We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guests that aren’t happy here simply can’t be pleased!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection to your Saves list
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Akumal
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Guests that aren’t happy here simply can’t be pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I will start by saying that we traveled April 28-May 5, and I believe the resort was at about 40-50% occupancy. The sister resorts on the beach were at about 80%+ occupancy. Visiting during high/busy season may be different than my experience. I would definitely stay at the GBP Sian Ka’an over the others.
Guests at GBP Sian Ka’an have access to sister resorts Coba, Tulum, Akumal , and Hacienda Dona Isabel. There is also a Club House with a cafeteria, bar and piano bar for an additional charge. I won’t list all the restaurants and bars, there are just too many! There is a dolphin pool near the Sian Ka’an Beach Club Holbox. Transportation to/from the GBP Sian Ka’an is provided free of charge on golf cart type shuttles. I'm not sure how comfortable it would be during bad weather. We were very fortunate not to have any rain during our trip.
We stayed in a Junior Suite Superior Garden, which was perfect for us! There were 2 sets of sliding glass doors, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. They each led out to the spacious patio. There was a path that led to an outdoor Jacuzzi tub, surrounded by tropical plants. Heaven! Once the foliage matures I think it will be VERY private! We loved the room so much we spent more time there than we usually do.
Due to my husband’s Celiac Disease (food issues), I had emailed ahead to make sure they could take care of him. We were given reservations to the ala carte restaurants, and a letter upon arrival to bring with us to restaurants. Thank you Marie Stromboni! We only had one issue in Mikado, and that was a communication problem with the chef and the waiter. Rather than risk cross-contamination we chose to head to the buffet. We really enjoyed all our meals, and never went hungry. Some were better than others, it all depends on what you like and what you’re used to. The only issue, which I have seen at several buffets in my travels, is keeping the hot food hot and the cold food cold. The waiters were very attentive and made sure we had what we needed.
I like to know what my drink choices are at a resort, so I will try to remember the brands that are included at the Sian Ka’an: Beefeater, Tanqueray, Absolut, Stolichnaya, Smirnoff, Cuervo 1800, El Jimador, Herradura, Don Julio, Bacardi, Havana Club, Jim Beam, Jack Daniels, J & B, Dewar’s, Johnny Walker, Crown Royal, Chivas Regal, Courvoisier, and more. The only beer I remember seeing is Dos XX. There are also a few items offered for a surcharge. Bars at the other resorts had a limited selection, but they did offer Beefeater, Absolut, and Smirnoff, along with others I can’t remember.
Xpu-Ha Pool Bar had some nice choices, and bartender Carlos took very good care of us. He even delivered drinks to our chairs poolside. Thank you Carlos!
The pools at the resort are small, but never felt crowded. You could find shade in the afternoon on one side and sun on the other. The Animation team really made us feel welcome and we had a lot of fun, even though there weren’t a lot of people. Thank you Alexander!
Holbox Beach Club, which is available only to Sian Ka’an guests, was very nice. Two rows of palapas with chairs, tables and trash buckets ran along the shore. Waitress service was very good. Thank you Gabriela! Men were hard at work keeping the seaweed under control, but it was an uphill battle. There were a few spots with a short path through the rocks to get into the ocean so I had no problem without water shoes. The sandbags are unsightly, and the water is shallow unless you go further out. There are some beautiful fish and many people were snorkeling.
We did tip and were remembered, having what we needed before we asked. Many did not tip and appeared to get the same quality service.
Although the Condominim Residences were not yet completed, we had no issues with construction during our stay. We also heard that they may be making the Sian Ka’an an Adult Only resort in December.
We don’t usually go back to the same resort, but this one I am definitely considering.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms give you a large patio space with a jacuzzi to enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    682
    186
    42
    25
See reviews for
332
2,206
54
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This was our first trip to the Mayan Riviera, and also our first time in a five-star hotel (we had previously stayed in 3 & 4 stars in Puerto Vallarta and Cuba.) However, this hotel far exceeded our expectations. Unlike the other 3 resorts in the area (Coba, Tulum, and Akumal,) this hotel was superior in every way. First of all, just to be clear the hotel is not on the beach like the other hotels (it was only a 5 minute trolly away) and it didn;t have the bright colors and ample grass/pool space that the other hotels had. However, what we loved is that it did have seclusion as the grounds were heavily covered (but well-manicured) with lots of trees, vines, and flowers. The marble lobby and bars were beautiful, and the pools, although small, were more than large enough for us. The rooms were great - huge bed, modern bathrooms, and a decent size balcony. The best aspect of this hotel was definately the service; we have never experieced such helpful, efficient, and courteous staff!

The food was very good - nothing spectaluar (we were expecting more of a range of Mexican food) - but there was definately a large range of food at the buffets. To rate the restaurants:

Maiko - definately the best. Fantastic service, and great atmosphere. I would order the chicken teryaki and we ate their twice and had pretty much everything on the menu!

Tequila - we were dissapointed by this restuarant - the food was bland and overdone.

Dolce Vita - Very good but order the meat instead of the pasta! (we made the mistake and saw everyone else with delicous seared salmon and steak!

Frutos del mar - we didn;t eat there but our friends did and said it was also very boring and bland.

Grand Totuga - It was very good but take it slow! The meat is incredibly rich (especially the brisket.)

The alcohol selection of the resort was also good, except we felt that we had to fight with the staff sometimes for the good stuff such as Grand Marnier or good scotch (they try to hide it on you!) But they do have it, so demand it if you really want it! They also make a fantastic mohito on the beach, and if you tip well, they will make you a great rum drink in a coconut!

For things to do, we recommend the tour of Tulum ruins, as Coba and Chichen Itza is an 8 hour drive. It was touristy and very hot, so it would be better to go on a cloudy day. If you want to snorkel (which I definately recommend you do as the riviera is the second largest coral reef in the world) do not do a tour. Take a 2 dollar cab or shuttle from the hotel entry near the highway to Akumal beach ( a five minute drive) and talk to the snorkel shop right at the entry (it;s a tiny little hut). They will try to charge more, but you can get a private 1.5 hour tour for $25 a person. This was AMAZING. We saw so many turtles, fish, and even a sting ray! It was better than a group tour (which, by the way, was 60 a person) as you didn;t have to wait for other people that couldn;t snorkel for the life of them. Worth every penny. Also, have a beer at the beach bar after (they have more selections than the hotels.)

Overall, we were very happy and satisfied with our experience. I would recommend going in the slower months of October, April or May as the rainy season hasen;t started, but the hotel isn't very crowded. Also, going at this time also means you are guaranteed a stop under a cabana at the beach at any time of day (other months you apparently have to stake one out by 7 a.m.!) Definately go to this hotel over the other ones in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool side - there is a rather ugly green chain link fence on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We just returned from this resort and we are going to return next year. This resort is a quiet relaxed atmosphere, a perfect getaway for the more conservative like us. The staff were all excellent, bring alot of $1 dollar bills as you will want to tip everyone. Joel helped us to our room with our bags and immediately asked if we needed anything! Demetrio and all of the buffet staff are amazing. There is live music each evening and the Myan coffee is a must try. Luis and the staff at the cafe were fantastic, we enjoyed daily visits to enjoy their company and great food. We met so many wonderful people staying at the resort and they helped make our vacation even more enjoyable. There was a shuttle to the beach every five minutes and we never felt inconvenienced, in fact we were grateful to have a private beach and bar, where again the staff were great! Parasailing staff were conscientious and we loved it! We were able to lounge in the pool with the other resort guests, where everyone felt welcome. It is a quiet, very well maintained resort and our speed. We will return next year with our older children.

Room Tip: Our room had a garden paradise with jacuzzi, which we never used. We were happy we didnt take the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an is one of a kind. The service, food, drinks, room quality, pools, and beach area were first class. This is my third time visiting Mexico in four years and this hotel has far surpassed the other two.

Service: Amazing. You feel like you are royalty when you visit here. Every staff member goes out of their way (with a smile on their face) to ensure you are satisfied. Bartenders on this resort get to know your name and strike up conversation with you everytime, and servers make you feel like you are visiting a five star restaurant (even when you are just in the buffet). Please tip these people. They work extremely hard for little money and even a dollar means so much to them. Shout outs to Carlos(beach bar), Angel & Oscar (Lobby Bar) and Isabel (Lobby Drink Server)!!

Food: The buffet food was AMAZING!! My husband and I are not breakfast eaters, but we ensured we ate breakfast everyday (sometimes even two plates) because the food is purely amazing. Lunch is full of selection, and everything is so fresh. Each night there was a different dinner theme highlighting food from different parts of the world. The meats were cooked and spiced perfectly, huge selection of potatoes, vegetables and rice, and a cheese tray to die for. Desserts were great. Best food I have ever had while visiting Mexico!!
A La Cartes were good. We went to the Japanese one and it was good. We skipped out on Alux because it just wasn't for us. We also went to the Italian restaurant in the Akumal section. Everything was OK, but the cockroach on the floor in the bathroom was icing on the cake to stay at our own part of the resort.

Room Quality - We stayed in a rooftop jacuzzi room, and for the extra money, it was well worth it. What a treat to have a jacuzzi bath under the night sky! You have your own lounge chairs as well on your patio. Our room had its own sitting area and kitchen area. The bathroom was beautiful and the bed was okay. I found it a tad hard making it difficult to fall asleep. Air conditioning worked wonders! If you have the chance - UPGRADE!! Well worth the extra little money it costs.

Pools - There are 4 pools on this part of the resort. None are overly large, but that didn't bother me. If you like larger pools, visit the Tulum, Akumal or Coba parts of the resort. These pools are much more busier.

Beach Area - Sian Ka'an is not on the beach, which can make it less desirable for some people. However, there are golf cart rides to the beach that pick you up every 5 minutes. The ride is around 5 minutes long, but always enjoyable. The cart drops you off right at your very own private beach area (which was NEVER busy). There is a private beach bar for those staying at Sian Ka'an, where Carlos was always there with a smile on his face! The lounge chairs are top class (and new). There is also waitress service on the beach.
If you get the chance, go snorkeling. The rental hut is a 30 second walk from the beach area, and all equipment is free to rent!

Entertainment - Mediocre. Same man and woman singing the same songs on a nightly basis. I enjoyed listening to Lady in Red 62 times on the trip!! We stayed in the lobby bar most nights and were very content. Isabel made sure we were well hydrated with the constant tequila poppers. If you are looking for more entertainment, the trolley to La Hacienda (main entertainment and shopping complex) arrives every 15 minutes and will take you. Be prepared to arrive early, as the other 3 resorts also can go to the complex and the lines can get quite long.

Overall, what a great trip!! It's more of a couples only resort and kids are few and far between. If you are here for rest and relaxation (and to be treated like royalty) visit this resort. If you are more in Mexico to party, book at Tulum, Akumal, or Coba. Another bonus is that Sian Ka'an guests can visit these 3 resorts, but nobody from these three resorts can visit Sian Ka'an!
Only major complaint we have is about the golf. Its per person for the golf cart rental, and it can get pricey. We wanted to just golf 9 holes and for one cart rental (35 each!!), and 2 sets of rentals, with golf balls and tees, was $150!!! Not worth it!!


We hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Excelent hotel. The rooms are great, no need for the ones with jacuzi. Rooms are spacious, service is 1 class, clean, no smell of any kind. The outside part, pools, gardens etc are beautiful and well kept. The ambience is quiet and relaxed. Not for people who enjoy a lively hotel. The buffet is the best i've ever seen. Better than the restaurants with reservations. The beach is nice and private, but remember to take the beach shoes with you. Corals and rocks are a bit "hard". The litle train that runs from 7 am till 6pm makes it so easy to go to the beach, that you won't notice you're not right on the beach. The sports center/dive center is right were the train stops.
A very good hotel, and hope they will keep well it for a long time. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Joanie and me (Luis) arrived at the hotel last week, April 22nd, and the minute we walked out from the bus into the hotel lobby, we knew it would be an exceptional vacation. New place, vast, clean, shinny clean to be precise, excellent location surrounded by nature, iguanas, tropical plants, warm ambiance and reception with a welcome cocktail, and impeccable service. The room, which as all rooms, was a suite, was beautiful and clean and well tended. New towels, new sheets, TV, balcony and the mini fridge waiting with soft drinks and a couple of XX ( Double X, a local beer), all included. We could mention many names, many places and things to see but we rather leave it for you to discover. Entertainment was taken care of by genuine and warm people, specially Luis and Alexander plus their boss, who almost kicked my a... in pingpong. The pool bar was taken care of by Lin Yu and Carlos who were ALWAY there with a smile. The lobby bar (closes at 11pm by the way) was taken care of by super professional people, like Luis Angel ( a Tequila connaisseur) and Oscar, both with excellent skills to prepare the tastiest and craziest drinks and cocktails. And of course, these bar specialists count with the help of their sweet and beautiful assistants: Marianna, Paloma, Isabel, and others. These girls will come to your seat and ask you if you want the usual. Yes, they know what you normally have! Across from the road, by the beach, we have access to the other resorts, which as only as far as a nice trolley ride, those funny little trains, with different colors, so that you know if you wanna go to the beach or to a specific resort. People help, suggest, and give advice as needed. Our private beach section was beautiful, though petite and attacked by seaweed every now and then, but generally amazing, and as a plus, we have access to the beach area of all the other resorts in the complex, including their bars and restaurants. And then again, back to our beach area, go to the bar, visit Lucio and Carlos for an amazing day of drinks and shots and margaritas by the beach. So many things to say and people to mention. Check at the main restaurant the service of Ramon, Faustino, and many others who go out of their way to make sure you have the most pleasant of vacations. So, in general, yes, I'd go back, now, tomorrow, anytime. My girlfriend came out of there as my fiancee and I must admit that hiding the ring in a special drink only happened thanks to the help of the Maiko Staff. And please, don't forget to check out Aluxe, the French restaurant, if ever you want to feel served as if we were millionaires. Excelente! Now, before I go, I lift my Margarita and say: Salud, amigos! Gracias por las mejores vacaciones de mi vida!!! Nos vemos pronto!!! Cheers!!!

Room Tip: The jacuzzis are an added value, but they give you no privacy. So, don't think you'll get in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was our second stay in Sian Ka' an. The first was in December 2011 during its grand opening and the second was the last two weeks of April 2012. We stayed in one of the penthouse condos with a hot tub. The king size bed was massive. The decor was very modern and classy. Room service and housekeeping were amazing. The food in the Yukatan buffet was first class and the a la cartes even better. Check out the Maiko and Alux a la carte restaurants. I can't believe that these are included in the all inclusive. What made the trip most memorable was not just the accommodations and food but also the staff. They were so hospitable and helpful. Claudia and Juan Luis at the front desk were wonderful. Our waitress at the reception lounge, Paloma always made sure we had a drink in hand. The animation team were alot of fun and made sure we always had something to do. We highly recommend Sian Ka'an as a great place to spend your vacation. With great food, accommodations, beautiful grounds, golf, beaches, what's not to love.

Room Tip: The condo suites with the hot tubs are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Akumal
#1 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.