We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort with a "HEART"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Penetang
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Resort with a "HEART"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This Resort goes far beyond offering Beautiful Architecture,Fine Food,Emerald Fairways ,Sparkling Pools and Lush Gardens.It is a" RESORT FOR PEOPLE BY PEOPLE WHO CARE" .This is why we have been back 6 times in 2 years.The JOY you feel is beyond words,it is TRULY INSPIREING.When we searched for the PERFECT PLACE.The pristine Caribbean offering World Class Temples , Pyramids,Beaches and Weather seemed unbelievable.But the truth is we were Seduced not just by this EDEN but by the Special PEOPLE ... SIAN KAAN and especially TAO CENTRE offer you the OPPERTUNITY to LISTEN and CONNECT with all the Good Things that Inspire us...Thank You One and All...See you soon.

Room Tip: Suchi Pool Area,top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Rod,

First of all we would like to thank you for your loyalty and for staying for the sixth time with us at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, we are glad to read that our resort is for people by people who care.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write some valuable review about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive are a great motivation for us to keep improving our service.

Looking forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,778
    807
    225
    57
    33
See reviews for
377
2,651
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,091)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

my husband and I have never been all inclusive before,but on recommendation of our daughter and her partner,we decided to try it.we were a party of six and had a fantastic time.the weather was very hot!,the hotel its self is superb the food exelent, the service exelent.the cleanliness of the hotel is second to none,the gardens and surrounding areas are exceptional,the staff are exelent nothing is too much trouble,they have good memories too,in the buffet our waiter/waitress always rememberd what we liked and they always had a smile on their face this is the best holiday we have ever had, and I would recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honored that you decided to try all inclusive resorts at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for taking time to write about your experience.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel; it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services, we will share them with our team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I visited Sian Ka’an for the second time Oct 4-18 2013. We really love this hotel.

Some o f the good things have changed. There used to be lobster at the buffet during Gala night before but not this time. Some of the High-end alcohol is now at a cost. Also for such a young hotel, the mattresses are getting old already. The shuttles were not as efficient as the last time we went, we waited longer than before, but still, we manage to get back “Home”.

The service is still the best we have found. Martha at the beach serving lazy vacationers at their chair is still amazing. Her smile and cheerfulness is contagious. We had service from another employee but it was nothing compare to the efficiency of Martha. She was also able to speak to us in a bit of English. She even went to her boss Maria for help when she needed translation for some words; we really appreciate both their efforts.

As for the restaurants, the buffet we always sat with Miriam and Hugo, that is were we got the best service. À la carte, Wilbert, Roque, Wimlhi were superb. These people deal with all kinds of guests and we saw a few incidents where the employees were not treated really well but still they were able to stay professional.

We will surely go back, as this place is what we are looking for when we travel.

Overall a great stay, if you have not been to this hotel before, you will love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and loyalty to the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an resort; we value the time you took to share your impressions, the good but the bad ones as well.

We are sorry that after the second time with us you think that some of the good things have changed, however we are glad to read that the service is stil the best. Thank you for mentioning our staff be sure your comments will be forwarded to all our team, specially to the mention ones.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again at the Riviera Maya,

Sincerely,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My partner and I just returned from a 12 day visit to this hotel and could not have been happier. Having read some of the comments we were a bit dubious, being a couple in their 20's. We travelled through Virgin Holidays and upgraded for a small fee for the Sian Kaan. I would encourage you all to attend. The weather was great, hotel was peaceful with a hint of action and you had access to the other 3 more livilier hotels, should you want.

I cannot praise Leo on the animation team enough. At around 3pm, activites would take place, in the activity pool such as water volley-ball and water polo etc and he would always ralley a crowd. He was high energy all day and works extremely hard. Never struggled to get a lounger even when we woke up at 12pm!

Resort was extremely clean, they were always doing something around the resort. The private Beach was amazing and snokelling a treat. There were fish all around you, which was great. Make sure you get your free hour at least one.

The Al a Carte Restaurants were good, our favourite was the 2 Japenese restaurants. Tequilla the Mexican was O.K, I've had better in London and we did not like Arlequin at all. We went to the Hacidena once for the Avatar show and went to the club also. Although the club did not have AC.

Activities wise, we did Xplor and Coco Bongo's. Xplor was good with the Zip Lines and underground rivers. Coco Bongo's was absolutley fabulous, we were a bit put off with the fact they pick you up at 9:30am and the coach didn't pick you up until 3:30pm. But it flew by, we sat in the VIP area and you only had to ask for 1 drink and they refilled this before you got 3/4's the way through. Brillient Night!!!

All in all a great trip and will definatley be going back!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Lauren,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an staff I would like to thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and that you loved it, will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

We are sorry if Arlequin restaurant and the club’s facilities were not upon your expectations, however, your comments will be forwarded to the management in order to improve our service.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback, hope we can welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I just returned from ten days at Sian Ka'an and we could not have been more satisfied. Although the ride from the airport was a bit long, it was more than worth it. The grounds and the facilities were beautiful and well maintained, the variety and quality of the food and beverages excellent, but the engaging and attentive attitude of the staff is what made our stay exceptional. Every encounter was cheerful and genuinely considerate; the culture of service seems to be well ingrained and self-sustaining. All staff exceeded our expectations but several distinguished themselves by remembering us and our preferences without prompting.

We heartily recommend this fine resort and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Tom,

We are really happy to read that you had an exceptional stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an. Thanks for taking time to write a review about your experience.

We really appreciate your positive comments; it is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

Looking forward to welcome you again, we send our kindest regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Our second visit to Mexico this year, but this time we opted to travel south of Cancun - approx 100km south - a bit of trek especially after a 9+ hour flight...but it's well worth it.! As you travel along the highway of the riviera region you can't but notice the impressive grandiose entrances to the resorts. And they seem to get grander and bigger the further you go...and then you arrive at the Bahia Príncipe Sian Ka'an...if Carlsberg did hotel entrances ..!

As I write this review we still have one night left...the week has flown by..all thanks to the superb, attentive and extremely friendly staff. First hats-off to the Customer Services Training Manager - whoever he/she is - you're doing a wonderful job.!

The Sian Ka'an is the adults only part of the complex, there are 3 other hotels on the site which are designed for families..but they are all a long way from the Sian Ka'an but easily accessible by the excellent transport system of trolley-buses which ferry you from hotel to hotel and restaurant to restaurant..all run very frequently.

If you're a foodie then this is the place for you.. In every restaurant (and we tried 6 of them.!) we had an excellent experience. Ok so it's not Michelin Star quality, but who can eat Michelin Star food every day for a week.? What you do get is excellent quality, variety and service. The Sian Ka'an has 2 top en restaurants - Maiko (Japanese) and Alux (French), sadly for us we could not get a booking for the Alux, but the Maiko was superb. Breakfasts, lunches and even the evening buffet were superb all with enormous variety which was not repeated throughout our stay... They must have some very imaginative chefs behind the scenes.!

We opted to stay in a Junior Suite with a Garden Jacuzzi..needlesstosay we didn't use this once.. So a bit of a waste. Out apartment was in block 16 which was a bit of a walk from the main reception and bar, but to be honest we we're welcome of the walk to-and-from to stretch our legs after yet another fab dinner.!

One tip I would pass on is to book your choice of restaurants well in advance of arriving, that way you can get your preferred choice and a sitting which suits your dining habits.

All-in-all a superb stay and I can confidently say that we will be returning...as soon as possible.!

Thank you all at the Sian Ka'an for making us feel so at home.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Trevor,

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice words after their holiday, that our staff finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that we made you feel so at home, hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I booked this resort after my wife and I had been to GBP Coba about 2 1/2 years ago. I had read how this was such a luxury resort and in some ways it was sadly once you are there for a couple of days you realize....not so much. The penthouse suite with the rooftop Jacuzzi is great and we would have felt better had the door locked but the door lock fell out on the floor and it was never fixed even when they were told about it. I will caution anyone who books the 2nd or 3rd floor you need to be prepared to climb steps. There are NO ELEVATORS! And if you have the penthouse suite you will have yet another flight of steps up to it. We were in building 406 and you could block some of the views of your Jacuzzi if you pick up some extra beach towels (no card just ask for them) .
The site I booked through showed a swim up bar, but there was none. In fact the very large pool was completely closed the entire time we were there. They told us at check in that they were having problems with it and didn't know what it was. Sounded temporary till two days later when they had a tall wire fence all the way around it covered with plastic and you could hear grinders and tile chippers being used. Made me believe this was a major redo of the pool but would rather have heard that from them at check in.
Check in was good with drinks being delivered before we got checked in. The Trainee Kal is the girl to see if you don't speak Spaniish. She is very efficient. We got in around 9AM and had to wait till 2:30 to get our room. The worse part was they had no wristbands and had to chase down the manager to open the drawer up even though they had made up our package. We ended up sitting in the lobby for 30 minutes and Kal was very apologetic but made sure we got them as soon as her boss came back.
The room was nice and kept very clean even though we were very messy (after all we are on vacation). Yes there were a few bugs seen but folks, you are in the middle of the dadgum jungle! What do you expect? One caution about bugs though. If you go up to the lobby area in the evening, do not sit near the vegetation. We have fire ants here at home but whether they were flying or crawling the ones there were on steroids!! Away from the vegetation it was no problem. The girl singer in the evening was awesome and will sing about anything you want and do it well.
The liquor stock was pretty impressive and unlike the other portions of this mega resort you didn't see any well liquor. Heard one guy complain about the beer but didn't drink any. The pool that was open back by the snack bar was very quiet and the second day we were they we spent about 4 hours at that pool. A waiter only came around one time. That evening I did tell a supervisor and the next day we went and they came around about every 20 minutes. Don't be hesitant to speak up because they obviously are listening.
Shuttles- Sometimes hard to find one and if you can't get one in the first few minutes ask one of the drivers to check on when the Sian Kaan shuttle will be by and they will check for you. The buffet was great but make sure you try the sushi! I don't normally get to excited about it but the sushi on the buffet was great. Never had cheese sushi but it was worth extra trips to the bar to get more. Staying at the Sian Kaan is suppose to allow you to eat at as many specialty restaurants as you want. If you don't mind not eating until 10PM you will have no problem. We were able to get reservations prior to 9PM only one evening even though I checked for cancellations each day. Anyway, give the specialties a shot.
We travel in the Caribbean 5-7 times a year and have been to both great and poor resorts and to be frank I would have expected more given the hype. Like my wife said, if they have to put Luxury in the name then are they trying to convince us or them? As a retired couple it was nice to not have any kids present.
Two resorts I would rate higher are Barceló Maya and Riu Palace. Barceló is a little cheaper and Riu Palace is a bit more. I don't think we will be returning to the Bahia complex again. It has everything you could ever want to have at a resort but when your property is measured in square miles what else would you expect?
I'm sure many will disagree but I feel like your money might get spent better some where else. But if you don't mind climbing to the 4th floor to get to the Jacuzzi then give this one a shot.

Room Tip: Ask for building 406/407 they are close to the buffet and the quiet pool and the snack bar. Remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for taking the time to reviewing your recent stay with us, your comments are welcome and value.

Thank you for mentioning the efficiency of Aka, our front desk trainee; Edna, the girl singer; the great buffet and that you enjoy the quiet pool that was open back by the snack bar.

I would like to make a heartfelt apology that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. I will not attempt to excuse the occurrences that happened during your stay, but I want to inform you that the renovation of the pool is in process so that all our guests can continue enjoying our facilities and that we don’t have elevators because we don’t have buildings with many floors, actually they are only 3 floors per building.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you back.

Receive our warmest regards,

Lizeth Arratia
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.