely go back again but here a few tips for you and hotel

1. Food quality very good and variety excellent BUT some of the buffet food is sometimes luke-warm - not good esp for french fries! Hotel should reduce variety and more frequently top up fewer dishes more regularly.

2. Don't exchange money in hotel e.g. UK £ / Peso 19.6 in Tesco here, 20.25 on Playa and only 18.5 in hotel - makes a big difference when you book several tours at beginning of hols.

3. Check tour prices at cabins on hotel beach before you book with Thomson. Quite a price difference.

4. Use the Collectivo mini buses at doorstep of hotel. Cost to Playa (40 km away) 35 pesos pp one way a taxi 340 one way. Don't listen to nonsense about traveling in old wrecks with chickens - these are modern airconned buses, most locals traveling work in the hotels along the way. Playa is about 40 mins away and Tulum ruins about 20 mins.

5. If you want a great personalised tour check out Local Quickies - we had a great day with them - check the Tripadvisor reviews on them - i just wrote mine.

6. Playa shopping is a real experience - and I hate shopping!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Sutton:

On behalf of the entire team of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya, we would like to thank you for share us this amazing review.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed the attention of our employees during your recent stay and it would be an honor to receive you for a second time at our Complex

Please write us a little mail before your next arrival, so that we can prepare room as you deserve. I want to express my sincere appreciation for the valuable mail you have sent.

We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Receive our warmest regards.


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went with Thompson for 14 day break. Stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, place is spotless, grass looks like it is cut with nail scissors. Staff where very friendly, used safe in room but got impression this was not required as the crime rate in the area was virtually zero. Only problem pool water was very cold due to time of year (November) but sea was warm still.
Thompson’s have a box in the lobby where people returning can leave books, magazines, beach toys, shampoo, sun cream etc., excellent idea, saved having to buy. We left a load when we left.
Very large complex several pools, restaurants etc. Specialty meals in evening very pleasant ranging from Mediterranean , Brazilian, Mexican etc.
Restaurants ok, food ok, drinks service a bit slow at times as staff where more occupied clearing tables.
Very amusing watching the American’s attitude, with large plates of food of which most was always left, expecting staff to jump to finger clicking, on one meal chap on the next table, to us told an American to stop clicking his fingers at the staff as they are not slaves, the American went crazy, but did stop clicking his fingers and left a large tip as an apology.
Room was ok; large bed, Jacuzzi bath, broke first day was fixed next morning. Alarm clock on bedside table every time we set it to the correct time the cleaner reset it, frustrating till I found out the plug socket was lose, so moved to be by television, was actually easier to see as the beds are that large the bedside tables are a long way off !!!
Beach very clean, staff continually raking sand, picking up stones, seaweed etc. Beach bar excellent the barman never stopped all day.
Internet in lobby worked well; where able to use FaceTime on iPod to connect back home to son’s iPad so zero phone charges incurred, left phone switched off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations.

We will pass this great review to all the departments, because the best motivation to our job is your happiness and lovely comments.

Please let us know when you will be back and we will do our very best to make your second stay more wonderful than this last time!

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at Akumal from 1st-15th Nov and were pricing up to go back the day after our return. We have never returned to the same hotel twice as prefer variety and a change of scenery but would happily return to this one. The rooms, beach, food, variety of restaurants and location were all fantastic and we were devastated to be leaving at the end of our 2 weeks.

We ate at the Mikado (japanese) restaurant twice, Frutos Del Mar (seafood) restaurant twice, the mexican restaurant at Tulum and the italian at Akumal. They were all very good but Frutos Del Mar had to be our favourite. The main buffet restaurant at Akumal had a massive amount of choice and was much better than other all inclusives we've stayed at before.

During our holiday we did a tour to Chichen Itza with 'Flavio Tours' which I highly recommend, it was the highlight of our holiday. We also did trips on our own to Akumal beach to go diving (about 5mins drive away) and Tulum ruins (approx 15mins). We used the Collectivo local bus from the main road which only cost around £1.50 each, each way. The entrance to Tulum ruins & beach is only £3 each and the views are spectacular.

I would just like to say thank you to all the staff who work so hard there and we look forward to seeing you all again next year

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 56 and loved it, view of pool & the beach and not too far from reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ms. Allison:

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya

Thank you for Your kind words which inspire us to keep in the good work and give you a better service for your future visits

We will be very excited to welcome you again, so do not hesitate to contact us and we will have ready a very nice room and I am very sure that will enjoy it even more.

Receive our best regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Just got bk this mornin met nice people hotel was excellent rooms clean food in restuants fab buses 2 each hotel every 10 mins shows were very good everything y need only fault payin 4 safe would look alot better on hotel if they added it 2 hol instead of payin extra in a 5 star but everything else fantastic no 1 bothered us 4 time shares always plenty of beds always a full drink wot more did we want

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya

Thank you so much for your wonderful words which are very taken in care because our guest are the best supervisor that we can have. It is a pleasure to know that you spent an amazing holidays with us; It will be pleasure to forward your motivating feedback to our staff

It will be an honor to welcome you once again, so please feel free of contact for your netx visit. Receive our warmest regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!


Kind Regards,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.