We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, ATVs are a lot of fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jungle Jim's ATVs

Jungle Jim's ATVs
Carretera Federal km. 104.5, Akumal, Mexico
(52) 984 875 9454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 21 Activities in Akumal
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Upon arrival to our base in Akumal, you will be greeted by our team for check-in. Before departure, you will undergo a safety briefing and be introduced to your guides who will accompany you on the tour. Before leaving, you will be able to test-drive your ATV to make sure you are comfortable and familiar with the vehicle, and feel sure of yourself. Once everyone has given their "thumbs-up", were off! The tour departs Akumal and heads directly into the jungle over dirt roads and through rustic Mayan paths to our private nature reserve. You will get to ride over terrain that is challenging enough for even the most experienced riders, but easy enough for beginners to maneuver at their on pace. After riding for about 45 minutes, we arrive at our very own private nature reserve where we will visit pristine caverns.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good experience, ATVs are a lot of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just took the tour last week. The ATV tour is pretty good, while it is not very hilly it takes you through some very bumpy areas with mud pupples and even a little track with a jump at the end. The animal preserve is a little "touristy" but it's pretty cool to feed the monkeys so take a couple bananas with you. They'll take you through a cave with live bats to show you the cenote's and explain how they work which is enjoyable. We took the snorkle option and saw 5-6 sea turtle's and a couple of sting rays as well.

It was a very enjoyable day that lasted about 5 hours with travel time. The tour guides are friendly and do all they can to make sure you're having a good time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    3
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was an amazing tour. We took it on a very rainy and muddy day, which probably put it over the top. We truly enjoyed flying through the trails, reaching speeds of over 40 MPH. The guide was excellent and made sure everyone was safe. My wife accidently drove off the trail and they made sure she got out and was not hurt. We truly had a blast and would reccomend this trip to anyone.

As a part of the trip you get to tour a zoo area where you will see white tail deer and spider monkeys. They also walked us through a cenote and then to an above ground water hole where we were able to zipline in.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This excursion should be first on the list of things todo in mexico. This excursion takes you on several trails and a small piece of road. They have the FASTEST atv's in mexico i was reaching speeds between 55-61mph !!! then after the ride be sure you packed bug spray because these mosqitos are huge and mean. Now why would you being bit by bugs on atv's you ask? So, you can play with spider MONKEYS!!!! there in a cage of course but, they are so friendly and nice. they put there hands thru the cage so they can play with your hands,sunglasses or hair. After the monkeys your guid will take you to a 500 million year old cenote that you can walk thru but, not swim. (Wear walking shoes) after the cenote you get back on the atv drive back to the beginning to set up for snorkeling on Akumal Beach which is gorgeous! When the brochure says a guarenteed encounter with a sea turtle its true. There was a turtle the size of a patio table and a Baricuda which had a length of a 1 1/2 length adult hockey stick and the width of a skateboard!! BEST THING EVER

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Need for Speed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My son and I enjoyed the tour: ATV's are fast and driven on a variety of surfaces,

Jungle walk --Monkeys were awesome!,

Cavern Tour was educational and there were bats flying all over. It was so funny to watch the others on the tour who were afraid of the bats. Paths in Cavern are good walking paths.

Akumal beach tour there were six people on the tour and two life gaurds that went out on the snorkeling tour. We swam out from the beach not too far and we saw a huge turtle and long Barracuda fish.

Great tour for the $.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Get your own ATV---feels like you are in a movie. You ride your ATV through the jungle (and even the highway in Mexico!!). Hopefully, Roberto will be your guide since he is beautiful!!!! and very laid back. The disk of pictures is a good buy since it is a once in a lifetime experience. If you stay at the Grand Bahia's, I would suggest taking a collectivo after arranging with Jungle Jims. The "excursion" price (with transportation) is expensive and it is very close. They will take you to Aktun-Chen.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jungle Jim's ATVs also viewed

 

Been to Jungle Jim's ATVs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jungle Jim's ATVs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.