We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Akumal, Mexico
Update attraction details
Ranked #8 of 13 attractions in Akumal
Type: Bodies of Water, Reefs
Activities: Snorkeling, Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Kelowna, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was alot of fun, on a windy day - would be even better on a calm day! Be sure to wear a flotation device, the currents are unpredictable

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    237
    89
    41
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic place to snorkel. Get there early to avoid the tour groups. It is probably only worth a couple hours, but don't miss the caves on the left!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Beautiful lagoon with lots of fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

When we arrived at Yal-Ku, we were initially put off by the steep entrance price ($12 USD) and the fact that the parking lot was full. But we bit the bullet and went in anyways. We didn't regret out decision - the lagoon has impossibly bright blue water and scores of colorful fish. There were definitely a lot of people in the lagoon, but it didn't feel particularly crowded because there were enough areas to explore in the lagoon. We wish we had gotten snorkeling gear since the lagoon is about as ideal of a place to snorkel as any that we saw in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Okay to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I think this was around $12 entrance. It is a large lagoon and deep in spots. There was plenty of parking for regular sized cars. Very clear water so plenty of fish to snorkel around. You can plan to hang out and swim 2-3 hours. There are some outdoor showers to rinse off and dressing rooms to change. They do have bathrooms although the water was not working when we were there so we had to use a bucket to flush the toilets, but I am sure it probably works most of the time. The snorkeling isn't as good as going to Akumal beach, but this is a lagoon so much calmer and water is a little different here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Its calm..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Water was calm, but very few sea turtles. And beside the turtles one has much better odds with snorkeling around the region..
But we did see a large barracuda.

The best part about this place that they will rent out snorkel, provide a locker, and have a simple shower on premise, with clean bathrooms (relatively).

In hindsight i dont know if it was worth the cost, and with snorkel equipment off the beach would be just fine. (dont forget to visit la buena vida restaurant on the beach!)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yal-ku Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.