We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service and A La Cartes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“5 Star Service and A La Cartes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Customer service is excellent at the Sian Kaan. Everyone does their job well and most will go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. The one thing that would ever bring me back to the resort was the a la carte restaurants. Firstly, the buffet was fine, and the 24 hour snack bar was quite handy for late night snacks and is also the only place where you can get drinks in the resort after 23:00. The Maiko and the Alux in the Sian Kaan were fantastic. All of our meals were a culinary delight and enjoyable experience that always lasted 2 hours. From the food to the constant refilling of our wine and of course the after dinner drinks, we thouroughly enjoyed all of our meals. I had the Sarika Duck in the Maiko twice it was that good. All of the other dishes we had were great as well, except that both the soups were very salty. The tempura ice cream was also a great finish to a delicious meal. The Alux and the Don Pablo were truly gourmet. Lamb and the surf and turf at these two were brilliant. Saturday night is the Gala night in the buffet and sometimes lobster is served. Find out for sure from the lobby, if not make an a la carte reservation. The rest of the resort was enjoyable as well. The lobby bar was great for relaxing and having a few drinks. The background music does get to you after awhile. Apparently, they brought some lady in to a recording studio and had her remake a few million songs to elevator music with quiet vocals over top. She did everything from Lady Gaga to Guns and Roses. Very disturbing at times. Enjoyed 7 year-old Havana Club over ice most nights. The beer was absolutely tasteless and I only had about 6 all week. Overall, a well stocked bar with a great selection of drinks (except beer). The roooms were very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Only negative was the blinds. They are too far from the windows and as soon as the sun comes up your room is flooded with light. Fine for most people but terrible for late risers such as myself. Travel between other resorts and the Hacienda is easy. The beach includes a bar and a private area for Sian Kaan guests. I would recommend water shoes because of the amount of rocks in the ocean. The beach is fine, but very busy and loud with boats, seedoos and lots of people. Sometimes its difficult to find a few loungers. Arriving early is probably your best bet. I would easily return to this resort. Its nice not hearing those high pitch screams from little kids around. It's a quiter resort and very easy to sit back and relax.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and very happy to hear that you enjoyed our quiet resort, your comfortable room, dinner at the Alux, Don Pablo and Maiko restaurants and the time you spent relaxing at the lobby bar.

Concerning your points of concern, please be assured that these topics have sent to the appropriate departments and managers. They take great consideration in ensuring that we continue to provide our guests the attention and services they deserve.

Thank again for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,363
    686
    189
    43
    25
See reviews for
333
2,215
54
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Little late in writing the review, we travelled there in mid ocotber with Air Transat. We were spoiled a little as a friend of ours had arranged for a chauffeur who picked us up in an Escalade and sped us off to the resort in less than 45 minutes ... this resort is further south and would probably have a few stops along the way if you were travelling by bus, definitely worth the little extra to get a private car, check with your travel agent to see if your going direct or not.
Arrived at the hotel and right from the entrance off the highway, you can tell the attention to detail. They built their own bridge across the highway since the last time we stayed at the GBP Akumal. Double lane highway to the reception desk with some very teasing views of the golf course ... water and sand hazards all over... rated 3rd best golf course in all of Mexico... 7272 from the black, 6700 yards from the blue, but more on the golf later.
Reception is marble city and high ceilings, no lineups at reception and quick and efficient room check-in. No problems at all, smiles all around and they direct you right away to the 2 guest services staff so that you can book your 7 nights of dining right away. You can choose form 19 different restauraunts varied between the 4 resorts. As well you can book your spa, GOLF, and any other activities you may want, including the dolfinarium onsite at GBP Tulum.

Immediately, after check in, we were wisked away to our room. note, 30 degree heat and humid, I felt bad for the poor guy who had to lug my clubs, and our over the limit bags up three flights of stairs ... yes we tipped them well, where I come from, you work hard, you should be compensated. These guys hustled, were quick and smiling, and were always willing to help you out. We arrived at the lobby late for a dinner once and explained our predicament, they immediately obliged us and went out of their way bring us down to the beach restauraunt without having to wait for the shuttle. Shuttles by the way were plentiful, we just got caught up talking in the beautiful (and very well stocked, premium scotches, ryes, vodkas and liqueurs) lobby bar with some new friends and never noticed the time.

We booked the 2 restauraunts on the Sian Ka'an site right away and wer not dissapointed, both were excellent and offered a nice selection of premium wines at very reasonable prices. Selections included wines from France, Italy, California, Australia. Presentation of the meals was excellent and the choices were varied. Beef, chicken, duck, seafood, fish. The sushi was excellent.

The menu at the buffet made you wonder why you would want to need any specialty restauraunts. Varied choices of Tapas, hot and cold, wonderful cheeses, excellent salads and fresh vegetables, sushi, meats, fish (loved the grouper) we even had smoked salmon and caviar. They did not become "adults only" until November so there were some burgers and fries and pizza for the kids. hopefully these stay around as sometimes, you just want a nice steak-frites at the end of the day.

The rooms were large and beds were comfortable in the extreme. nice lounge area and 40 inch flatscreen where I caught the Green Bay game. We opted for the penthouse balcony with jacuzzi on the roof ... superb, you are literally above the canopy and can see for miles, always a great breeze above the trees. and if it gets too warm just fill the jacuzzi with some cool water and spray yourself down, private and perfect for your morning coffee and relaxation in the afternoon. Windows on our main floor were floor to ceiling and you were right at tree top height. They took extra care when building the structures so as to minmize the amount of trees they cut. This adds a nice level of privacy ... from our room, couldn't even see the next building. You'll want to close your windows at night as the birds will definitely wake you in the morning as soon as the sun rises.

The golf, WOW ... you know your in for a treat as soon as you get to the driving range, HUGE, with six greens at appropriate distances for long and short irons ... with full sandtraps at each so you can actually practice a little risk reward shots. Manicured tee-boxes, well protected greens, sandtraps drain well (we had a few short showers, while we were there) several elevation changes, water ... oh yeah, the water, make sure you look at the scorecard before you head out ... fun fun fun, it comes into play at all the right places, it will challenge you and reward you. Golf carts are well equipped with water (free as well as the sandwiches beer is $3.00). GPS works very well and cart paths are well marked off so I saw no one driving their carts up to the side of the green and ruining the chipping areas. Beautiful course, well worth it, bring your clubs. Prices range from $35 to $55 depending on the time of day.

We don't head down for any shows, seen one, seen them all as far as I'm concerned, but some people enjoyed them. The Sian Ka'an has some live music playing in the courtyard every night and you can dance under the moonlight while the ladies serve you primo scotch and excellent tequilla (or whatever your preference is). Never had to wait for a drink, as soon as the glass was even close to empty, a new one appeared ... remember to order some water too or you'll dehydrate in a hurry.

Would I go back ... in a heartbeat, in fact, looking to go down for New Years Eve, if I can get the time off. We've been to the GBP in Dominican, and Mexico, and to resorts all over, Melia, paradissius, Grand Palladium, but this one is now our favourite. Cheers everyone.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse if you can ... the view alone is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to receive your good comments about our service and personal attention of our employees. We are pleased to know that you had a great time at our Golf course and that you have enjoyed the jacuzzi in your room, the drinks and the excellent food. Your feedback will be shared with our team and will definitely encourage us to continually provide all our guests with the best experience they truly deserve.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Best Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Very nice luxury resort. Quiet, due to the hotel recently being changed to adults only. Food and drinks were excellent. Trams run frequently which makes it convenient to visit the other properties. If you stay at this property you can eat and drink at any of the other 3 Gran Bahia resorts, but other guests cannot use the Sian Ka'an amenities.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about your stay with us at the Riviera Maya.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an especially the food, drinks and internal transportation; we hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards from sunny Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Sian Ka'an is the newest resort in the Bahia Principe complex, the others being the Tulum, the Akumal and the Coba. The SK is the farthest from the beach, but regular tram service solved that. It was a special occasion for us, so we spent the extra to stay at the SK. What did we get that made it worth it? Well, from our own observations and in speaking with staff:
- a natural setting vs. the manicured lawns and trees of the other 3 resorts
- bigger rooms (large and clean)
- beautiful pools that were not very busy
- no kids (although we love children)
- an exceptional buffet (Yal-ku) , with lobster one night, caviar every day and very good baking, fruits and desserts (thanks very much to Eduardo who was wonderful)
- premium liquor
- a great lobby bar, the Tikal (thanks to Adriana, Laura and "Lady")
- a private beach, where they actually pick the stones out of the water
- great staff (with a higher staff/guest ratio than the other 3 resorts)
- Bell Captain Eric (whose mother ran out of Mexican names after 8 kids) and his team were great
- excellent service from very friendly people
A couple of other pluses - trying to be eco-friendly with some good programs; staff say that they are treated well and they like their employer.

Activities:
There were evening shows at the other resorts but we passed on those. Also more entertainment elsewhere, but we were happy with the live music by our lobby bar.
We visited the village of Akumal Beach - great shops and wonderful snorkeling. (Tip - take the bus to the beach for $2.00 and snorkel in the same area as the boats from the resort that charge a lot more).
Toured the ruins at Tulum with Enrique from Best Day tours - very informative. (Probably could have taken the bus and joined a guided tour at the site for less money.)
Spent a day in Playa del Carmen. Taxi was $30.00 but we paid $3.00 each for the bus.

A la Carte Restaurants:
- Alux - simply outstanding - thanks "Rocky".
- Dolce Vita - very good - thanks Alex from Chihuahua (not Italy as he said, ha!)
- Don Pablo - very good, but service a bit slow - thanks Luis.
- Tequila - fair - understaffed and not very authentic. Should have spent the evening eating the fresh tacos and salsas in the restaurant appetizer bar.
- Fructos Del Mar - fair - greeter kept us waiting while he talked on his phone; food was passable.

Tips on tipping:
Sure it's an all inclusive, but the staff receive a fairly low wage. We suggest:
- $2.00/day for maid service
- $1.00 for a round of drinks
- $2.00/table for the buffet
- $5.00/couple at the A la cartes
- Shuttle driver - if you wish (such as when we were serenaded one evening)
- Taxis - if you wish.

It wasn't perfect:
I rated the resort as 5 because we really enjoyed our stay. A few things to make it better:
- If you advertise a dress code at the A la Cartes, please enforce it
- If towels are left unattended for more than 2 hours, remove them
- Replenish the fridges daily, as you advertise (without having to ask)
- Don't let anyone on the beach with glass bottles.

Don't let my final observations affect your choice - it was a great resort. I'll be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pools, the entertainment and our food and drinks. We really appreciate that you mentioned the work of our great staff especially Eduardo, Adriana, Laura, Lady, Eric and Alex. We will forward your comments to our team.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the service at Don Pablo and Frutos del Mar restaurants and the noncompliance in dress code at the a la carte restaurants, however, you can rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention. Concerning the daily fridge replacement, we have already taken the proper action in order to meet our valued standards again.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending you my kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Visited from 12th-26th November and decided that, after doing our "homework," we would try the newer resort, Sian Kaan.

Were we ever right to do this! Rather than try to cover everything, as many reviews have, I will try to give an overview, and compare with the other 3 resorts where we have consistantly had a great vacation. Drinks, food and service are significantly better, and that is not to say the other 3 are bad. Rooms are much improved with efficient AC etc and better soundproofing. We had the penthouse with rooftop jacuzzi which we enjoyed each day in late afternoon.

As great as this place is, it is their amazing staff who really make it work. Their pride in their work and genuine friendliness makes us eager to return as soon as we can. Special mention to Claudia and Vanessa for organising our room and meal reservations etc. to Eglaydy and Emma in the main buffet, Laura in the Lobby Bar, but also to everyone else who consistantly do their best.

Do not hesitate to book this place; you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your loyalty in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an for the first time.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great vacation; enjoying the drinks, food, room and that you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees especially from Claudia, Vanessa, Eglayde, Laura and Emma.

Thank you for your time and comments, hoping to host you here in a near future to welcome you back at the Riviera Maya.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Digby, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My husband and I visited Gran Bahia Sian Ka’an from Nov 17-24 and stayed in villa 12 – 3rd floor facing the pool – we booked a regular junior suite with AC Vacations. Thank you Claudia – our room was great and the dinner reservations were exactly as we’d arranged.
We got lucky with our airport trips. Previously, there had been long waits in customs, etc at the airport, but we were only about 40 minutes getting out to the bus. As has been mentioned in the past – DO NOT STOP in the hallways after leaving security until you are outside and see your rep holding a sign for your tour company. They will tell you which bus is yours. Or in the case of private transfer, just find your “ride”. The people in the inside hallways are quite determined to “trick” you into a ride and I’m assuming large fees. They often say the tour company names trying to catch you.
We were on a large bus with a washroom and they sold cold Corona for $3 each. Water was $2 I believe. The drive was about 1 hour 15 minutes. A couple beers and we were there:) Sian Ka’an was the first stop. There was to be a drop off at Coba and then Dreams Tulum. There’s something to see most of the drive – all the resorts between Cancun and Akumal and Playa Del Carmen, etc. On our return, we were surprised to get an 8 passenger bus that headed straight for the airport – 1 hour – awesome! We ate at Johnny Rockets in the airport – their burgers were amazing! Duty free in the airport is very inexpensive for things you buy at home in Canada (Bailey’s 1L 2/$40; Flor de Cana 1 L $12.00; Captain Morgan Dark $14)
Check in was quick with a welcome margarita. We were early, so the room wasn’t quite ready. We had lunch and a drink, then got our room around 3:30. When you leave your suitcases in the lobby , the bellboy gives you a paper. After you have your room, give the paper to the bellboy and tell them the room number. They will accompany you with your suitcases. We had our restaurant reservations already via online, so we just checked in with public relations the next morning to have the receipts printed.
The first evening we had champagne and fruit delivered to our room which was a very nice touch. The fridge had the standard snacks, spirits, 2 beer, pop, etc. It was refilled the first couple of days, then was sporadic. The room had a king size bed, flat screen tv, sitting area, large patio with 2 small chairs (A more comfy chair would be nice as I spend an hour or two in the morning reading on the deck) and side table. The bed was quite firm but we both loved it The whole wall is windows/patio door with 2 different roll up blinds – one lets light in and one is room darkening. I can see why people have complained about these in the past as there are two sets of hanging things to open/close the blinds and it usually takes a few tries to get the one you want lol. The bathroom had a large stand up shower with an excellent pressure show (We never were lacking hot water ever) – lovely vessel sink and a shelf underneath for towels and your stuff. There’s ample storage; however, I wished there were more hooks or towel rods to hang damp things including towels on. There is an iron, ironing board and umbrella. I kind of laughed at this, but there is a menu to order “scents” for your room if you wish. I am very sensitive to scents, so I definitely didn’t try that one lol. There is also a pillow menu if you don’t care for the pillows on the bed. You may also order your coffee delivered in the morning if you wish. We didn’t try room service. The rooms were very clean with no bugs; however, I found the stairwells scuffed up and not always real clean. They didn’t quite match the excellence of the rest of the resort.
The pools were very cool the week we were there as the evenings were cool and most of the days had some cloud. When it was sunny, it was beautiful and hot and the cooler pools were very refreshing:)
We enjoyed Carlos at the pool bar – I loved the Mayan Monkey drink, mimosas, beer and clamato, Dark Bacardi and Sprite mostly. One day Hery worked at the pool and we had a blast with him – He usually works at the lobby bar. The towel game was in full swing to get the sunny chairs while we were there. We also had a hard time getting loungers at the beach. I was surprised we hadn’t read about that in the past? They said the hotel was only about 60-70%, so I can’t imagine what you’d do if it were full.
We loved the Holbox beach bar and had good service from everyone there. Paloma is amazing. I can’t imagine her job traipsing back and forth through the sand and up an incline over and over to deliver drinks to your chairs at the beach – she deserves a reward. It’s VERY hard walking in it let alone doing it all day. She’s obviously in very good shape! And she was always smiling:) Holbox is right next to the dolphin pool, so you can watch anytime you want. We found the music at Holbox very repetitive and the same person singing all the recorded songs. We would have rather heard Mexican music or original artist modern music…. Just seemed like the same all the time – a mix would be good. The washroom is just behind Holbox. Take the path to the trolley spot and turn right, and you will see it. It’s quite close to walk to Akumal (walk to the right facing the ocean), or through Tulum (turn left facing the ocean) . On the overcast day, we kind of resort hopped checking out the others. Coba was packed when we visited – too full for me in the lobby area!
We went to 3 a la cartes: Maiko, Le Gourmet(in Coba), and Alux. We loved Maiko and Le Gourmet – Alux not so much. At Maiko, we each ordered the Satay Trilogy which was the three skewers on grilled pineapple and the mixed Teppanyaki – It was more than Excellent! My hubby had the fried ice cream dessert and I had the banana in a tortilla with icecream – excellent! We loved Maiko and would definitely return. At Le Gourmet, my husband ordered the scallop appetizer and I ordered the carpaccio. I had almond soup and he tried the seafood bisque. We both had the filet mignon and the warm chocolate brownie dessert – Oh my goodness – to die for!!! We loved the whole meal and would definitely return. At Alux, I ordered the Fois Gras which was excellent and tasted like apple pie. My husband ordered the shellfish in puff pastry and said it was good. The Portofino soup was good. We ordered the Tenderloin and here’s where it went not so good. The meat had no taste whatsoever – looked good but was not so great Mine was also severely underdone. If it had have been good, I would have returned to have it cooked more , but it wasn’t worth it to me. The desserts were just so-so at Alux as well. The service started out okay but as it got busier we started waited a bit too long between courses in my opinion. I’ve taken pics of several menus which I will post in a few days.
We enjoyed the buffet very much. I personally found there should have been more grilled meats, etc. ready to choose from(and it was always busy, so there were people to eat the food) – you could order items to be cooked, but that meant waiting, and it wasn’t always easy to see what to choose from. They had the chocolate fountain at least two nights while we were there and it was very good. They had tiny baked cheesecakes occasionally and they were excellent! The mini salads and desserts were a very nice touch. I loved the tiny premade sandwiches at breakfast and lunch – they were always fresh and good. The mimosas at breakfast and omelettes were my fav There was lots of fresh bacon/hashbrowns/waffles/etc every day. (and smoked salmon/caviar/sushi/etc if that’s what you like) I especially loved the “Chinese food” section at dinner with fresh chow mein, rice and spring rolls.
At the 24 hour grill, we enjoyed the burgers, nachos and guacamole (had to ask for gauc but they had it every day) and the ribs are excellent! Ice cream is very good as well. The service was always good there; however, I found the quality a bit less than the rest of the hotel. I think it’s because it’s never very busy there, so they don’t have a lot prepared or ready.
We mostly drank beer, beer/clamato, dark rum (Bacardi or Havana Club) and sprite, and mimosas. The Mayan monkey at the pool bar was very good as well. All the drinks I tried were very good and very well made. The bartenders certainly know what they are doing. At most bars, they have nuts and pretzels if you want to request them. The sweet corn nuts at the beach are awesome!
I must mention the girls at the lobby bar area. They work tirelessly and most are ALWAYS smiling. A special mention about Laura, Adrianna and Ana – our favorites. Excellent job ladies! We spent every evening in the lobby area. Most of the nights, there were 2 men that performed live music. They were only so-so. We found they did okay with their “Spanish” music, but when they tried to mimic popular “English” songs they massacred them! My husband and I actually had good laughs about it most nights. The popular DJ music when they took a break was refreshing in our opinion. We felt Sian Ka’an could improve in this area – even with good DJ music occasionally rather than less than impressive live music.
We weren’t overly impressed with activities. In our opinion, Sian Ka’an needs to have a bit more livelier activities available for those who like to have a bit more fun….come on…yoga, bingo, mini golf in long grass, and zumba???? It would have been nice to see some more “fun” activities once in a while. The entertainment team did work hard to keep things going including blackjack, etc in the lobby in the evenings.
The trolley service was EXCELLENT – we never had a problem or wait more than about 5 minutes. Just tell the driver when they stop where you want to go, and they will tell you if they are the right trolley and help you get the right one some times
Overall comments:
-better lighting in the bathrooms for putting on make-up, etc… ;
-more comfy patio chair on your patio for people that actually sit in them;
- better music in the evening – even DJ would be good if the music was upbeat and fun;
-at least one “more active and fun” pool and activity area for those livelier guests
-more hooks/racks for hanging damp things in your room
-bit better food at Alux – perhaps a couple more “normal” choices
We enjoyed Sian Ka’an; however we felt overall it was a bit too quiet for our taste-more geared to an older, ritzy crowd – perhaps that is what they are going for? The food, service, rooms, etc was all above par – excellent! Please message me if anyone has any questions you would like answered:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your recent visit to the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Resort and for taking the time to write your impressions about our hotel. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the pools and beach area, buffets and a la carte restaurants during your recent stay to our hotel. Regarding to the comments about the food at the Alux restaurant, we assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

We really appreciate you mentioning our staff, especially Claudia, Carlos, Hery, Paloma, Laura, Adriana and Ana. It really incentives and encourages them to keep working and improving day by day, we will forward your comments to Claudia and the rest of our staff.

Concerning to the fridge, we work with a very strict Concierge Express service where every request, complaint or report of malfunctioning in the room is filed. The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

Thank you very much for your suggestion about the music in the evening and the entertainment activities, lighting in the bathrooms, hangers and the patio chair in the room. We have already sent them to our general manager and will be taken in great consideration to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at our resort.

Kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

- Food is average and in some restaurants, below average. Buffet is above average (maybe excellent for an all-inclusive resort).
- Couldn't get a reservation in the two restaurants that everyone raved about (Grand Tortuga and Don Pablo). They will book you a reservation as early as 6:00 and as late as 9:30 depending on what time slots were available. Much better food in Playa Del Carmen. Try this place called Cockteleria Veracruz. The Ceviche there is the best ever.
- Alux was the one reservation-only restaurant that had good food but we returned the wine bottle they opened because it tasted horrible. Seriously. They have wine you can buy for an extra charge, though.
- They had Johnnie Walker Black Label at the main bar but after finishing my first glass I went back for a second and they told me the bottle was finished and they don't have any more.
- You can go to the other 4 resorts connected to Sian Kaan. It seemed like patrons of the other resorts couldn't use the facilities at Sian Kaan. Riding the shuttle was fun and only once did we have to wait more than 15 minutes for one.
- The pool at Tulum had lots of activities/music/energy. The one at Sian Kaan is for those wanting peace and quite.
- The night club at Hacienda was fun and the music was really good. Gangam style :)
- The breakfast buffet ends at 10:30. Went to the 24-hour snack bar at 10:40 and they told us the only thing they can serve is an egg sandwich.
- The beach has beautiful white sands but once you get into the water you will be walking on rocks. Beach volleyball net on the beach. Of course by now you should know that Sian Kaan is on the other side of the highway and you need to get on a shuttle to get to the beach and back. The ride takes less than 10 minutes unless you stop at other resorts.
- You can swim with the dolphins in one of the pools on property ($70-$160/pp, roughly).
- Friendly staff and most of them spoke some English. The front desk spoke English very well and the ones at the "public relations" desks were very helpful. Sometimes had to wait 20-30 minutes to get to those, though.
- We had rented a car. When we first arrived, the "bell boy" parked it and gave me a ticket initially then he came back gave me the car keys (?) . When we tried to claim the car the next morning, the other bell boys said they didn't know where it was parked. Then one of them offered to take us in a golf cart to find it. It wasn't parked too far and from then on, we parked the car ourselves.
- Very modern and clean rooms. Avoid building 18 if you can since there is construction behind it. No noise but not a nice scenery. The blinds are not useful in terms of blocking sunlight. When the sun came up, the room had a lot of light.
- The standard pillows were pretty large so we asked for smaller ones at the front desk and were told they will be in the room when we got back. They weren't. Had to make 3 phone calls after returning to the room and they could only find one pillow. The last call was at 1:30 AM.
- Had a bad drainage issue in our shower. It wasn't fixed after they said it was fixed. I was able to fix it by pumping the water with my foot into the drain. They did tell us to call again if it wasn't fixed the first time but I thought I would take a stab at it and it worked.
- Free Wifi in most areas although in the room the connection worked well some days and got dropped other days. When it worked, it was fast. No problem connecting to it. No password needed.
- Several fun shows at the other resorts that you can attend without reservation. Just walk in and find open seats.
- Overall, I would recommend this place as long as the expectations are set upfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Resort. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed dinner at the Alux restaurant, ridding shuttle, night club at the Hacienda Doña Isabel, your modern and clean room, the beautiful white sands on our beach and the fun shows.

We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the food at the buffets, the wine in Alux restaurant and some room service. We assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future.

Receive our warmest regards,

Brisa Islas Reyes
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.