We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation at Casa Marbella” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental
Save
You added Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental to your Saves list
Calle Belize | Chan Chemuyil, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation at Casa Marbella”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Just returned from our third visit to Chan Chemuyil. We stayed at Casa Marbella this time around. It had everything we needed. We very much enjoyed the private patio and most importantly the pool. The outdoor shower was great for showering off the powder like sand from the beautiful beaches in the area. There is so much to do just a short distance in all directions. Wether you would like to do everything or nothing at all but enjoy the gorgeous sunshine and beautiful scenery you can do it all right there. We already are planning our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
montana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We absolutely enjoyed our time at Chan Chemuyil! The little community was welcoming and quiet, and it was away from the crowded tourist areas. The beach across the hwy is beautiful and has easy access. Walking to the town on Chemuyil is no problem, we did it at night and felt fine. A couple of good restaurants and a grocery with essentials, internet access site.
A couple notes to consider. There is no "community wifi" in the development. Some houses may have a connection, but ours did not, although it was listed on the description. Also, most people who are in the houses are retired folks, so for us we felt super young (30 somethings with a 3 yr old and one on the way). This was not really a negative thing for us, but it was a surprise. A few days after our arrival another family with 2 young ones moved in across the street and that was great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed here for a week with our 2 year old, and fell in love with the community, the access to amazing beaches as well as food and other fun, such as ruins, cenotes, etc. The home was perfect for us with all the amenities we needed and was a wonderful, peaceful respite after a full day of activity! The casa (Casa De Tranquilo) was very clean, tidy and tastefully decorated, and the patio out back is wonderful for morning breakfast of fresh fruit or evening beers. Each day we felt like we were coming “home” to recover for the next day, and the locals all made us feel amazingly welcomed. We were welcomed by “Cowboy” our local host, who took the time to give us a tour of the local hot spots, and was full good advice on how to make the most of our trip. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

We loved the whole set up, it fitted in perfectly with our expectations of what a vacation should be. A deserted beach, a comfortable home and a local town a short walk away where we could pick up some beers and food.

Our kids loved it and by the end they were walking into Chemuyil by themselves to pick up snacks and check out stores.We made friends in town who advised us and helped us out.

My husband and I ate at Oscars and Lalos, located after Hidden worlds on the left. Our host Oscar and Virginia treated us like honey mooners and the food was knock out. We had Virginias , uncles traditional dish of mixed sea food.

We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

What a wonderful little house, quiet and private and so close to so much to do. We had a wonderful stay here and really enjoyed the private patio and dipping pool, loved the nieghborhood and we were amazed at all thier was to do and see a stones throw away.
We are definately going back next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Salem, MA, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Our stay in Chan Chemuyil (Casa de Risa) was exactly what we hoped for--a low-key alternative to the resorts. We had a fantastic vacation with our 8 and 11-year-old children. One of the most beautiful beaches (Xcacel) was a quick walk through the jungle path, the cenotes were gorgeous and plentiful, and the community/surrounding village was warm, welcoming and extremely helpful with suggestions about where to go and what to see. Casa de Risa has a swimming pool which was great for the kids at all hours of the day. We particularly enjoyed La Palapa in the village of Chemuyil. Valentine, the owner, accommodated my vegetarian requests while the rest of the family enjoyed his diverse menu. Without hesitation, we would recommend Chan Chemuyil and we plan to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Casa De La Pas
Michelle was so helpful before we arrived with information of the area, our home in Mexico had everything you needed, very cheerful colors,very clean and tidy and Ormar our contact in the community was always there to help with any questions we had, he arranged a massage for us at our home which was a real treat and reasonable. The beach was beautiful and very few people, boogie boarding and snorkeling. Chemuyil is a lovely little Mexician village with everything you need and Leo's Pizza ( they have a great selection from Pizza, to Seafood and everything inbetween) was delightful. The community of homes is very friendly with a mix of Canadians, US and Mexician citzens and VERY safe. Would not hesitate to go back and recommend this area to my friends

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental

Address: Calle Belize | Chan Chemuyil, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming location at an affordable price. We offer single family vacation rental homes close to all the popular attractions including Akumal, Tulum ruins, Xel-Ha, Hidden Worlds. Homes are walking distance across from Xcacel Beach - the protected turtle nesting sanctuary with great body surfing and snorkeling plus a cenote and bathhouse. "Paradise within reach" that's Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rentals! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Hotel Akumal
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.