We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal

Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal
Akumal 77730, Mexico
+52 984 155-2055
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 21 Activities in Akumal
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the amazing experience of swimming and seeing the Green Turtles all year in Akumal, our environmental friendly tour is also for first timers, no previous experience needed, you just decide to come and we will assure you have one of the most fascinating experiences ever!
Somerset, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We booked a tour with Ocean Tours. One of the best trips we've done. The tour guides (Katie, Julio & driver, Martin) were amazing and v informative. The snorkelling experience was great and then we visited an eco park with 3 cenotes and swam in 2. The first with lots of fish and turtles and the second with lotsw of catfish (amongst others) and caves. It was an outstanding trip and I would highly recommend it. You can also purchase a CD with Julio's pictures from the day for $25 USD which is very cheap compared with other trips.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    71
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This experience is the number one reason I would go back to Mexico.
Pros:Lots of sea turtles to see, some decent snorkeling by the reefs, protected bay for swimming.
Cons: A lot of people and tours, so it can be crowded, and some people are idiots, harassing the wildlife. Also, depending on the day, visibility can be a bit of a problem.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing snorkeling right off the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Snorkeling in Akumal was definitely one of my favorite things from my trip to Playa Del Carmen. The first thing we saw in the water was a turtle but then the list went on! Bring your underwater camera!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely AMAZING experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I booked some excursions through Olympus Tours. First we did the Mayan Ruins of Tulum and then we got to snorkel with the sea turtles. We had a guide for both parts of this excursion and they both were great, but the turtles take the cake!

The public beach is gorgeous, the turtles were so majestic and beautiful and we had a fantastic time! We saw a good bit of coral reef, a stingray and lots of other fish along with probably 6 different sea turtles.

This experience is what sold me in the first place to this particular destination, and it was definitely worth it! I recommend a guide, but they offer snorkel gear rentals on the beach to explore on your own!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great experience with beautiful animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our group of 10 went with Riviera Adventours and what a wonderful time. The turtles are amazing to watch. If you have the opportunity, please give it a try!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.