We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has it all.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Save Saved
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Spring, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This place has it all.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

From the moment we got here we were impressed. Super easy check in and bellman quickly took our baggage to our room. We found our room to be very clean and comfortable with very comfy beds. Daily maid service kept it looking first class everyday. All of staff did a great job. Food was very good and abundant.. The beach and water in front of this resort is exceptional. Very good snorkeling and they also had a lifeguard who also is a paramedic which we enjoyed visiting with. The value of this resort is what I found to be one of its greatest attributes.. The pool area is beautiful as well and large enough. Getting around was very easy too..

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest:

We appreciate the comments that you made to us through this medium. Your review motivates us to give our guests a high quality service. We are delighted that we have met your expectations and that your stay has been pleasant.

We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    260
    141
    104
    97
See reviews for
254
344
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really found this a great hotel, as I prefer the smaller hotels and have found the staff gets to know you and you aren't just another vacationer. The restaurant and bar staff always greeted us with a friendly smile and English and Spanish welcome. The food in the buffet restaurant was very good, good variety. You could eat inside or outside which I really enjoy!
The activity staff were fun, Nidia and Mayra in particular are wonderful women who did the water aerobics and games. Other activity staff were also humorous, lively, friendly and fun but I don't know their names :)
The evening entertainment was good quality, the hotel hires a theatre troupe and the light show and their Mayan cultural shows were very good.

Room Tip: Don't ask for an ocean view, apparently those rooms haven't fully recovered from the hurrica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Glenda:

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are glad you spent your holiday in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

when we were looking for a hotel they said you could use 2 hotel amenities but what they don't tell you its a extra 40$ a day to use them. they drop you off at the main lobby of the grand oasis then you have to make your way back to oasis Tulum 2 different hotels and its a 5 min walk.you get a orange band and the grand is a black band totally different!!! orange is second class. two nights we had no hot water the last day early morning we had no water could not even take a shower or flush the toilet and had to wash with bottled water thank god we had some left. at the oasis Tulum they have major issues with sewerage it always smelt really bad when walking to go eat( which you have to do for every meal) or you want to go to the nice pool or beach.oasis tulums lobby is the so called sports bar which has a coffee machine which is half the time out of coffee or is not ready in the morning because they turn it off at night. there is no coffee pots in the room. the rooms are ok they are clean but our room was up three flights of stairs (which we had to carry our own luggage up and down when we left not to mention the five minite walk with luggage in hand to the grand to catch our bus to leave ( they have no staff on till 7 am so if your flight leaves too early or too late your out of luck) one night we were going to have drinks in the sports bar but they had no ice and the bartender that was on that night was more interested in the soccer game than getting some ice. they staff is really friendly and nice emmanual(our regular bartender not the jerk that wouldn't get us ice ) and palma the receptionist were pleasant and made special effort . the first day we got there we wanted a lock box key ( which cost 7$ a day) took 30 min for them to bring from the grand oasis. they air cond was, too high had no remote to turn it down requested one but told wasn't any till we complained to sunwing rep the next day then they magically found one (or stole from another room) they good thing was the beach was really nice and the food was good and a really nice selection except for 2 days no butter or apple juice. wish we would have upgraded for the second week

Room Tip: stay at the grand oasis
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Karen:

We sincerely regret that you have had this negative experience at one of our hotels. Please note that your comments will help us improve the service and thus fulfill the highest expectations of our guests in our facilities. We reiterate that we are always looking to get in touch with you and your comments are always taken into consideration to improve our service.

No more for now thank you for your attention

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

When we arrived we were asked to provide a print out of our room info in order to check in, which we did not bring. We were exhausted from traveling and said we only had our e-mail confirmation, which we thought would be good enough. (The front desk was very dismissive and sent us to the concierge desk) We spent 45 minutes trying to check in as they said they could not check us in if we didn't have a printed out paper with our information. We ended up logging on to e-mail through a laptop, emailing the confirmation to the concierge where she finally printed it out. No one apologized for the delay. We were then told that we were in fact NOT staying at the Grand, but in another location. We waiting for a golf cart which took us to a less flattering hotel an 8 minute walk away. Our room was small, the view was of a maintenance area/wall and we had no shower curtain, no hot water. Our air conditioning unit starting leaking in the middle of the night, soaking two of our suitcases and dripping on our bed. My boyfriend's parents who were traveling with us complained, and had their room upgraded for 60$ a more a night, and were all given upgraded wristbands to allow us to use some of the previously off limits bars/pools. (their upgraded room also had no hot water).
The wrist bands were a terrible thing. Such a strange and uncomfortable thing to walk around with a bright orange wristband, while others wear a black one and have access to more of what the hotel has to offer. There were A LOT of Italian travelers with very loud and plentiful activities specifically there for them and as Canadians we felt that we did not take priority at all. (Very weird)
The front desk was useless, we witnessed three young boys (ages 10 or 11) abusing the iguana's which live on the ground (Throwing coconut at their heads to crush them!). We were very upset and told the front desk immediately. They said they would take care of it, but no security was sent. We complained twice more and the children were still allowed to roam the grounds terrorizing the animals and plant life unsupervised.
The disco was very empty, and not much going on after 10pm.
The good things (There were some) The beach was beautiful, lots of fish to see if you have a snorkel! The staff working there were all great! We always tipped well because they truly were really good at their job. The food was good, always fresh and surprisingly yummy.
Despite the nice beach and staff, I would never recommend anyone to book a stay here with Sunwing. We tried to leave the resort as much as possible.

Room Tip: Stay in the GRAND.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had, rest assured we have passed these on to the appropriate departments to resolve. We are happy to hear that you thought our staff was great; exceeding the expectations of our guests is one of our goals. Our kitchen staff takes great pride in their culinary creations so we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurants. We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future to make your next experience an even better one.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friend and I just returned from a week at the Oasis Tulum. When we arrived at the hotel our bus dropped us off at the hotel lobby to check in. After about 20 minutes of waiting at the desk they advised us that we were not booked at that hotel, we were ay the main lobby and that is for the Oasis Grand and we were booked at OasisTulum. We waited for over an hour for a golf cart to come and pick us and our luggage up to take us to the hotel, when one had still not arrived, we walked there with the help of a nice man named Carmen. Carmen carried our luggage up three flights of stairs and helped us to our room. The room was tiny, no balcony, and a view of a cement wall. After we dropped off our bags we went back to main lobby to ask about upgrading to the Grand, we were not able to upgrade until half way through our trip so we didn’t bother. It would have been an additional $60 a night to upgrade. There are 2 hotels, the Grand (black wristbands) who get nice rooms, access to everything etc. and then there is the Oasis Tulum (orange wristbands). What we quickly learned was that Oasis Tulum has an agreement with an Italian travel company and the Italians were priority to stay in the Oasis Tulum that is located near the amenities. The agreement Sunwing has with the hotel is that all Canadians not staying at the Grand, would be shipped to the highway. When you book at the Tulum, you DO NOT have access to most bars, restaurants, pools and certain areas of the beach. I have never stayed at a hotel with so many rules about where you are allowed to eat, drink etc. It is very deceiving that when you book a hotel, you arrive and aren’t allowed anywhere and are staying in the middle of nowhere. The rooms were also FILTHY, when we arrived on Sunday, there was left over food in the hallway of our hotel room floor, on Thursday the food was STILL THERE, just crawling with bugs. Also if you are interested in staying up past 10PM this is not the hotel for you, there is no lobby bar that the Tulum guests can get drinks at. The only option is the Disco, which there were maybe 4 people at a night. To sum it up;

THE GOOD:
The Staff: Paola at the Casa Club was amazing. She was so friendly and made our stay at the hotel enjoyable. She would always chat with us and ask what she could do to make our stay better. We also really enjoyed Carmen and Manuel. The bartenders at the Teatro theatre were also so much fun!
The Beach: The beach was beautiful, never a problem getting a chair, but all the chair pads and palapas were taken by 5AM
The Food: Even though we were not allowed at most restaurants, the ones we did get to experience were delicious. The buffet was not huge, but the food was all very good.

THE BAD:
Front desk at the Grand: TERRIBLE service, we were not allowed to check in there, but for some reason that was where we had to check out. When we were checking out the “assistant manager” just interrupted the fellow who was checking us out to make bracelet welcome packages.
Accommodations: The room in the back 40 was small, no balcony, hardly a window and filthy. Piles of hair and dead bugs in the hallways. The Casa Club was very far from everything, there were bikes available in the day and a golf cart that would come when you called it.
Nightlife: Non- Existent, there was a Disco but there was never anyone there. The shows were good, a few at the theatre and some at the beach.
Sunwing: The representation of this hotel through Sunwing is completely fabricated. I will never travel with them again because of this.

All in all we had great weather and spent most of our time on the beach, which made up for everything else. We made the best out of a bad situation. We did hear from A LOT of people we met who were all experiencing the EXACT same thing when booking through Sunwing. If you complain loud enough they will give you the black bracelet for free, but not move your room as they are always over-booked. The hotel we stayed at was a 2 star at best. The Grand looked quite a bit nicer, but for the cost to upgrade you can stay at much better spots in the Mayan Riviera. I have been to Mexico over 20 times in the past 12 years, and have never been to a place that had so many issues. If after you read this you still want to go to the Oasis Tulum, DO NOT book through Sunwing or you will be sorely disappointed..

Room Tip: Book at the Grand. If you book through Sunwing for the Oasis Tulum, you will be located by the highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments with us. We take all guests comments very seriously and have passed your inconveniences on to the appropriate departments so that these can be avoided in the future. Let us take this opportunity to explain that all guests can upgrade to the Grand category anytime whether just for one meal or for a few days, depending on availability. We are pleased to hear you received great service from the staff you mentioned and we will of course congratulate them accordingly. Our staff is continually trained to go above and beyond the expectations of our guests. We are delighted you thought the food was delicious; our kitchen staff goes to great lengths to provide a diverse range of dishes to cater to all our guests’ tastes. We hope you give us the chance to welcome you back to our resort in the near future and are at your disposal for any questions you may have.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keewatin, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Just returned from a 1 week stay at Oasis Tulum. Beach and staff get high ratings, but the main lobby is deceiving. Initially u think that u r staving at a luxury resort, but this is not the case. There are two resorts here, oasis tulum and grand oasis. This hotels caters to the folks wearing black bands (the grand oasis quests). The oasis tulum , u r treated like second class citizens, told that u can,t go to certain bars, restaurants or are areas. We complained on the hotel computer in the lobby and received a black wristband on day 5 of our 7 day staff.
U can upgrade when you arrive for around an additional $400 dollars. Yikes!
Bottom line this is not the place to go if u r young and looking for a lot of nightly action. It is a relaxing resort, very low key if that is what u want. Would I return, very unlikely. Think I could have spent my $ better in another resort.

Room Tip: No elevators if u stay on the tulum side. Pay the extra money and ask for ocean or pool room. Garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We want to know that every day we are making changes and improvements to our hotels to provide our guests with excellent service. We look forward to see you again in our hotel to enhance your experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hello
I would like to start off by stating that I don't understand why people complain about safe charges, wifi charges, the food, the rooms etc. I seriously think that some people just like to complain! This resort is great! Point Said! Yes you pay a little more for your Wifi but the darn thing was so fast and available all over the resort! We even streamed Netflix on it!! Try that elsewhere! I heard people complain about things that I really had to shake my head with amazement on how self centered some people are. Yes we had minor problem but we didn't let that ruin our stay.
The food was second to none. We were 14 and NOBODY got sick!! The resort is spotless! The beach is awesome but the best thing about this resort is the Staff!!!!
I can’t remember them all by name but Joaquin (food and beverage manager) Isabel (front desk) was just examples of a very professional staff. They and the rest of the team made our stay a wonderful experience.
Will I got back absolutely!

Pierre

Room Tip: even if your room is not to your liking don't let that ruin your vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest:

It is a great pleasure to receive feedback on our service and this motivates us to keep improving and so ensure a high quality service. We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel where we welcome you with open arms and the satisfaction of seeing you again.
Again, we appreciate your trust in us.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“People say I’m gorgeous, but that’s just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that’s definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids’ Club.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.