We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good walk in the cave, great Cenote swim.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aktun Chen

Aktun Chen
Highway 307 between Akumal and Xel-Ha | Km 107, Akumal, Mexico
984-884-0444
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 13 attractions in Akumal
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Bodies of Water
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: An underground cave with spectacular rock formations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good walk in the cave, great Cenote swim.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The guided walk through the cave was quite good. Very easy to do and interesting and beautiful.

The swim in the cenote was terrific. We have a brief tour and then were left on our own to explore at our own pace. The place was not huge but was well worth an hour plus of our time.

We started with a brief photo op with a spider monkey...chained up though. We saw another monkey high in a tree...also tied up. There were a couple of other animals in small cages and a number of snakes in tiny enclosures. Not my thing - the animals are I guess not abused but there is so little freedom of movement that they should not be there.

The guides (different ones for the cave and the cenote were both great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    102
    18
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlock, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This trip was very well organized and we had such a great time. Never been on a zip line before and the staff were super, they were so friendly and helpful and made us laugh lots. Our tour guide for the cave was so knowledgeable and friendly this authentic cave was so interesting. They also had snorkelling in the cenote which was so good and the staff made sure we were all comfortable and well taken care of. The restaurant was the best we have been in on one of these trips and the food excellent. Also want to mention all washrooms were very clean and well maintained. We have already recommended this trip to friends of ours who will be in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A MUST Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Most beautiful and unique cave I have ever seen!
We went with Jungle Jim's ATV Tours from Akumal and had an awesome time!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice cenote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited this park but only the cenote part. Since it was our first experience in a cenote, we can not rate how it was against others. We felt it was pretty cool and a nice size to snorkel in.
Our only complaint was the pathetic wildlife area. There was this cute monkey on a chain and a few other wild animals (mostly snakes) that were captured in the wild and were now being held captive for us to see. What a pathetic existence. This wildlife area should be demolished and gotten rid of totally. We were not encouraged to see the animals while there and I can see why. It was embarrassing and sad.
The park should be focusing on the natural aspects that they have and get rid of the wild side by sending these poor animals to other parks where they can be taken care of more humanely.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a well organized and professional venue that provides you with 3 different tours or activities that are fun and out of the ordinary. They have a small "zoo" area with some reptiles that are indigenous to the area along with some jungle cats. Then they have a tour of their caves which are FANTASTIC. Well lighted and guided (for our visit we had Victor who speaks 3 languages) and you travel underground maybe 1200 yards.
Costs are very reasonable at about $40USD per person for the cave and zoo exhibit. They also have a zipline adventure which would be fun but the day we visited it was raining too hard.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktun Chen also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aktun Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktun Chen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.