We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aktun Chen

Aktun Chen
Highway 307 between Akumal and Xel-Ha | Km 107, Akumal 77780, Mexico
+52 (984) 109 20 61
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underground cave with spectacular rock formations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to Aktun Chen in January 2012 and loved it. I was scared during parts of it but I'm glad i overcame my fears and did the zip lines! It was a great experience and it is all very safe. The food that you get is also very good. I would recommend doing this at leats once in your life.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    140
    23
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex Inlet, New South Wales
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“FLYING HIGH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a buzz it was flying from tower to tower on the zipline. Way up high! Safety was excellent. They even persuaded my wife to have a goo as well. After the zipline, we went with a guide through some caves. Then the final activity was snorkelling in a cenote (sunken hole/cave.) This was also a beaut activity and well supervised by staff. Add a meal to this and it was indeed a beaut day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mead, Colorado
1 review
“Great memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had an awesome time on the zip-line, cave tour and snorkeling. The staff was a lot of fun, very knowledgeable and kept our day running smoothly. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Cave and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The cave is unbelievably beautiful, and the guide is funny and extremely knowledgeable. The cinote is really cool, and the snorkling is defanitetly worth it. The zip line isn't super high, and is not a must do. But the upside to the zip line is the guys working it makeit really fun. All in all a must do.

Some advice, Aktun Chen is pretty far from the main road, so if you get dropped off at the main road by the Collectivo (public transport) you will have a long walk ahead of you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Journey to the center of the Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great..fun!!!! This amazing place has a Bird Avairy, a Reptile Zoo, a Cenote, a Jip Line, a Journey underground, with a suprise, and a Zoo...really clean yet natural...great place to go...we give it a 10!!! And very cost effective!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktun Chen also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aktun Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aktun Chen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.