We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad
Save
You added Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad to your Saves list
Lote 102, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great relaxing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had an awesome 2 weeks in Akumal thanks to Casa Tranquilidad. We stayed in Casita 1 with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen which was perfect for 2 but could have fitted 4. There is a tank of drinking water in the kitchen which is replenished and bicycles for the guests to use free of charge - these were amazingly useful for going to the shops or into town. I also saw the top floor apartment which would have been perfect for a couple. Great views and lots of light. There is also a stunning roof terrace with a view of the sea and jungle. Mary, the owner is lovely and Pablo, the manager is always there to help you out if you need anything. Also it was a bargain compared to rooms in Tulum or Playa del Carmen which only costs 30 pesos to get to on the local colectivo buses. It was the perfect peaceful getaway and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful for a relaxing vacation! Was here with just one other person, but there was definitely space for more. Lovely splash pool in the backyard, AC is available, nice kitchen with containers of drinking water, and water containers by the sink for rinsing your mouth after brushing. This place felt very homey and welcome, and as per its name, tranquil. Que Onda is a great restaurant just up the street, and slightly further walking to get beach access.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked the 2nd floor apartment (Trigger Fish) & were upgraded to the 3rd floor (Yal-Ku) for no extra charge. What a view!!! We could see jungle for miles, Yal-Ku lagoon & Half Moon Bay. The breeze on the 3rd floor was a welcoming treat. The rooftop deck was awesome with comfy lounge chairs & tables. We drank our coffee on the deck every morning & watched the birds. The casita was clean & comfortable ( we wish the bed was softer, tho'). Pablo, the caretaker, was great. He promptly went to the pueblo to purchase a lock for the bikes we rented from Mary. Mary's prices for bike rentals were great. She charged a fraction of what they wanted elsewhere. Mary is a very sweet lady who cares about each guest & treats them like family. We dined at a restaurant she recommended, only to find that she had already paid for our dinner. Her "southern hospitality" really shines. When we return to Akumal & we will, we will rent from Mary. Behind our casita was a cute outdoor sitting area with gorgeous tropical flowers & pretty plants. There was also a hose so we could wash off our snorkel gear & our sandy feet. I'm so glad we chose to stay in Casita Tranquilidad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrasse Vaudreuil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This choice of an apartment away from the beach offering a lovely rooftop garden was just perfect. Steps from Yal Ku lagoon and 5 minute walk to the beach units my sister and her family rented gave us the options we so enjoyed and the chance to compare. If you want the best of both worlds then staying here will give great value at half the cost of beachside!

Room Tip: We chose walking up to unit "Yal Ku" , breezy and spacious but rooftop garden was actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The casita was clean and had great amenties. The kitchen had basic necessities for cooking and it was situated very close to the lagoon for snorkeling. Best of all it was aptly named as it was quiet and peaceful. Mary is warm and friendly and welcomes each guest as family. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent!!!! Mary, Pablo and Nari are the best. We arrived quite late to the property. Mary stayed up worrying about us!!! Everything you need is there! Beach towels, kitchen supplies and comfort. Just provide your food. It is everything I wish my own home would be. We will rent this again! I really want to keep this place a secret, but when something is this good, sometimes we have to share.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This wonderful tropical retreat is amazing. Our first time was great, our second time better. We brought friends with us on this trip and eveyone loved it. Owner, Mary, is wonderful and makes us feel like family. I'm reluctant to write reviews about it because it seems it would be better to allow it to remain a hidden gem. We can't wait to return to this off-the-beaten path paradise that is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist world.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad

Address: Lote 102, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Casa And Casitas Tranquilidad Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.