We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good the bad and the ugly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Save Saved
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Don’t Miss Over 45% Off!
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The good the bad and the ugly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've never been so disappointed in a resort.

Sometimes it’s difficult to choose a resort because comments range from “it’s the greatest”, to “never again”.
We decided to book the Oasis Tulum because if we traveled in the month of October we'd be given a free upgrade to the Grand. The upgrade was only for the room, it did not include the other perks that come with a stay at the Grand. We could not go to the la carte restaurants unless we paid for the meals. The room was very nice looking, and it was clean, however we also experienced the overwhelming musty smell that others have described. We found that having the AC on helped with the smell somewhat, but the AC was so loud I didn’t sleep for the first two nights. I also discovered that when I arrived back home, I brought the musty smell with me. All of my personal belongings had a stench.

Although the Oasis advertises several restaurants, and two buffets, and a few snack bars, there was only one buffet and two a la carte restaurants. For lunch we had a choice of Italian or the snack bar. The only time the snack bar was open was for lunch. Dinner was either the buffet, which seemed to serve the same food everyday, or Italian, or Mexican. The sushi bar and the Happy Chicken were closed the entire week we were there. Every resort I've been to there was always food available at any given time, not at the Oasis. If you want a snack at at 3:00 in the afternoon, you're out of luck, because everything is closed.

I have to add, the staff were very friendly and were very helpful.
The evening entertainment was great.
The beach, spectacular. We wondered out to the beach around 10:00 every day and never had a problem getting a lounge chair. The infinity pool is as beautiful as the pictures on the site. The garden view is heavenly.

Will I be returning? No

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted with our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    262
    142
    105
    98
See reviews for
259
347
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We traveled from October 14-21.
Overall, our trip was very good. Food was great, Drinks were plentiful, ...what more do you need!?! We did get an upgrade to the grand side which did help. We only went to the Italian and Mexican a la carte's once, as we were more than satisfied with the buffet. Lots of selection.
Not sure what the rooms look like on the 'non' grand side, but our room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfy.
We also really liked the location of this resort as it was close to many things in the area such as, the ruins of Tulum, Coba and Muyil, Ziplining, Xel-Ha and Turtle Bay. All of which we took advantage of! It was an awesome experience. There is also a bunch more stuff in the area to do, ...or just relax on the beach! The beach is really nice here! Of all the other resorts that we walked along, I think our beach was the nicest.
If I were to suggest improvements within the resort, I would say to improve the glass railing system that is in sooo many places around the resort. Although they are aesthetically pleasing, they are large panels of glass attached at the bottom only. Making them a little too wobbly for my liking. One of the first things I told my Girlfriend when we got there was to be careful around the railings. Especially when you have had one too many drinks!
Overall, it was a beautiful resort in a good location, for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 2242 over looks pool areas and you get a small bit of ocean view between the buildings. Very ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

It is amazing to know that your stay with us has motivated to share such a great review about our hotel. Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable.
We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Our staff is always working hard to satisfy our guests so they can have an amazing experience.

We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once again in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We just returned on October 12th and had a wonderful time. We were told when we arrived that our rooms had been upgraded to the Grand side but the restaurants were still limited to the Oasis side. We had a large ground floor room facing the pool by the spa. The A/C worked great and the rooms were very clean. We were left bottles of water every day. We had one night when the shower wasn't working but we were able to shower in another room while they fixed it. We had no complaints with the food. We didn't notice the lack of A/C as we always sat outside to enjoy the view. The a la cartes were good and the service exceptional. The drinks from the beach bar on the Grand side were amazing. Thanks to Ricardo for the best grande pina coladas ever and the woman that helped him at the bar. We even had nachos served to us on the beach. Manuel Lopez the supervisor also looked after us. The beach was one of the best we have been to in the Mayan, very clean and crystal clear water. The Happy Chicken restaurant on the Oasis side was a nice quiet little spot with tasty food and friendly service. Overall we had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to go back. We can't speak for the rooms on the Oasis side but we did enjoy the pool and bar on that side. Thanks to Alex one of the managers for explaining the colour coding on the wrist bands and taking the time to talk to us and make sure we were happy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Murray:

We appreciate feedback to us through this medium. Your opinion motivates us to give our guests a high quality service. We are delighted to have met your expectations and that your stay was enjoyable.

We hope to see you again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and travel quite a bit and stay in the Playa area often and we unfortunately have to say that the Grand and the Oasis Tulum is the worst overall stay we have had. The food was subpar, the accommodations on the Oasis side are rough. We met couples staying on the Grand side who had just as much trouble as we did including having to be move to different rooms on 3 different occasions due to the smell. Upgrading was of no help because even there best rooms were not all that. We upgraded to the black bracelet which gives you access to all the restaurants but half of them were never open or only open 1 or 2 times during the week. The food was bland and there was no air conditioning anywhere except in your room so the deserts were always melting and chilled foods spoil after being subjected to heat for long periods of time. Rather nasty. We ended up eating out quite a bit. There are couple of great little restaurants in Akmul. We recommend the Cave of the Fisherman.

On the flip side, the service was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to make the stay as pleasant as possible. They work there butts off with what little resources they have to work with.

Lastly, the beach is the best we have ever had! It made all the bad tolerable.

Room Tip: Sian Kahn room at the grand or 1st floor at the oasis are your best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Matthew:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted with our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception
of our hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived today on October 8 few hours ago . We stayed in the Oasis Tulum. The room was quiet and faced the internal pools area, #2326. The check in was a breeze with Ms. Vanessa at the reception. The A/C was working but the last few days not to the full capacity. The cleaning was good. Overall the hotel is very clean and neat. The food in the restaurants was always fresh and enough, a lot of meat of different types, salads, mexican homemade style cheeses and traditional mexican food. Thanks to waiter Emmanuel we were getting all orders quickly and with good service. The wines-- red and white dry wines were very good. The cocktails were very well made, Cuba Libra, Mohito, Pina Colada. We watched only two shows: the Mayan theatre and the Carribean dancing, it was extremely attractive and professional, we regret very much we did watch the other ones. The organser and the host of the shows Rai, a young fellow from Bolivia was great and very entertaining. Free snorkelling sessions are provided on the beach at the lifeguard and towel tower. We had it with two instructors, one of them was Fabio, an italian with the British accent, living now in Mexico. He was very professional and caring during the whole session. If you feel fit for a one hour swim, do it, amazing, the reef is very close from the shoreline, it takes about 45min to 1 hour. They have sessions at 11 am, 12 pm, and 4 pm. The towels are available always, no problems at all. The sunbeds under the beach huts were always available at any point of time. We we went to Xcaret, the theme park, the zoo, the beach combination with the nice night show, the free lunch included, several restaurants available with different cuisine. A nice place to see but a bit tiring , you start at 8 a.m. and arrive at 10 pm. There two very good jewellery stores Lapis and Matis, both established by the Turkish business, an abundant selection with superb and unique design, nice discount policy. There were holydaymakers from different countries: Argentina, Columbia, Venezuela, Quecers, Torontonians. The beach is great, the water is crystal blue, you swim surrounded by the exotic fish. The taxi service in Cancun is quite expensive, from Cancun to the hotel the fare is $155.00 for two people. We enjoyed the whole stay in this hotel and want to say thank you to staff. Everyone wet met was friendly and helpful, I wished I had known the Spanish language better. There were some drawbacks in the service, they missed the cleaning our room on the next day of our arrival, the did not call when we requested an early wake up call, the faucet and the the shower curtain are not good, the water is spreading everywhere. The hotel at night looks dark, especially the lobby, I would make it brighter and put two pool tables and make and a social spot at night. We assume the hotel knows about these problems and will fix it soon with a high season coming. The bus from the hotel to the Cancun airport was way too long, more than 2 hours for 100 km, collecting people from different hotels.
P.S. Don't forget the duty free shop at the airport with a nice selection of the mexican silver.

Room Tip: talk with the reception desk when checkin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Vittorio:

Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your vacations in our hotel and we are delighted to have met your expectations.
We are glad you enjoyed our daily activities since we work really hard to keep our guests entertained and make sure they have an amazing time with us.
It is gratifying to receive such great comments regarding our staff; we will surely congratulate them for their terrific job.

Hope to see you again on your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Out of all of my travels, Oasis Tulum has by far been the most disappointing in terms of a resort. The Riviera Maya is one of the most magical places I have ever been - however, Oasis Tulum falls flat in every category:

1) THE ROOM: Existing alongside the Grand Oasis Resort stands a 26 yr old building that is poorly maintained and in actuality, falling apart. Our front door was surrounded by an optimal amount of animal feces and broken steps. When you entered, the walls were dripping from condensation because the balcony door is, was clearly broken. Bed linen was damp, smelt and to top it off the mini bar didn't work and therefore was not stocked with at least water. The bathroom itself is a true death trap and had hardly any hot water. I wouldn't recommend children or elderly people to use this bathroom. Someone could get hurt.

2) THE FOOD & DRINKS: Only 2 restaurants and a buffet were offered to Oasis Tulum guests. One which were inside the Grand Oasis and all which had no air conditioning. As you melted and dealt with the stench, you could only hope the food from the buffet passed health standards. After eating multiple times at the 2 restaurants offered, you were forced to eat in the smelly buffet room which had a horrible selection of food. It wasn't until the second last day of our 7 day stay with them, were we offered an upgrade to the Grand. This gave us a new room and access to additional restaurants that had no ac, were poorly lit and provided food with no flavour or imagination. As for the beverages, only one bartender knew what he was doing. He created true masterpieces. His name is Hugo. He truly made my stay - bearable. The bar backs were great too. Jorge, Nancy, Alberto, Manuello, Fernado and the DJ Pepe and a few others were awesome.

3) THE SERVICE & ENTERTAINMENT: Our hotel concierge was only present the first night my daughter and I had arrived for our birthday vacation. After that, the room was cautioned off because the roof was caving in. So with that, we had to deal with the Grand's concierge who seemed to only tell us, "We don't know" or "We're sorry, No." Their lobby was always dark and full of water spills that even staff almost broke their necks over. Their computer had cables sitting in a pool of water as well. Safety hazards all over the place. The only concierge staff that was extremely helpful was Edna and Shaula and not to mention Marcelo for playing such beautiful music on his piano. They were always happy to help as where others always spoke in a condescending tone because of our lower hotel status. It was also sad to see that the hotel staff had to suffer in their uniforms without air conditioning in the hotel. As for the entertainment staff - there was no entertainment except for the shows they had every night from contracted acts, which were awesome.

In conclusion, the positive that came out of this trip were the amazing people we met and the geographical position of the resort. Tulum is a short collectivo bus ride away and getting to excursions like Xplor, Xcaret and Chichen Itza are a hop, skip and away. The Riviera Maya is a place you can get lost in enchantment and rich history. The Maya are a fortified people with mystical culture and honestly amazing food. I just wouldn't recommend this resort. From my experience, AM RESORTS are holding the highest of standards for a 4 star resort for me and they are a company I would highly recommend.

There was no welcome package from Sunwing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Diane:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted with our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.

We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Unfortunately, we only had a day pass for the Oasis Tulum (we were staying at The Oasis Sens in Cancun). But our next vacation will be at the Oasis Tulum. What an elegant place! And the location is perfect. With a reef further out to stop the waves, the snorkelling is wonderful. The beach is to die for and the different bars and restaurants were outstanding. We ate at the seafood restaurant and the food was scrumptious. We also tried the Japanese and Chinese food offered, and it was very good, too. Although, the Japanese kitchen had closed already, our delightful young waiter was able to get us some Tempura Shrimp. Can't wait to go there next year.

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight, but an ocean view room seems to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Guest:

We are glad you could enjoy one daypass in one of our hotels, so it gives us great pleasure to know that we could meet your expectations and that you enjoyed our selection of restaurants and personal service you received during your visit.

We hope to welcome you soon on your next visit.

Best RegardsEstimado Huésped:

Nos alegra que haya podido disfrutar un daypass en uno de nuestros hoteles, asi mismo nos da mucho gusto saber que hemos podido cumplir con sus expectativas y que haya disfrutado de nuestra variedad de restaurantes y servicio personalizado que recibio durante su visita.

Esperamos recibirla pronto en su siguiente visita.

Saludos Cordiales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“People say I’m gorgeous, but that’s just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that’s definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids’ Club.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.