We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Lovely resort with a great beach (and we were staying at Casa Club!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Save Saved
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Don’t Miss Over 45% Off!
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Akumal
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience! Lovely resort with a great beach (and we were staying at Casa Club!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went there March 2-9, 2013 with a group of 8 (4 rooms). We got a great deal booking with Sunwing from Toronto ($1050 per person). Reading the reviews prior to leaving - needless to say, we were wary. But, from the second we were more than pleasantly surprised! We were a group in our late 20s/early 30s and we usually stay at really nice places (see my other reviews - just to give you an idea that we're not ones with low standards). I really don't get what everyone is complaining about in the other reviews - no issues with bottled water (they'll refill your bottles or give you new bottles at any reception), towels (always plentiful) or subpar service (everyone was nice regardless of our bottom of the rung orange bracelets)

We were staying at Casa Club - which is a mini resort unto itself near the entrance. It's made out to sound like an isolated place but it's beautiful - they have a gorgeous pool with day beds and a snack bar (Wimpy's) that serves nachos, burgers, guac, and fries until 11pm. They have their own bar (Sports Bar) and a very nice lobby. The rooms are nice too - clean, well kept and on the smaller side. The only complaint was the temperature regulation - the rooms tended to be a bit humid, so keep a window open or run the a/c and you'll be fine. Yes, there were some issues that the toilet flush isn't the strongest - but don't put in half the roll of toilet paper and you'll be fine (we never had the toilet clog on the trip). They have a golf cart constantly going back and forth from the main complex all day and night. They also have bikes available. But honestly the walk takes like 7 minutes and is quite pleasant (walking by the golf greens and tennis court) so it made for a nice morning stroll.

FOOD - I consider myself a foodie and I was quite happy with the selections at the buffet. It was by no means gourmet - but I always found stuff to eat. The salad bar was good, as were the cheese/charcuteries. The mains were solid too - with a nice mix of mexican and n. american fare (meats pastas sides). There was a omelette/egg station at breakfast and they always had this nice mexican sauces bar (guar, red/green sauce, salsa, chiptoles, etc). The A La Carte's were quite Meh. I didn't enjoy the Mexican (just ok food) and the Italian has a great antipasto bar (fish carpaccios, smoked salmon, prosciutto, and all the other stuff you'd expect) but the mains were just ok. Check out the Akuru Asian food at the bar right by the beach - anticipate a 30-45 minute wait but the food is very well presented and quite good- sushi, peanut butter chicken, shrimp tempura etc).

DRINKS - no complaints. Good Mexican beers on tap, great mixed drinks (slushy - mango/tamarindo margaritas, pina coladas, and non-slushy as well). Ask for the Bob Marley - but beware - it's strong!

BEACH - BEAUTIFUL! Amazing snorkeling right off the beach (like 1 meter from shore!) - the most beautiful tropical fish, sea urchins, even saw a sting ray a little further in! Note - the fish love bread/bananas. So just bring some and watch them come right out to you. Bring your own snorkel gear (you can get a great set at Costco for $50) - and you will not be disappointed. I don't think they had any gear to rent on the beach. There's a lovely hammock area in a gazebo on the water as well. Only issue was the beach chairs - we had a few early risers in the group who would get out around 7:30AM and secure us 8 beach chairs. People often left early in the afternoon too so we'd be able to find other chairs if we went out for the AM. But we also had no issues with lying on the beach in towels. You're on a beautiful white sand beach. In Mexico. Deal with it.

SERVICE - Wonderful service staff! Always helpful and there with a smile. Emilio, David, Andreas - always there with a smile and Andreas makes great drinks!

EXCURSIONS - We booked a Coba excursion through our Sunwing reps. $100 pp. Visited a Mayan village (kinda gimmicky), a cenote (underground cave - beautiful, must do!) and the Coba pyramid - which you can still climb (Chichen Itza is 3 hours away and you can't climb it) - and a delicious lunch in included too. We also took the collectivo (30 pesos/$3 USD) per person to Tulum to visit the ruins - also a must see. So so beautiful.

Anyways hope that helps. Like I said, I am used to staying in really nice places around the world and this was a great experience! Would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    278
    150
    108
    99
See reviews for
280
356
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We where staying at the Oasis Tulum part of the resort and we loved it. The rooms were cleaned everyday, with very good cleaning staff, the only thing was the lack of water bottles but we asked are travel rep (sunwing) about it and never had any problems after that. THE BUFFET restaurant (Arrecifes) was amazing, the food was delicious the view on the ocean in the morning with the sun is gorgeous. Fernando the bartander at the mexican bar is the best you don't have time to finish your drink and there's an other waiting for you. Not only is he the bartander at that bar but he has to run to do the swim up bar too. Magdiel (polo loco) is the waiter at the happy chicken snack, from 12:00 to 5:00 pm he does not stop, very good waiter he will bring you some very good chicken.We took the shuttle bus to go to Playa del Carmen for some shopping at 3$/person and they are very safe, i would recommend it, 5th ave is a nice. The only down fall about the resort is that every morning when we went to the beach, all the shady hutchs where taken with towel but nobody on then until 11:00am, you had to go and put your towels down very late at night or very, very early in the morning like 1,2 o'clock . The hotel is far from the airport but you get to see the area, we had a van of 10 people to transport us to the hotel and it took 1 hours and 15 min to get there and we only stop at 1 resort.I can only say that the Oasis Tulum is a very good resort i would go again and i would recommend it to any one that wants a good and relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The beach is what you are headed here for and it will not disappoint. It is very clear and great for snorkeling, you can see many types of fish just a few feet out. There are basically 2 resorts in one here the oasis and the grand oasis, the grand is where we stayed(gold wrist bands). the grand is very nice with a modern feel, although i do feel craftsmanship was not the best -skipped some corners, but overall though it was nice and very clean, my biggest disappointment was that we had no balcony. We were taken to our room and blown away by the view immediately(we had ocean front) but saddened with the lack of outdoor space. The only real option you have if you want ocean view on the grand side for outdoor space is on the first floor. On the first floor you will be able to open your door to walk out onto the beach, but no real terrace-and other people are just right outside your door so that is the compromise. All of the other rooms on the grand side, minus the ocean view rooms, have a balcony. It was very laid back and quiet on the grand side, not crowded until you went to the buffet where the oasis combines with the grand oasis. Communication (you are in Mexico) needs to be improved-the best staff worker was our bell boy Manuel. The front desk was not very helpful when they really should have been-but the bellboy knew more and offered better advice, maybe they should switch some positions around-lol. So ask lots of questions about shows, restaurants etc. The Oasis shares the same property basically and is in stark contrast to the grand oasis. it is much older, but the beach is still amazing so its all in what you are looking for. One thing we really found strange was on the entire property we never found an outdoor hot tub-several pools look like they are but aren't...luckily we had one in our room. Service is very slow-a few workers were really on their game but as a staff they never really seemed to be on the same page. Food is ok. Just a little tip- hop on the collectivo and pay 3 dollars to go about 2 miles down to akumal beach(enter at dive shop) and snorkel out to see sea turtles. The collectivo is a great way to get around!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our trip was a mother/daughter get away to celebrate a college graduation. We looked for something small and that was the only thing that was correct about the resort description/amenities. We had to wait 2 hrs after arrival to get our room due to a power outage, and another 2 hrs to get a room key. We couldn't leave our room until we received our key so that we could lock our room. Let me make it clear we arrived after the 3 pm check in time and still had to wait the 2 hrs. The power outage could have been overlooked if all of the other issues were at least acknowledged by the hotel staff. We were made to feel like our stay was not important to them.

The room did not have a mini bar unless we paid an additional $10/day, no coffee pot, toilet didn't flush correctly, outside the front door was a raw sewage smell, the door didn't shut all the way, and we were only given one towel per person/per day. When we asked about these things we were told that management changed and the "Grand" side was now open. The amenities we thought we were getting were now voided and would cost more. Upgrading was never brought up to us and honestly after being lied to by the front desk staff we wouldn't have done it anyway.

The beach was beautiful!! That's the best thing about the resort.....we will never go back.

Room Tip: Pick a different resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Two weeks ago we went to the Oasis Resort Tulum. Don't believe all the bad reviews. It was great. The worst thing was the shortness of bottled water. All you have to do is take your bottle to the resturant or to one of the bars and they fill it for you. Also the beach towel situation was bad. They ran out of towels fast. All you have to do is get clean towels for the next day around noon or early afternoon.
The food, staff, housekeeping,bartenders were all great!! I would go again in a minute. The staff that walked around to get people involved were the best. The customers that go to this resort also were so nice. We met some new friends at the resort that will always be our friends.
For the price all I can say is GO. Also the beach is the best i've ever seen in Mexico.

Room Tip: We stayed on the jungle side rooms and GREAT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This all inclusive resort was awful! First, thevfront desk didnt even tell us which building we were in or how to find it. When we did find the room it wasnt ready and therevwere loads of dirty laundry laying around and trash. The loveseat in our room was moldy and stained...when ee let them know they removed it..but didnt replace it with anything. Our refrigrrator didnt work and when we asked for beer and water and soda they were warm...with no way to cool them. The safe was broke also. Our patio had 1 broken plastic chair and full of tradh and cigafrette butts. Someone also had a small dog that they allowed to roam...the decided it liked our patio and pooped at our place and barked a lot. The gazebo out over the water had a broken bridge that was closed, so we werent able to enjoy that either.there were open wires thru out the property and ill mannered children running around unsupervised. The only good thing was the very nice woman who worked so hard to get us moved to grand oadis cancun because we were so unhappy with their resort.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from ten amazing days at the Grand Oasis Tulum. We arrived Feb. 27th and returned March 9th. We booked the Oasis and recieved an upgrade to the Grand Oasis. After reading reviews we dicided to try the Oasis as we didn't think it could be as bad as the reviews said. We were right. We had an awesome vacation. Buffet was better then fine with a very good selection. The people were GREAT! No issues with anyone. We were greeted at the front enterance by friendly staff and cold beveages. Check-in was a breeze and we were showen to our rooms. Food at all the restarants was very good. I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. There seems to be a lot of improvements going on and we really had nothing to complain about. Riccardo at the roof top bar was awesome, as well as Angeles, and Nancy and we thank them for their friendship and awesome service. I have no idea where the bad reviews are coming from. The only thing I can figure is that some people think they are going to get a five star hotel for a three star price. We all discussed weather we would return and all of us said that we would return in a heartbeat. I'm not going to ramble on about the Oasis, but can say we enjoyed every minute we spent there. If you have any questions, or would like to know more please feel free to email me at blacksheepp2002@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Go down and enjoy yourself. Don't sweat the small stuff and you will have the time of your life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#18 Business Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“People say I’m gorgeous, but that’s just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that’s definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids’ Club.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.