We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 Attractions in Akumal
Type: Bodies of Water, Reefs
Activities: Snorkeling, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We snorkeled Yal-ku when the wind in the bay was too strong and found it to be not only beautiful but not crowded either. I've got the impression that this is a hidden place where locals and tourists alike can go for a laid back snorkeling experience without dozens of tour buses lining the streets. We saw mangroves, reef fish, giant wrasses, rays, barracuda and sea birds of all sizes. Highly recommend this area, but take a cab or walk in so avoid the parking hassle. Affordable!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    283
    104
    48
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Like an aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came to this lagoon after snorkeling in Akumal Bay, so we automatically compared the two. While Akumal Bay is better for visibility and the sight of rare marine life (turtles, eagle rays and squid), the lagoon has a variety of reef fish that you don't see in the bay.
The place has its unique charm, with secluded spots, nooks and crannies to explore, but some may be murky due to vegetation, so visibility may be affected.
The facilities offered (clean washrooms, lockers, showers, equipment rentals, palapas etc.) are a welcome addition to a natural attraction that sees quite a lot of people. Very civilized and accomodating.
Don't forget your eco friendly sunscreen, much needed for the exposed body parts in the tropical sun. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Pretty place, easy snorkeling, nice place to get out of wind also”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a second visit in which we took friends to Yal-ku Lagoon. We like this place for a few reasons. First they have a good friendly staff that explains the place when you enter. We like the grounds complete with statues, picnic tables, benches at the entry areas. the lagoon reminds me of a naturally sculpted over size pool complete with small islands to swim around. We found the snorkeling good. There were fish nearly everywhere. When snorkeling stay close to the sides and look under the branches of the mangrove trees that grow over the water. If you snorkel you may come across areas where your vision looks slightly blurry. This is due to the fresh and salt water mixing. Next week we plan to return with more friends.
What is nice about the lagoon is that it is protected from the wind which we had on the beach the past week. Entry allows you to come and go for the day and having rented a condo nearby by makes it easy to do that.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We came here with a tour we booked (Local Quickies) and it is truly a unique spot to visit. If you love snorkeling don't miss it!

The only caution I will give is that if you are not a strong swimmer or snorkeler it can be challenging. There are lots of underwater rocks and some areas that can be difficult to swim through.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had been here several years ago and loved it even more this time. We took a cab from our resort and arranged for him to return at a prearranged time. It worked out wonderful. Entrance is reasonable but you do need to pay for any extras such as life jackets and lockers. They did have cabanas with private entries into the water that were available for rent. We appreciate that it has remained less commercialized than other venues. We went in the morning which was not as crowded as it would have been later in the day. The surroundings are beautiful, with winding paths leading to the Lagoon. There are lots of benches and abundant places to enter the water. The entrance i to the water is rather rocky. My husband was smart and left his shoes closer than the rest of our stuff. The water is beautiful, clear and calm. We saw tons of fish of a great variety! We had a wonderful time and will go back in the future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yal-ku Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.