We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis Grand Tulum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Oasis Grand Tulum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We traveled with a group of 9 this year. We originally were booked for Oasis Tulum. When we got to the hotel to check in, they did not have our rooms for some reason. So the staff sent us to the Grand side and we got upgraded for free. The Grand side was very nice. There were bars, restaurants, beach, and chairs that were reserved just for the Grand side... they even had security just to check people's bracelets! The food was good. It kind of sucked though because the restaurants (besides the buffet) were sit down, 3-4 course meals. Don't get me wrong, they were good, but I'd rather be sitting on the beach drinking beer than spending 2 hours on lunch. The beach was nice, but chairs were ALWAYS taken. Wake up early to get your own. If you are on the Grand side, check out the rooftop bar! It was always very quiet and Ricardo was amazing!! Our favorite people were Ricardo, Lupe, Leisy, David, and Manuel. Snorkeling was not as good as the snorkeling at Akumal Beach Resort. There was also construction every day and our water was shut off in our rooms twice. Understandable and not too big of a deal since it was during the day when we were out. I also wish there was a snack bar to get something quick if you dont want to wait in line at the buffet or sit for two hours. Overall it was a very nice hotel, but it was almost too fancy for my likings.

Room Tip: Our rooms were 2125-2129 and they had a great view of the pools. Very quiet besides the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    301
    160
    113
    99
See reviews for
306
378
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have never written a review before and unfortunately it is a bad one. Good points are weather was awesome, beach was great and the fellow travelers were amazing. The web site shows what is at the Grand and not the Oasis. Mini bar not included, and to get bottle water was like giving away a first born. Food was not that great, but the tequila was not to shabby. There were only 2 restaurants and the buffet to pick from so I would definitely upgrade to the Grand. (They have all the amenitites there).

Not alot of restrooms either in the place you have to walk quite far when at the beach, etc.

I would also recommend the Spa there, had a wonderful Swedish massage for a good price, best part of the entire resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We travelled with 2 other couples and when we booked the trip in late December we understood that it was a bit of a gamble because the Grand Oasis Tulum was only "re-opening" on January 4th, 2013 so there were many unknowns. As the month of January progressed, we became quite alarmed at the negative reviews on Trip Advisor for the adjoining Oasis Tulum (there wasn't a separate category on Trip Advisor for the Grand Oasis Tulum). We had booked Gardenview Rooms, but were given beautiful Oceanview Rooms and gold bracelets (we still aren't sure why, but we guess that it was because we actually booked the Grand Oasis Tulum rather than upgrading from the regular Oasis - just a guess). As VIP (gold bracelet) Grand Oasis customers, we were treated like royalty: special area in the breakfast buffet seating (mimosas, smoked salmon, fresh berries, etc.), an amazing lobby with an espresso bar, infinity pool, rooftop beds and cooling pools, free wifi, access to some different ala cartes than the Oasis customers - ate at La Careyes 3 times (twice for dinner and once for lunch) - so yummy!! The rooftop beds and cooling pools were a favorite spot for our group. The resort had excellent service and wonderful staff - Guadelope (server), Hipolita (server), Ricardo (bartender), Liberato (bartender), Marianna (omelet station), Noe (waiter at La Careyes) to name a few. The rooms were gorgeous, beds very comfortable (pillow top), and the beach was fantastic - protected from the crashing waves by the coral reef, so calm for snorkeling. The resort is a short 45 minute walk or 2 minute collectivo ride to fantastic snorkeling in Akumal Bay (sea turtles, fish & sting rays). They were still working on some aspects of the resort, but we viewed our stay as a "soft opening" and were very pleased indeed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Oasis Tulum Jan. 23 - 30th. It was a pretty place and nice vacation, but not as nice as what the website and travel sites make it out to be. As many have stated- the pictures and descriptions are of the Oasis Grand Tulum. We found this out after booking and our travel agent didn't even have an option to get us into that side. Our room was nice and clean (although twice during our stay housekeeping didn't show up - they need more people in this area.) Hot water was not a problem at any time. Older fixtures only a little drippy. You could see where they had been painting and fixing things up a bit. Only had 2 a la Carte options not 5 as was advertised in Apple & Funjet Vacation books. Only had the extra options if booked into the Grand. We liked the grounds & pools on the side we were on - all we asked was to be given the restaurant options that were advertised as part of the package! Didn't happen!! Food was good but limited choices. More wait staff is definitely needed! Very few people are trying to do everything. Dirty dishes stacked up often on the tables. They also need to invest in more beach & pool side lounges. I went out before 6 a.m. to save chairs on the beach and at the pool you had to drag them off of the patios by the room. Put regular patio chairs by the rooms and get the lounges out by the water!! People were having their towels thrown off and seats taken. Saw several arguements between guests throughout the week!! Staff was friendly (Freddy & Benze in particular) and bartender, Manuel, was very nice! We usually travel through Apple and this time tried Funjet - wasn't impressed with the rep at the hotel. He seemed lazy since we didn't want to book a side trip. Front desk staff wasn't very helpful - no one said the same thing or had same info for you at check in. We booked with our daughter and son-in-law at the same time and didn't have a room near each other at all. Mini-bar was never stocked, said there would be additional cost. They did bring bottled water to the room each day. Shows were good each night. Make sure you check to see if it is in theater or on the beach. Looked like they were working on the stage area - or need to. It was very plain and backdrop just a dark cloth. It is easy to catch a taxi or "collectivo" out in front, by the highway. Fun to ride the bikes out to the sports & snack bar area. Other things listed in website and travel brochures were non-motorized water sports - saw nothing available!! Be sure to take your own snorkel gear. Room safe & internet are at an additional cost. Another thing that happened, after two days there, was they stuck a letter in the door offering us an upgrade to the Oasis Grand Viva in Cancun. This should be done at check in - if at all- before you unpack and get settled in!! But, who wants to ride all the way back to Cancun after finally just getting there. Long ride for those with other stops on the way!! We chose to stay because our daughter & her husband wanted to snorkel (which was great!) and we didn't want a high-rise hotel on a crowded busy beach. This place does have the potential to be great vacation resort- hope they don't take too long to get things whipped into shape!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Illinois
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is my first review I have ever written, but I feel the need to warn others. I have been to Mexico for the last 10 years and have enjoyed every visit. This is by far the worst trip we have had. No rum at the beach bar for one whole day. Service slow. The food was awful..no English tv channels.. Have to make reservations but the restaurants never where full but we couldn't get in. No hot water in the morning. Cats running around the resort begging for food. No beach chairs available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Jan 28-Feb 4. Rained a couple of days so there was some standing water, but that’s Mexico, not equipped for lots of water, which could be why there’s a swampy smell. The dark hallway wasn’t that bad & I only had to wait to use restroom once. Our room was fine & we didn’t have hot water/water problem. Because we were on third floor there were a couple of days it took a while to heat up. The staff didn’t speak a lot of English but enough to get us what we needed. Bartenders & servers were nice. Entertainment staff really tried to get you involved. Shows were each night either in theater, pool area or beach. You just needed to read signs to see where. Transfer we had one other couple, so it was 1.5 hours to get there & just us coming back, so it was quick. We got there early & room wasn’t ready, but check in isn’t till 3:30, so they held our luggage, gave us bracelets & told us where to eat. Walked to Akumal via the beach, I’d recommend strap sandals/tennis shoes but it was nice walk. Our room was usually cleaned by 11 each day. We had garden view rooms but if we could have upgraded to ocean front we would have for view. Didn't have a problem getting chairs but we were usually at the restaurant early & beach shortly thereafter. It's just like other places where people reserve beach chairs and then show up later in the day. You can get top shelf drinks if you tip and ask them for the Jim Beam:> We met some really nice people and will meet up with them again in Michigan soon. All in all, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, ON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was meaning to send this when we got back but time does have a way of getting away from you ... we travelled to the Oasis Tulum on January 10th ...we had heard horror stories from people that had travelled there first hand..we booked through ITravel2000 and upon hearing the concerns attempted to make a switch...to no avail and I will never book through ITravel2000 again. This has nothing to do with the hotel. Upon arrival to the hotel on the 10th after apprx two hour bus ride from the airport we arrived to a woman yelling and complaining at the front desk. Upon speaking with her and than another individual complaining about something else you can only imagine our concerns...not the best start to the vacation for 6. We arrived at night went to our room in the Oasis side (older side) of the resort - Gardenview Room. Entered the room which was freshly painted, very clean, linens clean, bed comfortable, pillows comfortable and overall we were satisfied. Was there a view out of our room no just a big palm tree but that was okay with us. Upon closer inspection of the room the bedskirt, rug beside the bed and probably the bed spread were not overly clean...did this ruin our vacation no...the resort itself is well laid out...buffet was beautiful food was good and steps to the ocean. Drinks were good and boarded on fantastic...the alacartes Italian very good...Mexico not so good but you can get up and eat somewhere else. Our afternoon snack became the Happy Chicken (best wings!!) also the swim up bar had great food in the afternoon. We enjoyed the walk out to the sports bar and pool at the far end of the resort (close to the road) great for after dinner walks and than drinks .. don't miss the golf cart ride...there are rooms out by the road I believe they call them the Jungle Rooms - I would not have been pleased if we were given accomodations out there as for us to far from everything. Now here comes the issue...we did not receive beach towels for two days.. I used the white towels from the room and always travel with my own towels but towels are important on a vacation. Lounge chairs - we have travelled quite a bit and understand the lounge chair dance...however this resort does not or at least when we were there did not have enough chairs for the guests. There was actually guests having to put their towels on the beach, or along the edge of the pool as there were no seats. One of our party had no hot water for two days ( I think this was because of the ongoing renovations on the other side of the resort) very inconvenient We stayed at Tulum for three days and than were approached by an Oasis Rep who offered the 6 of us an upgrade to the Oasis Sens in Cancun 5 star adults only VIP ocean view at no charge for the last 5 days of our vacation - we took it... we did so as the Tulum was overbooked by 20% for the last 5 days of our vacation..and we were already having an issue with chairs, towels and water..We were upgraded to the Oasis Sens was very clean food was on par with Tulum, Cancun beach was different very rough but fun to play in where Tulum is calm and you can snorkel and feed the fish...both great! The Sens is like a downtown TO hotel highrise (not particularly our type of resort) but Cancun has all highrises from what we saw. All and all a good vacation. The Oasis Tulum has the ability to be a fantastic resort and in another six months will be interested to see the reviews...shout out to Boston - Martha and Chris!! Hope you are enjoying those cuban cigars!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#17 Business Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;