We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling with Infant and Toddler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Traveling with Infant and Toddler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This was our first time traveling to an all-inclusive resort and our first time traveling together as a new family of four. We stayed for week from February 14- 21st and experienced only sunshine and warm temperatures. We read many reviews on many different resorts before booking our stay at the GBP Akumal. We are SO HAPPY we did!! We had such a relaxing (as much as you can relax on vacation with a 5 month old and 2 year old) and memorable vacation thanks to so many factors. Let's break it down.

Resort
The beach was beautiful and the sand so soft! The water was so clear and there were many calm places to swim even when there was a red flag on the beach. Our 2 year old hated the sand so we spent most of the time poolside, however if we return again without the kids I am certain we would never leave this gorgeous beach. My husband and I have done a lot of traveling before kids and we must say this is the cleanest, most well manicured resort we have ever stayed at. It's huge but it's very easy to get around even with our double stroller and screaming kiddos. We ended up walking most places rather then use the trams because it was too much work to collapse the stroller and unload the kids to get on the "train bus" (what our 2 year old called them). She is still talking about the train buses and how much she loved them. The activity pool has a big kids pool attached but we found there wasn't enough shade and our lil ones were getting sunburned. We found a small kids section of the lobby pool beside the swim up bar. We spent most of the week at this perfect location. More shade and lots of children to play with our 2 year old. There is a kids club to watch your children but they do not accept kids free of charge till they are 4. If they are under 4 you will pay $10 an hour. We did not use their services. We explored all 3 resorts and found Akumal's pool to be our favorite. The other resorts were beautiful but we found it easier to stay near our room in case we needed an escape plan if there was a tantrum or melt-down. Anytime we went to Tulum resort we were devoured by mosquitoes for some reason. We didn't notice them at any other resort. There was a lot of wildlife to admire. Our daughter loved the "dinosaurs" (iguanas) everywhere and the monkey raccoon things (we still don't know what their called). The staff everywhere we went was amazing and hard working. We tipped them 20 pesos anytime we had good service anywhere we went. We were broke by the end of the trip because the service was excellent. The week we were there the resort was packed full of Canadians like us and British. There were a few from the Netherlands and also Argentina. It was nice to be surrounded by so many different cultures and languages. There was a show we went to one night about the Lion King, Disney Princesses and Kung Fu Panda. Our daughter went crazy for it!! She even got pictures taken with Cinderella and Ariel after the show. We loved the show too as parents.

Room

We requested a crib, two beds and ground level room before we arrived. They gladly honoured all our requests. Our room was clean and perfectly in order thanks to our wonderful housekeeper Antonia. She made amazing towel art everyday for our kids to enjoy. We made sure we tipped her for her hard work. We had a small ant problem being on the ground level but as soon as we stopped bringing food into the room the problem was eliminated. Our mini bar was well stocked and we often left 20 pesos in it with notes requesting extra chips. We were always given what we asked for. We were placed in villa 50. Great location except at 10-11 at night when you could really hear the music from the bar. It surprisingly helped put our kids to sleep though.

Food

We are not by any means an all-inclusive savvy bunch. We are rookies so we cannot compare this to any other one we've been to like many other reviewers. What we can say is the based on our own personal tastes and opinions; mine being different from my husbands. I am a vegetarian and so is our 2 year old daughter. There were tons of options for us everywhere we went. We ate at the Akumal buffet mainly for most meals. We ate a couple of times at Dolce Vita for breakfast and lunch. We also tried Coba buffet for breakfast once. I was a huge fan of the cook to order pasta bar. My daughter always loved the kid friendly options at the buffet. The fruit was always so fresh everywhere too. The snack bar always had crowd pleasers like french fries and nachos and guacamole (to die for good). We loved the food! My husband on the other hand seemed to grow tired of the food by the end of the trip and was craving things like apple pie and waffles and real cheese cake (not the kind at the resort). He disliked all the desserts except the ice cream machine. The desserts seemed to be all gelatine based or cream-filled. They all tasted the same as well. My husband doesn't drink so he did love their version of a virgin mojito. He also drank Sambrosa's (strawberry banana type smoothies). I was too busy nursing our baby constantly that I didn't get to indulge much in the alcoholic drinks either. If I drank at all that day it was a mini bar beer after the kiddos were sleeping. Love those Dos XX's beers though. I tried the red house wine at Le Gourmet and that was amazing! We booked our al a carte restaurants two weeks before we left by sending the hotel a list of our requests by email. We were so pleased they booked us in everywhere we had asked and got us in at an early 6:30 every night before the kids turned into pumpkins. We ate at Mikado, Le Gourmet and La Fruita Del Mar. Mikado we enjoyed a show table and the food was great. Le Gourmet was good as well. Our personal favorite was Fruita Del Mar. The appetizer buffet was amazing and the food was delicious. Al a carte restaurants are the way to go at this resort. Don't miss out on going to all 3 of your bookings. The best food we enjoyed on this trip were from the al a cartes. It was a nightmare having to sit there with our kids and try to keep them quiet the whole time, but well worth it when the food showed up at our table. There were always plenty of highchairs to go around and no one seemed to mind us bringing our stroller into the restaurants.

In conclusion, we would love to come back one day and enjoy this resort and its tons of amenities to the fullest without our children (so we can really relax). This is a great family friendly resort and we would recommend it to all you crazy parents out there like us who choose to travel with infants.

Room Tip: Make specific room requests before you arrive. They will try their best to honor them. Also book you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,025
    1,363
    443
    198
    114
See reviews for
1308
2022
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent a week staying at the Akumal side of the Gran Bahia Principe resort and all round had a very positive experience. The resort grounds are meticulously kept and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Our large group of ages 3 through 70 all enjoyed themselves.

I wanted to leave a few comments on the on-site dive shop "Scubaquatic" (scubaquatic.com) becuase it wasn't easy finding information on them on-line. My wife, father and I did a total of 6 dives with the shop -- 2 off shore from the resort, 2 in the cenotes and 2 on a day trip to Cozumel. Primarily we chose them over other local operators to take advantage of diving out of our resort, which was quite convenient. Generally we were happy with the shop. The boat crews and instructors were friendly and professional. We had two issues -- (1) some of the equipment was not in great shape (my wife and I both had air leaks caused by poor O-rings/high pressure hoses on more than one of the dives) and (2) wading out to the boat (anchored just off shore) over the rocky ocean floor for the local dives was a little awkward for my father who is a capable diver but a little older. The local dives were alright but the diving in the cenotes and off Cozumel were world-class. We were in small (3-4 person) groups for the local and cenotes dives; the trip and 2-tank dives to Cozumel were quite popular and we were part of a group of 12 with two instructors.

Were were able to leave our gear at the shop overnight and the staff provided a locker for our dive computers, etc. It wasn't the most sophisticated dive shop we have gone with but was certainly adequate. We booked our dives over the web and got a small discount (5%). Overall the diving was great and Scubaquatic was a reasonable and convenient option for guests of the Gran Bahia Principe.

Room Tip: The resort is divided into different sections (Akumal, Tulum, Coba...) and you can easily move betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

me and gf went to this resort last year. its huge. so big if ya wanna go anywhere you need to get on a cool little bus. bus drivers are right on, especially if you give them a couple of dollars. its easy to get lost between the 3 resorts (its like 3 resorts all in one, travel freely to each, probably takes 15 mins of walking, but again, very easy to hop on a little bus) all the staff are cool that we met. if ya go to the scuba shop on the beach, i highly recomend the segway tour, the guide is wicked and doesn't care if ya screw around with them. there is katamundi (looks like an orange racoon) everywhere, hundreds of them swinging from trees, hiding in bushes, everywhere. food was great. pool was great. you can rent 20 year old bikes for free also, theres plenty of them so no need to wait, go wherever you want really. one last big thing, we were lucky and had a room close to the main building, pools, all the good stuff, the 2 others that came with us had a room about a 10 minute walk away from the main building/pools/etc. so basically, if they wanted to do anything at all, they needed to wait roughly 10-15 mins for the little bus thing to come by and pick them up. bus driver was cool and always on time too so being so far away wasn't all that much of a hassel for them after all.

Room Tip: you really need to make sure you get a room close to the main building/pools/food etc. some rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Spent the week of Feb.11-18 at the GBP Akumal and loved it. The people are amazing. The resort is immaculate and the food wonderful. Rooms were lovely. Although the resort is massive, you do not feel crammed in anywhere. This is our second time at the GBP resort. Although there is nothing wrong with the Akumal section, I must say I prefer the Tulum. The service was a tad more efficient and loved the open bar.

Staff ensure that our stay is memorable and it shows. Enjoyed tremendously.

The only excursion we did was the Ek Balam Ruins and Maya Cenote. It was wonderful. JJ is an awesome tour guide. Had much fun.

Definitely will be back and thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were there for a week and glad it wasn't longer. The bed was hard and dirty, the fridge took two days to fix and the toilet was plugged when we go there. There was over 7000 people there when we were there and it didn't seem that they could handle that many people. My wife and I tried booking the restaurants when we got there but most where booked for the week. When went to restaurants they were only half full but many of the items on the menu were not available and the salad bars were bare. The resort is over an large area so it is necessary to use the little trucks to get around which means there is traffic running by the rooms frequently. We met a few couple that were in this resort for a week and then an Iberostar for another and much preferred the iberostar. The Cancun airport was horrible, this is no fault of the resort but 3.5 hours to get through immigration means that we wont be returning. I gave 2 stars because the beach, pool and churros were great.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This resort is massive! The Akumal and 'beach' areas of the resort are definitely the best place to stay.

The beach area is great to explore and if you like to sun on the beach it is very nice. The pool areas are ample, the staff was friendly.

We enjoyed our stay at the resort. We ate every meal at the buffets and did get a little tired of them but the quality of food and options were really great. Big suggestion is to ensure that you make reservations for the a-la-carte options ASAP! Some folks mentioned that they emailed before arrival? Unfortunately we could not get into one restaurant when we tried to reserve... options very late were offered and we don't like to eat at 10PM! With that being said we enjoyed the buffets, no complaints.

Resort is clean.... staff very nice!

Edgar is definitely a nice guy to stop to say hello to, he works the swim up bar. We read about him on trip advisor before our visit and enjoyed his excellent Mojitos and visits.

We keep working while we travel and internet worked great - technology is good at resort. We have never had problems in Mexico with technology though.

We were off the resort a number of times and with the size of the resort we would just recommend to watch where you are getting let out of a taxi! No problem to get the next hotel shuttle if you get the wrong room but something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: It is a massive resort. Stay at Akumal if you get an option....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

just returned 23/2/2012 stayed at the akumal for two weeks lots of confusion on our arival at the airport as on leaving the plane we were all given immigration forms in mexican good start 2 hrs to the hotel but nice journey fairly quick check in bit of adowner about paying for the safe got the high floor we requested on being there a few days we both noticed that the food was of poor selection and cold i would definitely rate this food as a 3star the swimming pools are great if you dont mind getting up at 6 30am to put your towel down as the pool and beach at the akumal tends to be most popular evening entertainment great especially michael jackson show if you get there early you may get a seat the staff were great very friendly did 2 trips recomend xel ha and the piramid trips the tour guid steve was a wealth of info all in all we had agreat holiday but the iberostar tucan playacar was alot better so on that note we will not be returning.

Room Tip: rooms with interconnecting doors are very noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#3 Business Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.