We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera Maya Golf Club

Riviera Maya Golf Club
| Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Akumal, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Southern Ontario
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I played this course three times in late January. It is a challenging course with lots of water, sand and forest – I know because I found most of it. The course is very picturesque and is in immaculate condition. The course was fairly busy and took about 4 1/2 hours to play.
In my opinion it is well worth the $80 that they charge resort guests.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    53
    15
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awesome Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The course is well groomed and very challenging. If you don't hit the ball fairly straight make sure you bring lots of balls. Some of the holes are breathtakingly beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Thrilling and humbling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Sian Ka'an from Jan 16 - 26, 2013, and played golf at the Riviera Maya golf club 5 times. Although they do charge $80 each for a cart with the all inclusive golf ($55 each after 1:00) there was a deal where if you played just after 6:30 the cart was $70 each. The course is so amazing but difficult, so lower your expectations about what your score will be! This is not your 'feel good' resort course (with forgiving fairways and flat greens) - it is challenging and will punish you for an errant shot ( or even what you thought was a good shot!).
On the second last day of our stay we had booked a tee time at 6:40 and paid for the round, then before we had teed off a torrential downpour started. We waited for an hour and a half, but there was no sign of it letting up, so we asked for a refund. The girl in the pro shop said that was impossible, and a raincheck was obviously no good since we were leaving the next day. We tried to contact the manager, who was unavailable. Luckily, by 10:30, the course was playable again, and we got out and didn't have to forfeit our $140. It was a pleasant surprise that even after all that rain, the course dried out quickly and we stopped playing a 90 degree rule after 8 holes! Players beware - refunds do not seem probable in Mexico! Also, if you staying at the Sian Ka'an, you can get drinks from the bar at the clubhouse, but off the beverage cart you have to pay.....food in the clubhouse is not included either. We stored our clubs at the course and Sammy and his staff were great!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous Golf Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We played here as a couple while staying at the Sian Ka'an hotel. $80 for cart for hotel guests. $45 for rental clubs. Beautiful golf course, challenging with water and rocky areas, as well as vegetation that is just waiting to grab your ball. Front nine is easier than back nine. Very well groomed, friendly staff, very convenient to hotel. Loved it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We golfed here while staying at the Sian Ka'an resort at the beginning of January. The fees were a bit pricey, but it was worth it. We actually ended up just playing the executive after booking 18 holes. This course would of been challenging and too hot for the time we played at, so we ended up playing the 9 holes, which was still pretty fun!

Golf course was beautiful, loved seeing all the iguanas on the pathways, and some wildlife on the greens. Lots of water and sand traps. Overall i'd recommend it just once, if you have a chance!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera Maya Golf Club also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Riviera Maya Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera Maya Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.