We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear, turquoise water--slow pace-with everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Sale: 40% Off!
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clear, turquoise water--slow pace-with everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The beach is what you are headed here for and it will not disappoint. It is very clear and great for snorkeling, you can see many types of fish just a few feet out. There are basically 2 resorts in one here the oasis and the grand oasis, the grand is where we stayed(gold wrist bands). the grand is very nice with a modern feel, although i do feel craftsmanship was not the best -skipped some corners, but overall though it was nice and very clean, my biggest disappointment was that we had no balcony. We were taken to our room and blown away by the view immediately(we had ocean front) but saddened with the lack of outdoor space. The only real option you have if you want ocean view on the grand side for outdoor space is on the first floor. On the first floor you will be able to open your door to walk out onto the beach, but no real terrace-and other people are just right outside your door so that is the compromise. All of the other rooms on the grand side, minus the ocean view rooms, have a balcony. It was very laid back and quiet on the grand side, not crowded until you went to the buffet where the oasis combines with the grand oasis. Communication (you are in Mexico) needs to be improved-the best staff worker was our bell boy Manuel. The front desk was not very helpful when they really should have been-but the bellboy knew more and offered better advice, maybe they should switch some positions around-lol. So ask lots of questions about shows, restaurants etc. The Oasis shares the same property basically and is in stark contrast to the grand oasis. it is much older, but the beach is still amazing so its all in what you are looking for. One thing we really found strange was on the entire property we never found an outdoor hot tub-several pools look like they are but aren't...luckily we had one in our room. Service is very slow-a few workers were really on their game but as a staff they never really seemed to be on the same page. Food is ok. Just a little tip- hop on the collectivo and pay 3 dollars to go about 2 miles down to akumal beach(enter at dive shop) and snorkel out to see sea turtles. The collectivo is a great way to get around!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    320
    174
    120
    104
See reviews for
323
400
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indiana, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our trip was a mother/daughter get away to celebrate a college graduation. We looked for something small and that was the only thing that was correct about the resort description/amenities. We had to wait 2 hrs after arrival to get our room due to a power outage, and another 2 hrs to get a room key. We couldn't leave our room until we received our key so that we could lock our room. Let me make it clear we arrived after the 3 pm check in time and still had to wait the 2 hrs. The power outage could have been overlooked if all of the other issues were at least acknowledged by the hotel staff. We were made to feel like our stay was not important to them.

The room did not have a mini bar unless we paid an additional $10/day, no coffee pot, toilet didn't flush correctly, outside the front door was a raw sewage smell, the door didn't shut all the way, and we were only given one towel per person/per day. When we asked about these things we were told that management changed and the "Grand" side was now open. The amenities we thought we were getting were now voided and would cost more. Upgrading was never brought up to us and honestly after being lied to by the front desk staff we wouldn't have done it anyway.

The beach was beautiful!! That's the best thing about the resort.....we will never go back.

Room Tip: Pick a different resort!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Two weeks ago we went to the Oasis Resort Tulum. Don't believe all the bad reviews. It was great. The worst thing was the shortness of bottled water. All you have to do is take your bottle to the resturant or to one of the bars and they fill it for you. Also the beach towel situation was bad. They ran out of towels fast. All you have to do is get clean towels for the next day around noon or early afternoon.
The food, staff, housekeeping,bartenders were all great!! I would go again in a minute. The staff that walked around to get people involved were the best. The customers that go to this resort also were so nice. We met some new friends at the resort that will always be our friends.
For the price all I can say is GO. Also the beach is the best i've ever seen in Mexico.

Room Tip: We stayed on the jungle side rooms and GREAT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This all inclusive resort was awful! First, thevfront desk didnt even tell us which building we were in or how to find it. When we did find the room it wasnt ready and therevwere loads of dirty laundry laying around and trash. The loveseat in our room was moldy and stained...when ee let them know they removed it..but didnt replace it with anything. Our refrigrrator didnt work and when we asked for beer and water and soda they were warm...with no way to cool them. The safe was broke also. Our patio had 1 broken plastic chair and full of tradh and cigafrette butts. Someone also had a small dog that they allowed to roam...the decided it liked our patio and pooped at our place and barked a lot. The gazebo out over the water had a broken bridge that was closed, so we werent able to enjoy that either.there were open wires thru out the property and ill mannered children running around unsupervised. The only good thing was the very nice woman who worked so hard to get us moved to grand oadis cancun because we were so unhappy with their resort.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from ten amazing days at the Grand Oasis Tulum. We arrived Feb. 27th and returned March 9th. We booked the Oasis and recieved an upgrade to the Grand Oasis. After reading reviews we dicided to try the Oasis as we didn't think it could be as bad as the reviews said. We were right. We had an awesome vacation. Buffet was better then fine with a very good selection. The people were GREAT! No issues with anyone. We were greeted at the front enterance by friendly staff and cold beveages. Check-in was a breeze and we were showen to our rooms. Food at all the restarants was very good. I had one of the best steaks I have ever had. There seems to be a lot of improvements going on and we really had nothing to complain about. Riccardo at the roof top bar was awesome, as well as Angeles, and Nancy and we thank them for their friendship and awesome service. I have no idea where the bad reviews are coming from. The only thing I can figure is that some people think they are going to get a five star hotel for a three star price. We all discussed weather we would return and all of us said that we would return in a heartbeat. I'm not going to ramble on about the Oasis, but can say we enjoyed every minute we spent there. If you have any questions, or would like to know more please feel free to email me at blacksheepp2002@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Go down and enjoy yourself. Don't sweat the small stuff and you will have the time of your life...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My ratings are for the Casa Club and Oasis Tulum. The Grand section I would say is Very Good over all.
When we arrived we were put in the Casa Club, which is not nice at all, the rooms are very out dated and it's close to the road, not the beach or the main part of the resort. The drapes in our main floor room didn't cover the entire window, so everyone could see in!
We moved up to the Ocean View/Garden View rooms which are in the main section of the hotel. The rooms are fine, not 4 star, but much, much better than the Casa Club.
Ultimately we went to the Grand, which is the only part of the hotel I would recommend. This section is the renovated area, rooms are better, and some rooms are really really nice. There is a nice rooftop bar, and martini bar in the main building at the Grand, we were missing the lounge type areas to have drinks in the evening so these were nice options. There are 4 extra a la carts, and they are great!
We had the regular bracelets for part of the vacation, then the gold ones for the end when we moved to the Grand, observing the service change from some of the people we had been interacting with on a daily basis was kind of a joke. They were all helpful, and the service became what I had expected. While they were ok at the main Oasis Tulum section, there was a lot of people who seemed to know nothing about the resort. We didn't get a run down of the resort when we arrived. When we asked questions we often got a shoulder shrug, or a yes but then no follow through etc.
One thing that really bothered me at Oasis Tulum in the main section is drinking water is not readily available. They give you two bottles each day in your room and no more unless you buy them. But there are no places to fill your bottles. More times than not the buffet was out of water, and the only other cooler we saw was at the swim up bar, it was usually empty as well. At the Grand water is easily available and our fridges were always stocked as well.
The beach is very nice, we walked down the the Bahia and the Oasis beach area is really nice in comparison.
We enjoyed the buffet, but needed the extra a la carts to change it up. The a la carts in the Oasis Tulum section are very limited menus, for that alone I would suggest the Grand upgrade.
I heard people say they were able to upgrade online before coming for around $350. If you want an amazing room, jacuzzi, new, bathroom, etc. King bed Ocean View is the way to go. We had a garden view w queen and it was lovely for us. Our friends had the ocean view, it is nice for sure, only draw back is no balcony. I think some of the ocean views on the ground floor have doors that open to the beach though.
All in all, the Grand was a good experience. If we had started straight from here it would have been a much smoother trip. I still won't return because it is missing some of the things I would like next time around, but if you get a deal the Grand is beautiful.

Room Tip: We like the 3rd floor garden view at the Grand, the 2nd floor Ocean view w jacuzzi was also gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at Grand Oasis Tulum March 8 through March 12. This is a great hotel! I have never written a review, but after all of the negative reviews about this resort I wanted to let everyone know that we loved it there. My husband and I took our 12 and 10 year old children, and we were all treated like royalty the whole time we were there.

Upon arrival we were brought into the beautiful lobby and immediately checked in with cold drinks of our choice and friendly service. There was a little mix up with the room since we needed 3 beds, but there was no hassle at all, we were escorted around the grounds for a private mini tour and seated for snacks and drinks while we waited. We ended up getting the master suite which was plenty big for the 4 of us and very nice. The room was always kept up very nicely, plenty of towels, soaps, conditioners, anything we needed was always there, and the mini bar was stocked every day too. The whole resort was very clean and the staff is great.

The beach is amazing! There were plenty of chairs and beds available, so much space, not like most of the crowded beaches at other resorts at all, and nobody bothers you, there is a waitress who will come by a few times to get you a drink and offer you snacks from her tray. We had plenty of beach towels, and would get new ones whenever we wanted throughout the day. There were several pools on both sides of the resort. On the Grand side where we stayed, I only saw people in the pool once or twice, there were chairs and beds everywhere, the beach and pools are perfect for private relaxation.

The restaurants and snacks were great. We were never disappointed with the food or service, and ate all the time. Our family favorites were the Brazillian, the Italian, and the Happy Chicken (great wings). I did see a small line for the buffet seating one night, but being on the Grand Side we never waited, there is additional seating area for Grand guests.

This was a very relaxing resort and we will go back. The only things that I would chage is there was not a coffeemaker in our room (no big deal you can get coffee from 2 other places), and we had 2 brief power outages, but it was only for 5 or 10 minutes, and just the few rooms around us. Of course the place isn't perfect, but who goes to an all inclusive in Mexico and expects everything to be perfect? This is pretty close to perfection and quite cheap! My review is on the Grand Side, but we went to the other part and thought it was great! There was a little more activity and not as much space on the beach, but we would like to go back and spend even less money and stay on the regular side of the resort, it is really cool, and feels more Mexican with great pools, and rooms that literally open up to the beach. There wasn't a lot for little kids, but being 10 and 12 they were happy relaxing, swimming, playing ping pong, riding the bikes around, and most of all getting treated like royalty and eating all the time!

Our family loves Grand Oasis Tulum

Room Tip: Ocean front on either side of the resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.