We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and The Unexpected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach

Akumal Beach
Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #2 of 14 Attractions in Akumal
Type: Beaches, Reefs
Activities: Snorkeling
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beauty and The Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Amazing beach, amazing views and what? Sea turtles, tuna, reef fish and corals right there in the shallows. We saw a sea turtle over three feet and fish of amazing sizes right there snorkeling in the bay. Fisherman brought in Mahi Mahi and divers went out on boats the day we were there....so much to see and do in this area with food and shopping right there. What a Mecca for peace, beauty and entertainment for all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,560
    804
    166
    27
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My favorite day trip !!! And its free !!! We had our own snorkles and fins, so we just had to rent lifejackets, but you can expect to pay $5 for each piece of equipment you rent ! Highly reccommend a life jacket. There is an interactive video you can watch which basically tells you not to touch anything, stand on anything and not to hover too long watching stuff so everyone gets a chance to see. Easy to find the turtles or just watch where the groups are and you will find them. You can pay extra and get a guide that will take you around if you are a nervous snorkler but its pretty laid back and an easy swim. Lotz of shops and drinks and eats altho they aren't cheap for sure ! You could pack in your own food/drinks. Beach was long and a beautiful walk. We actually walked one way from Oasis Tulum and then took a cab back ($3/each) to the resort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sea Turtles!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took a taxi here from our resort and snorkelled with the sea turtles for about 2 hours. We brought our own equipment, so we only rented a locker from the dive shop. We just headed out in the water to where the snorkel groups were. Very easy to find turtles. So much fun. We also did a bit of shopping here. Lots of fun art to look at, but shop keepers not interested in bartering. Very worth while stop!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had heard and researched this spot beforehand and were still amazed with the experience. Isn't that the best kind of adventure?
We recommend renting life vests, since it makes the swim easier and that lets you stay in the water longer. Swim around, watch the marine life, look for the submerged cannons and if you can't find anything on your own, go to the groups of snorkelers swimming in one spot; a sure sign they found something.
We saw turtles, rays and squid, plus some reef fish. Not a lot of sealife, but enough to make it worthwhile. And wear sunscreen. Your exposed body parts need it in the tropical sun. Just make sure it is the eco friendly type, for the sake of the creatures you came here to see. It is worth it. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best place to snorkel in Cancun area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Love everything about it from the cool white sand, to snorkeling with the rays and turtles and lots of fish near the reef. 80 degree f water temp and gentle small waves. Great for the whole family.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Beach also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Akumal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akumal Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.