We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Over 50% Secluded Resort
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I wanted a quick escape from the Canadian winter and chose to visit mexico. We booked our stay at the Oasis Tulum Hotel.
We loved every minute of it and would definitely go back! The staff was fantastic and took great care of us. It seemed to be a relaxing, peaceful resort rather than a party atmosphere, which is exactly what we wanted.

There were mostly Europeans at the resort, especially Italians, but everyone was very friendly. Even the event and animation staff was mostly Italian! The food overall was pretty good and even though there was not a huge variety of restaurants there were enough and always well attended

You may get plenty of walking at this resort as the room may be far from the lobby to the beach but that was not a problem for us. I enjoyed the extra exercise because of all the food we ate! The beach itself is gorgeous, very well-kept, with crystal water, and with a big coral reef just in front of the hotel!!

It was great, we would happily return

Room Tip: Check carefully all room categories and their location; otherwise you may need to walk as I did
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Susan:

It is amazing to know that your stay with us has motivated to share such a great review about our hotel. Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable.
We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Our staff is always working hard to satisfy our guests so they can have an amazing experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    409
    220
    145
    118
See reviews for
395
478
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

First, being on the Oasis side wasn't terrible but the Grand looks much better, maybe spend the extra money to put yourself there. Don't think the pictures on any site will give you a picture of only the Oasis pool, they won't. Although it's a nice pool with plenty of space, there was no view of the ocean from the pool on the Oasis side. You had to walk to the ocean front, and the breach is really lovely....you can snorkel right off the sands. Back to the pool area...The swim up bar was a bit of a joke on the oasis side, one was never open and the other was attached to the restaurant bar so the one bartender had no time to serve you in the pool bar. The drinks however were lovely. I really enjoyed the service, thank you Fernando for being an awesome bartender. I felt the front desk tried to accommodate me whenever I had a complaint which was nice. On the Oasis side the rooms are slightly run down, our shower didn't work completely properly for example. However, the stay was comfortable. We were hardly in our rooms much anyway :)....The internet service was disappointing because we never had access to it in our rooms, only in the restaurants and pool areas. Perhaps the internet is not so dysfunctional on the Grand side. I wasn't a big fan of the nightly entertainment, however the sports bar with the pool table in the Casa club, a small bike ride away, was rather fun. I really liked the food, super good and a nice variety. Happy chicken was actually really good. Just a few pointers, get up early to get a good spot on the beach or in the pool area, tip your bartenders, and rent a car....tourists busses can be so slow and boring. It's completely safe to drive and finding all the fun archaeological locations wasn't difficult. All and all our husband and I really enjoyed our stay, however I'm not sure if we'd return. Oh and one more thing, the room cleaning service wasn't all that great..but when I complained, they fixed the problem immediately, at least for a short time anyway.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest:
Let us thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Such opinions helps us know our weaknesses in order to improve in the future. We regret the inconvenience occurred during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to enhance your perception.
We reiterate our thanks.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Upon arriving we were given a room with only 2 double beds for a family of five. The room was unclean and there was hair all over. After explaining this to the staff we were moved to a larger room one day later (as it was the ONLY room available as they were full) which we appreciated. We also had no air conditioning for the first few days. The second room we were given had a leaky faucet and the faucet was so close to the edge of the sink that you could not even wash your hands. We were a hotel away from our friends at the Oasis Tulum (where the staff stay), and our friends were at the beach hotel, however we decided that we were happy with a clean room and would put up with the issues.
The hotel and restaurants were constantly out of everything, for example internet cards, chicken, mushrooms, wine etc. the list goes on and on, on a daily basis. One evening we were given a wine menu and went through 8 wines before being told they were all unavailable and that we could only have the house wine. The food was terrible; no one in my family or the family we were there with wanted to eat the buffet. I understand that you have to book the restaurants ahead of time, but the lineup starts at 7 in the morning and booking started at 9am. We were expected to get up on our vacation every day to book into the one restaurant available. This is ridiculous as when we got into these so called “booked” restaurants we were one of 10 people in the restaurant with all the tables around us were empty. There was also one Italian group that booked the Italian restaurant for the entire time, although we were told we could only book it 24 hours in advance? We had to go off the resort to eat because the food the hotel is providing is dreadful, 3 people from our group were sick be. The restaurants on the resort also would not let us eat together, as we requested to push tables together which they would not allow. So we had to all eat at separate tables. This was completely ridiculous! The offer to purchase a higher bracket of food or service was not offered and they said it was unavailable.
The only good thing about the pool area was the weather and the warm sunshine. They are constantly out of beach towels, so we sat on the 1st from 8:30- 1:20 without towels. There is also no service person in the pool bar area.
As mentioned above, they are constantly out of internet cards, and when we finally get one and try to access the internet the service was intermittent. Once we place our money $20.00 US in the internet machine. The machine ate our money and did not provide a card. When we complained the hotel staff blew us off and did not take care of the issue stating they did have anything to do with the machines on their property.
During our trip we probably tipped approximately $1000.00US. We were told by staff that they are paid approximately $10.00 per day.
The point that completely unhinged me was the hotel had Santa Claus come by. The few kids that were in the kids club were the only ones that got a present, in front of all the children in the resort. Santa got up then to take pictures with the staff and some of the staff in their bikinis. As he took pictures…….. 15 to 20 children waited, cried and questioned for his return to give them presents, which never happened. He was posing with all the staff members in their bikinis with alcohol bottles while they sat on his lap. This is unacceptable behavior, especially in front of young children who were completely ignored by a so called Santa. When I approached the manager about this, I had to track him down 8 times and we never got back to me about the issue or offered to do anything to rectify the situation.
The 2 times that I spoke to a manager……My comments and complaint fell on deaf ears. They said they would get back to me and I would try again to track them down….have the same conversation and again the same……with no follow through from the hotel.
To say the least, we are EXTREMELY disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted to our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.
We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

If you don't like a resort that has small problems, then don't stay here. But, I am pretty non-picky and don't sweat the small things that most the people on here do. We just got back from the Oasis (this was our second time staying here) and enjoyed it as much as the first time! We traveled with a group of 12 people, and I think everyone would recommend this hotel! Some of the things that were wrong that did not bother us were: our mini fridge didn't work (but we didn't drink anything out of it so oh well!), our AC wasn't the strongest (we ran the ceiling fan and didn't get hot at all so oh well!). There were a few problems with the other rooms, but Hugo fixed them right away! He was amazing to our group!

There was a huge rainstorm one night. The pool by the spa got flooded and dirty. Within one day, it was cleaned and back up and running! The rooms were getting flooded but there was workers in most of the halls squeeging the floor trying to prevent the guests' rooms from getting flooded. We were on the ground floor on the grand side and our room didn't get flooded (luckily). There was damage after this rainstorm, but that is to be expected when that much rain happens.

Check in went quickly and they were friendly! You have to pay for the safe key which is stupid, but I'd rather do that than risk having my expensive stuff stolen. The rooms were usually cleaned later in the afternoon, but we didn't mind because we were usually out of the room the majority of the day. Definitely make reservations for the restaurants early because there were a few days when they were already full! Orlando, Josue, Ramon, and Jorge were awesome bartenders! Rogelio took care of us everyday at breakfast! Everyone was friendly! The timeshare people got kind of annoying, but they were nice. Cesar at the front was awesome and got our taxis for us and was the best!

The buffet food isn't the greatest, but there was never a time when I went hungry. One day we found the soft serve ice cream machine...greatest discovery EVER! The a la carte restaurants were delicious. We were a little disappointed that Dos Lunas was buffet now instead of the a la carte, but the food was still pretty good!

Overall, the Grand Oasis Tulum has been an awesome spot to stay in the past two years! I would definitely recommend it to family and friends! I think if you have a little patience, an open mind, and a good attitude, you will love this hotel as much as we did!

Room Tip: We were in 2132. Beautiful view of the pools. Family was in 2339 (which had a gorgeous ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, RP at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are flattered to know that your stay with us has motivated to share such a great review about our hotel.
We are very happy to have met your expectations and that you were able to have an excellent trip. We work hard to create positive experiences in our guests for you to remember our hotel with a huge smile.
Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable. It makes us happy to know you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer.

We hope you can visit us again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We should have heeded the warnings but we were fooled by pictures and the written descriptions provided online. We have travelled to the Mayan Riviera many times and this was our worst holiday ever to Mexico! Online you will see pictures of Grand Oasis Tulum but that is not what you will get! You will arrive at Oasis Tulum only to be harassed every day to upgrade to Grand (which you thought you had already paid for when you booked the holiday!!)

Here is how our holiday unfolded:

The bus transfer took 3 hours as we stopped at 6 other properties, with our hotel being the last stop.

We checked in at the main lobby. As we were given our keys etc… we were also told that this wasn't our lobby for the rest of the stay. Our lobby was across the parking lot as was our room.

Our room was dark (one entry light and two table lamps for the entire room.) The room stunk of paint. The dresser had just been painted as there was a book stuck to the dresser top that was held in place with partially wet paint. The next morning when we opened the curtains, we were able to see exactly what our room looked like - very worn out, everything was wicker and the sitting area table and chairs looked like they belonged outside. There was a mini fridge but it is not filled unless you are a Grand guest. We found a partially used and opened bottle of water in our fridge. Not sure how well our room had even been cleaned at this point. The beds were comfy though. Only two bath towels in the room for a family of four.

Went for lunch and thought we were at the snack bar, nope that was the main buffet! 10 dishes with a grill station, a salad and dessert station. They could not make a good tasting dessert to save their lives!! As soon as you entered the buffet, it had a smell, the food was awful, the service even with tipping, was not great. The only time service was good was if a manager was in the buffet. I'm not even talking about drink service, just having plates removed. There was a pop machine in the corner to get drinks yourself. Only pop, beer and water, no juice or milk except at breakfast. No ice-cream ever at the buffet or snack bars. For the last few days, the glasses and plates were dirty. Breakfast was good, Marianna made great omelettes. There were other restaurants, but if you are not a "Grand" guest you were not able to eat there. My kids were now starving, usually pasta and rice would tide them over, but the pasta was terrible and the rice was hard and I couldn't blame them for not wanting to eat either items. Not much for kids to choose from at the buffet. No screens or covers over the food, one day there was a bug stuck on a cake and the bug was removed and the cake remained out. There was a bug in a jug of juice at breakfast that my husband pointed out to staff and they did nothing.

Passed the pools (you could see the mold on the inner pool walls) on our way back to "our lobby" which could hold 8 people in the sitting area and was always occupied over capacity by Italians. Went to see our Sunwing representative, to get us out of this dump. He said he would see what he could do. Went back later to see what he had found out. We were told that Oasis Tulum would not refund our accommodation portion of the package. We were welcome to move but it would be at our own expense.

At that point we were approached by another man who looked like a manager and seemed genuinely concerned about our situation. He sat us down with a lady, who was concierge and we found out later, was also a timeshare shark! Why would we want to have a timeshare to a dive like this??? She tells us there are no available rooms at the moment but we knew there was at least one in the “Grand” complex. She comes back and “Oh I have found you a room.” The hotel’s solution was to then have us pay to upgrade so that we were able to access all other restaurants, coffee shop and bars and have a decent room. 1200 pesos a day, no thank you! I already paid for that when I booked the holiday. The price then came down to 900 pesos a day, still not interested. Why should we have to pay again to get access to all of this when we had already paid at booking time? We then asked how much to have a meal bracelet upgrade only. 325 pesos per person per meal, so the 450 pesos a day total upgrade was then pushed again.

We then met another family having a worse stay than us, the hotel offered them 3600 pesos to upgrade for the entire family for the rest of their stay. We asked for the same offer and were told no, that family had major room issues and being unhappy at the hotel was not a reason. I told reception I coundn't wait to get back home to post my review of this hotel. I had asked for a manager many times, only to be told they were all in meetings. Finally three hours later, of waiting in the lobby, the head of concierge approaches us and asks us how she can help. We told her we wanted the same deal as the other family as this holiday was misrepresented to us and we only had access to the main buffet and one restaurant and the room was awful. Finally she got approval from a manager. We had to sign a “Release Form” saying we would not pursue any further action against the hotel before getting the room upgrade.

My husband was then told to move the luggage over to the Grand room. He asked if a bellboy could assist him and received no answer. So then my husband found a bellboy and they both brought all of our luggage by hand to the new room, no golf carts or shuttles, a good 15 minute trek. The upgraded room is what the room should have been initially. We settled in, turned on the air conditioner and it did not work. Maintenance person worked on it for an hour, it couldn't be fixed. At 11pm we moved to another room, luckily only one floor up.

We then settled in for the third time now. Kids turned on the tv and the tv shut off by itself every time the tv warmed up. Maintenance changed some settings on the tv, and it still continued to shut off. Called front desk, no one came up again. It rained for five days, and the tv was our only entertainment and the room was where we spent most of our holiday. Next day, the tv shut off again several times. Maintenance replaced the tv 3 times and by the end of our stay, the tv was still shutting off and we didn’t bother to call anymore.

Once we upgraded to what we had already paid for (so we thought when we booked the holiday,) the food options did get a bit better. The a la carte restaurants were so-so but at least the kids were eating now. The Happy Chicken snack bar was never open. One lunch restaurant was all seafood, so we could not eat there due to food allergies. The late night snack bar was a joke, a couple of sandwiches and left over pizza from the buffet. The snack bar outside the buffet was okay, although I ordered a chicken club sandwich two different days and got a sandwich without chicken and bacon, yet my husband got the same sandwich made correctly.

The coffee shop was only open until 5pm every day, which was not practical at all.

A la carte restaurants – can only be booked on the day until 5pm. The menus list incredible sounding desserts. Be prepared to be disappointed, you will all be served a chocolate lava cake, with freezer burned vanilla ice-cream, that also had icy chunks in it. There is no Brazilian restaurant, it is just a steak house and was not great either. The Mexican restaurant was good, no air conditioning, overlooked the pool where you could see and hear swimmers, and doubled as the bar for the non-grand guests. They also had piñatas hanging from the ceiling as part of the décor. How nice, these are the same piñatas other hotels have the kids break open for treats.

Dos Lunas (for Grand guests only) is another buffet but is taken over by Italian guests and has even less food selection than the main buffet.

Getting towels for the first time was a task. We would try to get towels and the towel boys would tell us the towels were in our room, which they never were. Finally we went to the front desk and were given towels. After that though, towels were always available for exchange.

The pool bars were closed most of the week. There is a roof top bar for Grand guests, and it was never busy. The lobby bar was good. However there were only 10 drinks on the drink menu as it was a martini bar. There was no milk or fresh juices to make any good cocktails and this was the better bar of the two.

We didn’t even go to the nightly shows, as they looked like they would be terrible. There was a fire and drum show one night on the beach and that was excellent (hired by the hotel to perform.)

At night, the main lobby was poorly lit as were the corridors and hallways throughout the hotel.

There was a dead cockroach in one of the hallways for 5 days, it could still be there now! Stop stamping the stupid Oasis logo into ashtrays and maybe focus on other things.

The public bathrooms smelled of urine. You will not see any staff cleaning or maintaining anything at this resort, perhaps they hotel is understaffed.

The pools were basic and dirty.

Our room did not have a balcony, so there was nowhere to dry swimsuits. However, I’m thankful there were no balconies as there have been a two fatal accidents at this hotel where railings gave out. Had I known this before booking the holiday, I would not have even considered staying here. Mind you, safety standards are sketchy at all hotels in Mexico it seems.

The beach was narrow, rocky and dirty, full of plastic and garbage. We found a syringe near by as well. No cleaning or upkeep by the hotel at all. We actually walked down the beach to find a better spot where we ran into other Oasis guests doing the same thing (closer to Bahia Principe.)

The entertainment staff threw out an occasional “ciao” to my kids in passing but the entertainment staff’s mandate was to take care of the Italian guests. There was no other entertainment, (such as pool tables or dart boards) available for when the weather was bad.

We rented a car so that we could get away from the hotel and the car rental representative tried to rent us his personally owned car. We said we wanted another car and sure enough we were given an actual rental car this time. The Smart cars offered by the hotel are all two passenger vehicles so we were unable to use those. Also they are complimentary but you must pay $60 US per day for the insurance.

The main lobby was a place we tried to avoid as this is where the timeshare sharks lurked. I finally told the one man, this hotel was not somewhere we would stay again and we were not interested at all. He still tried to sell us a timeshare to other places!

This hotel gets you to their property and then they upsell you to what you think you have already paid for when you booked the holiday. The hotel gets this money directly, so they really pressure sell you any chance they can. They love if you complain because it is another chance for them to sell an upgrade. Your tour rep will not help to move you because they want you to stay and upgrade since “there are no other options” and you are basically stuck at this dump!

Everyone we spoke to would not stay at Oasis Tulum again. They shared stories of having no hot water, no electricity, smells of sewage, having no bath towels or bottled water etc... Every family on our bus was trying to be moved to a different property and our tour rep did not assist any of us. When we came to terms with the fact that we were all stuck at Oasis, we tried to move to different rooms that were decent, clean and functional and we were all told there were no available rooms, and to check the next day. Once we had agreed to pay to upgrade, suddenly there were many rooms available. Every day you would see guests at the desk with some sort of complaint. One woman had sewage water leaking into her bathroom from the floor above.

If you read the reviews there are rooms that have no air conditioning, sewage smells, sewage leaks, no electricity, no hot water, and yet the hotel continues to assign these rooms to guests.
I’m not a complainer but for the price we paid for this dump, we could have stayed at a better resort or one of our favorites. We tried to make the best of our holiday, as we were away from -30 weather at home, but the base level was not even a decent standard. To have to upgrade to their “Grand” level just to be given what other hotels offer as their minimum standard was ridiculous! We couldn’t wait to come back home, even if it meant -30 weather. We all lost weight on this holiday and it was not a relaxing get away at all. We spent two days just trying to sort out our accommodations. If you are not fussy or a first time traveller this hotel might work for you. If you are a seasoned traveller and know what other hotels are like, stick to those and avoid Oasis Tulum! Even with the Grand upgrade, I would still only rate this hotel three stars. Without the Grand upgrade, it is on par with a government owned Cuban hotel. Oasis Tulum is not typical of what you expect and have already experienced in The Mayan Riviera.

Room Tip: Being willing to pay to upgrade to get a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear JB:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted to our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

First off our 'room' was in the 'Casa' not Oasis Tulum, an Old ground floor 'tiny box' with a king size bed..the rumble of whatever was running didn't allow sleep anyway!! There was No Warm water and the cold trickled out..the door had up to a half inch gap All around it...it was quite a 'walk-in-the-rain' to the actual Resort where we were only allowed into certain areas..
We paid to upgrade..this second story room in the Oasis Tulum was the same but larger with 2 double beds 'put together'..sm.balcony looked at scraggly trees that shaded it completely,with the added advantage of the kids playground below..Very musty and the pillows not only stank but were hard and lumpy..there was Mold on the lampshades, the drapes/sheers, the ceiling.. The best thing about the place was the beach which had crappy access and access to 1 washroom which was past the beach bar--- and restaurants----alittle farther past the tiny gift shop----and Oh darn it is flooding again!!!
This time flying wasn't much better than last time (crying babies moved into the open 'elite' seats)...payed for 'elite' again and just about froze my feet by the wing door(didn't want to pay $10 for a cheap blanket) also had water dripping on me...going home we noticed kids and adults go to the front asking for cans of pop so my husband and I asked for one on there next rounds...we were given a partial glass. After asking why the attendant told us there wasn't enough to give a can to everyone..ELITE ??? oh ya and the Food is awful!!

Room Tip: stay in the Grand Oasis or better yet go somewhere nicer for the same money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you had on you recent stay. We offer our sincere apologies. Please note that all of your comments and opinions are very important to us and will be submitted to the right department to take the necessary actions to correct them and provide new options for you in the in the future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to change your perception of us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Been to tulum 3 times... this was the third and the worst.
Such a disappointment after being in other better hotels in the area for less €.
The hotel is falling apart. .
-We were sold our stay by an Internet seller with grand hotel photos.
-NO HOT WATER! you go on holidays to encounter less basic standards that you are used to at home???
-Dirty shower curtains with stains!
-Rusty bathroom fittings
-Bathroom fittings falling off
-Terrible food..the worst I have experienced in an all exclusive. .id say they have a budget of 15cent per head a day! ...all rice and pastas. . Cheapest cuts of meat.
-Not an all inclusive. .only access to two restaurants..Italian or mexican..only access to two bars
-If you go see a show in the evening get ready for a trek back across to the oasis bar because they won't serve you in the closest one to the theatre.
-Staff. ..hit and miss! Asked for upgrade(PAYING) to other hotel to ease the holiday a bit but I was told by the girl it was full. .. even though the hotel was less than half full and in low season with no one around. ....
-The hotel go out of there way to get you to fill in satisfaction forms..whats the point? ??Also they called the room asking our opinion? ?whats the point if your not going to do anything about it?

Don't bother replying to this unless you want to repay or replace my appalling stay in your hotel. Because I couldn't be bothered to read how you will try improve it the next time around and oasis "loves" there clients!
I Just want future visitors to know. ....

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your experience; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services to all of our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future to enhance your experience and perception of the Hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.