We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Maya Golf Club

Riviera Maya Golf Club
| Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Akumal, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Attractions in Akumal
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“VERY nice course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lots of water on the back 9 so bring lots of balls, apparantly the 3rd nicest course in Mexico. Very challenging but wow, fun.

You should check out the dress code prior to going. Very strict compared to mid level Canadian courses when pertaining to women and youth.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    44
    13
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Golf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I didn't use this but I did hear from people in our hotel that they did, and they really enjoyed it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Course... and very unforgiving!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Instead of going to South Carolina for our annual golf trip, this year we decided to try an all-inclusive resort and played Riviera Maya GC six times during the week. Apart from a "buy3rounds-get4" offer, we were not able to negociate a better price. Even though the travel documentation says "unlimited golf"... it's the mandatory golf cart that you have to pay for... $80 per person per round... That's not unlimited in my book!

Here's a short rundown of our experience :
Arrival/Transportation : shuttle staff are always very pleasant and helpful (shuttle service runs every 10-15 minutes or so from most resorts - we were at Coba and it's a 10min ride to golf course)
Bag Drop/Pro Shop : No bag drop at all - you have to shlep your own gear around (If you're playing several consecutive days, ask for the club storage service on site, it will save you carrying your clubs back to your room every day). ProShop service was brutal. Both Ivan and Gabriela were barely helpful at all, and Carlos barely even looked at us (some mornings they were smiling and chatty, other days cold and indifferent). Bring enough golf balls, otherwise it will cost you $22 for sleeve of 3 new Callaways... They also sell 12 used balls for $10.

Starter/Ranger/Beer Cart : There didn't seem to be any specific starter, but the staff here really made us feel welcome and were incredible. David and his team made up for everyone else's shortcomings. Free bucket of range balls before your tee-off time and water/soft drinks in an ice-filled cooler on each golf cart. No specific instructions or indications on the course, however, so our first round was more "exploration". There are GPS on each golf cart as well. The administration should consider adding another beer cart to their roster. Elmer was great but simply couldn't cover the whole course by himself - so we only saw him twice a round...

Course : The course itself is in great shape everywhere. Fairways are tight and hard (shots roll for miles!) and greens are just as slippery... it's target golf! I think the layout is made to be played from the blue tees as most landing areas are wider and longer... Playing it from the white tees, there was constantly obstacles (traps, water, doglegs) making club selection and precision very important... Each green is well protected by many sand traps and some over-water carries... Many spectacular looking holes... You'll take many pictures!

19th hole/Bar : Very snazzy looking, the Clubhouse is a beauty. The bar is just as modern and sleek. Personnel were also very helpful and pleasant. $3/beer is acceptable...

All Around : 3.5 out of 5 (for the price, I was expecting a higher level of helpfulness from ProShop staff, and a better all around experience) With many other courses on the Mexican coast to choose from, we would really be tempted to try other courses before returning to Riviera Maya GC...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Jungle Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

First time resort golfing. Was not planning to golf but glad I did. Will bring my own glove, tees and balls next time to save a little. Met some great folks from Ottawa and Quebec that I was joined up with. Hello Daniel, Louise and Jerry.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great course.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Had a deal where you play three times get the fourth game free, as long as you sign up at the begining of your stay.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Maya Golf Club also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Playa Paraiso, Playa del Carmen
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Riviera Maya Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Maya Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.