We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and The Unexpected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach

Akumal Beach
, Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$67*
and up
Turtles, Snorkeling and Cenotes Adventure in...
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Akumal
Activities: Snorkeling
Attraction details
colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beauty and The Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Amazing beach, amazing views and what? Sea turtles, tuna, reef fish and corals right there in the shallows. We saw a sea turtle over three feet and fish of amazing sizes right there snorkeling in the bay. Fisherman brought in Mahi Mahi and divers went out on boats the day we were there....so much to see and do in this area with food and shopping right there. What a Mecca for peace, beauty and entertainment for all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,180
    1,524
    360
    77
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My favorite day trip !!! And its free !!! We had our own snorkles and fins, so we just had to rent lifejackets, but you can expect to pay $5 for each piece of equipment you rent ! Highly reccommend a life jacket. There is an interactive video you can watch which basically tells you not to touch anything, stand on anything and not to hover too long watching stuff so everyone gets a chance to see. Easy to find the turtles or just watch where the groups are and you will find them. You can pay extra and get a guide that will take you around if you are a nervous snorkler but its pretty laid back and an easy swim. Lotz of shops and drinks and eats altho they aren't cheap for sure ! You could pack in your own food/drinks. Beach was long and a beautiful walk. We actually walked one way from Oasis Tulum and then took a cab back ($3/each) to the resort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sea Turtles!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took a taxi here from our resort and snorkelled with the sea turtles for about 2 hours. We brought our own equipment, so we only rented a locker from the dive shop. We just headed out in the water to where the snorkel groups were. Very easy to find turtles. So much fun. We also did a bit of shopping here. Lots of fun art to look at, but shop keepers not interested in bartering. Very worth while stop!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had heard and researched this spot beforehand and were still amazed with the experience. Isn't that the best kind of adventure?
We recommend renting life vests, since it makes the swim easier and that lets you stay in the water longer. Swim around, watch the marine life, look for the submerged cannons and if you can't find anything on your own, go to the groups of snorkelers swimming in one spot; a sure sign they found something.
We saw turtles, rays and squid, plus some reef fish. Not a lot of sealife, but enough to make it worthwhile. And wear sunscreen. Your exposed body parts need it in the tropical sun. Just make sure it is the eco friendly type, for the sake of the creatures you came here to see. It is worth it. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best place to snorkel in Cancun area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Love everything about it from the cool white sand, to snorkeling with the rays and turtles and lots of fish near the reef. 80 degree f water temp and gentle small waves. Great for the whole family.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Beach also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Akumal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.