We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised. Grand Oasis delivered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Over 50% Secluded Resort
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised. Grand Oasis delivered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading endless negative reviews on this all inclusive resort, I was afraid I made a mistake booking this resort for May 2013. I understand how disappointed one would be if they were on the Oasis side of the resort. The choices for eating are extremely limiting as well as other amenities. We booked our trip through Cheap Caribbean and was only offered the Grand Oasis side of the resort. The flight, transfers and resort were first class and did not disappoint at all. The value was worth every penny. We will be back for another enjoyable vacation.

Room Tip: We had a room that was called the Grand Garden. We were on the third floor with a balcony and 2 lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad you had an excellent stay and that you enjoyed the activities and facilities.We are going to be glad to recived you again
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    410
    220
    145
    118
See reviews for
395
479
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This vacation was awesome from beginning to end! My husband and I celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary from 4/24-5/1 at the Grand and couldn't be happier with our experience. I can sympathize with the complaints from the Oasis side. Even though it was a nice area I would be upset if I couldn't go into the best restaurants, bars and beaches too. I am not sure how much less the Oasis side would have cost but I guess you get what you pay for. When we checked in we were told they didn't have our reservation on file however the clerk handled it very professionally. They took our information, gave us our wristbands and we sat by the infinity pool overlooking the ocean (our favorite spot to sit). 45 minutes and two margaritas later we had our room. The beach was beautiful which we took for granted until we walked further down past our hotel and some beaches at Playa del Carmen and saw lots of rocks and seaweed. We never had a problem finding a place on the beach or by the pool. The food in the restaurants were excellent, the buffet was good with lots of options. One of our lunches took a little over an hour to get but when you are on vacation and overlooking the ocean, a few minutes one way or the other didn't matter. Other than that we never had a problem with the service or getting the items we wanted. The bars always had what we wanted or got it for us if they didn't. We liked the quietness of the hotel. There were activities if you wanted them but we choose to relax on the beach. We found the collective (public transportation) very cheap and easy to use. The mini-vans drive by every few minutes and once we got used to it was a fun experience. I like to experience the places I go as if I live there, not as a tourist. If your into snorkeling I would suggest taking your own equipment. You can check them out but only for 2 hours at a time, not the best equipment, they don't have fins and they are not always available. The snorkeling is very good here, definitely worth the investment. I guess there were a few times when we could have gotten upset but we choose to concentrate on the positives. This was a great value!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the ocean view but having a patio or balcony would be nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Stephanie:
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are glad you have passed your holidays in our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is a pleasure to serve you and make your stay with us an unforgettable experience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

i have lots to write about this hotel so i will be updating this review after i get a response from the sub director when i have recieved a reply to the issues at this complex . i am given him the benefit of the doubt for a satisfactory reply . but what i will say is in 2 of the bars at this resort the only good thing are the martini bar hugo, nancy orlando by day and the pool bar at oasis grand area liberto and lelsey why are theses staff hidden. theses guys should be management material interacting with customers they were all absolutley great fun excellent at there jobs . the martini bar is dull and boring with no atmoshere except for the above guys . we always had a good laugh with them im sure hugo could throw a few moves if the music was livelier and wed come back to see that lol. get rid of the undertaker whose playing the piano . he plays the same titanic music everynight shame he wasnt on it when it sank, no disrespect. although the new bar manager from cancun is a cool guy who listens to constructive comments his name sound like edward but being mexican possibly thats just how it sounds . in 2 weeks hes starting to make a difference so all good from that point. the pool bar 2 great people with huge personalitys liberto and lelsey why are they behind a bar that serves a handful of people a day . liberto should be head of customer service he has a fab personality would do an excellent job and you,d have happy customers. ;lelsey activities manager great bubbly personality , fun to be around great with guests. its this handful of people you would come back and see nothing else so look after them before another resort snaps them up. ELi !!! my god this guy has to be the rudest person i have ever meet . his white shirt and blue tie have obviously gone to this guys head and to make matters worse hes situated in reception dealing with customer complaints . this guy has little or no skills in dealing with the public. he is point blank rude and possibly amongst the guests on our 2 weeks one of the most disliked members of staff in the hotel . i will upload photos of the fab guys and other pictures when i update this review from champagne and absolute uk
ps mamuel and marbeya possibly spelt wrong . theses guys in the gormet resturant lunchtimes .our advice is get your own resturant guys you are both amazing at all of it , your service was incredible the both of you so efficent yet not rushed just a fab couple. the day you had off the whole lunch time just fell apart over 2 hours to get 2 courses cold food no wine . waiter forgot what we ordered . a joke. personally they should close the resturant lunch times when you both get a day off because no one can touch you two on service
until next time champagne &absolute

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

We are truly sorry you had an unpleasant experience during your vacations. We appreciate you for taking the time to share your comments; this helps us know our areas of opportunity so we can provide better services in the future.
Furthermore, we would like to let you know we are very devoted with our guests, and the staff is committed to understand, help and satisfy all of your needs. Thank you for letting us know the inconveniences you had so we can enforce and improve the service, since your comfort and satisfaction is really important to us.
We reiterate once again our sincere apologies for any setbacks you experienced and hopefully you can give us another opportunity to welcome you again so we can enhance your perception of our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Highly recommended, we’ll be back! May 5, 2013
We would like to disagree with some of the negative comments written about the Grand Oasis resort in Tulum. For the last 8 years we visited many 5 star resorts in Mexico and were so spoiled that we had our reservations going to the Grand Oasis for a change. Especially when reading all the horror stories, after we booked.
There are always little things that can go wrong but they were taken care of right away.
For example, after we settled in to our beautiful beach-room we found one at a better location. Without hesitation they had the new room cleaned and let us move.
Someone wrote, “they are thieves”, we think the opposite. My wife had left her shoes somewhere on the beach or in our first room, the ‘lost and found’ had them. We always left our Apple laptop, iPhone and iPad in the room and were never worried. It probably makes a difference how you treat people, we always tipped the cleaners. Talking about that, the room and matter of fact, the entire resort was very clean and well maintained.
You cannot beat the beautiful water, the best swimming we experienced so far. No seaweed was also nice.
The restaurants where definitely comparable with the 5 star resort we used to visit. Great good quality food, we never had any stomach problems.
Their Smart rental-car service was a nice touch as well. They have so many of them that you never have to reserve ahead.
Overall, we have nothing than good things to say, highly recommended!
WZ, Kelowna BC Canada

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
Widely appreciate your comments, they help us improve our service constantly and thus provide the best experience on your vacation. Thank you again for your preference and we will be waiting for you again on your next vacation.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I visited the grand oasis for five nights in April with my partner, two-year-old child and mother. upon arrival, the resort appeared nice. The lobby was nice and we were immediately greeted and offered drinks. We got there early (1pm) and was told our rooms weren't ready yet ..they recommended we go get something to eat at the buffet and told us our luggage would be delivered to our room so we went to the buffet and got something to eat... came back about 3 pm the rooms were ready and we went to our rooms the luggage didn't immediately follow...took some time before It showed up we had to call And actually go to the lobby to get my childs bag so that we could change her. At first the room seemed okay then that night the AC was not working well and the light above the windows flickered all night long. The tub did not drain properly when you showered and then one evening we had a toilet stoppage ..called the front desk to report they said they would send someone no one ever came that night I called again in the morning and Had to call again finally someone came. We were not impressed at all by the food. the service was horrible for the most part all of the restaurants were understaffed, as well as the buffet. We expected at least decent Mexican entrées but were disappointed. On the morning of our third day my 64 yr old mother went to get breakfast and coffee at the buffet and ended up tripping and falling and hurting herself. Apparently they had removed a glass partition and an area of the dining room but didn't remove the metal partition holder on the floor which my mother ended up tripping over. after she fell the hotel staff brought her to the lobby they called me. They initially tried to make her pay $150 for a Dr visit at the hotel. After I saw what she tripped over and that there was no signage of caution I said no...she will not be paying. this is clearly the hotel's fault it was an accident waiting to happen. They then agreed to cover all the medical expenses. the Dr recommended she go to the hospital to get x-rays done and be looked at by a specialist. The hotel immediately tried to get her to sign a waiver releasing them from any legal pursuit. They offered her a free stay at any oasis resort for the same length of time as our stay but my mother was not pleased with that ...she didn't want to return to their hotels she wanted to be compensated while she was there they ended up upgrading our rooms to the oceanfront suites. Nicer rooms but not without issues..After we returned from the hospital ...a whole day wasted ..dr told her to stay off her feet the rest of the day- possibly the next day to reduce swelling in her knee and icing. told to use a wheelchair around the resort to go eat. My mother was highly upset her vacation was ruined and wanted to be compensated further. went back to the manager and demanded a refund for the remainder of her stay. The manager told her he couldn't refund it at first because of how we booked it ..my mother wasn't buying that she insisted and miraculously he was able to do it after back-and-forth for a while. After this whole ordeal we began to notice lots of maintenance issues- accidents waiting to happen -the resort has a lot of work to be done unfortunately many other people will probably end up being hurt because of negligence. They need to hire a lot more staff overall. employees are over worked and appear burnt out....cant possibly provide outstanding customer service under the circumstances. Overall not recommended. Go somewhere else if you expect quality accommodations, service and food.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest:
We sincerely regret that you have had this negative experience at one of our hotels. Please note that your comments will help us improve the service and thus fulfill the highest expectations of our guests in our facilities. We reiterate that we always keep in touch with you and your comments are always taken into account to improve our service.
We Hope to see you soon to change your perspective of our hotel.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We got the deal of the century for our week at the Grand Oasis Tulum in April. We waited to book our vacation until the very last date possible. We booked a Garden room and were delighted with it. The day we got there they had had some sort of flood in the front desk/ reception area and the marble floor was treacherous. Be very careful when those floors get wet, it worth your life walking. We really liked the Garden rooms over the ocean view as we had balconies and the ocean view do not. The pools are nice, but not made for swimming, all are very shallow. We had Black bands which were the same as the Gold bands and had full access to everything in the resort. We did have a problem with having to pay extra for certain foods in the restaurants, no matter what color bands you wore. I found the food to be so so, not great but not bad. The breakfast buffet was very good, lunch and dinner not so good. There is an Asian menu available at lunch and we really enjoyed that, you can also order off the Whimpy's menu at lunch in the buffet area. Now on to the bars, we decided there must be a problem with Mexico and decent vodka as everytime we ordered a call vodka they seemed to be out of it and they would subsitute another brand, then in a little while lo and behold a half a bottle would appear from the back room. We had a couple of up Martinis a piece and they did not even affect us, makes you wonder just what is in that vokda bottle! As for beer, having to pay $3.00 for a Coors light or Hieneken kinda bugged me too. We ordered Corona on draft for the first couple of days, then we were told they don't even have that on draft!!! What ever beer was on tap was cold but very light. Pool side service was great!!! The Rooftop Bar seemed to be very popular, and the bartender heavy handed with the booze. They also kept running out of wine by the glass, but guess what they had plenty of bottles they could sell you...
The resort itself is beautiful. The beach is very nice, there are some parts that have a lot of coral, but on the whole very easy to access the water without water shoes. Do take your snorkel gear, we never saw a place you could rent or borrow from the resort. And yes you do have to get out by sun up if you want a decent spot on the beach with lounge chairs and shade!!! The pools don't seem to be as popular, although a lot of chairs have towels on them all day and never occupied.
We had fresh water, beer & soda everyday in our room. We rented the safe and returned it the same day as our lap tops would not fit in it. $30.00 for internet for 5 days. If you want an ironing board, just ask the front desk and they will bring it to you. I would go back in a minute to this resort. Hope my rambling helped.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms have nice view of the pool and gardens. They have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atención C, PR at Oasis Tulum, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

It is amazing to know that your stay with us has motivated to share such a great review about our hotel. Thanks for highlighting those qualities that made your stay unforgettable.
We are glad you enjoyed the restaurants, facilities, entertainment and personalized service we offer. Our staff is always working hard to satisfy our guests so they can have an amazing experience.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you again once again in the future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Utah
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I went to this place the end of april. this is a beautiful place, very beautiful rooms very clean and well kept. It has a very beautiful beach. But the service is very poor due to the lack of help, and the workers are very hard to understand. But travelers beware this place is full of thieves. The nights we were there, there were several people freaking out because of stolen items out of their rooms along with mine and my wifes souveniers out of our own room. If you had a good experience I would consider you one of the lucky ones. Very beautiful land and resort and has lots of potential. Room service is additional cost! our bar was not stocked daily, we didnt get our slippers, fruit or any of the extras that we were suppose to when we booked our room. When we read the reviews on this resort we thought that it was just the people who had a bad experience. But when you look at them all, there is more bad then good. Read and take the reviews seriously! it matters. They tried charging us 600 extra upon checkout. It wasnt what they offered. I expected alot better! I wouldnt go back to this resort! u have been warned.

Room Tip: no dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.