We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“busy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach

Akumal Beach
Mex-307, Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Visit Akumal Beach like an insider
Top Rated
$146*
and up
Akumal Bay Sea Turtle and Snorkel Adventure from...
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Akumal
Activities: Snorkeling
Attraction details
Invermere, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It is quite a walk on a hot day from the highway, where we were dropped off. Had lunch at a small restaurant, before we walked through the arches to the beach. Great food and affordable. The beach was crowded. We did not check out the bars as we were there to snorkel. the snorkelling was good, but it was also just as good at our resort. The shopping looked great. Lots of little stands. Wish I had done my shopping there instead of Playa Del Carmen. We were there on a hot day, very little shade. Went for a walk with my son along the north (rocky) beach. Came across some abandoned condos. It was nice enough, but I do not highly recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,593
    1,237
    281
    53
    40
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cordoba, spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Swim with turtles, no guide needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Rent your snorkel stuff for 15USD don't worry about a guide as you can spot things yourself and no need to go out on a boat just go from the shore. Just a great place to snorkel and amazing as even on a day when the water was murky after storms, we were able to swim around with turtles. Absolutely wonderful experience really up close and personal, some lovely fish further out too.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Life's a beach :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Beautiful sand, beautiful fish, but you need to be careful with the reef, when tide is coming in or going out and trying to get out of Ocean.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved it! Especially swimming with sea turtles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We went to Akumal Beach on an "excursion" from our resort in Playa del Carmen, although we knew we wanted to go here regardless. It was a 1/2 day excursion and we visited Akumal Beach and a cenote. For $158 USD, I would not recommend the excursion. If you're visiting the area and want to visit Akumal Beach, save the $158 USD and rent a car for $55 USD (approx.) and just go. Then you can spend as long or as little as you'd like here. (When we went with the excursion/guide it was great, but way too short of time. We were in and out of the water within 30 minutes and then off to the cenote.)

You can park in the lots for $4 USD near Akumal Beach and then it's about 5 minute walk to the Dive Shop area. We had bought the "Akumal Eco Bracelets" at the little convenience store near the lot before we went for $8 USD/person. We needed them the day before with the excursion, and we figured we needed them again. Also, we had read before we went that this was for the upkeep of the environment/turtles/reef in the area, which we were fine with. Anything that supports the environment in a positive way, we are all for. Still not really sure if you actually HAD to buy this bracelet or not in order to snorkel/visit. This is not clear at all. Therefore, I put a "yes" for "is there a fee for this attraction". You can also rent lockers, gear if you need it. I did rent a life jacket for $5 USD on the day we went on our own.

We were stopped by a guide/worker(?) next to the Dive Shop to watch a short video about the do's and do not's of the snorkeling in the area. Much of which we had already known about since going with the excursion/guide the day before. Of course being there, we saw many tourists NOT following the rules, so the short video should be a must see for everyone. But really there is no way to enforce it. It's a shame because WE are visiting the habitat of the sea creatures and should respect their space. We saw tourists being vertical in the water, stirring up sand, etc. All of which they ask you not to do. The guide(?) tried to talk us into another guided tour for $33 USD/person. We declined but he still tried to get us to do it. Not sure if he was just trying to pull a fast one on us or what. Again, this was unclear. We really just wanted to enjoy a day at Akumal, snorkel, rest, have some lunch, etc. Which is exactly what we did.

The beach was a little crowded, but nothing like a "crowded" beach here on the East Coast in the summer. I would say to get there by 10 AM to get a good spot however. We found a shady spot under a palm tree (as did many others), got our snorkel gear on and went in. Within minutes we spotted a few turtles and many fish AND a barracuda! We were told by the guide that "he" has been there for a long time and doesn't bother anyone :) Got a bit further out and more turtles, a ray, more fish, baby squids, etc.

Around the reef were more species of fish, another ray and coral (fan, brain, etc.). It was beautiful to see but I think the best reef and reef life we've seen was in Cozumel 4 years ago. Unfortunately, I believe major storms, humans, etc. have played a role in the demise of the reef :( Very sad. Oh, and bring your biodegradable sunscreen for this beach! Although our main reason for visiting Akumal was definitely for the turtles, which did not disappoint. We probably saw about 10+ turtles. Just amazing and beautiful to watch.

After a few hours of snorkeling and relaxing we went to Lol-ha, the restaurant right there that serves authentic Mexican food. GREAT! A bit on the high side, but hey, it's a tourist-y area. Regardless, the food did not disappoint and I would definitely recommend.

After lunch we walked around a bit more, relaxed and then headed back to the hotel. Nice visit on our own and would definitely recommend for the sea turtles alone!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“In love with the turtles of Akumal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The turtles are there, right near the shore. Just take a bus to akumal and your snorkling gear. Its beautiful and free!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Beach also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Akumal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.