We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, not impressed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 40% this Christmas!
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overall, not impressed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Down to the point

Arrived late on Friday night, was not greeted or directed in any way shape or form to the lobby or our room. Once we finally got to the room, our keys didn't work - nor did the replacement keys. Having to call someone that doesn't speak english to let you into your room at 1 in the morning on your first night is NOT a good start. Our fridge was empty and open yet still plugged in. Apparently they only stock your fridge with refreshments and beer if you stay on the Grand side - so much for ALL INCLUSIVE STAY!

We decided to get some late night food since we had been travelling all day and it was near 1 in the morning - the 24 hour food was nothing more than slices of bread and sandwich meats that were no doubt left over from the buffet and no doubt made me sick to my stomach one night. After leaving the sandwich meats we attempted to get a beer, the only bar that was open was on the "grand " side and would not serve us at all. Let me state I was never offered a upgrade to the GRAND side while booking my trip - I had no idea it existed until arrival and refusal of service and refusal to even walk over to the other pool. Not cool and extremely disappointing. My girlfriend wrote a huge complaint letter our first night and they did their best to accommodate us by giving us an upgraded bracelet at no charge which let us drink at any bar - mind you the Grand side bar has next to nothing going on and seems like a ghost town. Do NOT stay here if you want any sense of night life.

Food was very very MEDIOCRE. Almost everyone in my group got sick - the one person who did not feel sick was a vegetarian so it tells you something about how they cook the meat. Keep in mind unless you stay on the Grand side - you do not have access to some of the restaurants - we got an upgraded bracelet that let us eat at them but we had to pay $25 a head extra to eat there.

Friends of ours had their room broken into TWICE and lost their iphone, ipod and camera. It was on the same night where they booked a trip to the coco bongo - coincidence that someone knew they were out of their room? I think not. Something fishy going on there.

Towels were sometimes hard to come by - I realize it must be tough to keep up with the demand but I believe a resort should always have towels ready and available.

Those were my complaints - our friends have many more and I will let them tell their own story on here.

Some of the staff were VERY friendly and I do not want to give everyone a bad name there cause a lot of our servers were actually quite pleasant and positive people. Others not so much.

Beach was beautiful and made it easier to forget some of the other negative aspects of the resort. Bring snorkel gear as there is lots of fish!

Overall I would NOT return to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    317
    168
    117
    101
See reviews for
315
392
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Oasis Tulum for a week and just returned. We definitely had a few hiccups, (room mix-up, card problems) but they were all resolved by patience and persistence.
The first thing people should know is to find out where your room is located. Ours was in the building furthest from the main area (about 1/4 of a mile) yes they had a golf cart running people in between, but not as convenient as being able to walk up to your room, to get something. They do not have enough chairs at the pool or at the beach, and it didn't matter what time we were there in the morning- there was just not enough. Beach was very pretty, but the water too rough to swim in, especially since there was coral in the swimming area, and to hit that it would have really scratched you up, but the snorkelling was good. The buffet was OK. It was very clean, and lots, but nothing outstanding. We tried both a-la cart restaurants and were not fans of either- but others were- so... personal preference.
I think the biggest disappointment for us, was that there was nothing close by, even just to do some local shopping. We did appreciate the shuttles to and from the different excursions.
We have to give a big shout-out to David, Freddie, and Hector- those guys were amazing and kept everybody entertained. They were always trying to make sure you were not bored, and we appreciated that. We also liked that they took the time out to sit with us and talk to us, so that when we met up with them in the resort they knew who we were.

Room Tip: Find out where your rooms are and confirm what you booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a one week stay at the Oasis Tulum. 2/17/13 through 2/24/13. This hotel has been a diamond in the rough for many years. One side is very contemporary the other side has more of a old Mexico feel to it. Very much like too separate hotels pushed together. After all the reviews of late we were a little afraid of what we might find. This was our third stay here. We were checked in promptly, the front desk attendents were friendly and efficient. We had paid extra in advance to stay in the ocean front rooms. We stayed in the "older" side which we prefer. There were four of us, one room was ready the other was not. No problem. We all put our luggage in one room, within a couple minutes there was a knock at the door, the manager apologized and upgraded us from a orange to a black band. We were thrilled to be able to move throughout the whole resort to see all the wonderful updates. This is a beautiful resort, no its not 5 star but then again you are not paying 5 star prices. All the employees go out of thier way to be polite and helpful. The food is wonderful. The buffett is always great with many different choices. We loved the Mexican restaurant. The beach is awesome...yes like all resorts people tend to get up at 6 am to hoard the chairs... we did not care as we don't go on vacation to get a tan or lay in a chair. The snorkeling is wonderful right off the beach. We always make sure to leave a tip each day in our room..and on our tables everyday to tip the employees. Treat them well and they will make your stay even more fun and enjoyable. Oh my gosh the sushi bar was amazing...at the swim up bar. Seriously for all the complainers out there if you want 5 star resort ...pay for it and go someplace else. If you are not a nit picker you can't beat this hotel for the price...food, service, beach..this resort is beautiful. We are just hoping with all the improvements the prices will not go up too much as we would love to come back again. The one thing I would suggest is to communicate better each days events (volleyball/ yoga etc) or nightly shows, and offer more speciality theme parties. Ideas:(Mexican night/Beach BBQ -party-fire dancers on beach-White hot party or do a Toga party everyone can use sheets to dress up. Engage the guests more- with games. Offer more things to do on site. We are divers so we missed the dive shack on the beach. It would be nice since this is a big diving area to incorporate diving in the resort again. Offer dive packages. Also may suggest kayaks/water toys to use or rent on the beach. We love this resort, yes they are going through many changes and are transforming. If you are looking for a beautiful resort with great food and service you will enjoy this resort.

Room Tip: We love the older side with an old Mexican feel to them. We stayed in 4232 view was brillant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Oasis Tulum is a beautiful small hotel. I went at Christmas with my family... Not alot of Christmas hype there but beautiful nonetheless. I always felt safe there, even as a single female.
Word of warning....It is far from Cancun airport!!! It was just about 4 hours from the time we landed (got through immigration & customs), got one the bus, waited for everyone else, dropped everyone else off (this was the 2nd last stop) and got into the lobby!!! When we checked in our rooms WERE NOT READY YET!!! ugh! Overall the front desk service was not great. Food was plentiful and full of variety! Try the prawns at lunch off the Asian menu! DELISH!! Disco (also the theatre-great shows) was fun!! Sarape (Mexican bar) was my favorite!! Hugo took great care of me! Remember to tip everyone!! They deserve it! I had alot of fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Booked this hotel last-minute for a quick all-inclusive 1 week getaway over New Year's. If you want the Caribbean beach that is in all the brochures, it's here; other beaches along the coast to Cancun are hit or miss due to all the hurricanes, and most have the "sand whale" barriers trying to keep them intact. This was a great little hotel if you wanted to sit on the beach or by the pool and relax, with good food and a bit of entertainment in the evening. If you're looking for copious amenities or a party scene, don't look here. The food was varied and plentiful enough for the week, drinks were fine with top shelf liquor at some of the bars. Rooms are large with comfortable beds, good air conditioning and nice, large marble bathrooms. Staff very helpful and working overtime to keep things clean and well-maintained. Would definitely return for the beach, especially for the snorkelling right off shore.

One concern to note: they have split this hotel into two sections, with a more expensive section (Grand Oasis) and a cheaper section (Oasis Tulum). This causes a problem on the beach where the Grand Oasis guests have a section roped off for their exclusive use. However, these guests come into the section for the use of the Oasis Tulum guests as the location and sand/snorkelling is better, and use the chairs and loungers there, but Oasis Tulum guests cannot reciprocate even when Grand Oasis loungers go unused. I would suggest management does away with this sectioning off of the beach, as it is a poor use of beach space and facilities and only creates ill will between guests. It isn't necessary, and without the exclusivity there would be enough chairs and loungers to go around.

Room Tip: The further away from the main section and bars, the quieter. Ground floor rooms are easier if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I’m conflicted about this review. I would return, renting from one of the remaining private condominium owners. But I would not stay again through Oasis Tulum or Grand Oasis Tulum. The condominiums are ocean view and within steps of the beach, pool, etc. and well kept if still privately owned. They have kitchenettes which have been removed when purchased by Oasis Tulum owner. The private owners we met were very welcoming and helpful, making our stay much nicer. The majority of the staff were very pleasant. The problem is there is an extremely small staff so the service is limited at best.
My primary complaint was with the food. Reservations must be made for the Mexican and Italian restaurants which fill rapidly and can only be made 24 hrs in advance. The food at the buffet was too repetitive and very unimpressive compared to other resorts we have visited. I expected much better and was very disappointed. When we go to Mexico, we expect to have Mexican food choices which were extremely limited if available and frankly substandard. I could do better any day of the week which is just plain wrong.
If you are an early riser and require coffee you are SOL. It is usually hard to find until after 7:30am. If you like to stay up all night drinking you are also SOL. This is NOT a 24 hr. resort like many others.
We vacationed with 6 other couples. Several had issues with not having hot water or water at all. Some had problems with their toilets. The stench of raw sewage was overwhelming at times and extremely unpleasant. They need to make the investment to fix this problem once and for all since it appears to be a chronic problem.
Bottled water is available but they are stingy about giving it out. Tap beer was part of the all inclusive. However, you had to buy bottled beer of any other brand and it was extremely expensive even, by U.S. standards.
On a positive point, this resort is located in an area secluded by rocky areas on each end so there is no ‘beach traffic’ or local sellers walking the beach. There are numerous cenotes and things to do in close by compared to Playa del Carmen. It felt more private and safe with easy access to off resort activities.

Room Tip: ocean front condos Bld. B Rm. 4235 was very nice. DO NOT UPGRADE TO GRAND OASIS TULUM!!!!! Not an u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently just got back from a 10 day stay at this resort, from February 8th thru to Feb 17th 2013. I had read several (maybe too many ) reviews prior to this vacation and even contacted Apple Vacations and printed some of those emails to have as evidence of what was promised versus what the reviews were saying that was not being delivered. We arrived early (1 PM) and started to check-in at the Oasis Tulum but were immediately upgraded to the Grand Oasis Without asking or without cost) so we walked acroos the lot to the Grand to check-in, our room was not ready and the front desk very unorganized. We finally got a room at 5:30 (the reason the room was not available until then was because it was being remodled... new beds, TV phone,etc. It would have been nice if they told us that.
This is a small resort and it is very close to the ocean and has the nicest beach that I have been to in 5 years. A short walk will get you from your room to the lobby, to the bars to the buffet and ocean.

This resort is about 1 1/2 hrs away from the Cancun airport. Our bus was going to make 4 stops and we were the last (2 hours) It would have made more sense to drive to the furthest stop first so they could make all right hand turns and save overall time by at least a half hour.

Rooms- The room was large with a nice balcony. Bathroom was nice, good water pressure. We had brand new beds, so no complqaints there. There are no elevators so there are stairs to climb if on the 2nd or 3rd floor. Rooms are clean and decorated nicely with a large closet and large dresser and 40" flat screen TV. Safe is in the closet (extra cost). Room was cleaned and beds made daily, the better the tip the better the the towel animals.

Pools- There are two pools at the Grand and two at Oasis (Oasis pools were more fun because they had the swimup bars...) You can't see the ocean from the pool so we spent limited time there as we prefer the beach. Yes, like everyone elses reviews state... there are NOT enough chairs by the beach or pools. I do not care for the reserving of chairs especially when some are reserved and not used the entire day. but it is what it is so get up early and get your spot.

Food- (very good) Buffet is not a very big but it's not a huge resort either. Depending on when you go you may have to wait a few minutes but this was no big deal. For breakfast, the omelette station was the place to go, I am not sure if the omlettes were special or if was just Mariana (she is a very nice lady)

By the pool they had a sit down snack place called the Happy chicken. This is a shadedarea where you can sit and have hamburgs,hotdogs,chicken wings, fries,coleslaw etc. (made fresh) The chicken wings and hamburgers were excellant.

There are two (free) a-la-carte restaurants where you reserve in the lobby the morning of when you wish to go. They have a mexican and Italian restaurant. My preferance was the Mexican.(went to this one twice) Itialian was average.

SportsBar- Whimpy's You can walk or there is a shuttle that will take you to the sports bar as it's about a 5 minute walk up the road. Several TV's and one very large screen TV all inside. You can sit and get waited on for drinks and snacks. All very good. Outside there are tables to drink or eat at as well as a nice pool with loungers (plenty of them here- unlike the beach). There is also a large area outside where every night they show a movie (against a wall... nice picture though) but if there is not a breeze the mosquito's can be an issue. This is the most active sports bar I have seen.

Misc
They need more bathrooms.
Theatre is enclosed and gets very hot in a hurry. Some shows very good other not so much.
Excursions: Highly recommend the Mayan Extreme (Zip lines, repelling, cenotes and Tulum Ruins) Groups of 12.

This resort is a work in progress as I went from upset to very happy. These reviews of Oasis Tulum will get better every week as they are slowly getting it together.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors of the Grand have a sizable balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.