We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Book It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection

Save Saved
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra Chetumal-Benito Juarez km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Akumal
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just Book It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have never stayed at a all inclusive ‘resort’ hotel before but are really glad that the first one we tried was Sian Ka’an.
Our garden rooms were clean and spacious, the bed was firm and very comfortable, the pillows were numerous and all shapes, sizes and density; so there was something for everyone. Our bathroom was clean and the shower was enormous with constant hot water. The room was thoroughly cleaned every day and frequently checked by a supervisor too. The towel sculptures were a lovely touch, amazing how many animals you can fashion with a towel! The mini bar was topped up almost every day and there was a bowl of fruit provided when we arrived.
We made full use of the gourmet and al la carte restaurants, eating at different ones most nights. Not sure any of us really enjoyed the Brazilian, the salad buffet bar for starters was extensive, but the staff seemed a little harassed, maybe we picked a bad night.....however every other restaurant we tried was superb. The staff were attentive, the settings were tasteful and elegant and the food was absolutely first class - it was all presented beautifully and cooked to perfection. There were dress codes in most of the restaurants, and it did maintain the atmosphere - if someone has taken that much trouble to create such lovely food, surely it’s not too much to ask to make a little effort with your dress?
We ate breakfast and lunch and a couple of dinners at the Sian Ka’an Buffet. There was something for everyone, the choice was fabulous. The salad vegetables were crisp and fresh and the prepared salads were imaginative and varied from day to day. There was always numerous options of hot food, an omelet station for breakfast and a fantastic pasta/pizza station for lunch and dinner. There was lovely fresh bread available and lots of cheeses and cold meats. The food was constantly refreshed and the servery was kept impeccably clean. Would have liked to see some of the children better supervised, but that is down to the parents, not the hotel, and will no longer be an issue after the resort becomes adult only. The waiting staff were rotated frequently, so we had a number of different waiters during our stay. They were all attentive and charming, as was the restaurant manager who ‘worked the room’ constantly, ensuring everyone was happy.
The beach and beach bar is a real asset, especially the exclusivity of having your own reserved area, with beds and towels aplenty. Special mention has to go to Carlos who runs a great bar and in particular Jesus, who went to extra trouble to create a work of art with some green coconuts for us.
All the other bars that we used offered very good service, and a brilliant variety of drinks.
The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained and look clean and tidy, the pools are lovely. We didn’t use the snack bar or the room service, but it was good to know both were there should we need them.
Claudia dealt with a few queries prior to our holiday and by chance was there to greet us when we arrived, she was also very helpful when I had a silly accident on day 1 of our holiday and provided a wheelchair which made my stay as comfortable as possible. She is a real asset to the hotel, as are all the staff. The only unhelpful ones we encountered were in the pharmacy. The pharmacy didn’t have the medication prescribed by the hospital, and the only suggestion they could make was to go to Playa de Carmen, which is a considerable distance away. One of the very helpful bellboys (Leopoldo) offered to take the prescription and get it made up in Tulum - he did this in his off duty time and was much appreciated.
All in all, it was a wonderful place, and we will return. We had many trips planned that we were unable to do, so we need to go back to see a little more of Mexico.
Naturally there is always room for some improvements, although in this hotel there are not too many and it does feel a little like nit picking......a long mirror would be nice somewhere in the room, maybe inside the wardrobe door........removing towels from unoccupied sun beds especially round the pools....ensuring an up to date list of activities all over the resort is available in reception, twice my daughter went to activities scheduled at the Tao wellness centre to find they weren’t being run. Tao is also tricky to get to early in the morning. It would also have been nice to be able to get to the beach to see a sunrise, but the transport doesn’t start running until 7- but maybe most holiday makers prefer the lie in. These are all minor points, overall they are all doing a first class job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your holidays as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really appreciate you mentioning our different department staff, it really incentives and encourages us to keep working and improving day by day, these types of reviews help us to improve day by day and so become the best all inclusive hotel in the Riviera Maya in this category.

Also thank you for bringing to our attention the points where we can improve, you can be sure that they will be reviewed with the different departments and we will take immediately an appropriate action for every different situation

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at the resort in a very near future.

Best wishes

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,904
    544
    151
    25
    20
See reviews for
276
1772
45
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed only a week and was wishing for a few more days, this was very surprising for me as I normally am ready to leave after 7days, however my stay at the sian kaan was truly fantastic!
Having stayed at a few different BHP resorts in other countries this one by far is the best.

The hotel on the whole was not very busy which had its ups and downs but I liked the quietness and think it will be much better when it's adults only.

Restaurants- buffet was fantastic the food is done with finesse rather than the usual slop on a plate type buffets, there was always something interesting to eat and tasty too. My favorite night was the Mexican night! I went to both akumal and tulum resorts and their buffets were slop on a plate so ended staying in sian ka'an as much as possible. The Japanese restaurant Maiko, was a real big miss for me, the food was substandard and I left hungry, service was great though.
The alux the food was much better however the portions were very small and I felt a little rushed, it s as if they were trying to get me out. I was in and out within 30minutes.

Bar- all bars were great fantastic selection of drinks and the top shelf drinks are included in the AI package so you dont have to drink the local 'watered' down stuff.

Beach- loved the exclusive area for SK guests however like the previous reviews mention there were a few guests from other resorts there, I believe there were 2 days when the waitresses would even serve them drinks and the rest of the time someone was there to let them know it was exclusive and they had to leave. But I think they need to be more strict on this matter. The beach is really beautiful if you go towards Akumal side near the two volleyball nets, people dont seem to swim there and the water is lovely with no rocks. On the matter of rocks yes there were some but the water was generally so clear you can see them anyway, and on some days the rocks were not there? Turns out the staff cleaning the seaweed sometimes cleared rocks too. Yes there is some seaweed but it's the sea!

I really loved this hotel there is free wifi everywhere even in the rooms which are very well decorated and clean, only gripe with the rooms is that there is not enough hanging racks.

Yes you have to take the tram to the beach but this for me was the most enjoyable thing, I always felt like I was on a mini safari and it was just fun to take them round the other resorts after dinner to kill time and look at some scenery.

You really should book this resort without hesitation, if you are looking for something a little more luxury and done with finesse then I cannot recommend this hotel enough, if you like bog standard AI then go to the others. I honestly cannot wait for my next trip to this hotel

Room Tip: I think they are all about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your holidays as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really proud when we read you words often describing the hotel and its services as: fantastic it are these types of reviews that will help us to improve day by day and become the best all inclusive hotel in the Riviera Maya in this category.

As you said a week was not enough we are looking forward to welcoming you once again at the resort in a very near future.

Best regards

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at Sian Ka'an from 4th Sept - 15th Sept 2012. The resort was not full as the schools had gone back and the pools and restaurants were just right - not too busy. Our last day was slightly different as it was Mexico's independence day so the resort was deluged with lots of families with children so the entire atmosphere changed. Personally, I would not want to stay here during peak season.

The buffet resteaurant was excellent with a wide variety of food, well cooked and well presented. We loved the Alux a la carte, tried the Japanese on site but didn't really enjoy it. Also tried the fish restaurant at Akumel, La Dolce Vita (Italian) at Akumel, La Gran Tortuga (Brazilian) at Tulum. Quite frankly we wished we hadn't bothered as the buffet at Sian Ka'an was far superior.

The hotel has a dedicated area at the beach which is supposedly exclusive to Sian Ka'an guests - we saw several other wrist band colours using the beds/brollies and also getting served at the beach bar although they were challenged.

Sian Ka'an's location means if you wish to use any of the sports facilities using one of the many shuttle buses to get to other areas of the overall resort & group of hotels. Apart from the Golf course and a Spa if you want a gym, tennis or anything else active you will need to travel. As part of our Virgin holiday we were supposed to get unlimited included green fees on the golf course, subject to paying $65 USD for a golf cart and equipment hire if required at $45 USD. When we enquired at the club we were advised there was a reduced green fee charge of $55 USD. We queried this with Virgin who assured us the golf club had advised us incorrectly and it was in fact free - we didn't test it again but suggest players challenge the club if they try to charge you and you're with Virgin. As a guide they wanted $160 USD for a polo shirt at the golf club!! Not surprisingly we didn't see much activity on the course.

Service at the hotel was outstanding, quick and friendly. All staff were perfectly presented, smart and nothing was too much trouble. The 24 hour snack bar by the pool was a godsend.

Our junior suite (level 2) was sizeable, functional and kept immaculately clean. Only gripe - no table or chairs on the small balcony. The tea & coffee making facilities were useful but take your own coffee if you like caffeine - most provided was decaf.

Pools are varied and relaxing with brollies and natural shade provided by the trees. Water very warm so not as refreshing as would like when really hot but overall still very nice to sit/lie by.

If you want hire car then try Tulum Car Rental aka American Car Rental. Their rates are excellent and we also got a free voucher (worth $80) for entry to Hidden Worlds Adeventure Park (Cenote and Zip Wires) Great day out. No frills adventure park - friendly guides and no queues. Word of advice - apply loads of insect repellant as this is in the jungle and I got eaten alive!!

Overall we found Sian Ka'an to be just what we wanted an exclusive area, quiet and relaxing with excellent food and a friendly atmosphere. We did miss not being beachside but this was accessible by bus if we wanted it. Having visited the other hotels in the resort we were glad to return the the peace & quiet of Sian Ka'an each time. We would go back but not in high season.

Room Tip: All rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your holidays as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really appreciate you mentioning our variety and excellent food as quality service, it really incentives and encourages us to keep working and improving day by day and become the best all inclusive hotel in the Riviera Maya in this category.
Also we like to thank you for sharing your experience as your point of view about the golf course; we will pass your feelings to the main direction of the Riviera Maya Golf Club. As and also thanks to share some tips to our future guest, I’m sure will be very useful.
Also thank you for bringing to our attention the points where we can improve, you can be sure that they will be reviewed with the different departments and we will take immediately an appropriate action for every different situation

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at the resort in a very near future.

Best regards

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were there from August 30st to September 6th. We traveled to the South 7 times. We went to Mexico 2 times before and this is our 3rd time. Each time, we stayed at a ''5 star''hotel. Honestly, this hotel really deserves to be considered as a 5 stars hotel. We loved it so much that we are considering to return next year for our wedding and bring our family and friends with us.

First of all, we would like to write some special thanks to :

- Myriam from the Sian Kaan buffet for her excellent service. She made our breakfasts and lunches so enjoyable. She also taught us some useful spanish words. Gracias Myriam !

- Linhmhi from the Maiko restaurant for his exceptionnal service. We went there 3 times during our stay and requested each time for his service. Attentive, courteous and friendly, Linhmhi made each diner so memorable.

- Miguel and all the staff from the Maiko restaurant for their excellent and distinguished service.

Check in & Check out: Fast. Good service. Aimiable and courteous staff.

Room : Very very very nice and clean. It doesn't look like a regular hotel room but much more a luxious condo. The maid service was impeccable. The mini bar was always stocked. They forgot to stock it once. A quick call to the reception and they brought us what we needed.

Restaurants: Even though we have access to all the restaurants at Tulum, Akumal and Coba, we preferred the Sian Kaan restaurants so far. For our breakfasts and lunches, we always went to Sian Kaan buffet for their excellent, delicious and fresh food. We tried the restaurant El Pescador at Coba but sincerely the meal presentation and the food quality are so far superior at Maiko and Alux. We finally went 2 times to Alux and 3 times to Maiko. Alux: You must try their tuna tartare and veal dish. Maiko: You absolutely have to try all of their delicious appetizers and the duck dish. You also can order Sake to accompany your fresh sushi and sashimi appetizers ! You must try their coffee at the coffee bar, Starbuck quality guaranteed.

We always gave tips here and there; whenever we can. The servers and the hotel staff are working hard to please the guests. They really deserve it.

Beach: A private beach and bar section is reserved exclusively for Sian Kaan guests but the beach was just ok. Akumal has definitely the most beautiful beach and cristaline water. If you want to do some snorkeling and find a lot of fishes, this is the ideal place.

Activities : There are alot of free water activities at the beach. The nightlife at Sian Kaan was very calm. But we like it that way. If you want more, you must go to Coba. We also went to the Tulum ruins. To get there, we took the collectivo for 3 USD dollars to go and another 3 USD dollars to return per person. The cost for the ruins entry is 57 pesos. You can take one of these collectivos at the main gate of the hotel. Ask the bell boy to bring you there. Don't worry, collectivos are a very safe way for tourists to travel. There's always one that passes every 5-10 minutes.

SPA: We took a massage package. It was very relaxing and the service was also excellent. Our therapists were very attentive to our needs. Overall, it was a very good experience.

Finally, once again, many thanks to all the Sian Kaan staff for making our 7 days vacations so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your holidays as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really appreciate you mentioning the quality of our food and restaurants and as all our staff, we will immediately forward your mail to the correspondent managers for their well-deserved recognition, are these types of reviews that will help us to improve day by day and become the best all inclusive hotel in the Riviera Maya in this category.

As you mention, we are ready to welcome you once again at the resort for your wedding with all your family.

Best wishes

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This will be a very short and to the point review. Stayed in a penthouse suite from 9/9 - 9/13. The room was spacious, always kept spotless and had a great view from the rooftop jacuzzi area. The Internet in the room was pretty spotty but always good in the lobby area. The food in the restaurants, both buffet and ala carte was terrific. Stellar service, unique and tasty dishes, beautiful atmosphere. Only complaint I have is that I was not told that some of the ala carte dining options were not air conditioned so a Marco Polo dinner was cut short when we found ourselves sitting in 85-90 degree conditions... Very uncomfortable! We were not the only ones that walked out... At least 3 other tables exited prematurely due to the heat. I played some great golf on the golf course... Probably one of the nicest but challenging courses I have experienced. I thought the nearly $200 cost to avail myself of the "complimentary" golf was a bit over the top. During the time there we checked out the other resorts connected with this property and I can truly say, Sian Ka'an is the only one to book at unless you are looking for mostly outdoor eating and less choices. That might be ok if the temperatures are in the 60's and 70's but when it's hotter than that... Nasty! I would not hesitate to stay at Sian Ka'an anytime in the future but I would suggest some minor changes in the way they market some of their amenities... Just be up front about the cost of the golf and drop any mention of "complimentary" since it is far from that... Also, make it a policy to let people know that many of the restaurants at the other resorts are not air conditioned... Better to make the decision on my own to avoid an overheated dining experience than than be unpleasantly surprised. Knowing these things will make my next stay there even better.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your holidays as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really appreciate you mentioning our different department staff, it really incentives and encourages us to keep working and improving day by day.

Also thank you for bringing to our attention the points where we can improve, you can be sure that they will be reviewed with the different departments and we will take immediately an appropriate action for every different situation. Be sure that we will forward your comments to our golf course to try to clarify the situation.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at the resort in a very near future.

Best regards

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I will make this a short review..Take the best points of what other guests are saying and that's what you will get at Sian Ka'an ... i would like to thank Massiel v Damm and Jose Martinez from the Tulum part of the resort for starting out our amazing experience they were most helpful....thanks very much...from the moment we checked in to Sian Ka'an ,we knew we were in the best of the best....the room was beautiful the only thing missing was a "full length mirror."..the grounds ,lobby, pools were all fantastic...and now for the food....Wow, amazing,and the service in all was beyond the expected...thank-you so very much to all of you...especially to Julius Cesar and Miriam at the main buffet for all your attention to details.. Alux And Maiko your A La Cartes were outstanding...thank-you to all the girls who served us at the lobby bar...and last of all thank-you to Juan Jose Cabello for your welcome letter maybe we will meet next time as i heard you were on holidays while we were there...wish we were still there....we will hopefully be back very soon.....keep up the fantastic customer service...

Room Tip: we stayed in a second floor 41413 close to quiet pool but all rooms looked fine ,they are all around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your holidays as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really appreciate you mentioning our staff, we will immediately forward your mail to the correspondent managers for their well-deserved recognition are these types of reviews that help us to improve day by day and become the best hotel in the Riviera Maya in this category.

Looking forward to welcoming you once again at the resort in a very near future.

Best regards

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cedar hills utah
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I owe my decision to go on an exotic honeymoon destination to the reviews I read on TripAdvisor so I feel it only appropriate that I share my thoughts on my decision for the benefit of others.

Let me begin by saying that from the moment we arrived at resort entrance, we were impressed. I know there are a lot of frequent travelers on here with higher expectations, but I think that for the average person looking for a fun, clean, guest-friendly experience, you will not be disappointed!

It's been a month and a half since our honeymoon, but Gran Bahia Principe left such an impression on us that I promised myself I would get on here and write.

The food was incredible. We decided to make reservations for dinner each night and just enjoy the buffets during the day (which were amazing as well).

I'm pretty active so my wife and I wanted to do more than just lie around on the beach. So during our stay we danced to some of the small live bands that play each night at patios or bars, we made great use of the gym (and my wife went to a yoga class), we took the tour down to the Tulum ruins and swam on the beach, we took a small taxi van 15 min north to a public beach and swam with some turtles and saw a manta ray, and (our favorite) we bought lessons on sailing on a catamaran, which after the lesson you were allowed to take it out as often as you like for free.

There's plenty to do and plenty to eat. We were there for 5 nights and still didn't get to try all the foods or all the activities. They even had waterpolo games going at some of the pools!

Best of all, the staff was incredibly friendly and you never felt like anyone was asking for a tip, which made us feel like we really wanted to tip everyone! Every staff member was happy to stop and carry on a conversation with you and tell you about the area, themselves, and suggest things to do based on your interests.

This was truly the best honeymoon experience I could have imagined for us. Who knows when we'll be able to make such a trip again, so thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan O, Gerente at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all we would like to thank you for trusting Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for such an important occasion as your Honeymoon as and also thank you for spending your time to share your impressions. As a customer satisfaction orientated company, it is always a pleasure to read positive comments as the ones you have kindly share.

We really appreciate you mentioning our different department staff, it really incentives and encourages us to keep working and improving day by day.

Thanks you one more time for spend your time sharing your comments that I’m sure will help other people to join GBP Sian Ka’an, looking forward to welcoming you once again at the resort in a very near future.

Best wishes

Guillem Quintana
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection

Address: Ctra Chetumal-Benito Juarez km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Kaan Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.