We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Chetumal-Benito Juarez km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Marysville Pa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just returned from a 7 day stay at the Sian Kaan. We have stayed at over 40 all inclusives all over the carribean. Sian has the best food and service of any of the resorts. Special thanks to Brisa, who we emailed prior to our departure about a medical condition my husband has, and the beautiful well located room she chose for us. All the staff are friendly and want you to have a good time.. We dined three times at the Alux restaurant because the food was so good and beautifully presented. We will definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for staying with us and reviewing your recent experience: for the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an was a honor to host you and assist you.

We appreciate you have mentioned the excellent food and the friendly service you received from our staff.

We would be delighted to welcome you again in the future when your travel plans lead you back to the Riviera Maya.

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,168
    605
    159
    28
    22
See reviews for
311
1,994
49
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place we could really rest. We found it!

Comments on tripadvisor are true. Cleanliness, professionalism of staff, buffet impeccable, service cart to the beach almost no waiting. Restaurants in Sian Ka'an are higher than other restaurants (Tulum, Akumal and Coba). I agreed with tiloupmontreal (feb 7, 2013).

Room: We had room 3323. Extremely quiet, what we wanted! five minutes walk from the lobby

Restaurant :I used the restaurant booking service via the email address on their website. Thank you, Brisa for its effectiveness reservation, we had a different restaurant every night of our stay.

The Sian Ka'an is very quiet. The age of the couples ranged from 20 to 70 years. If you want a place to sleep during the day at the pool, go to the sushi bar pool (pool villas 27-36). If you want a little activity, go to the snack bar Cenote (pool villas 24, 25, 26, 14, 12 and 11). If you would like more acitivity and partying, go to the Coba, Tulum and Akulam Hotel. It's great to have access to multiple location. You can choose what ever your mood.

Gym (Tao Wellness): a place to discover! A very small gym, two treadmills, two bikes, one elliptical. Two pools for length, a few yoga classes, zumba, ... The place is worth the trip for your eyes.The only negative point, is the small places for bodybuilding and cardiovascular exercices. In this place, 5 people is a crowd !

The ruins of Tulum: we were two couples, we chose not to take the tour agency or hotel.
For $ 70 USD, it is possible to take a taxi for the day towards the ruins of Tulum. Paco, our driver took us to the ruins, he waited for our return (two hours), to bring us to a lovely restaurant on the beach. We enjoyed the beach and a meal until 16h. Paco waiting to take us back, to our hotel.The cost of entrance to the ruins of Tulum is $ 6 usd per person. The cost of a taxi for a full day (10am to 4pm) is about $ 70 usd. Total cost for 4 people, $ 94 usd plus a tip.It was possible to obtain better price if you leave the hotel and you asked for a taxi near the road.

We paid 1550$ for a week. I would not paid more than 2000$

Room Tip: Room at the Sushi pool are very quiet, day and night. (villa 27 to 36).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to write your review about your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the property, professionalism of our staffstaff, impeccable buffet, the access to our sister hotels, the Tao wellness center and visiting the area. It was my pleasure to assist you, we hope this was not the last time you visit us.

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sian Ka'an is one of four properties in the complex, and the only one located across the highway from the other three and the beach area. Trams run frequently all day, and while as other have mentioned the wait is never very long, by the last few days they do become bothersome as they are really the only way to access the beach areas and the majority of the restaurants at the 3 other hotels. The setting is beautiful, and the staff very efficient and courtious. We stayed for a week in late December and orginally booked a mid-priced room however upon check-in we found the room a little cramped and inquired to upgrade to the penthouse suite which has a private roof patio with a jacuzzi tub. The extra cost is truly worthwhile and vastly improved our vacation.

Guests of Sian Ka'an have exclusive access to a very nice section of the beach with comfortable lounges and palapas. You will receive great service from the beach bar, and the waitresses will come to you with your drink orders, an even bring glasses of ice water (completely safe to drink) or fruit kabobs when the come by ... be sure to tip your waitresses as they truly provide fantastic, friendly, unobtrusive service

Room Tip: Please consider the penthouse room with a jacuzzi on the roof ! the rooms are more spacious, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your great experience during your first visit at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya. We are glad to receive your nice comments about our service and facilities, your review could be very helpful for our future guests.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at our resort.

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place is far from perfect..and far from the 5 stars it would like to be...but of all of the resorts I've stayed at in Mexico, this was the best. Probably because it was the newest...hence clean and in good repair. Food was above average for an AI on the whole...nothing spectacular. Drinks are the typical watered down AI fare (we only got a buzz when we ordered a drink at a beach bar off the property).
We had several issues with towels, construction noise, etc...usual petty hotel annoyances.
The grounds are well kept and beautiful.
They have raised their rates...not sure why? For the money I would stay at one of their other properties.
Great advantage to be able to use the restaurants at the other three hotels...but again...I think you can do that if you're at the other hotels too.
Definitely take the time to get yourself to the beaches near Tulum...the most beautiful in Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Resort.

We are glad that you liked the cleanliness, good repair and well kept grounds of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the food and that you experienced some issues during your stay.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future.

Receive our warmest regards,

Brisa Islas Reyes
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We chose the Bahia Principe for it's reputation in the Caribbean and specifically the Sian Ka'an for the fantastic reviews on all the travel websites, it was new, modern, clean, and still very reasonably priced.
We arrived to a margarita welcome drink and a warm friendly reception from Angelina at the front desk, quickly checked in and were taken by porter to our room. Our request of a quiet room on a higher level was fulfilled, we opened the door to a spotless, well appointed room with modern amenities and a cool working air conditioner. Daily we enjoyed the rainfall shower head and easy to use safe for our money and travel documents. The room was a comfortable temperature had a king sized bed and flat screen TV with some English speaking channels including CNN and NBC and excellent WIFI access.
Most of our time was spent at the peaceful pool by the "Sushi Bar" it was steps from our room, was well shaded for two fair-skinned red heads, and had the most amazing white leatherette beds - total luxury. We never felt we were fighting to find a spot to lay our heads, there were always warm, dry towels available and we got to know Lucio our pool bartender who made us our very yummy morning ( non-alcoholic ) Sabroso's.
We also checked out the more active pool by the snack bar on the other side of the resort, great for people looking for music and festivities. Daily we found our way to either the lobby or snack bar around noon to enjoy the peppy mariachi band.
Buffet breakfasts were fantastic with a create your own omelette station and champagne mimosa's. Each morning we were greeted by the cute and bubbly hostess with a friendly "Hola, Buenos Dias" We enjoyed all of our meals in the Buffet, appreciated the variety and presentation of international nights and ate far too much guacamole..
Trips back and forth to the other three Principe properties and Hacienda Del Sol went very smoothly, trams were well identified, always available and surprisingly comfortable. We checked out a couple of shows, the market shops and some wildlife (iguanas and Tejons) but still found the chill vibe and uncomplicated size and layout of the Sian Ka'an to be our favorite location.
In closing...We couldn't have asked for a better holiday we loved the resort, the food and the people. The staff at the Sian ka'an are friendly, hardworking and professional. A big thank you to Brisa Islas and the public relations team for setting a high standard and to the managers of all the departments for the quality of service achieved.
When these two Canadians are looking to book their next "Hot and Sunny" vacation we won't have to look far, we will be looking to say Hola to our friends at the Bahia Principe Sian Ka`an

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us, we appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your great comments as they are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

The entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Team is very glad to know that you had a great experience during your stay, especially that you enjoyed the quickly check in, your quiet room, the fantastic food, the smoothly tram service and the service of our staff; be sure we will pass your nice words to our staff especially for the mentioned ones.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best regards from your friends from Sunny Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our second time at the Sian Ka'an - a very relaxing 14 day stay!
Best aspects:
1) Staff - from the time we got there to the early morning we left - there is a genuiness to the friendly smiles and service - warm and inviting - no snobs here. Management and front desk all speak english and are easy to deal with. Special thanks to Claudia, Vanessa, Juan.
2) Food - excellent quality and variety in buffet. Loved the seafood, fish, sushi & cheese! Ala cartes - excellent as well. Good service - thanks for the Baileys, Ramon.
3) Drinks - appreciated the top shelf selection. Carlos - very consistent! Jesus at pool bar - Havana Club por favor?
4) Room - best sleep ever on vacation - may depend where your room is but ours was quiet and comfortable - mattress was how we like it - used the jacuzzi every day.
5) Golf - whether playing or just practicing at the driving range - hubby went almost everyday and loved every minute!
6) Adults only - atmosphere was quiet & relaxing but not comatose, good balance - thank you Eduardo and Alexandro for inviting but not insisting - how did you get us to play Bingo and beach bowling?
7) Beach service - premium liquor service - couldn't ask for better. Laydi - well done!
8) Beach towels - this may seem trivial but no towel card - need a towel or two? just grab a towel or two - no fuss!

Areas for improvement:
These are not major problems - just little things that would increase enjoyment of this property:
1) Private Sian Ka'an beach area - very crowded - palapas and chairs are really crammed in close together... making it difficult for non-smokers to get out of the way.
2) Mosquito screens in windows - nights were cool enough that we would have enjoyed just having the windows open. As well it's nice to to hear all the birds in the morning.
3) Shuttle to the beach - not always direct - sometimes would take a good 15-20 minutes going to Coba lobby then winding through Tulum lobby picking up and dropping others off - gets frustrating if you forget something in your room - or want to head back for lunch. They may already have one going & coming back directly but in 2 weeks I couldn't figure out which one...

Overall excellent vacation - will gradly recommend and return!!

Room Tip: TIP: Your room windows and doors must be locked for air conditioning to work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us for second time to spend your holidays.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the excellent quality of food, the premium drinks and the great service of our staff, especially for mentioning Claudia, Vanessa, Juan, Ramon, Leydi, Eduardo, Alex and Jesus.

It will be wonderful to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montréal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just got back for 7 days to Sian Ka'an.

First of all I think it is important to mention we have visited many all inclusive in Riviera Maya in the past years so it's not our first experience in an all inclusive in the area. We have already visited Valentin Imperial, Now Sapphire, Royal Playa del Carmen witch were all real 5 stars. First timer can have a different opinion because they have no comparison.

The Sian Ka'an is a perfect place to stay only if you pay a fare price (from Montreal, we have paid less than 1500$ for 7 days). Considering the same 7 days in the resorts we had already visited were over 2000$ for the same week, the Sian Ka'an is perfect but not a 5 star resorts.


1) Everything was immaculate. Very clean resort in all points (rooms, common areas, restrooms)


2) the trams were very efficient. We never had to wait for more than 5 minutes. But, some trams should go direct from the Siam Ka'an lobby to the beach and vice versa instead of going to the Coba Lobby in between. Express shuttle would be perfect.


3) Buffet at Sian Ka'an: the food was very good, quality of ingredients was perfect and presentation were nice. Ramon was the best waiter we have meet during our entire vacations.


4) Alux and Maiko: service was uneven And food was average too. On our first night, i received overcooked small langusta (prawns) and after i had chosen the chocolate cake the waiter came back to me saying he could not serve me the cake because if was overcooked. We were not impress by the waiter's service neither by the chef's talent. It was just ok, nothing more than that. We got back to Alux on our last night. Food and service were much better. But in my opinion, service and food should always be the same no mater the day you visit a restaurant.


4) wine: the wine served at the buffet and both restaurants at Sian Ka'an was ok (drinkable). But the wine served in the other restaurants (Tulum, Coba, Alumal) was horrible.


5) service bar: at the beach bar. Had to wait 15 to 20 minutes at the bar to be serve. There is a lack in the efficiency of the workers. And the service direct on the beach: waitresses could not remember who had order which drink, she was looking all around. I received 4 times the wrong drink but I took them anyway since we were waiting for so long. The service-bar at the beach could be easily improve by putting numbers on the palapas so waitresses could know who had order which drink. And add one employee to help preparing the orders at the beach bar. An other problem: on our first day we had order Absolut Mandrin with soda. For the rest of our stay, we were told they ran out of Absolut Mandrin. We have never experience such a situation in any of the other resorts we have visited in Riviera Maya. We had visited Royal Playa Del Carmen, Valentin Imperial, Now Sapphire and Moon Palace

6) the room: very spacious and clean. The rooftop terrace was so nice and we had such a nice view. The only negative point was the 7 minutes we had to wait every morning to get hot water in the shower. The upgrade for the penthouse room with jaccuzi on the roof is a must.

7) I had contacted Claudia in advance and she had taken care of all of our reservation for the restaurant. We we arrived at the hotel, she gave us the coupon for the a la carte restaurant. Claudia was very helpfull.


Overall, I would rate the Sian Ka'an a 4.5 star if I compare to the other resorts we have visited and based on the inconstancy in the quality of service we have received. I also took into consideration the price we had paid to stay at Sian Ka'an. I would not pay more for what we got at the price we had paid. For the same price, I definitely would go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your recent vacation at the Riviera Maya.

The Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an resort really apreciate the time you have taken to write your feedback about your stay with us and for mentioning all the good points you experienced, as the cleanliness, efficient tram service, very good food and the good service of Ramon and Claudia.

We apologize for the areas where we did not met your expectations, we already forwarded your feedback to the in charges of each department involved to make sure we improve them.

Once again thak you for your valuables comments and suggestions, hoping we will have another opportunity to host you here.

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection

Address: Ctra Chetumal-Benito Juarez km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.