We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Sales
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 10 days arriving 1st Dec. Lovely reception area, good check-in with welcome drink, had emailed my a la carte meals choices for each night and the receipts for this were passed to me while checking in. Taken to room by driver in one of the buggies. Nice room, bit minimal - would like to see a full length mirror and also a chest of drawers for your clothes not enough with just the shelves in the wardrobe, felt I had my things just lying about. Room cleaned daily and fresh towels each day.

We were beside the quiet pool which was lovely, but if you were an early bird no pool towels were available at the sushi bar to use as this did not open until 10am, sometimes if the security man saw you he would bring you a couple, ended up taking a couple of fresh towels at the end of day ready for the next. Got very warm at the pool as no breeze and had to spent most of the time in the pool.

Got used to taking the buggies to the beach, had to be down there fairly early to get a bed as got quite busy, the girls were great serving you your cocktails and appreciated the tips for the service. Would like to see Sian Ka'an having their own snack bar down here went to Tulums one day and was not impressed at all. Ended up spending the morning at the beach and heading back up to Sian Ka'an for the buffet lunch.

The food at Sian Ka'an was exceptional, something for everyone and plenty of choice each day for breakfast and lunch. The waiters/waitresses were good at keeping you supplied with water/wine etc. We had booked a variety of different a la carte restaurants in various places, favourite was Maiko Japanese beside us went on our first night and ended up making another reservation for the following week. Most disappointing was the Portifno Italian in Coba, when we went there got the buggy to Coba and got off at the reception, big mistake this restaurant is at the other end of reception quite a distance away and had to end up asking another driver to take us there, so if taking a buggy to another hotel always say the restaurant you have a booking with and they will take you straight there. Please note for the men long trousers are required only in certain restaurants, so check this out as my husband went to a couple of the restaurants at the other sections with long trousers on and people had shorts on and also one of the restaurants only in Sian Ka'an were particular about this rule, so is not consitent throughout.

We travelled with another couple so didn't bother too much about the entertainment, when we returned from our a la carte meal were happy to sit at the lobby bar for a couple of drinks before the bar shut at 11pm. This was not a problem for us as we were up early in the morining to head to the beach as the sun was up early. We did have a problem a couple of times at the lobby bar with them running out of drinks which were on their menu, it did take a few days of asking and then speaking to a manager, who then made sure the drink I preferred to have was available.

We were also able to keep our room on for a couple of hours past the check out time, which was good.

I think anyone visiting this hotel would have a great time and if I ever returned it would be to the Sian Ka'an definitely.

Room Tip: Beside the quiet room as if near the lobby can be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments regarding your recent vacation at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that we met your expectations during you stay and that you enjoyed the food, the excellent service at the bar, the good check-in, the cleanliness of the room and the pools. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,772
    806
    225
    57
    33
See reviews for
375
2,646
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,089)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arrived Dec 22 for one week. We thoroughly enjoyed the amenities and restaurants at Sian Ka'an and the fact that it is "adults only". The setting is lovely and suprisingly well treed and natural looking, with delightful stamped concrete paths winding around the resort, circling the pools, the Alux gourmet restaurant and the snack bar/restaurant/bar areas. There are colourful birds, little geckos and perhaps the odd bug but not at all troublesome.
Rooms: Stayed in a "penthouse" (40924) with jacuzzi. This was lovely and our "villa" (#9) was tucked back from the main walkway. The view from our room was mainly treetops and other buildings, but none-the-less, sunsets were lovely and it provided a quiet romantic get away (provided you hang a couple of beach towels over the wooden slatted divider separating you from your one neighbour). The room consists of a living area complete with kitchenette and table, bedroom area with adjoining bathroom (not large but quality fixtures and well appointed), and a stairway leading up to the terrace, complete with 2 lounge chairs, a small table with 2 chairs and a jacuzzi (a large two person jacuzzi-style tub - which you fill as needed). A great place to catch the last rays of sun and a cocktail!
Food: The buffet at Sian Ka'an was excellent (breakfast, lunch and dinner) as was our dinner at Alux (gourmet) and Maiko (Japanese). We were somewhat disappointed with the restaurants at the sister hotels (Coba,Tulum) and would advise people enjoy the meals (and adult only ambience) at Sian Ka'an as it is higher quality and has a more intimate atmosphere across the board (you can always head over to the others for the beaches, entertainment or a drink after dinner). As someone working in the field of public health I think comments made about "food poisoning" are somewhat unfair as they do not have an epidemiological basis - people making assumptions. I too was sick for just over 24 hours (not much fun when on vacation - that is for sure!) but then so were a number of my colleagues back in Ottawa (probably a gastro rather than "food poisoning"). Hand sanitizer is available at the restaurant entrances but not well used by guests. Perhaps this should be more visible and available in additional locations closer to the buffet and tables.The snack bar restaurant near the pool was just that, a snack bar with a number of choices (pizza, burgers, other quick meals, etc).
The beach: We knew when choosing this resort that a trolley trip would be necessary to get to the beach - however this did become tedious with the novelty wearing off in the first two days. Although Sian Ka'an guests do enjoy their own beach area with nicer lounge chairs it could be crowded and noisy. The beach is also rocky and quite sloped making walking a bit difficult. We have been to many Caribbean islands and other beach destinations and found this beach to be below expectations.
Pools: Although the pools at Sian Ka'an are smaller than the other 3 resorts they each cater to their own crowd. One pool (next to the Alux) was the designated "quiet pool" and was where we ended up spending most of our day. Plenty of shade for those who want it and sun for those who prefer. The larger pool off the snack bar area could get a bit loud at times but catered to the crowd who prefer more socializing and activities. They seemed to be having a good time. The "sushi bar" pool was a very quiet area with big lounge beds for two but almost completely shaded (a bit too much so in my opinion).
Public places and grounds: All of the washrooms were nicely appointed and always extremely clean. The grounds were well maintained, very tropical and lovely. The WiFi service was hit and miss so if you require reliable internet while on vacation keep this in mind (they do not have an internet cafe).
The staff & service: Very friendly and eager to please. The only waitng seemed to be in the lobby bar and the quiet pool (we sometimes felt forgotten). Our room was clean (including crisp white linens and fluffy white towels) and the fridge stocked daily (a tip and a personal thank-you note goes a long way). One disappointment with the service was on our arrival. Because we arrived close to midnight our greeting was quite low key. The reception staff in the lobby had us sign in, handed us our key and a resort map and pointed us in the general direction of our room. We set off pulling our bags and searched for our room in the semi-darkness. We found it and of course once we saw the room were delighted. One suggestion for guests that arrive late from a long trip would be to offer them a drink, perhaps an escort to the room, or at the very least a couple of clues as to how to find it (i.e room 40924 means you are looking for villa #9 and 24 is on the top floor). Once you figure this out the room is easy to find!
Fitness: A trolly ride (or jog / long walk) is required to get to Tao Wellness Center which is situated on lovely natural grounds within the residential area. It is a wonderful facility with a nice selection of equipment and a lap pool. A delightfully serene place to workout.
Golf: Because I was ill the day we planned to golf my husband went on his own. I was told I could accompany him on the cart to keep him company and take pictures but found out afterwards that I was in fact charged $50 US to do so. With the cart rental, club rental and my $50 charge it certainly wasn't an inexpensive outing. Keep this in mind if you are tempted by the "free golf". That said it is a beautiful course and if you love to golf and bring your clubs, the cart fee is well worth it.
General comments: Would we go back?.....We are not sure. The resort was lovely, the food great but for us it seemed to lack the exotic feel we look for on a southern vacation. We can't quite pinpoint why - perhaps because it is not on the water or the fact that it is part of a larger residential golf course community. We certainly would highly recommend Sian Ka'an for a couple wanting to get away from it all, while seeking all of the amenities and services possible. It is a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an, we appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the amenities, the restaurants, the “adults only” concept the great food, your Penthouse suite, the Tao wellness center, the Golf course and the service of our staff.

Receive our sincerest apologizes for have not been exceed your expectative during your stay, in regards the a la carte restaurants in the sister hotels, our beach, the Wi-Fi and the check-in. Be sure that will be reviewed with the departments involved and we will take appropriate action for the details you have mentioned.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed at the GBP several times. We have always stayed at Coba and Ackumel. This is the first time we stayed at Sian Ka'an. We toured Sian Ka'an earlier in 2012 when we stayed at Coba. We chose this resort because of the time of year, Christmas, the 18+ age restriction and the two story penthouse suite.

We arrived around midnight on the evening/morning of Dec 23rd/24th. When we arrived the front counter staff handed us our package and pointed out the location of our room. He asked us if this was our first visit and we informed him that we were repeat guests. At other resorts we were given special coloured bracelets and other perks. He did not seem to care. I asked if we were good to go and he nodded, there was no offer of help. Dragging luggage around in the dark trying to find our room was not a good first impression of a supposed 5+ star resort.

Positive Notes:

The food at the buffet was superior to the other resorts. Plentiful and tasty.
QUIET!! We used this as a relaxing/recharging holiday and we achieved it.
Very fast with having issues settled. At Coba and Ackumel it sometimes took several days before issues were resolved.
Lobby bar and staff were the best at this resort.
The Japanese restaurant was fantastic. Possible the best food at all four resorts. More of an Asian Fusion style than strictly a Japanese cuisine.
NO Time share people anymore!

Negative Notes: (too many)

Housekeeping staff was inconsistent. We had the do not disturb sign out and they still knocked and wanted in. We told her that we would be 30 minutes. When we arrived back at the room at 6:00 pm the room hadn't been touched. I went down and complained and was offered apologies and platitudes. The room was given a very quick and basic cleaning. On another day the Manger saw us in the lobby and informed us that housekeeping was at the room at 11:00 and we had the Do Not Disturb sign out. I informed her that we left the room at 11:30 and she said that was why the room hadn't been cleaned yet that day. (this was at 4:00). We felt that she tried to make it our fault that we weren't out of the room when Housekeeping was ready to clean and that was why the room wasn't clean. One day we didn't receive facecloths or hand towels, luckily the Manager called to see if the room was cleaned and we informed her of the issue. Items appeared right away.

There didn't seem to be enough wait staff and what was there didn't seem to care. Our last morning we went down for breakfast and we weren't served at all. It was over 15 minutes before I had to stand up and wave over a server to get water and coffee. They walked past us several times but ignored us. You shouldn't have to stand up in a 5 star resort restaurant and wave over the server. The pool bartender actually walked away from us when we sat down and disappeared. We waited 5 minutes and when he didn't reappear we walked away. We started leaving Sian Ka'an and going to the other resorts to get service and drinks.

The black out curtains in the room aren't!! Very bright in the room at 0630.

GBP Sian Ka'an is labeled as a Don Pablo Collection resort and you do pay for that label. We felt that the service certainly did not warrant the name or extra cost. If you want good service from staff who seem to want to be there and help you have a good time then go to one of the other GBP resorts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Brent,

Thank you for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an for the first time and for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel resort. Your feedback is very welcome and valued. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are very concerned to read about your disappointing. On behalf of our management I would like to make a heartfelt apology that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior.

That certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that Gran Bahía Principe Hotels & Resorts have exhibited for many years, we have reviewed your comments with the different departments and we will take every action to improve the service that you feel was lacking on our part, in order for this not to happen to you or any other guest in the future.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping that you give us the opportunity to welcome you again to be able to offer you a better experience.

Sincerly,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an is by far the best of the GBP hotels in Akumal.

My wife and I stayed here a week to celebrate my 35th birthday. First time in Akumal, but 13th or 14th time in Mexico..... we love Mexico!!!

This was our first time staying at a mega resort like GBP, (so many hotels on one property) the place is huge! The rooms are very nice, well decorated and very clean. Compared to Coba, Akumal, and Tulum... I think Sian Ka'an tops them in every category except location. The restaurants are nicer, the workout facility @ TAO is nicer, and the service @ the bars and restaurant is better. Even the lobby bathrooms were better, cleaner, well maintained. However Sian Ka'an is the furtherest away from the beach, and being on the jungle side, you had to deal with lots of bugs beatles, millipedes, grasshoppers, and wildlife aplenty (especially at night). But the shuttles ran constantly and made it very easy to get around.

Check in, like every place, is at 3PM. So pack your swim suit in your carry-on and be ready to leave your bags with the front desk. Skip the pool and take the shuttle to the private beach (Sian Ka'an guests only). Bar service at your lounger is sooo nice (bring tip money, these servers work hard)

Beach is ok, don't really care for the huge man made sand bars in the water (they look like beached whales) but they serve a purpose.... less waves and probably prevents erosion of the beach.

Had a few good experiences and a few very bad experiences with dining. We made most of our dinner reservations for ala cartes before we arrived. First night @ Arlequin was the worst service during that week. Celebrating my birthday.... seated only 10 mins late and right next to a couple w/ a screaming/crying baby. I asked the server to move us to the otherside of the dining room.... BIG MISTAKE. Our server greet us and serves us water but does not come back for another 20 mins to take our drink order (so we go ahead and order dinner at the same time). Sorry they ran out of Filet, substitute NY Strip. 15 more mins, no bread, no drinks.. just sitting there enjoying each other's company and trying to just be happy that we are on vacation. Finally when entrees come out, they having the same sides as if they came off a buffet. My NY Strip is a thin piece of meat with some gravy on it and my wife's Sea bass & shrimp are dried out like pieces of seafood jerky. We had enough, left in the middle of our meal and found the buffet. Off to a bad start...

Breakfast @ Sian Ka'an buffet was perfect. Eggs made to order and great service. That night, dinner @ Alux = done to perfection. Everything came our at the perfect timing, not rushed, no long waits... and the presentation was beautiful. Our servers Roque & Wilberth were attentive and professional. We tipped each of them $20 at the end of the night....

Lobby bar @ Sian Ka'an is also the best bar @ out of the many bars in the GBP complex. Offers a romantic & upscale atmosphere, servers are very attentive and as far as I know the only bar that serves top shelf (Don Julio Tequilas, Crown Royal, different Scotch selections).

Tulum buffet also had another bad experience with a very rude hostess. After watching 10-15 people in front of me who walked in wearing beach wear, she singled me out and told me I could not come in wearing wet clothing. Very understandable, I wouldn't want to sit on a chair cushion soaked by pool/ocean water either; but I wasn't wet. I insisted I haven't been in the pool or ocean yet but she insisted I had to change. Normally I am the short tempered but my wife stepped in and requested to talk to a manager. At this point, I could tell she was getting very upset. She harly ever complains.

Neytaha (not sure on the spelling) with an attitude refused to get a manager and said "it's his day off". At this point, I could tell there's no winning this argument. I calmed my wife down and pulled a pair of shorts out of my backpack and changed in the lobby bathroom. My wife could not let it go and sat there during lunch, pointing out how many people walked in wearing swim wear unharassed. We did not return to this restaurant for the rest of our visit.

Don Pablo for dinner, pretty good food and service but nothing special.

Mikado next night.(not the one @ Sian Ka'an) Also uneventful. They cook in front of you, but no presentation (no jokes, no flaming volcano, no knife work or juggling) nothing like Japanese steakhouse back home. Cook, serve, and eat.

The one thing that prevents me from wanting to return to this resort is the Dolphin Encounter. Its sad and in my opinion inhumane. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion on this matter, but its a deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the rooms, the Tao wellness center, the internal transportation, and the service of our staff. We really appreciate that you mentioned the work of our great staff especially Roque y Wilberth. We will forward your comments to our team.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the service at the Tulum buffet, Arlequin restaurant and the Dolphinarium; be sure that will be reviewed with the managers and we will take immediate action for every detail you have described.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity to improve your experience.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I booked the Sian kaan for a 2 week holiday in dec over Christmas. We have been to 5 resorts in the Mayan and must say that this was an exceptional place. We have fairly high expectations of service, food etc and ALL were above standards!!! The only thing we found that we would have liked is for the mini bar to be stocked daily. It seemed sometimes it was a few days before they came. This wasnt a real issue for us tho and if it were for you, all you need to do is make a call to room service to stock it. Thats really the only thing we can comment on that could have been different. It was nice to have access to the other Bahia resorts-to go for dinner, check out entertainment etc, but staying at Sian Kaan was the right choice. There were so many additional benefits such as the access to the private sian kaan beach, the Maiko and Alux restaurants (which were our favoriate out of 12 restaurants we ate at in our 14 day stay). I must say tho, the food at all restaurants and the buffets were very good. We never had a bad meal. The service was great as well, throughout the Bahia resorts. We especially want to thank Juan and Brisa for their incredible hospitality and for make our stay so memorable. (and thank you for the beautiful room!!!) The staff at the resort worked very hard and sometimes we felt there could have been more staff at the lobby bar and some restaurants. The entertainment team was awesome..so friendly and outgoing and they did a great job at getting people to participate in fun events at the beach, around the pool, in lobby area, etc. The other great thing about Sian Kaan is that its adults only and fairly quiet and if you are looking for livelihood, music, dancing etc, you can find it at the hacienda, discoteque and there is live music usually at night. I could go on about all the great things about the Sian Kaan (and Bahia in general). We would definitely recommend this resort!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Luxury Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an and recent visit to our resort and for taking the time to write your impressions about our hotel; for us it was a real pleasure to host you here.

It is a pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations during you stay and that you enjoyed the excellent food, the benefits that Luxury Sian Ka’an offers at the other sister hotels, the a la carte restaurants and the entertainment activities.

We strive to provide the best service and we are very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees especially for mentioning Juan, the entertainment staff and me.

We would be delighted to host you and your husband in the future.

Best regards from Paradise,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This year we have spent five weeks at the Sian Ka'an, two weeks in June, one week in October and two weeks in December. During these stays we enjoyed a top floor regular suite, a top floor penthouse jacuzzi suite and a ground floor patio jacuzzi suite. A special thank you to Claudia for arranging these extremely clean and modern rooms. Housekeeping was top notch, bed linens and towels changed daily and fridge always restocked. (FYI: if you put a "do not disturb" sign on your door your fridge may not get restocked). Prior to arrival Claudia organized our dinner reservations (thanks again). We basically only booked the gourmet restaurants, including the Alux, Le Gourmet, the Arlequin but also tried the Dolce Vita and the Maiko. We enjoyed an array of meals from steak, seafood, and pasta, all excellent. We also found the red wine to be quite good. Breakfast and lunch were usually spent at the Sian Ka'an buffet where we enjoyed the services of Dimetrio and Eglady. They always smiled and ensured your coffees and mimosas were always filled. During our three visits we played the Riviera Maya golf course 18 times. This course is walking distance from the lobby. The golf course is all-inclusive but you have to pay for the cart. The cart is $65 per person but if you buy three games you get the fourth free. This works out to $47.50 a game per person. This includes cart, GPS, snacks and drinks, practice balls, lunch and beer at the clubhouse(guests of the Sian Ka'an), an excellent deal considering what you get back home for $50. The course is in amazing shape, it's challenging with beautiful manicured tee-boxes and fairways that resemble greens. The scenery is outstanding and the wildlife fun to watch. We would often see large groups of coatis as well as iguanas throughout the course. We would suggest to bring a lot of balls. A special thanks to Ivan in the pro-shop and Alfredo, Samuel, and Christian for getting our clubs out of storage and helping us set up. We always started our morning with lots of laughs. My husband had left his golf shoes and iPad in the golf cart. We realized after lunch that we might have left it downstairs at the course. We would like to thank Alfredo for securing our items safely in our golf bag waiting our return. Following our games we would spend our afternoons either by the pool or the ocean. Both beautiful, very warm in June and refreshing in December. We found the trams to be very good however we learned pretty quickly that's it's not too far to walk to the ocean, or the other resorts. This was a great way to burn off the lunch calories and only took us about 30 minutes. Interesting enough almost every tram driver would slow down to see if we wanted a ride! We found that the 24 hour snack bar was a great spot to have early morning breakfasts before early tee-offs. Thank you to Jesus for his excellent service in the morning and in the afternoon to Carlos. We enjoyed snacks in the afternoon including ribs, wings, pizza, hamburgers, wine & beer. I'm sure we've missed things here ( hacienda, lobby bar, dancing etc.....) all was excellent. We will be back in the Spring and will follow up with another review. Julie & Rene, Ottawa, Canada

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Julie & Rene,

For Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an is a real pleasure to hear from you again; we would like to thank you for your great review about your stays at our property; we hope you had a safe and pleasant trip home.

Guests like you, who send us many nice words after their holiday, motivate our staff every day and give them the energy to keep up their hard work. I will forward this review to every department manager so our staff gets the recognition they deserve.

We are looking forward to your next visit with us, please let me know if there is anything that I can help you with.

Best Regards for the Riviera Maya!

Best Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bay ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Arrived on Dec 24th for a week and thanks to Claudia she had booked us a wonderful location close to the lobby and the room was wonderful and on the ground level. All of the ala Cartes that we had were great. The buffet gala on Christmas Eve was wonderful and all of the wait staff were so attentive. At Sian Ka'an there is an activity pool and we ended up going to play bingo everyday at 3pm and the animationi team make it was so much fun and work so hard to make you have a great experience. At night in the square the animation team again encourages dancing and gets you to participate, which we normally do not partake but we had so much fun. My husband played pool volleyball a couple of times and had a great time. The beach reserved for Sian Ka'an is great and has better loungers and a bar and a shout out to Syntia who treked back and forth making sure we had our drinks. Also Marianne at the pool who again provided us with excellent service. Please tip these people as they are working in the hot sun to make sure we have a good time. Also, Guest Services I hope this is correct Rolando was wonderful with any questions we had. Our housekeeper usually did the room in the late afternoon and then turn down service at nite which again we tipped for their hard work. Other than having to take the shuttle to the beach and other ala cartes we had no complaints. Met a lot of great people and could have stayed another week.

Room Tip: We liked close to lobby ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Luxury Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an for your holiday destination.

On behalf of our entire staff it was a pleasure to host you on Christmas, and we value the opportunity to serve and entertain you. We will pass your comments to our staff, especially Claudia, Cynthia, Mariana y Rolando; we will forward your comments to them.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the activities with the entertainment staff, your room and the a la carte restaurants.

It would be our pleasure to host you at the Riviera Maya for your next vacation,

Best Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.