We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Snorkeling, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Natural Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We snorkeled Yal-ku when the wind in the bay was too strong and found it to be not only beautiful but not crowded either. I've got the impression that this is a hidden place where locals and tourists alike can go for a laid back snorkeling experience without dozens of tour buses lining the streets. We saw mangroves, reef fish, giant wrasses, rays, barracuda and sea birds of all sizes. Highly recommend this area, but take a cab or walk in so avoid the parking hassle. Affordable!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    380
    147
    58
    29
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Like an aquarium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came to this lagoon after snorkeling in Akumal Bay, so we automatically compared the two. While Akumal Bay is better for visibility and the sight of rare marine life (turtles, eagle rays and squid), the lagoon has a variety of reef fish that you don't see in the bay.
The place has its unique charm, with secluded spots, nooks and crannies to explore, but some may be murky due to vegetation, so visibility may be affected.
The facilities offered (clean washrooms, lockers, showers, equipment rentals, palapas etc.) are a welcome addition to a natural attraction that sees quite a lot of people. Very civilized and accomodating.
Don't forget your eco friendly sunscreen, much needed for the exposed body parts in the tropical sun. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Pretty place, easy snorkeling, nice place to get out of wind also”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was a second visit in which we took friends to Yal-ku Lagoon. We like this place for a few reasons. First they have a good friendly staff that explains the place when you enter. We like the grounds complete with statues, picnic tables, benches at the entry areas. the lagoon reminds me of a naturally sculpted over size pool complete with small islands to swim around. We found the snorkeling good. There were fish nearly everywhere. When snorkeling stay close to the sides and look under the branches of the mangrove trees that grow over the water. If you snorkel you may come across areas where your vision looks slightly blurry. This is due to the fresh and salt water mixing. Next week we plan to return with more friends.
What is nice about the lagoon is that it is protected from the wind which we had on the beach the past week. Entry allows you to come and go for the day and having rented a condo nearby by makes it easy to do that.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We came here with a tour we booked (Local Quickies) and it is truly a unique spot to visit. If you love snorkeling don't miss it!

The only caution I will give is that if you are not a strong swimmer or snorkeler it can be challenging. There are lots of underwater rocks and some areas that can be difficult to swim through.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had been here several years ago and loved it even more this time. We took a cab from our resort and arranged for him to return at a prearranged time. It worked out wonderful. Entrance is reasonable but you do need to pay for any extras such as life jackets and lockers. They did have cabanas with private entries into the water that were available for rent. We appreciate that it has remained less commercialized than other venues. We went in the morning which was not as crowded as it would have been later in the day. The surroundings are beautiful, with winding paths leading to the Lagoon. There are lots of benches and abundant places to enter the water. The entrance i to the water is rather rocky. My husband was smart and left his shoes closer than the rest of our stuff. The water is beautiful, clear and calm. We saw tons of fish of a great variety! We had a wonderful time and will go back in the future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yal-ku Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.