We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - incredible evening shows and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Sutton
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic - incredible evening shows and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel complex and grounds and rooms impeccably maintained, set essentially in the jungle on top of the lovely beaches.

The evening entertainment is sensational. Not your typical hotels ents. Don't miss the Mexican Night at the Hacienda on Thursday or the Michael Jackson tribute show in the hotel. Other nights brill too!

Service across the hotel excellent. Great coctails.
Say hello to Jose at B6 beach bar for me. Great guy!

Will definitely go back again but here a few tips for you and hotel

1. Food quality very good and variety excellent BUT some of the buffet food is sometimes luke-warm - not good esp for french fries! Hotel should reduce variety and more frequently top up fewer dishes more regularly.

2. Don't exchange money in hotel e.g. UK £ / Peso 19.6 in Tesco here, 20.25 on Playa and only 18.5 in hotel - makes a big difference when you book several tours at beginning of hols.

3. Check tour prices at cabins on hotel beach before you book with Thomson. Quite a price difference.

4. Use the Collectivo mini buses at doorstep of hotel. Cost to Playa (40 km away) 35 pesos pp one way a taxi 340 one way. Don't listen to nonsense about traveling in old wrecks with chickens - these are modern airconned buses, most locals traveling work in the hotels along the way. Playa is about 40 mins away and Tulum ruins about 20 mins.

5. If you want a great personalised tour check out Local Quickies - we had a great day with them - check the Tripadvisor reviews on them - i just wrote mine.

6. Playa shopping is a real experience - and I hate shopping!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Sutton:

On behalf of the entire team of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya, we would like to thank you for share us this amazing review.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed the attention of our employees during your recent stay and it would be an honor to receive you for a second time at our Complex

Please write us a little mail before your next arrival, so that we can prepare room as you deserve. I want to express my sincere appreciation for the valuable mail you have sent.

We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Receive our warmest regards.


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,280
    1,440
    473
    213
    119
See reviews for
1,399
2,189
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went with Thompson for 14 day break. Stayed at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, place is spotless, grass looks like it is cut with nail scissors. Staff where very friendly, used safe in room but got impression this was not required as the crime rate in the area was virtually zero. Only problem pool water was very cold due to time of year (November) but sea was warm still.
Thompson’s have a box in the lobby where people returning can leave books, magazines, beach toys, shampoo, sun cream etc., excellent idea, saved having to buy. We left a load when we left.
Very large complex several pools, restaurants etc. Specialty meals in evening very pleasant ranging from Mediterranean , Brazilian, Mexican etc.
Restaurants ok, food ok, drinks service a bit slow at times as staff where more occupied clearing tables.
Very amusing watching the American’s attitude, with large plates of food of which most was always left, expecting staff to jump to finger clicking, on one meal chap on the next table, to us told an American to stop clicking his fingers at the staff as they are not slaves, the American went crazy, but did stop clicking his fingers and left a large tip as an apology.
Room was ok; large bed, Jacuzzi bath, broke first day was fixed next morning. Alarm clock on bedside table every time we set it to the correct time the cleaner reset it, frustrating till I found out the plug socket was lose, so moved to be by television, was actually easier to see as the beds are that large the bedside tables are a long way off !!!
Beach very clean, staff continually raking sand, picking up stones, seaweed etc. Beach bar excellent the barman never stopped all day.
Internet in lobby worked well; where able to use FaceTime on iPod to connect back home to son’s iPad so zero phone charges incurred, left phone switched off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

On behalf of the staff and management of the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to thank you for letting us know that we have exceeded your expectations.

We will pass this great review to all the departments, because the best motivation to our job is your happiness and lovely comments.

Please let us know when you will be back and we will do our very best to make your second stay more wonderful than this last time!

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at Akumal from 1st-15th Nov and were pricing up to go back the day after our return. We have never returned to the same hotel twice as prefer variety and a change of scenery but would happily return to this one. The rooms, beach, food, variety of restaurants and location were all fantastic and we were devastated to be leaving at the end of our 2 weeks.

We ate at the Mikado (japanese) restaurant twice, Frutos Del Mar (seafood) restaurant twice, the mexican restaurant at Tulum and the italian at Akumal. They were all very good but Frutos Del Mar had to be our favourite. The main buffet restaurant at Akumal had a massive amount of choice and was much better than other all inclusives we've stayed at before.

During our holiday we did a tour to Chichen Itza with 'Flavio Tours' which I highly recommend, it was the highlight of our holiday. We also did trips on our own to Akumal beach to go diving (about 5mins drive away) and Tulum ruins (approx 15mins). We used the Collectivo local bus from the main road which only cost around £1.50 each, each way. The entrance to Tulum ruins & beach is only £3 each and the views are spectacular.

I would just like to say thank you to all the staff who work so hard there and we look forward to seeing you all again next year

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 56 and loved it, view of pool & the beach and not too far from reception and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ms. Allison:

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya

Thank you for Your kind words which inspire us to keep in the good work and give you a better service for your future visits

We will be very excited to welcome you again, so do not hesitate to contact us and we will have ready a very nice room and I am very sure that will enjoy it even more.

Receive our best regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Just got bk this mornin met nice people hotel was excellent rooms clean food in restuants fab buses 2 each hotel every 10 mins shows were very good everything y need only fault payin 4 safe would look alot better on hotel if they added it 2 hol instead of payin extra in a 5 star but everything else fantastic no 1 bothered us 4 time shares always plenty of beds always a full drink wot more did we want

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya

Thank you so much for your wonderful words which are very taken in care because our guest are the best supervisor that we can have. It is a pleasure to know that you spent an amazing holidays with us; It will be pleasure to forward your motivating feedback to our staff

It will be an honor to welcome you once again, so please feel free of contact for your netx visit. Receive our warmest regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean!


Kind Regards,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had stayed in one of the Bahia Principe resorts in Tenerife and so were expecting a good holiday, but this really exceded our expectations.
The staff are continually working to keep the whole complex up to it's very high standard. from the garden areas through to the pools bars and resturants.
The food is great with such a wide choice in the buffet resturant that we had no reason to book any of the specialised resturants.
The staff are friendly, and any very small problems we had were soted in double quick time.
If you are thinking of going to the Mexican Riviera area I would certainly recommend you look no further than this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

On behalf of the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya we would like to express our gratitude for the kind words you have expressed about our hotel.

It was a great honor to served you, for our staff your kind words will be motivation to keep in the good job, Thank you for highlight the good points from our services and the efforts of our team

We will be really excited to welcoming again! So do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival.

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Pound for pound the best value all inclusive in Caribbean . The staff are very friendly and hotel is kept clean. The Golf course is fantastic ,Spa was excellent and Scuba is very good too. The 3 hotel complex is large enough to give a wide variety of restaurants .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Jan C:

It is a pleasure to read this nice feedback from your holidays at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Rivera Maya. For us To know that you really enjoyed your stay at our resort is definitely the best award

We will pass these kind words to the staff because it will be a huge inspiration for their jobs. Receiving positive reviews from our guests is proof of our commitment to consistent and quality service.

We invite you to visit us again in the near future, so please contact us before your next arrival and we can ensure a very special welcome for your next holidays as the repetitive guest that you are.

Receive our best regards from your house at the Mexican Caribbean.



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Had a great, great time. The staff, including Charlotte, Merce, Geroge, and Domonic were fantastic. They made our whole week very enjoyable. Food was fantastic. My only complaint was the ice cream machine at the snack bar didn't work. Lots of fun, sun, and rum, teq, etc. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the ocean, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame:

We want to express our most sincere appreciation for these wonderful words about your stay at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

Receive our gratitude for taking the time to share us these amazing words to all the staff and for highlight the excellent services of our Resorts

We will be really excited to welcoming you again, So do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival to have ready all the necessary arrangements as the repetitive guest that you will be.

Receive our warmest regards, from your House at the Mexican Caribbean,


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (1 hour free per day per device) and with an additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 630 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (additional charges apply). Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.