We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Save Saved
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Upgrade + EXTRAS
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful property, beach, great snorkeling right off the beach. Many species of fish very close to shore. Very friendly staff. The lobby at the Grand Oasis is stunning. Excellent daytime and nighttime entertainment. Only one regular buffet Resteruant , which was busy but good. Only had occasional short waits. We did not like the A la cart Mexican Resteruant. The Marichi band was good but the sound system was deafening. It would have been perfect without the microphones. We did not utilize the other 3 resteraunts that required a $25 up charge per person. We heard the Gourmet Mexican Resteraunt was very good. We did enjoy the Italian Resteraunt. The afternoon Asian menu was very good available on the patio outside the buffet.. Beach chairs fill up fast. More beach towels and beach chairs could alleviate what seemed to be a shortage. The regular Oasis seemed to have some issues with some of their guest reservations- which would have been a big bummer after traveling 1/12 hrs from Cancun to get there.

Room Tip: Update and stay at The Grand Oasis. The rooftop pools are beautiful! Otherwise many of the pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    291
    156
    109
    99
See reviews for
298
366
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Mass
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was the most poorly managed resort you could image.Food was not good,ask the same question 3 times and you will get 3 different answers.towel service both shower and beach were non-existant,room amenities were prehistoric,faucets leaked shower vaulve didnt work, hot water occasionally, electrical sockets were single plugs nowhere to plug in an iron which you didnt have in the room anyway.They offer 5 restaurants,but 3 of the 5 you have to pay $25.00 a person extra.they offer a safe for your vaulables,that took 2 different people to get working for a fee of $28.00 a week.The buffet got rushed every nite apon opening seated about 125 people with maybe 4 waiters working the room,good luck with beverage service,ohh ya the soda machine was out of syrup the last 3 days we were there.Did I mention we stood at the Oasis Grand which was the upgraded side of the hotel.It goes on and on there were 2 good parts. The pool and main lobby bartenders were excellent, and the fact that we finally got out of there.I wouldnt go back for free.STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Couldnt say we stood in the Grand section and it was anything but.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

closest to the beach you can ask for ,food gets alittle boring but its good. The people work very hard there the front desk leaves something to be said though i have beeen there every year but 2012 miss the solitute if your looking for a big party this isnt the place ,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed on the grand side( Jan 28-Feb 4)...but only had a black band, you need a gold band to use all the advertised amenities. Resort was clean and well maintained, food was good. Sunwing needs to clarify in the advertising what you are getting with each part of the hotel. Would stay again if price was right for the Grand side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Oasis Tulum from Jan 31 to Feb 7, 2013. We obtained gold bracelets with our package which is the highest band you can get. We were assigned to room 2242, which was super nice. It was a corner room on the second floor, huge, with a balcony that had a jacuzzi tub on it and comfy lounge chairs. The room was very clean, quiet and private. I will list the pros and cons of the resort as follows:

PROS:

Friendly staff and hard working. Very quiet on the Grand side, it is basically catered to adults only-which we were looking for! We were treated like a queen and king with our gold bracelets. Absolutely everything was included except for the 2 pay restaurants on site. Top of the line alcohol was served. They have waitresses on the beach, pool side and in the lobby's to bring drinks and snacks all day. Remember to tip well and you will get remembered and have amazing service! The Brazilian and Mexican a la carte's on the Grand side were the best restaurants we ate at and the service was out of this world!! The Brazilian restaurant is all meat and being vegetarian they made an alternate dish for me without hesitation and the servers were amazing!! The Mexican a la carte serves a lunch menu on their outside patio and outside of the buffet another outdoor lunch restaurant is available for good food other than the buffet. Grand guests have their own seating in the buffet restaurant in the seating down the stairs with ocean view, you get better cutlery, cloth napkins and given a table instantly ahead of the door line up. Security guards ALL over the resort, so you feel really safe and they hold open the doors for you every time you walk through an entrance. The Coffee and Me cafe was great, you can get cappuccino, herbal teas and desserts late into the evening. There is a computer in the lobby with Internet access but sometimes hard to get on, a second computer should be installed. If you ask the concierge, they will give you a password for free wifi access for your cell phone or computer during your stay. The ocean is very pretty but you cannot go in without water shoes on, as the coral is right up to the shore. It has not been dredged out. Snorkelling is easily accessible, there are fish right up to the shore line. The resort offers snorkelling gear for 2 hours free or a charge of $15 to your room but you must reserve the gear, as they only have 5 sets. It is better to travel with your own. Water is pretty clear and not as salty as we expected. The upper level bar is cool...there is big jacuzzi type pools with padded mats around them for lounging and then cool off by jumping in. It has a great view of the resort and ocean. Room was very clean and we were given fresh linens and towels every day as well as our fridge was stocked daily. The 3 problems we had in the room were fixed immediately or within 10 mins of our call to the front desk. Grand side guests are allowed to go all over the entire resort (gold and black bracelets) but all other wrists bands are only allowed on the non-grand side which made it more private and quiet, keeping the rowdy's on their side :-) The air conditioning was really cold and the balcony had a screen so the door could be left open when it cools off in the evenings. 90% of the staff speak English or try to communicate the best possible way they can. Lobby marble floors are polished daily, so walk with caution if you have sand on your shoes.

CONS:

We received a new bed on our 5th day and it is hard as the floor and very uncomfortable. There is still construction going on at the resort so it can be noisy in your room during the hours of 9 am to 5 pm, so it was necessary to take afternoon naps with the tv on to drown out the noise. The piano player in the lobby is horrible and plays the same songs every single night, so we tried to avoid the lobby during that time in the evenings. The buffet has no variety, boring and tasteless food. There was no authentic Mexican cuisine to be found on the resort which was a disappointment. The a la carte's and other restaurants on the non-grand side of the resort were totally disgusting and I suggest not even going off the Grand side of the resort. Rooms have a musty smell but that is to be expected in the tropics, so have your towels changed daily. Take bug spray-the sand flees, mosquitoes and flies are annoying and left us with some nasty irritating bites. Gift shop is over priced and there is not enough snacks to cater to the North American guests, craving normal food! Taxi's are readily available but really expensive, it cost us $14US to get to the next resort which was 3 km's away to shop at the market. It would be nice to have paid a small fee to be taken in the on-site golf carts on the back roads that go between the resorts instead or at least have the option. Do not use the safe, family travelling with us had money stolen from the safe. As seasoned travellers we carry every document and monies with us every where we go! The hotel was good about the money though, the hotel paid them back!!

Overall our experience at the resort was great and we would recommend others to go but only to the Grand side. We would definitely return if we ever decided to go to Mexico again. Mexico can be a scary place off the resort so stay safe and only tour with a tour company for safety. Do not let the time share guys at the airport near you, nor let anyone touch your bags. Stay with the package your travel agent has set up for you and listen to no one else. I suggest picking up a travel Spanish book for simple terms and you can communicate fine, remember, you are in another country and don't expect them to know English! You are in their country, so adapt! I doubt that we will ever travel with Sunwing again if possible, they aren't very helpful, try to con you into buying tour packages you don't want and their customer service isn't great.

Mexico was another check mark off our destination list and it was a great trip! Thanks Grand Oasis Tulum for making our vacation romantic and enjoyable!!

Room Tip: Stay on the Grand side of the resort and obtain the gold bracelet, you will get everything included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We traveled with a group of 9 this year. We originally were booked for Oasis Tulum. When we got to the hotel to check in, they did not have our rooms for some reason. So the staff sent us to the Grand side and we got upgraded for free. The Grand side was very nice. There were bars, restaurants, beach, and chairs that were reserved just for the Grand side... they even had security just to check people's bracelets! The food was good. It kind of sucked though because the restaurants (besides the buffet) were sit down, 3-4 course meals. Don't get me wrong, they were good, but I'd rather be sitting on the beach drinking beer than spending 2 hours on lunch. The beach was nice, but chairs were ALWAYS taken. Wake up early to get your own. If you are on the Grand side, check out the rooftop bar! It was always very quiet and Ricardo was amazing!! Our favorite people were Ricardo, Lupe, Leisy, David, and Manuel. Snorkeling was not as good as the snorkeling at Akumal Beach Resort. There was also construction every day and our water was shut off in our rooms twice. Understandable and not too big of a deal since it was during the day when we were out. I also wish there was a snack bar to get something quick if you dont want to wait in line at the buffet or sit for two hours. Overall it was a very nice hotel, but it was almost too fancy for my likings.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 2125-2129 and they had a great view of the pools. Very quiet besides the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have never written a review before and unfortunately it is a bad one. Good points are weather was awesome, beach was great and the fellow travelers were amazing. The web site shows what is at the Grand and not the Oasis. Mini bar not included, and to get bottle water was like giving away a first born. Food was not that great, but the tequila was not to shabby. There were only 2 restaurants and the buffet to pick from so I would definitely upgrade to the Grand. (They have all the amenitites there).

Not alot of restrooms either in the place you have to walk quite far when at the beach, etc.

I would also recommend the Spa there, had a wonderful Swedish massage for a good price, best part of the entire resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#18 Business Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.