We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Chetumal-Benito Juarez km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Akumal
Mississauga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing service, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went December 21 - 28, 2012. This is the third time we went to a Bahia Principe (Punta Cana for our wedding, Mexico (Coba section) and Sian Ka'an. This is by far the best in service and cleanliness. Being only a year old, the rooms and buildings are very modern and luxurious
Food:
Food was great, unlimited A la Cart meals are included, and there are so many to choose from, we did the Japanese one in the Sian Ka'an lobby, it was by far the best one there. I've also noticed that the other a la cart restaurants' service lacks, either that, or we just got really spoiled in Sian Ka'an.
Christmas-Eve dinner was just amazing, it was held in the buffets, and the service was above 5 stars. They even had a turkey, grilled lobster, and other lobster dishes, and about 5 tables of desserts.
Room:
Room service, pillow service and scent service are all included, we ordered the scent service (mint) and it was very refreshing when we got to the room, and lasted for a few days, highly recommended. Pillow service isn't that spectacular.
Pool/Beach
Pool section was very relaxing, they
played a mix of Smooth Jazz that does covers of other pop bands, I forgot to ask what the band or CD was, so if anyone goes, PLEASE find out and post it here, I really want to buy it.
Beach, we have a reserved section which was kind of rocky, except for one section, which is on the boarder of our reserved beach and the general section. I saw a few big fishes swimming around in there.
Overall Service:
Everyone goes out of their way to make you happy, everything… garden, restaurants and rooms, are always prestige, there was never a time where something was out of place, they are constantly working to ensure that.
Uncontrollable:
It was really windy. Under the sun, it felt nice, I was sweating while laying down, but if you’re in the shade, you would be shivering (might have been my cold).
Being windy, it made the waves in the beach pretty big, and unfortunately I wasn’t able to enjoy the water too much other than the pool.
A golfing friend just came back from there and told me it was the hardest course they’ve ever played in, didn’t get the full details, but seems fun.
I will defiantly go again, we paid $1700 each person, well worth it, no kids = no screaming = relaxation

Room Tip: Hot water in the shower is the opposite direction of what you would think ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays. It is a real honor to hear that this was your third time visit to one of our Hotels and that you had a wonderful vacation.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about your stay with us at the Riviera Maya. Our philosophy is focused on our guests’ satisfaction and your perception is very important to maintain the quality and good service at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an. We are very happy to read that you had a great Christmas celebration, in which you enjoyed the great food, unlimited a la cart meals, pools, beach, room and the excellent service.

It has been our pleasure to be at your service and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,672
    486
    134
    22
    14
See reviews for
260
1552
41
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I are on day seven of our ten day stay at the Sian Ka'an. We are beach lovers but decided to try this resort (which is not on the beach but across the highway) since we brought our golf clubs and thought we would have better access to the beautiful golf course located right next to Sian Ka'an. The first few days we thought we had made a huge mistake but we have become happier with our choice, due to the efficient shuttle service and the fabulous food, drinks, and service at the buffet and lounge at Sian Ka'an. The private beach area is great (no towel cards needed), and we have access to any other restaurant and lounge in the complex (guests staying at Tulum, Akumal and Coba, however, do not have access to Sian Ka'an). The pool areas at Sian Ka'an are not that impressive and many spots are in the shade, so we always went to either the beach club for Sian Ka'an or the pools at Akumal or Tulum. After trying some of the other restaurants, we realized we have the best choice in the always elegant buffet at Sian Ka'an - cloth napkins, beautiful cutlery, wonderful service, amazing food and flowing champagne. The lounge servers are extremely attentive and efficient - gracias Adriana, Lorena, Leticia and Ana! We did not find the food at the specialty restaurants that impressive - the Alux was disappointing, since it is supposed to be the best in the whole resort. My steak was mediocre and my husband's sea bass was fishy. The manager was apologetic, saying his this was not from his regular supplier. The Japanese restaurant (Maiko) was nice, but it is not necessarily Japanese fare but Asian in general. The Don Pablo restaurant at the Tulum was really busy (we had to wait about half an hour to get in) and our food was just ok.
We have golfed three times so far and each time have been thrilled and humbled at the same time.....do not expect to golf anywhere near your handicap....it is a difficult track to say the least! It is fairly easy to make a tee time - be prepared to wait on the phone for several minutes before the pro shop picks up. Trying to book through the Public Relations desk is the same procedure - they also have to wait for the one person in the pro shop to have time to answer the call. Staying at Sian Ka'an allows us to golf every day if we want and we can get drinks from the bar (two each at a time) but the beverage cart only provides water and chips or peanuts, and you have to purchase any alcohol ( even though we are all inclusive!) We would grab beers before we left and get more after nine holes. You can go in for drinks after your round but have to pay for any food.....again, this does not make a lot of sense.
We took an awesome day trip to the beach at the town of Tulum - we hopped the trolley to the highway, where we got into a collectivo, which cost 30 pesos each to get to Tulum. They try to grab you when you get there and sell you tours for the ruins, snorkelling and a beach chair for 350 pesos, but we bypassed this and walked to the beach on our own. We found a gorgeous spot to sit in front of El Paraiso Beach Club and paid 50 pesos each for a lounge chair for as long as we wanted it. We found out that for 200 pesos each we could go on a panga boat which would take us to see the ruins from the water, then go snorkeling off a reef for one hour and 20 minutes (there is no real snorkeling right off the beach, like you can do at the town of Akumal). This beach was one of the nicest we have ever been on and we highly recommend this location - the beach is easy to walk on, with hard packed sand and that blue-green Caribbean surf that you see in posters.

Room Tip: We were moved to a room closest to the lobby and liked the proximity. Our first room, which smelled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mrs. Sally,

Thank you for your trusting in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an to spend your ten day vacation. We really appreciate that your experience has been happy in which you have experienced and enjoyed the fabulous food, drinks, shuttle service, pools, amenities of our sister resorts and good service of our staff, especially for mentioning Adriana, Lorena, Leticia and Ana; we will immediately forward your post to the correspondent managers for their well-deserved recognition.

Also thank you for bringing to our attention the points we can improve, you can be sure that they will be reviewed with the different departments and we will take an appropriate action for every situation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope we can meet you in person before your departure,

Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I recently returned from being a guest Zumba Instructor across the street at GBP Tulum but I stayed here at Sian Kaan. It is a beautiful resort, modern contemporary rooms, great food and drink as well as golf, which I did not try. I just found it to be very quiet for my taste. Personally, I love to people-watch at a lively pool area! This is not really the place to do that. Also note, this property is NOT directly on the beach. There are shuttles that take you across the street to the beach and I found the travel back and forth to be tedious. It was not a reasonable distance to walk frequently, although I did it a couple of times. I have also stayed at all three Gran Bahia Principe sister resorts across the street on the beach side and prefer them to Sian Kaan. So, it is really just a matter of taste. Fabulous accomodations if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation or looking for a golf vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for being part of the staff during your stay.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write some valuable comments about your stay at our hotel. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and will be taken into great consideration.

Kind regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were at this resort in June 2012 and I have been meaning to provide a review, so here it is.
It is a great place to vacation without the crowds and an excellent golf course. I went golfing twice during our vacation and played 18 holes in about 2 1/2 hours. The weather was great, the food was excellent with no shortage of choices and the staff very accommodating. The nice perk with this resort was we could use all the amenities of the other Bahia Principe resorts which were a short shuttle ride away. The rooms were above average. We had no complaints and would definitely return at some future date.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the review regarding your excellent experience at our hotel in June 2012.

For us it is very rewarding to read that you had a great vacation in which you enjoyed the Golf course, the excellent food and the amenities of the other Bahia Principe resorts.

It will be wonderful to welcome you again and give you the good service you already know.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surgeon_1983
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal on this trip through Travel Cuts/Nolitours. At approx $1000 pp for an all inclusive/flights turned out really well.

Buffet has great food, the restaurants are a little too much pomp and circumstance for us, but the food is good. There's always space by the pools. Lots of choice in excursions and activities. Started raining today, but still things to do, like going in to playa del Carmen, the ruins, driving range, spa, etc.

The average age here is probably 50+, however it is nice, clean, and quiet. When we want to go to somewhere more lively we only have to jump on the tram and go to the coba, or tulum.

The collectivo into town is an easy and cheap way to get around. Don't be intimidated, it is just transit for the masses!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review about how is your stay at our hotel going and for mentioning the great food and the pools. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can help you with.

Sending you kind regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from the Sian Ka an last night.Stayed here from Jan.15-22 It was without a doubt the most relaxing and pleasant trip we have been on. First off let me start with arrival. Being we have been to Mexico many times it helps to stay away from the timeshare people. Only doing a job but..... We used USA Tansfer to go to the hotel. Very professional and friendly. On arrival which was before the bus Claudia was waiting for us at the reception desk for a very quick check-in. Let tell you I cannot say enough about this woman. It began ahead of our actual arrival with the setting up of our a la carte resevations and the choosing of our room. She had the bottle of champagne I requested delivered to the room and set up an extra a la carte that we decided to do while there. This woman is a true professional and a HUGE asset to the resort.
The room was beautiful and very quite. We stayed in room 41603 with a jacuzzi located out off the patio. Very private being in the back corner of the complex. The room was kept very clean and done early with a nice towel animal to greet us each day. Cleaning staff works very had an deserves every tip they get.
The buffet is by far the best we have seen. Everything is kept so clean and well presented.It was a joy to go there each morning and have our breakfast. We were always greeted by a smile and an ola at the door. All the staff were great but we would like to mention a few people inparticular. Demietrio was our waiter and along with his helper Jose they made our breakfast fun and very enjoyable. Mamossa and orange juice was waiting for us and very friendly conversation was the norm. I would also like to mention Aurora who cooked my morning omelette to perfection. She also has a smile that would light up anyones day!
The pool area was always nice and quiet and had lots of chairs available. A special thankyou to Eduardo who kept us entertained with the games. He was a delight and a great person to chat with. Also to Jesus who made the best Margarita's and Caipirinhas.
The A la cartes were very nice. Nice people and great service. Food was exceptional. We tried the Alux, Miako. We also ate at the Italian one on the other resort. It was ok but not of Sian Ka an quality.
My wife did zumba while we were there and she wants to give a thankyou to Rene who was great.
The tram was always quick and wait time was very short.
We did not play golf but I walk some of the course and it was beautiful. Talked to some of the people that did play and they enjoyed it very much. Also said it was quite challenging.
We honestly didnt go off the resort much. There was no need to. The few times we went walking around the other resorts they seemed nice but the whole area is HUGE!!
The beach was fine and it was nice to have our own section with drink service.
We did go to the hacienda a couple of times to shop and watch the hockey game.It was a nice little spot to go. We went to the Corona bar which was a good place to have a drink and meet new people.It was an extra cost but well worth it. The only downer was the sports bar. For a complex of this size something has to be done with this area.
Overall one of the nicest stays in Mexico we have had. We will be back again and again. Thankyou all for making our vacation a very memorable one. Randy and Kathy

Room Tip: Building 16 was very quiet and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about your stay with us at the Riviera Maya.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay starting with your check in, following with the room, pools, buffet, a la carte restaurants, tram service, beach and the great staff like the ones you mentioned: Aurora, Demetrio, Claudia, Eduardo, José, Jesus y Rene, we will forward your comments to them. We hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards from the Mexican Paradise,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just had one of the most wonderful vacation in our life. John Jairo, the manager of food and beverage, was just superb. Ana and the whole crew, in the privilege club were amazing. Angelito in the Bar the best. Oscar and his FAMOUS oscaritas, for margaritas. Ricardo in the MAico Restaurant great. Demetrio in the buffet splendic.
This is the Barrios Family from Denver Colorado, Harold and Tania. If you have the time to go there, please do not hesitate to go. It really is a wonderful resort. Please take your Golf Clubs, the golf course is fantastic.

Room Tip: Building 19 was really good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Family Barrios,

Thank you for staying in the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and taking the time to write your positive impressions.

On behalf of our entire staff it was a pleasure, and we value the opportunity to serve you. We will pass your comments to our staff, especially John Jairo, Ana, Ricardo, Demetrio and Oscar. We also are very pleased that you enjoyed the buffet and the Golf Course.

It would be our pleasure to host you at the Riviera Maya for your next vacation,

Best Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection

Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico
Address: Ctra Chetumal-Benito Juarez km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.