We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent a week here and truly enjoyed it. The food was amazing....better than any cruise ship I have been on. We enjoyed visiting and eating at the other resorts....our room was large and lovely and the staff friendly and accommodating...what more could you ask for. The weather was on and off rain but temp was warm so we enjoyed the activities in spite of some rain. Front desk was very cordial and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an; we are glad to hear that you had a memorable stay at our hotel.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us. The comments we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the amazing food, the room facilities and the service of our staff, hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,356
    682
    186
    41
    25
See reviews for
332
2,204
53
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Peaceful, relaxing, lovely vacation.

Food is great on the buffet (breakfast and lunch), a la cartes at SK only, don't bother to try others at sister resorts.

Beach is okay, not great swimming, nothing to look at snorkelling but exclusive section is nice, would be better if there was a washroom for that section. Beach service is nice to have.

Rooms are modern bright and well equipped. The air conditioning worked well. I loved the large windows that opened to let in the evening breeze.

TAO wellness spa is really nice. The yoga classes were good and well attended. Arrive early to get a good spot. The pools are refreshing and it is lovely to swim in the jungle. One day the peace was broken by a loud zumba class. It really goes against the peace and tranquility of the site. Perhaps the loud classes could be held by the activity pool. We did play tennis several mornings and had no problem getting a court.

The open air bar and lobby bar are nice. The open air bar had entertainment that we enjoyed after dinner each night. The drinks and service were always good in both areas.

The pool close to our room was very peaceful. It is not meant for swimming as there are several jetted sections but it was great to lay on the pool beds and read, get a bit of sushi at the sushi bar and get in the pool for a cool down.

All in all it was a great relaxing vacation and we would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Lucille,

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your peaceful, relaxing and lovely vacation.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. As our main goal is our guest’s satisfaction, we are glad you had such a relaxing time and enjoyed your room, the buffet, bars, TAO facilities and pools during your visit to our hotel.

We would be delighted to welcome you in the future if your travel plans lead you back to the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and i stayed here October 12th for 14 days - the weather was hot for 9 days and raining for 5 days but we still had a great time.
The hotel feels like real high end quality from every aspect and anyone booking wont be disappointed.
We booked a superior garden junior suite with the jacuzzi: its worth paying the extra as the jacuzzi is a nice touch and we used this quite a bit. Its relatively private also so you can really relax.
our room was of high quality with a mini kitchen area, table and chairs, a settee a huge bed and a bathroom - very well decorated and fresh and modern. Our room was ground floor and we had no issues with bugs in the room - the doors dont have a gap at the bottom of them now (strips have been added) and this makes a difference.
The food at this place is the best we have had from a buffet, every day something nice and of good quality to chose from - we cancelled all our ala carte bookings as we didn't want to miss our meals from here!
The all-inclusive option here is very good - the alcohol is good quality with branded drinks available, and a lot of choice. each day you would come back and champagne was put out with nibbles at 5pm and on an evening they have a trolley where come round and make alcohol coffees in quite a special way - things like this all add to making this place feel that little bit special.
This place probably isn't for those that like to go away and get drunk every night whilst watching the usual tacky holiday entertainment! If this is your thing i would recommend booking into the other hotels associated with the grand bahia principe (such as Coba/Akumel) as these will suit you more - you may find this place a little too quiet. However for those that are happy to have a low key quality holiday in sheer luxury, with quieter pools and evening entertainment of singers etc (that are pretty good actually) then you will enjoy this place. With this place being adult only this does create a different atmosphere which really adds to the ambience.
i visited the TAO centre which is their gym and does yoga etc: for those that are in touch with their spiritual side or that appreciate things that are beautiful and inspiring then make sure you visit here: the setting is amazing and you need to see it to believe it.
Overall we had a fab holiday and have never been to the same place twice as the world is a big place: i would certainly consider coming back here though.

Room Tip: Superior Garden Suites have a jacuzzi that is well worth paying the extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for choosing us to enjoy your vacations.

We are glad to receive such remarkable comments about our service and facilities. Your nice words definitely inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

It is great to know that you enjoyed the food, beverages, pools, entertainment and the TAO Wellnes Center facilities.It has been our pleasure to be at your service and we hope to welcome you back again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort. Must take shuttle to beach. Rooms only thing lacking - no drawers for unpacking. Friends had problem getting enough hot water for showers. Excellent food and drinks and very friendly staff. Terrific golf course.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Paul,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to receive your comments and very pleased to know that you had a great time at our property, that you have enjoyed the excellent food and drinks, the golf course and the service of our very friendly staff. Your feedback will be shared with our team and will definitely encourage us to improve every day.

It would be our privilege to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My fiancee and I had an excellent experience at this resort. We have previously stayed three times at the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum and wanted to try something different. Before we arrived, I requested dinner reservations over email and also notified the staff we were celebrating our recent engagement. Our room was all decorated on our arrival, with balloon on the door, towel swans and hershey kisses on the bed, and a cold bottle of champagne on the table! It was very nice. We also enjoyed the modern bathroom, with oversize shower. The weather was extremely hot, but the ceiling fans and airconditioning kept us comfortable.

Staff was extremely accommodating and friendly, and on the one day it rained the staff was helpful, handing out games in the lobby. Fuustino Herreru and Glaydy in the buffet are the best! They always greeted us and gave amazing service. The food was excellent, as we've been a few times we knew which restaurants we prefer and which ones to avoid. The Asian buffet night was excellent.

Because this resort is on the golf course/near the jungle, there are more bugs around, but the resort kept everything very clean. The only thing we didn't like was the distance from the beach and the lack of evening shows (though the trolleys came quickly). Everything else about the resort was excellent. We made good use of the cocktail menu in the lobby, as it is different from the other lobby bars, but was disappointed that the menu changed on the last day of our trip! We had forgotten what all our favourite new drinks were called.

I don't golf, but my fiancee went three times and absolutely loved it. He raved about the condition of the course, but he suggests bringing your own clubs as the rental price is steep.

My only two concerns about the Tulum and Akumal resorts is that the Akumal self-serve beer taps are now gone, and while we were there no soft serve ice cream machines were in service! In the grand scheme of things, these are just little concerns - overall we would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Becky,

We appreciate for reviewing your recent visit at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, thank you for the time you have taken to send us your feedback. It was a pleasure to welcome you back at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

It is an honor to read that you had a fantastic vacation and that you and your fiancee enjoyed the room facilities, the food, the golf course, the trolleys service and the amazing service of our staff; be sure we will forward your comments to Faustino and Eglaydy.

We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the evening shows and the changes you found ant Tulum and Akumal. Your comments will be forwarded in order to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at our resort.

Kindest Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carstairs, Alberta, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was a bit nervous about our first time traveling to Mexico but all that left me when we got to Sian Kaan. The staff were very courteous and made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Transportation to the other resorts on the property, the Hacienda as well as the beach was always a short wait and the drivers were always helpful. Since we had a busy schedule with local tours we were very happy to be able to get in to a early buffet before the tour bus showed up. And on our return Jesus was always waiting at the lobby bar with a great smile and a cold drink, I suggest asking him for my favorite chocolate grasshopper (trust me you'll like it). It was always nice to have a drink made by Lucio by the pool just a short walk from our room. We loved how well the grounds were kept, it was like we were in our own garden of Eden.The scenery and the staff of Sian Kaan made this anniversary the most relaxing, peaceful and memorable of the last 15 we have had and I am so glad we made the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed the room and the transportation; we really appreciate you mentioning that our staff were very courteous and made you feel very welcome; it really incentives and encourages them to keep working and improving day by day, we will forward your comments to Jesus, Lucio and the rest of our staff.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

So, I don't normally write reviews on resorts but, I felt that it may be helpful so here goes. We stayed at the Luxury Bahia for 7 nights in October 2013 for our honeymoon. We made sure to book the room through Orbitz so that they could directly notify the hotel that we were celebrating our honeymoon. Apparently, this was the only way to make sure the hotel would celebrate the occasion by offering us an upgrade (if available), we would get a bottle of wine, fresh flowers, and a basket of fruit. We were excited to arrive and thought the room would be ready with the above but, our room was not decorated to this measure. Actually, we were happy to arrive earlier in the day to the hotel as we knew there was much rain expected the whole week. The Monday that we arrived, 10/21/13, was suppose to be one of the nicest days of the week. Therefore, we arrived expecting to pull out our swimsuits and enjoy the weather if our room wasn't ready. We arrived at appx. 2:30 and was told the room would be ready in 45 minutes and to come back. Check in is stated as being available at 3 PM so we went to the buffet and came back after 3 PM ready to get our keys. However, we were told that the room still wasn't ready and to come back in 30 minutes. My husband went back in 30 minutes and it still wasn't ready. We ended up waiting in the hot lobby until 5 PM before we got our room keys. Thus loosing a few hours that we could have enjoyed by a pool if the front desk had been straight forward with us or if the room had been ready.
Like I said before, we didn't have any of the upgrades that I had been told we would have when we did get the room. I had to go down on our anniversary and remind them of the emails and within a few hours we did get a bottle of bubbly, fresh flowers, and chocolate covered strawberries.
We were worried about the rain but, thought there would still be plenty of stuff to do if we were stuck inside. Not the case with this resort ~ there just aren't activities like you would expect and a resort of this status. If you want pool games, etc. you will have to ride the shuttle across the highway to one of the other resorts.
The food was great which is the main reason we chose this resort. However, room service is very limited with their options.
The largest pool was closed down due to maintenance which we had no idea was going to happen.
Oh - and did I forget that one of the two AC units (which was located right next to the bed) dripped on my head during three of the nights we were there. I called after the first night because the water was enough to soak the corner of the bed and was flowing right into an electrical outlet and light fixture. However, this still resumed until I called a few days later and maintenance came to deal with it.
Absolutely nothing to do at this hotel after 10 PM.
Our mini fridge was only fully stocked about 1/2 of the time we were there.
Overall, because of the limited activities available, how far it was from the beach and activities, and the experience we had with checking in ~ we won't be returning. We would rather spend a little more and go back to the Valentine Imperial Maya. Much better, great beach, lots to do, good food, and centralized location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review about you recent stay at the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an resort; we value all the comments we receive, that does not just include the positive but the negative ones as well.

We appreciate that you mentioned that food was great; even our hotel was not up to your expectations. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around.

We apologize for the inconvenience at check in and for the leaking from the air conditioning in the room; we will be giving these matters the proper attention and corrective measures where necessary will be applied so as not to have a reoccurrence of such.

Once again thank you for your time and comments and we wish you can give us another opportunity to offer you a better experience in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.