We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property - Good Beach - Okay Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Save Saved
You added Grand Bahia Principe Akumal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Property - Good Beach - Okay Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

My Wife and I just got back Nov 25th from a week at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal complex. This was our 6th trip to Mexico and 4th to the Mayan side.

As most know this is a large 3 property/phase resort. We enjoyed walking the paths and when we didn't want to there was always a trolley conveniently coming by with a friendly chauffeur. Getting around this resort was never a problem.

The Akumal had the best access and frontage to the beach area. The main "pier" area was always quite busy, but you could usually find a palapa or lounger any time of the day. We mostly pulled our lounges down to the water... half in and half out to stay nice and cool. If you moved to the most western end of the beach, it was much quieter and private. You still had your own beach bar near and the snorkeling was great along the inside of the breakwater. We saw a good sized resident wolf eel, a lion fish, countless other reef fish and their was a massive school of bait fish (I think sardine) that was like a moving cloud that you could swim through. At one point when I reached the edge of the small bay, I had a glimpse of a large predatory fish (looked like a silvery tuna type shape) dart in to get a snack.

It also had the most interesting main pool layout that weaved about with plenty of dividing foliage that gave great visual and noise separation from the other guests when compared to the other more open concept pools.

Staff was always friendly and you couldn't pass anyone without getting a friendly "hola".

Our Villa 74 room was bottom floor, a bit dated and smelt musty (it is the tropics), but it did improve after our first housekeeping visit. She treated us with a different towel art animal everyday and did a great job making the place neat and tidy. The air conditioning just worked marginally, we asked for it to be looked at, but nothing seemed to change. It wasn't too bad with the ceiling fan running.

Food in the buffet restaurants were all the same and just okay. We definitely had better at most of the other resorts we've been to (the Barcelo just down the road for example), but saying that this was less expensive too. The a la cartes were better. We ate at the le Elegant (French - good food, but not much. We had to visit the buffet after), the Pescador (Seafood - had the swordfish quite good) and the Mikado (Japanese - cooked in front of you. Not a bad show, but quick and we've had better. They cooked the prawns whole with heads, so you had to pick them apart with your fingers... not exactly chop stick material).

The only real negative thing I would say for this resort, however, was their time share version of what they like to call "Privilege Club" presentation. We got suckered in and spent over 5 hours with them. Yes, we almost bought into it until the lovely legal secretary went over our contract before signing and we quickly found that it was not what we were told we would be getting. BE CAREFUL... I can't believe we almost fell for it. The "closer" came back in and tried to dismiss it as a misunderstanding, but to be honest it was outright deception. We eventually got our "free" beach bag and $100 dollar bribe excursion voucher, but we wasted the better part of the day and felt very upset by the whole ordeal. They're in the lobby and very good at gaining your confidence. If your strong, go for the $100 voucher and then tell them to get lost and get out of there. I can't get into the details as to why this "deal" is bad, but always remember "if it sounds to good to be true... it is!" Don't let your guard down with these greasy sharks.

All in all, we'd go back or recommend to friend if you could get it for the right price...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdirectorbpaku, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear Sir, Madame

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We have already sent your nice words and thanks to the departments involved and in the name of the whole Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya resort, we want to thank you again for your valuable comments.

We want to invite you to visit us again soon, please write us a little message guestservicebpaku@bahia-principe.com and we will do all our best to accommodate your wishes.

Kind regards
Mehman Verdiyev/
Gerardo Alonso
Guest Service Manager Bahia Principe Akumal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,025
    1,363
    444
    198
    114
See reviews for
1308
2023
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

just returned from a family holiday at grand bahia principe akumal could not fault anything service food pools rooms everything was excellent staff was very friendly and jerry on the akumal servicedesk was very helpful will definetly be returning

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We are 40 years old, and ventured to mexico for the first time, and what a great holiday we had. We stayed at Gran bahia Principle Akumul resort, it was superbly clean, well organised, staff friendly, reps good, food loads of choice,shuttle buses to take you to your room,plenty of shade around pool and on beach if you want it. Temperature about 30 degrees for the end of November, and is very humid. Places we visited were X-plor, and went on lots of zip lines, drove amphibian vehicles, swam in cenotes,drinks were included and spread around, and lunch was great, all you need to take is water shoes of some description, and plenty of sun cream.
You should take your own snorkel equipment as lots of fish to see on the coast line without going out of your depth, our only regret is we didn't have an underwater camera.
There are lots of mosquitos but you should be ok if you buy the local repellant called "off" don't take "jungle" as they love it.
Swimming with the dolphins is a must, we done the 50 minutes sharred between 4 of us, the reps will tell you were is the best place to go, there is a small swimming pool enclosure on the resort if you want to watch your child with the dolphin, but it is best to go to a place called "Dolpninus"
Akumal beach is the locals beach which is a 5 min taxi journey down the road, it is a lovely beach and if you go on a calm day you can see turtles in the water.
Taxi's are expensive but collectives are their local buses and are cheap which are like people carriers, these are easy to catch on the main road, they will flash you, you will wave if you want them to stop.
Take Pesos as your main currency as you will find things cheaper in their local currency, they also take dollars, the exchange rate is good, so can always exchange English when you get there if you want.
Thermos flasks, single insulated drinks bottles ideal to take to beach, as drinks don't stay cool for long.
Beware of the time share people on the resort they will apear friendly, but will steal your morning if you go to see what they have on offer.
We will definately go back next year, and take the children with us know matter how much it costs.
The best holiday we have ever had, and advise anybody to give it a go.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My husband and I just returned from Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, what a wonderful trip. Room was great faced right on to the beach, our maid Cruz kept our room clean and tidy no complaints. Food was ok just like tourist food, service at restaurants a little to be desired, the snack bar was the best food and service, lots of variety. Our fav place to visit was the La Sirena pool bar were you will find Edgar with a smile on his face and always a good drink in hand, he was very much good company and takes pride in what he does, his kindness to my husband will never be forgotten, his wife is an amazing cook. My husbad and i travel alot and decided to do something totally different, we went to Delphinus to swim with the dolphins what an experience!!! best ever! trainers for the day is the best, we walk away with knowledge and respect for the dolphins and there trainers, Emmanul was wonderful and a book of knowledge it was noticable he loved the dolphins and his job. Thank You to the people whom made our trip so wonderful. We will return again.

Room Tip: rooms in 4700 block the best close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

My first time at a resort as well ad in Mexico.
The atmosphere was great- employees were attentive- great food and beautiful sun!

I love the fact you are able to attend all other resort areas and restaurants while staying with Bahia Principe (Akumal, Tulum and Coba)

The Buffet at Tulum was by far the best and Tequila and Mikado are some of the must try restaurants.

Great experience and thank you Gerry (Gerardo) at Akumal for making my first time visit a memorable and pleasant one.
Cheers to Gerry at Akumal!!

Love Mexico!

P.s. Be sure to try their stupendous Strawberry Tequila!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just got back Nov. 22nd: The "Golden Package" in Akumal is not worth the money. Let me elaborate, the staff at the Golden Section building have one word that is forever etched in my mind, it is "Tomorrow". Our air conditioning didn't work at all, and the ceiling fan, shorted on and off for 4 days, they responded with "tomorrow we fix" every day! We finally had to go to the Air Transat rep and the Manager at Akumal to get our room changed to one that did worth on both counts. In order to have this done, we had to sign an agreement not to sue (I found that really bizarre). Here are the other things: the premium bottle of liquor is a mikey size bottle of tequilla, 2 nights we had turndown service out of 7, everyone gets to choose "3" specialty rest's golden people get "4"; snack bar at Akumal beach is extremely poor, nothing is made fresh, hamburgers etc are cooked early in the morning and kept in a warming tray, becareful, take your meds from home, very expensive for the anti diarea etc. (I suffered from day one). The only redeaming thing about being in Golden is that you are definately close to the beach. Unlike some of the reviews that I read, the food is NOT good at all. There a couple of specialty restaurants that fairly good, and the best buffet is Coba...stay away from Akumal, blan, no flavour, poorly done. Our first meal there did me in...runs immediately, probably from the chicken.

In all, it was far too large a resort, you will find yourself taking the trolley constantly to see anything else in the resort. Will not return....

Room Tip: If you want close to the beach, and there are only two of you...ask for bld's: 65, 66, 67, 68
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My 2nd time to this wonderful resort, it's a really amazing place. Lots and lots of space to move around, clean room and great food. The people that work at GBP are very pleasant to talk with and smile all day long. All inclusive is great!!! The beach and pools are very nice, lots of adventure stuff to check out that is not far away also. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND A STAY at the GBP!!! Good for all ages too. What are you waiting for, book now!!!

Room Tip: Tulum and Akumal are closer to beach that Coba.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Address: Playa AventurasCtra. Chetumal - Cancun, km. 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Akumal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#3 Family Hotel in Akumal
#3 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Akumal 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Akumal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.