We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtles swimming off shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach

Akumal Beach
Mex-307, Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$146*
and up
Akumal Bay Sea Turtle and Snorkel Adventure from...
Ranked #2 of 13 Attractions in Akumal
Type: Beaches, Reefs, Outdoors
Activities: Snorkeling
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Wales UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Turtles swimming off shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a public beach with Turtles swimming off shore. Try to take a life jacket with you the water is very deep were the turtles swim, life jackets can now only be hired as part of a tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,996
    958
    196
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A Must For A Day Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our third visit to playa akumal in the last 5 years and it is still serene and beautiful. We snorkelled in the late morning and lounged on the beach under the shade of a palm tree. Cold cervezas are only a few steps away and washrooms are available for 5 pesos. My tip of the day is to skip the paid tour and bring your own snorkel gear and just head out into the crystal blue waters and explore by yourself.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Don't need a tour to see turtles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Took the collectivo from our resort ( Gran Bahai) took about 15 minutes to get there then 5 minute walk to beach.
We brought our own masks and snorkle( no fins) . There were five of us.. three of us saw turtles and sting rays.. no tour we just snorkled off beach.. we didn't even have to go beyond ropes ( where tours went.. ) We had lunch at Lol Ha. great food and service .. this was a great day !

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We really enjoyed Akumal beach. One of our favs in the area. Snorkeling with the turtles was fun. The water is clearer in the morning, but tends to get murky in the afternoon. Busy but not crowded

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Slightly underwhelming but with potential”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We visited the dive center at the beach. We went out with the center's dive boat for a 9:00 and an 11:30 dive. The visibility was not as good as further north. This is contrary to the book I had purchased on dive spots in the region. It appears that there has been some significant storm damage in recent years to the coral. We did see lionfish, a scorpion fish, numerous lobsters, some gigantic barrel sponges, a barracuda, and multiple reef fish.

Afterward we went snorkeling in the bay. That was excellent. Sting Rays, cuttlefish, puffer fish, and , of course, turtles. There is ample nearby parking and a couple of good restaurants.The bay has an area that is marked for swimming Bouys keep the boats away. It is only about 10 feet deep at its deepest but is loaded with sea life. It is also sheltered by a reef so there is no current or surf issues.

The beach is a wonderful place to lay out, swim, play in the sand.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Beach also viewed

 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Akumal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.